Toyota Alphard, Vellfire facelift prices – RM351k-541k

Prices and initial specifications for the facelifted Toyota Alphard and Vellfire, which are open for booking, have been revealed on UMW Toyota Motor’s website. The revised luxury MPVs, which gain a new design, a few additional features and a new V6 in the case of the Alphard, are pricier than before.

Equipped with the same 2.5 litre engine as before, the Vellfire is priced at RM350,800, around RM5,600 more expensive than the outgoing model. The Alphard, meanwhile, retails at RM429,800 for the standard 3.5 litre model and RM540,800 for the 3.5 Executive Lounge, RM26,400 and RM35,100 costlier respectively. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

The biggest change – at least as far as the Alphard is concerned – is under the bonnet, where you’ll find a new 2GR-FKE 3.5 litre V6 with D-4S direct injection and VVT-iW. Outputs have been bumped up significantly to 300 PS at 6,600 rpm and 361 Nm of torque between 4,600 and 4,700 rpm, increases of 29 PS and 21 Nm respectively. A new eight-speed Direct Shift automatic transmission replaces the previous six-speed unit.

Toyota claims a fuel consumption figure of between 10.4 and 10.6 km per litre on the Japanese JC08 cycle, down from 9.5 km per litre previously. The Vellfire’s 2AR-FE 2.5 litre Dual VVT-i four-cylinder engine, making 180 PS at 6,000 rpm and 235 Nm at 4,100 rpm and paired to a CVT, has been carried over unchanged. All models make greater use of structural adhesives as well as high-rigidity glass adhesives for increased body rigidity, contributing to better handling stability and ride comfort.

Other changes are largely cosmetic in nature, with both the Alphard and Vellfire gaining a redesigned front fascia. The former receives an even more prominent full-height grille, with chrome trim that moves outward to bisect the headlights. Those headlights themselves – self-levelling LED units with cornering lights and LED daytime running lights – have also been given new internal graphics.

Meanwhile, the Vellfire gets a giant chrome plated grille and triangular fog light surrounds, giving it an even more distinctive look. Lastly, there are new tail lights (with square light guides in the case of the Vellfire) and tailgate garnish, plus a new 18-inch wheel design.

Inside, there’s a new instrument cluster design, plus new standard features including a Qi wireless smartphone charger and a new digital, camera-based rear-view mirror called the full display mirror (FDM), first seen on the new Lexus LS.

Otherwise, kit count remains largely identical, with the Vellfire coming with keyless entry, push-button start, powered sliding doors, leather upholstery, ventilated and power-adjustable front seats, second-row captain’s seats, front passenger and second-row Ottomans, a front sunroof and rear moonroof, a DVD-AVN navigation system with a seven-inch touchscreen and eight speakers.

The standard Alphard gets the same amount of kit, but the Executive Lounge receives VIP second-row seats that are wider and have powered seat recline and Ottoman adjustment, as well as ventilation. It also gets semi-aniline leather upholstery, a larger eight-inch touchscreen for the navigation system and a 17-speaker JBL sound system.

Safety-wise, all models now get a blind spot monitor (BSM) and rear cross traffic alert (RCTA) to go with the usual seven airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist and Vehicle Stability Control (VSC). However, there’s no mention of the Toyota Safety Sense suite of driver assists, which comes as standard in Japan.

Going the official route will result in unique specifications for Malaysian weather and road conditions, as well as regulations. These include special tuning of the engine ECU, wider outer mirrors and customised audio and navigation systems. Of course, official cars come with the aforementioned five years of unlimited-mileage factory warranty, and assured 10 years of parts availability.

