Have cars in Malaysia become cheaper over the last few years? We dissect the ‘Harga Kereta Turun’ report

A newspaper cover story jumped out at us yesterday, and it was BH Ahad‘s ‘Harga kereta turun’ headline. The eye-catching headline was supported by visuals of local, Japanese and European cars, purported examples of models that are now cheaper (by 8% to 20.77%) thanks to “the strengthening of the ringgit” and “the government’s automotive policy”.

It merited a flip to pages four and five of Berita Harian‘s Sunday edition, which revealed more examples of cars that are now cheaper compared to five years ago. According to the report, the Perodua Alza is now 14.18% (RM8,369.27) cheaper, the Proton Exora 2.25% (RM1,509.67) cheaper, the VW Golf 11.77% (RM20,000) cheaper, the Honda Jazz Hybrid 8% (RM7,650) cheaper, the Perodua Myvi 12.15% (RM6,124) cheaper, the Proton Preve 20.77% (RM15,157.19) cheaper, the Proton Saga 14.88% (RM6,220.71) cheaper and the Proton Persona (RM8,281.91) 15.59% cheaper.

If you remember, both Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat touted the reduction of car prices in their respective manifestos for the previous GE. The BH report reminds its readers that BN’s “Menepati Janji Membawa Harapan” manifesto included a promise to reduce car prices by 20% to 30% in stages, and revise the 2014 National Automotive Policy (NAP) to improve the competitiveness of the national car.

Measures include government policies to reduce car prices via gradual liberalisation, which leads to a more open market and incentives that are customised to the industry’s needs. This has led to a downward trend in car prices since May 2013, the BH report says. Car prices are down thanks to the strengthening of the ringgit, lower import costs for machinery and better economies of scale thanks to higher volumes.

A more open market creates healthy competition, which in turn benefits the consumer with lower prices and better specced cars. Incentives to carmakers in the form of lower taxes are dished out on the condition of lower retail prices, the article adds.

The report interviewed Fahrurazi Othman, a senior consultant at Frost & Sullivan. The analyst opines that a 30% reduction in car prices is achievable in five years at the earliest. According to the ministry of international trade and industry (MITI), car prices are down by 13.1% (last year, compared to 2014), especially for Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEVs).

Some of the above might be debatable, especially the strength of the government’s claim that it is the reason car prices are down, if at all, but let’s leave that for another day and look at the hard figures in the article – the quoted prices. If some of the figures appear suspect at a glance, your suspicions aren’t without basis. Here, we compare the chosen vehicles with the equivalent variant (or closest to it) available today, with help from our story archive. Apple to apple, insurance (with or without) being equal.

Let’s start with the Perodua Alza. The 2013 price quoted (RM59,017) was for the 1.5 SE Manual while the 2018 price is for the 1.5 Standard Manual. If an apple to apple 1.5 Standard MT is made, the reduction is 2.1% and not 14.18% as claimed. At the Alza facelift launch in 2014, Perodua itself said that price reduction was between 2.1% and 7.4% depending on variant.

For the Proton Exora, the old price quoted (RM67,212) was in fact taken after a 2016 range-wide price increase, and not from 2013. The quoted price is also on-the-road with insurance (old) versus OTR without insurance (new), which of course makes a difference. In actual fact, the MPV was priced at RM63,552.54 in 2014, RM64,498 in 2015-2017 and RM65,702.33 now, but there’s more equipment in today’s car.

As for the Volkswagen Golf, the old price in the report is wrong. The Mk7 1.4 TSI was launched in early 2013 for RM157,888 (the same price as the outgoing Mk6 in final SE form) and not RM169,888 as printed by BH. The new price quoted is for today’s 1.4 Comfortline, which has less equipment. Today’s Highline is closer to the 2013 car in specs, plus a few extras. It retails for RM159,888.

Moving on, the old price for the Honda Jazz Hybrid was from the previous-gen CBU imported version. If you compare the previous-gen CKD version (launched in 2012 for RM87,404.50 OTR without insurance) with today’s CKD Jazz Hybrid, it’s a 2.9% drop, not 8%.

For the Perodua Myvi, the prices used by the report was for the old 1.3 SE AT versus the new 1.3 Standard G MT, which is not like for like. In 2013, the cheapest Myvi was priced at RM40,650.45. The most affordable new Myvi is the 1.3 MT at RM44,300, but it must be said that one gets significantly more equipment today – LED headlamps, keyless entry and start, VSA, four airbags versus two.