GALLERY: Toyota Alphard facelift

GALLERY: Toyota Vellfire facelift

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Alphard diehard on Feb 13, 2018 at 6:15 pm

My dream car XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 37
    • MeToo on Feb 13, 2018 at 6:43 pm

Same $$$. Rather buy Alphard captain chair than Volvo XC90.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 66
      • MeToo# on Feb 13, 2018 at 8:13 pm

Says no one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • Van Camp on Feb 13, 2018 at 9:11 pm

You all former panel van driver’s is it? Cause this is a glorified panel van

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 11
        • thepolygonal on Feb 14, 2018 at 7:57 am

My one used to say “Panel Van” in the Road Tax vehicle type section. How about others?

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 14, 2018 at 9:31 am

So it is.

I do know one of my sub cons that drives his workers around in a Vellfire after he got fed up of his workers being harassed by driving his bread van. So yes, thats a work van.

I also wonder when the stigma of being a favourite hearse would catch up.

• Ismail Jamal on Feb 14, 2018 at 9:55 am

BMW Malaysia now selling pre reg 7 series for RM400k plus. I rather buy a real limo with class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • 12yrsold on Feb 14, 2018 at 10:30 am

It is entirely your choice if U have RM400k to spare. Many old Bosses prefer higher seating position not to mention a POWER sliding door that is very useful. Can the 7 series slide its doors ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 51
          • Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 16, 2018 at 1:01 pm

BMW is a maintenance nightmare

• 12yrsold on Feb 14, 2018 at 10:25 am

“glorified panel van”!! U are mocking those people who bought Alphard/Vellfire. Did they steal/rob from U ?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
          • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 04, 2018 at 10:58 am

Those that bought sui kwan euros probably are banging their heads against the walls every 2nd day of the week.

Low RV, maintenance nightmare, breaks down in the middle of the highway and has rattles on the dash that can’t seem to be located

• Wow.. 500k, only get typical gadget that 250k have. If printed on A4 papers, XC90 have to use 2 to 3 sheet for the specification but Alpad only half the page.

• Ismail Jamal on Feb 14, 2018 at 10:07 am

Cannot understand one thing. Gomen say want to reduce car prices with one hand, then the other hand, through their fully owned GLC UMW, they sell so expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • Jual murah, marah gov.
            Jual mahal, pun marah gov.

Apamacam?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
        • hondaman on Feb 14, 2018 at 12:06 pm

rm55k MYVI has the same safety specs … better buy MYVI

• Proton Staff on Feb 14, 2018 at 10:26 am

I wish Proton also had a Alphard type of vehicle so that rakyat can be proud of us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
        • oh poton on Feb 14, 2018 at 2:42 pm

ya ya..but when its priced at 200k above would you buy it? just proud la, but nobody gonna buy 200k poton.

• Sri Jayaraman on Feb 13, 2018 at 7:33 pm

With this kind of prices, I really think we need the 30% car price reduction Government promised the rakyat 5 years ago. Even the rich also will be happy with the 30% price reduction

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 58
      • Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
        Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 62
        • Ismail Jamal on Feb 14, 2018 at 9:53 am

It is true Malaysia has the most expensive car prices in the world. Mercedes S class also RM560k, how this Toyota can be RM541k??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
          • Ismail Jakun on Feb 14, 2018 at 11:43 am

Don’t be self-victimize your own, please check the Mercedes S-class price across Thailand, Indonesia, Cuba, Nigeria, Brazil, Norway, Denmark, Finland & Singapore before making your dumb comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 33
          • Dr Zakaria Hj Samad on Feb 14, 2018 at 12:11 pm

S class is double the price of luxury vans in US and in Europe. Infact S class cost double than even luxury Lexus SUV.

But in Malasia S class same price as Alphard

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 17, 2018 at 9:25 pm

Alphard is not sold in US. They have another version called Sienna, which is less boxy

• Borneo Darul Seram on Feb 13, 2018 at 8:31 pm

your dream will turns to nightmare

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • awg1031 on Feb 14, 2018 at 11:23 am

it’s his dream car..why would anyone butthurt..just show how mentally ill we have become

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 14, 2018 at 12:45 pm

For those who cannot afford, theres always brv for you…honda always understands your feelings…deswai we only produce low cost for you…nobody nobody but you..ok together together now…nobody nobody but you…

• Gonna say no to this and opted for recond. Much more cheaper and more spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
    • Lcians on Feb 13, 2018 at 8:50 pm

Opt for Honda Odyssey & saved 100K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • I’d take UMW anytime dei. Becoz 5-year, unlimited-mileage warranty. Peace of mind, price no issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
      • My first gen vellfire is a recon and served me for 4years already without no problem. Apart from change brake pads and absorber change. Preventive maintenance is required.