Click to enlarge chart

For the Proton Preve, the old price mentioned is from the sedan’s launch back in 2012 – RM72,990 for a 1.6 CFE Premium, OTR with insurance. The new price mentioned is for a 1.6 NA Manual, OTR without insurance. Pitting high spec auto with base spec manual will of course result in a big difference in price.

Staying with Proton, the old Saga price used is for the 1.3 Executive MT while the new price is for the current 1.3 Standard MT, both OTR without insurance. In 2013, the cheapest Saga one could buy was the 1.3 SV MT for RM32,836.50. Today, a new 1.3 Standard MT is RM35,590.29, but you get ABS.

There have been legitimate price drops thanks to the government’s CKD EEV incentives, though. BMW and Mercedes-Benz both had downward revisions in prices for CKD models in 2015-2016. Last month, Lexus announced that the price of its LX570 SUV is now lower by RM74k (to RM850k). The latter is due to forex movements, although it’s probably more of the original price set during a low point for the ringgit than our currency gaining ground.

Speaking of premium brands, many are also recipients of CKD hybrid incentives. Mercedes-Benz, BMW and Volvo all sell generously equipped plug-in hybrids that are cheaper than they should be; ditto the Hyundai Ioniq and Honda City/Jazz Hybrid in the mass market.

So, it’s clear that the new versus old prices in the report were cherry picked for convenience, without taking into account variants and specifications. Based on the old prices we’ve dug up, it appears that car prices have not come down by much in general.

However, now is a much better time to be a car buyer than in 2013. Cheaper premium cars aside, mass market players (especially Proton and Perodua, new Myvi is a great example) have largely maintained sticker prices while increasing equipment and safety levels. We are getting better cars than before, and better value for the same money – there’s no doubting that.

Some say that cars in neighbouring countries are much cheaper. Well, RM60k (RM5k more than the top Myvi) buys you the base Yaris J Eco in Thailand. The compact hatchback is powered by a 1.2 litre engine, rolls on steel wheels and doesn’t have a radio. On the other end of the scale, the BMW 530e plug-in hybrid, launched here last month at RM344k, retails for RM457k in the Land of Smiles.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• “We are getting better cars than before, and better value for the same money – there’s no doubting that.”

Basically means that while equipment r up and in the face of inflation, much of the prices remain unchanged. So basically, for a certain amount of money, ur getting a car than u probably have to pay much more for the same specs a few years ago. Ergo, the statement that car prices r going down is TECHNICALLY correct.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20253 Thumb down 18254
    • Muzaffar Shah on Feb 05, 2018 at 6:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 627 Thumb down 1475
      • Safety specs 5 years ago is no where the same as now. So why do u think u shudnt be paying for it? EU folks dun grumble when having to pay for it. And furthermore, improvements in kits not just related to safety, but in terms of a bigger car, more comfort, better radio with smart connectivity, better FC, better response, better NVH, all round cameras, all round sensors, digital dashboard. All these takes money and yet u get all these at near unchanged prices, which u only get in a much more exp car 5 years ago. So basically, u get a cheaper car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8381 Thumb down 5440
        • Zamani on Feb 05, 2018 at 7:48 pm

Proton Exora, the old quoted price is OTR with insurance (old) versus OTR without insurance (new). BH bukak aib sendiri…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 12
          • Mohd Taufik Yunos on Feb 05, 2018 at 8:50 pm

Government think we are bodoh. Last time all OTR include insurance

Now OTR price does not include insurance.

Then BH tell you prices have gone down.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 259 Thumb down 14
          • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 235
          • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 05, 2018 at 9:44 pm

Pity, those who know about cars know, not only the cars have gone up but servicing bill has gone up 3x

Luxury cars costing RM500k have gone down in price because of EV but the normal Vios, City, Perodua and Proton have gone up in price.

Fake news people always quote cars like BMW x5 40e, BMW 740Le, S400Hybrid and Volvo XC90. They say these cars have gone down RM300k. So janji dicapati.

But how many people buy RM500k cars???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 322 Thumb down 9
          • Pity u dunno anything about cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 77
          • Sohai on Feb 06, 2018 at 9:10 am

In Africa, safety features is very cheap only increase by few hundreds ringgit malaysia (RMxxx only) … Dont believe me, check Africa 3rd country webpage info…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
          • New EXORA REMOVED 2 SIDE AIRBAGS.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
          • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 06, 2018 at 10:08 am

The Exora range now tops out at the Executive Plus variant. Previously it had Premium and even Super Premium variants, which were cut due to poor sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
          • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 06, 2018 at 11:01 am

Exora got now 2 less airbags. But fake news people say all Protons have spec increased, that is why price has gone up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
          • Musang King on Feb 06, 2018 at 1:18 pm

PT got it spot on! Kudos!!
            “the report were cherry picked for convenience”

• johnny on Feb 06, 2018 at 1:19 pm

In 2014, you guys buying cars with MYR (Ringgit Malaysia) lower than RM3.8 per USD.
            Now, you guys buying cars with RM4 per USD.
            So you are using less USD to buy a car now, it is a price drop in a way!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
        • Mohd Taufik Yunos on Feb 05, 2018 at 8:40 pm

5 years ago in EU, all cars had VSC and all cars had more than 2 airbags.

VSC was made law 13 years ago. All cars must have it.

So, your 5 years is just story

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 171 Thumb down 167
          • Mohd Taufik Yunos on Feb 05, 2018 at 9:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 318 Thumb down 462
          • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1166 Thumb down 3016
          • Yes.. but u get more then just vsc n airbags today.. if only vsc n airbags considered, should conti brand just stick to their model that were sold 10 years ago, like what T do with their Vios.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 334 Thumb down 219
          • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 05, 2018 at 11:39 pm

From the chart, I noticed P1, most of their cars naik harga.

But P2, most of their cars turun harga.

Shows that Perodua cares for the rakyat. This is why we also care for Perodua. This is why also their sales is 200,000 cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
          • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 05, 2018 at 11:45 pm

4 or 5 models from the Proton range have gone up. How come it is going up in price?

If Perodua can reduce prices and increase spec at the same time, why can’t Proton do the same?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 0
          • Yazid on Feb 06, 2018 at 9:01 am

sudah lah kami dah bosan dengan fake news harga kereta di Malaysia paling murah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 78
          • sudah lah kami dah bosan dengan fake news harga kereta di Malaysia paling mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 82
        • Proton salesman ni baik bungkus je lah. I’m just a browser on this site, but it’s really annoying to see this roti john bullshitting all over the site. Give it a rest lah. You’re doing a bad job. Nobody believes you. You’re a big nothing burger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • Husnozon on Feb 06, 2018 at 3:33 pm

Correct. No good lah keep cheating us Rakyat Malaysia.

• Tido oh tido on Feb 07, 2018 at 7:20 am

you mean false claimed 20.1km/l fmyvi fc?

• Oh yeah, only a fool will belip theres such thing as free lunch in this world.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 180 Thumb down 167
        • maslan on Feb 05, 2018 at 8:25 pm

Exactly. Stop it Berita Harian, or kolos shop.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
          • Mohd Taufik Yunos on Feb 05, 2018 at 8:59 pm

Thank you Paul Tan for proving one by one that is all FAKE NEWS. More shocking is our national car Proton, has gone UP UP UP in price!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 3
          • The only fake news is u. PT burst ur bubble when they repoted CHR launched at SGD130k instead of ur SGD65k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 64
          • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 05, 2018 at 11:42 pm

We must report this fake news to MCMC and also Sebenarnya.com

The chart shows nearly all BH figures are wrong.

As our PM has said, fake news is an offence now

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 2
          • maslan on Feb 06, 2018 at 9:04 am

Boring to see BH give fake news like many commentators here who say Malaysia having cheapest petrol price in world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
        • Mohd Taufik Yunos on Feb 05, 2018 at 8:49 pm

In Europe and US, VSC is FREE. But in Malaysia, GLC Toyota give you VSC, people say good value as car price has not increased.

Europe already give VSC in all their cars 13 years ago. All FREE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 73
          • No wonder BMW, Merc, VW, Volvo are selling at the same price today as 10 years ago in EU n US. No? Free? Lol. By ur logic yes VSC are free in My becoz before no VSC n present with VSC are almost same price like in Honda City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 71
          • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 05, 2018 at 11:47 pm

Same Honda and Toyota cars sold in Malaysia all have ESC (VSC) and 8 airbags in Japan since 10 years ago.