• Toyota mah. Tak payah pening, tak payah pikir..

• Tak pikir skarang tu jadi pening nanti. Lepas pikir, lebih baik beli P1 je lah.

• Tido oh tido on Feb 15, 2018 at 4:00 am

Pening later why spare parts cost a bomb

• halloha560 on Feb 13, 2018 at 7:31 pm

Like:
    2018 Mazda CX 5, 2018 BMW X5, 2018 Volvo XC90, 2018 Mercedes Benz GLE, 2018 Volkswagen Tiguan 2018 Honda Accord, 2018 Honda CR-V, 2018 Hyundai Santa FE, 2018 Honda HR-V, 2018 Mazda 2, 2018 Perodua Myvi

Dislike:
    2018 Toyota CH-R, 2018 Mitsubishi Outlander, 2018 Mitsubishi Triton, 2018 Mitsubishi ASX, 2018 Toyota Vios, 2018 Proton Persona, 2018 Proton Iriz, 2018 Isuzu D-Max, 2018 Mitsubishi Xpander, 2018 Toyota Prius

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 15
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 13, 2018 at 7:39 pm

why naik harga?

• mmmmm on Feb 13, 2018 at 10:14 pm

toyota safety sense laaaaaaaaaaaaa. this expensive? doesnt have kaaaaa

• Farhan on Feb 13, 2018 at 10:19 pm

It’s mind blowing when Malaysians can pay up to half a million ringgit for a van. Some will say that if you have the money why not? But the truth is most that have money and buy this are really the stupid ones. Educated people will opt for limo’s like S class or 7 series. Worse is the van being driven at 160-200km/hr. Oh and politicians as well :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 20
    • oOo Farhan on Feb 13, 2018 at 11:43 pm

Then question is….can you bring 7 people in Sclass?
      Wanna guess how much price if you broke one of the S class door? Rm20k. Alphard and vellfire can drive until 180 only la…Check your facts! You are the stupid one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 18
      • That is JDM model. Official Alphard & Vellfire by UMW has 220km/h in the instrument cluster.

• stastasta on Feb 15, 2018 at 9:59 am

instrument cluster is not a precise indication of top speed. high-end bmw and merc meter also reading up to 300 kmph but limited to 155 mph (~260 kmph)

• That’s all? Can bring 7 pipu in exora as well, aircond is colder, ride is better, handling is better, can catch up alpad like kacang putih on highway, better FC, the only thing it cannot do is auto sliding door, which noones gives a damn

• stastasta on Feb 15, 2018 at 10:01 am

on the contrary , power sliding doors is their single most unique and useful feature. why do you think recond alphard and estima is so popular ? because they are the only cars available with power sliding doors. or maybe its possible that everyone who buys those cars is stupid and you are the single smart person ?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 18, 2018 at 10:32 am

Remember the Merc version of the “luxury” van called Vito? It is more of less extinct due to the fact that it is a maintenance nightmare and water leaks all over the place.

That will never happen to Toyota

• donovon on Feb 13, 2018 at 10:59 pm

the front look like optimus prime.. the interior not look luxurious tho..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • toaster on wheels..

• Mr Hakim on Feb 14, 2018 at 7:16 am

Wow,how ugly and expensive it can go?

• RM541k? hmm can buy a porsche…or a condo

• Ben Yap on Feb 14, 2018 at 9:47 am

easily a civic 1.5 turbo can outrun a 2.5 vellfire.