Why UMW and DRB never give us such good specs? Only until 2017, they decided to sedekah to us and give us VSC and 6 airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 20
          • More fake news. Honda City here alredi has ESC since 2012.
            Even in nippon, more than 2 airbags is uncommon. Mostly on higher ranges which arent cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 21
          • Tido oh tido on Feb 07, 2018 at 7:53 am

preve got 6 airbgs and VSC across range since 2013

• Anything But P1 on Feb 05, 2018 at 7:04 pm

Haihh whatever laa…

• YB Albert Kunta on Feb 05, 2018 at 7:46 pm

Your Excellency Muzzaffar
        You know what lapdogs do?
        They shoot down enterprising,positive,good comments by our forum readers.
        There is a lapdog who keeps writing REVERSE psychological arguments.Perhaps he is under the payroll of a senior lapdog.Just pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 58
        • Ha je mie on Feb 05, 2018 at 8:20 pm

So kind of you YB. To merely bestow it a dog

• Mohd Taufik Yunos on Feb 05, 2018 at 8:35 pm

Too many lapdogs here in this forum. Always trying to convince people we have the cheapest petrol in the world and cheapest car prices in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
        • Stevie on Feb 05, 2018 at 9:03 pm

Yes, YB. I remember vividly your copy and paste comment week in week out every Wednesday regarding petrol price. So enterprising la YB..

• Speaking from experience, i see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 59
        • maslan on Feb 06, 2018 at 9:06 am

too much of fake news that our car prices have gone down. Too many parrots here

• Kiishan Sekhon on Feb 09, 2018 at 8:51 am

YB is right but you got the term wrong. Today, we call those people Political Think Tanks or more widely as Lobbyist. Yes they too have a legitimate cover story beyond prooving their employees have merit or even qualifications of any sort or are even responsible or liable for anything.

Wondering what I mean? This concept isnt new, and these lobbyist/think tanks are working internationally in between Countries and Governments already. Read or watch “Merchants of Doubt”. They hire people of no education even or qualifications that do not match their sourced punlishings. Not only that, these people work 24/7 for Giant Corps too to troll, harass, and basically try to discredit others through sheer cyberbullying citing sources completely made up by these people and not the scientific or research community as a whole. Worst is, that is considered a legitimate part of their job.

These are no longer lapdogs YB, this is paid dogs so shitty it makes even China Communist Meritocracy seem like a blessing…

• lol… i think this are the same guy which by using the special formula to calculate our every Wednesday patrol price, which himself also don’t know how it work on.. so he just make it simple, which he did all the times “tembak aja” rakyat x boleh buat apa pun.. Gov make it cheaper, we are the one bring down the price……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 05, 2018 at 11:51 pm

Too many fake news in Malaysia. Like…

1) We have cheapest car prices in the world
          2) We have cheapest petrol in the world
          3) All our car insurance is subsidised
          4) All Saga have VSC
          5) Proton is ready to launch Iriz EV anytime now

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 1
          • dtctr on Feb 07, 2018 at 7:54 am

Bashers spread fake news here and there in PT

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 05, 2018 at 6:53 pm

Prices have indeed gone down..thanks for the report…now a good time to buy a new car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 68
      • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 05, 2018 at 11:55 pm

According to the chart, got only 4 that went down (in green)

6 have gone up (in red). Ironicalled 5 are Protons!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Yusof Yahya on Feb 05, 2018 at 7:18 pm

Clearly PR original idea was better than BN. PR was campaigning to reduce 30% of the standard applicable tax in stages. The impact will be small to buyers and dealers alike. Since a 5% reduction in the excise duties in 2013 for a 50k myvi will translate to about 2k only. A total of 30% over 5 years means price will down from 50k to something around 40k. Consumers win, dealers less worry of holding stocks and buyers not stress on losing huge value.

Najib wants to reduce 30% of total car price – which the think tank team, his advisors and planning personnel found it impossible to do so (since it will involve a bigger percentage cut of excise duties)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 11
      • PR got buried already. The last time PM-designate from PH said he wanted to build another proton. Clearly no Harapan for cheaper cars on this year’s manifesto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
      • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:04 am

Thank you Paul Tan and team for doing so much research and proving this fake news.

Let us always spread truth.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
    • lol… i think this are the same guy which by using the special formula to calculate our every Wednesday patrol price, which himself also don’t know how it work on.. so he just make it simple, which he did all the times “tembak aja” rakyat x boleh buat apa pun.. Gov make it cheaper, we actually bring down the price……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 57
      • Well, i wish i was. Petrol shud be RM4.50/L today but dunno how daheck its only RM2.31/L. Way to cheap there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 56
    • Silver on Feb 05, 2018 at 9:30 pm

you can’t say that better equipment is an argument it’s like saying 60inc lcd tv in 2016 is the same price as a led tv 2017 but led has better tech… Technology will get cheaper over time like your computer . So that makes this argument invalid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
      • Really? Then how did my RM600 Nokia 3310 has morphed into a RM5149 ipongX? Still think tech is cheaps?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
        • johnny johnny yes papa on Feb 06, 2018 at 4:21 pm

compare wants vs wants and needs vs needs la john. nokia dumb phone cost less than rm100 now. ipongX right now may be comparable to camera phone during 3310-era, which is not for mortal.

• Spot on. Might as well said we are so better off now since now we also get 3rd brake light, cd player, fuel injection n 4 speed gear box.

• “Basically means that while equipment r up and in the face of inflation, much of the prices remain unchanged. ”

Try reading exactly what you just said again. Does it make sense? Lol

• Also if I bought a camera 5 years ago that was 10 mp resolution and now I buy one for 20 mp for the same price does that mean it’s cheaper now or that technology has made it cheaper to produce?? Inflation is not just restricted to car “equipment”. It affects everything

• Yes it does. Becoz to produce that 20 MP camera back then wud have cost, hmm… maybe 5X more. So ur getting tech at a lower price.
          Now replace ‘tech’ with ‘car’ and u see what i mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • That’s my whole point. If someone pays the same price now for an old tech or car then says “eh cheap la” or “harga turun la”, then that person must be a complete idiot or a sucker

• Then u agree with me, that instead of paying RM100,000 for that 20MP camera back then, now u only pay RM20,000 for that same 20MP tech.

Hence im again vindicated that ur getting cheaper tech. Now replace ‘tech’ with ‘car’.

• Nancy on Feb 06, 2018 at 6:44 am

No need to say too much. Waste of time arguing. Bottom line, are you happy for the past 5 years?

• hayato on Feb 06, 2018 at 10:05 am

Not really. Consider that all that extra kit is already being introduce before but on the high spec car. Which means that the extra kit price is going down because of volume sell of the vendor and considered low tech already. Take VSC for instance, not new tech at all.

• Putrasan on Feb 05, 2018 at 6:38 pm

Thank you PT.
    Perhaps we can consider bring this article to sebenarnya.my portal to rectify BH’s almost-fake news.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 5
  • Boy Racer (Member) on Feb 05, 2018 at 6:40 pm

Janji dicapati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
  • omegle on Feb 05, 2018 at 6:40 pm

The quoted price is also on-the-road with insurance (old) versus OTR without insurance (new), which of course makes a difference. In actual fact, the MPV was priced at RM63,552.54

They’re treating us as fools?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
  • Irfan M on Feb 05, 2018 at 6:42 pm

“So, it’s clear that the new versus old prices in the report were cherry picked for convenience”. Pretty summed it all up. LOL who’s their publisher

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
  • 2018 already lah on Feb 05, 2018 at 6:42 pm

5 years have passed means 5 years of technological advancement, so we’re expected to get better car for the same amount of money no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 50
    • That tech is not free. 5 years of advancement means there shud be price increase to recoup that advanced tech added since 5 years ago. Also need to include 5 years of inflation cost. So if prices remains unchanged, it means getting a equaled value car for lower prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 97
      • JayJay on Feb 05, 2018 at 8:20 pm

Yes, tech and the R&D that goes into it are not free.
        Yet, at the same time, the production costs (i.e. machinery/c&c milling/assembly/etc.) are significantly lower now due to better production techniques & technology (lowering man-hours/increasing overall production efficiency/etc.).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Not really. Auto manufacturing r run lean. Much of the cost goes to car development, but once ROI is achieved theres not much savings in terms of costs as everything is alredi factored into the unit price. Think of it as a slide where cost vs time factor, and when cost has reached a plateau, theres not much reduction anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 50
          • if u can’t do that just close your factory.. but why ppl. can do that?

• Do u know whats the meaning of ‘Lean’? That means a healthy body with very little fat and mostly lean meat & muscles. U cant further cut any from that. Thats what auto industry is all about. Its alredi efficient as it is.

• No point telling this to some My pipu. Some prefer reduce 30% but nothing in their car. That is why Vios can still survive and P2 laku keras.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 24
        • I choose to educate the ignorant so that im not at risk from their unsafe cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • By your logic, the iPhone 8 should be RM20K since it is so much better than the iPhone 1 seven generations ago.