• zamer on Feb 14, 2018 at 10:59 am

1/2 million for this?
    a moving luxury condo

• Alvin on Feb 14, 2018 at 11:03 am

Price went up even though ringgit strengthen?
    and yet equipment remain largely the same, without Safety Sense and Aerokit.
    Good job UMW Toyota!

• hondaman on Feb 14, 2018 at 12:08 pm

even if the price follows current currency rate, u still can’t afford to buy.

• Can’t afford and don’t want to buy is two different things. Everyone who long enough who read PT and love cars will know that UMW always sell sub-par car in term of spec compare to other rival but with much more expensive price tag. Before this ETCM got their Elgrand CBU that price much more cheaper then UMW new Alpad with much more gadgets, better looks some more. Pity ETCM not selling it now. If u compare their Vios, Camry, Altis between what Honda offer, u will know. U sure know more about Honda, hondaman.

• Zazaza on Feb 22, 2018 at 7:53 am

Lol.
          And if you actually sat in both cars, you would know the difference.
          Honda cars all offer sub par quality n experience. Why go amateur with honda, when u can go pro with Toyota.
          Good things don’t come cheap!

• longjaafar on Feb 14, 2018 at 11:46 am

When both the Alphard and Vellfire were imported, the Alphard was the cheaper one. A person who uses the Vellfire, swaggers a bit more, when his driver drops him at the entrance.
    Now it looks like the Alphard is the one the tycoons will go for, because it is now the more expensive one.

• Lmao all these peasant comparing the Vellfire to S class and 7 series. Let me educate you monkeys.

1. Can S/7 sit 7 people?
    2. Is S/7 high riding?
    3. Does S/7 have power sliding doors?
    4. Does S/7 have pilot seats?
    5. Does S/7 have changeable seat arrangements to accommodate big items?
    6. Does S/7 have leather wrapped handles for seniors to grab when going in and out?

If anything the Vellfire should be compared to a V class. The S/7 are good limos for taukes whereas the Vellfire is a car for tauke’s family.

Plus, long range cruising the S/7 is nowhere as comfortable as the Vellfire. If you said it is then you’ve clearly never been into any of these cars before.

So please learn your cars before you post such stupidity for the world to see you dimwits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • tokmoh. on Feb 14, 2018 at 1:41 pm

Comfort, Volvo XC90 > all
      Safety, Volvo XC90 > all
      Power, Volvo XC90 > all
      FC, Volvo XC90 > all
      Price, Volvo XC90 > all

Over glorified van is over glorified van. Real men of culture buys Volvo XC90.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • stastasta on Feb 15, 2018 at 10:05 am

xc90 20 inch wheels wont be comfort when travelling over bad roads. plus the interior space is so cramped inside compare to alphard/velfire.

• tokmoh. on Feb 15, 2018 at 11:25 am

You underestimate the power of air suspension.

Interior cramped, clearly you’ve never sat in one. The seats are over 9,000 times more comfortable and the travel is far more relaxing than in this van.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 04, 2018 at 10:55 am

Breakdown frequently, Volvo XC90 > all
        Overheating all the time, Volvo XC90 > all
        Spends 2 months in workshops, Volvo XC90 > all
        Tow truck operator favourite, Volvo XC90 > all
        Poor resale value, Volvo XC90 > all

• 12yrsold on Feb 14, 2018 at 4:54 pm

“Real men of culture buys Volvo XC90” !!! U mean those men who buy a X5/Q5/GLE are not men of culture !?

• tokmoh. on Feb 14, 2018 at 5:16 pm

They’re all trash.

Except for GLE, that is still ok, as it will still contribute to the might of Geely Empire.

Volvo, Mercedes > all

• vVivi Zurianti on Feb 14, 2018 at 9:26 pm

Special outstanding feature!!

This vellfire has the aerodynamic of a brick, unmatched by other vehicles on the road……

This vellfire has the largest chrome grille will burn your retina out if the sun reflect on it…..