Technology amortize down in the long run.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
        • Ahh, but ipong1 launched at USD499, while ipongX launched at USD999. So u say tech din become exp? Explain this then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
          • 2018 already lah on Feb 06, 2018 at 1:26 pm

My point is, if you buy a USD499 phone today, wouldn’t you expect it to be better than the ipong1 you mentioned?

Of course car technology and phone technology cannot be compared in the same timeline but my point still stands.

• Nope. An ipong1 back then was their flagship. Same as ipongX now. Compare epal to epal bro! So the more tech u put in, the more exp it becomes, no?
            So i stand corrected.

• You ass. Compare with *CURRENT* iPhone 8, divide for storage memory. Compare with iPhone X is like comparing base model with luxury model.

• The tech is indeed not free. But it has been paid by early adopters years ago in higher end cars, and the cost per unit of those things has decreased due to increased volume of usage.

• david on Feb 05, 2018 at 6:46 pm

Comparing a fresh apple to a rotten apple, to please the rakyat and get their votes.

Boooo~~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 43
    • Technically its comparing horses then which eats only hay, and horses now which eats engineered horse food.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 44
    • In short, then actual fact is – all lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
  • pengguna proton kecewa on Feb 05, 2018 at 7:08 pm

Fake news. As always

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • John is otak batu on Feb 05, 2018 at 7:09 pm

What happens to Audi, BMW, Citroen, Daihatsu, Ford, Hyundai, Kia, Jaguar, Land Rover, Mercedez Benz, Mazda, Peugoet, Nissan, Renault? There are hundreds of models sold by those brands.

• All the model u mention also did not reduce price significantly, but have a lot more equipment and better car then previous. Not only in My but all around the world. Free safety tech and other tech by these giants? Ya..in our dream.

• John Tan on Feb 05, 2018 at 7:19 pm

All the false report by BH. i was wondering whether they are ashame. Lower the car price coz they is not much petrol subsidies anymore, be fair to the Rakyak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Zipppp on Feb 05, 2018 at 7:21 pm

Bodoh sombong John.. all countries oversea require VSC and full air bags for they citizens.
    They government insisted on safety for they citizens…. and the price is even cheaper then in malaysia….. You been living inside a cave is it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 15
  • vVivi Zurianti on Feb 05, 2018 at 7:23 pm

Cars are cheaper??

Heck, even a decent kapchai can cost over 5k these days…
    Poor kapchai owners oso kena bayar lebih…for what? mostly plastic shell with colourful stickers….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 48
    • Ahem.. u say https://paultan.org/2017/04/06/2017-modenas-kriss-mr2-malaysia-launch-rm4123/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 48
  • macam pondan on Feb 05, 2018 at 7:31 pm

seriously…do better comparison

1. New car specs (increase due to technical advancement) is fair to compare with older car (as the specs at that time were cost higher)

2. Compare new model vs 2013 model price as the promise is 30% lower as the promises were made back then

3. Car cost has to be inclusive insurance and any sales cost. Not cherry picking.

4. To get car price down, how much rakyat need to foot? GST for everything, rising fuel price, pubkic transport, food cost, living cost and etc etc… what’s the real story here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Mat Sempoi on Feb 05, 2018 at 7:38 pm

is GST included in comparison?

• kzm (Member) on Feb 05, 2018 at 7:51 pm

From my observation the changes in price not that much.. but if u consider equipment n tech in car from then n now u will see a lot of improvement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • what a cheat on Feb 05, 2018 at 8:07 pm

I am a saga blm owner. What a joke by comparing the highest spec price last time to the current base lowest price. Pathetic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • I just buy what I can afford and deal with it.

Whoever becomes government will have to deal with the same issue, if you reduce one item, the other item must go up. Believe me, both sides are just good at making promises. They’ll tell you what you want to hear and then they leave you high and dry.

Carmakers are answerable to their shareholders too, just look at Mercedes, despite full tax exemptions on EEVs, the cars are still not significantly cheaper. And they throw in some redesigned bumper to justify the high price.

In short, in this world, it’s every man for himself. So, don’t be a crybaby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • Agreed. MY pipu waayyy too pampered. Want everything free but wun work for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 35
  • Kantoi

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 05, 2018 at 8:26 pm

only benefit the rich

• Pls don’t cheat us laaaa. We are not stupid. Compare the cost to own the car… than it is more make sense.

The current price of the car is NOT include 6% GST and current cost of car insurance…. higher than older one. Not yet include petrol price increase compare to older one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • The only model that price drop is VW Jetta..
    RM150k CBU to CKD RM108k-RM135k range.

• barry on Feb 05, 2018 at 8:51 pm

same old shitty news, the only difference, its on different day. You guys still believe ? look what happen to AP story? still no ending isnt? craps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Bernard on Feb 05, 2018 at 9:37 pm

Nothing makes sense here as all msians know car prices in Bolehland is one of the highest in the world…..it’s a fact!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
    • Fairytale facts. All msians know car prices in down south is THE MOST highest in the universe… its a fact!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 26
      • Ya and what our Malaysia GDP per capita vs down south per capita? US$9.5K. Versus $52K, dumbo!

• Our neighbor at North and South sell their Vios more expensive then here in My. Ya..ur logic boleh pakai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
  • Hmm.. Much Hmm... on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:52 am

Thanks Danny! This is a great article, I’m always up for straight up comparisons instead of taking words as truth.

BTW for thos who doesn’t know, Media Prima is BN’s propaganda delivery machinery. Not really judging them, but most large parties in M’sia have their own propaganda delivery machinery. PR have theirs, BN have theirs, Pas have theirs… etc etc… So it’s not surprising that the news were cherry picked to make BN look good.

• Not including bank loans, premium priced insurance, inflation and GST. Sure, BH, it looked cheaper.

Car prices will always be high all the time, there’s a reason why new ‘variants’ and ‘special editions’ are added overtime to inflate the price.

• Ronnie on Feb 06, 2018 at 2:52 am

Ive decided not to read the other comments before writing this, just so that I can share a layman’s inference on what i see. Coz unfortunately there are too many troopers on here and I know they will jump on this story. So here goes.

I certainly see a lot more younger ppl owning cars now – and even starting with foreign makes. Back in the day we would have to have a Proton as our first ride and work upwards from there.

I’ve seen kids of friends and relatives – just out of college – who can buy foreign b-segments (as their first!) so something is definately changing.

On the other hand, ppl who haven’t been around long enough can’t grasp it when I tell them what a luxury it is to even have any car at all and these are the, ehem, aforementioned types. That’s definately changed too.

Owh and I’m not allowed to say these things out loud because I will be accused of admitting the govt did something kind of good, which is apparently a bad thing.

Just my two cents!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on Feb 06, 2018 at 10:53 am

Back in early 2000s, cars were commonly purchased with 3 or 5 years loan max. Interest also higher, i remember it like yesterday seeing Perdana V6 advertised 3.95% interest as big deal. I believe then, >4% was quite a norm.

Today, 3.95% is a ripoff, you’d be a dumb waterfish to agree to such rate. Last year, it was possible to buy Perodua with under 3% interest, lately a bit higher since BNM increased OPR by 25 basis point. And majority buy with 9 years loan, this my friend in banking confirmed.

• Normally those who try to go for 9years will have their accounts and expenditures scrutinized kawkaw, just in case they cant payback. Deswai u see 55% rejection rate for Mivi, cuz all tak mampu bayar installments.

• tokmoh. on Feb 06, 2018 at 4:07 pm

It doesn’t change the fact 9 years is the most popular length taken by Malaysians to borrow to buy car.

It’s not healthy, but it is what it is.

But Perodua has its own interest, hence they always keep begging banks to be more lenient.

• 9 years is very rarely approved ekceli. Bulk of cars sold r via 5~7 years loan. Those taking 9 years faced higher rejection rates.
            Bookings ≠ Sales

• Fully sapot u bro! Deswai im here. To make sure sane logical voices of ours dun get drowned out by their fake news & bollocks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Feb 06, 2018 at 1:26 pm

Fully sapot 2 bro! Patriotic local grads needed

https://paultan.org/2017/03/21/more-than-70-of-local-university-grads-choose-to-buy-foreign-vehicles-rather-than-the-national-car-proton/

• Vroom Vroom on Feb 07, 2018 at 11:10 pm

“I will be accused of admitting the govt did something kind of good, which is apparently a bad thing”

lol so true

• Malek on Feb 09, 2018 at 12:13 pm

This something the other side cannot admit

• Alfred on Feb 06, 2018 at 8:25 am

Just a politicak claim by ruling gomen, don’t be serious.
    they can always compare price drop in the month of December every year where traditional “clear stock sales” are on…

• Big TIPU on Feb 06, 2018 at 8:36 am

this fake report is siok sendiri sahaja.
    this is really not responsible who come out this report to TIPU rakyat.
    Please apologize to rakyat and amend your report.
    Paul/Danny, thanks for your dissect and correction on reports.

• preve was rm72k? omg….what year was that?

• waters on Feb 06, 2018 at 10:55 am

Why did BH write/publish deceiving information? If we’re getting better value for money (inflation adjusted) as John put, why not just report that?

• Patrick on Feb 06, 2018 at 3:34 pm

Anything good is ‘deceiving information’ nowadays. Sigh. This is why i dont support the other side anymore

• Theres never anything positive with doommongers. Let them be themselves but we can spread positivity

• pengguna proton kecewa on Feb 07, 2018 at 10:01 am

Support this. Both sides are shit in handling car ownership/cost issue. No concrete plan has been tabled by both parties. Current in power made some concession but the the industry became greedy. Supposedly power in waiting will turn the industry back to the dark ages with new national car project. Both ways we are doomed

• they did it like last year, compare last year highest spec car with new lower spec car… of course the price margin is different

• Diss-illusions on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:34 pm

Interesting piece of article PT choose to highlight.

With the onset of MRTs and LRT extensions, perhaps the government shouldn’t be reducing car prices. Better still, introduce congestion charge in KL.

For ppl outside Klang Valley, the Myvi is more than sufficient while Protons have good space with decent safety specs. If you care to stretch it out, the Honda City is an amazing piece of kit.

Introduce stricter speed traps and demerit points so roads are safer with less speed demons. Roll out more local tracks for speed demons to trash the hell out of it. Stricter vehicle maintenance requirements.

Fact of the matter, car prices are effectively cheaper if you factor in the competitive specs that we hv today. Sticker price alone may not be a fair comparison as the specs have evolved with the market demand.

So PT, just like BH, why are you guys comparing the sticker price alone? Curious to know, what’s the deal for PT? Your reviews are VERY comprehensive. I’d expect more sophistication in your rebuttals to BH’s article instead of playing to the populist tune.

• longjaafar on Feb 06, 2018 at 3:12 pm

Berita Harian’s Harga Kereta Turun report. What’s the point 5 full pages of reporting but untrue wrong info. Buang karan, buang ink…

• Fully agree with ur assessment bro. Let see how that basher gonna down vote all these logical comments.

• JW Wong on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:38 pm

Another syok sendiri article from BH.

• Ben Yap on Feb 06, 2018 at 5:41 pm

When i read that the news is from BH, i automatically know that there’ll be tons of BS.

• Fake News Detector on Feb 06, 2018 at 9:48 pm

BH=Berita Hampeh. Like TV3, don’t buy this garbage newspaper.

• Rooney on Feb 07, 2018 at 7:31 am

Value of paper currency goes down over time. Price of teh tarik 5 years ago is not same as its price today. This is another way of looking at the ever-increasing cost of doing business

So, car price might have gone down by a lot due to progressive automotive tax cut, but inflation catches up, new tax like GST also contributes to cost increase. So, that’s why you don’t see that much price reduction.

This is just one way to look at it lah. So it’s not as straightforward as comparing absolute numbers.

• Just a Banker on Feb 07, 2018 at 11:27 pm

I’m curious to see what would happen if we factor in inflation and amortization… !!!

Based on what we get for what we pay, historical analysis should show that it’s much, much cheaper (using the car companies’ EBITDA/units/year) now actually. I think this is true all across the world.

Add the reduction in tax (GST replaced other taxes at a lower rate) and cost will be significantly reduced/buyer.

One thing I’m not sure about is maintenance etc costs though. Maybe the insurance companies can provide this info? Then we can do a proper statistical analysis.

The only things we seem to be paying more for are Apple products (even after factoring in their EBITDA/units/year historically). Lol! Sad but true.

Disclaimer: I must confess I did not read the BH article.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • abuya on Feb 09, 2018 at 5:03 pm

Aku pelik kenapa orang ramai komplain harga kereta mahal tapi jualan kereta mewah meningkat setiap tahun?

• Paut Tingkap on Feb 10, 2018 at 1:22 am

Apa yang peliknya? Majoriti Kekayaan negara dimiliki oleh 10% teratas. 10% darab 30juta = 3 juta org. Berapa bilangan jualan kereta di Malaysia setiap tahun? 500k? Berapa bilangan jualan kereta mewah setahun? 5k? Do your simple math! Jangan asyik baca BH shj