Mercedes-AMG C43 assembled in Thailand, priced at RM513k – is Malaysia next to produce CKD AMGs?

Mercedes-Benz has introduced a locally-assembled (CKD) version of the Mercedes-AMG C 43 Coupé in Thailand, according to a report by Bangkok Post. The go-faster two-door, said to be the first performance-oriented Mercedes to be built in the Land of Smiles, replaces the fully-imported (CBU, from Germany) version launched last year and carries a significant price cut.

How significant? Try more than a million baht, dropping the price from 5.19 million baht (RM642,500) to 4.14 million baht (RM512,500). Mind you, that’s barely any cheaper than the CBU model that is sold here, which retails at RM548,888 on-the-road without insurance; there’s also the sedan version over here that costs RM499,888. It is, however, significantly less expensive than the 10 million baht (RM1.2 million) C 63.

Of course, what powers the car remains unchanged, with the C 43 continuing to utilise a M276 3.0 litre twin-turbocharged V6, punching out 362 hp from 5,500 to 6,000 rpm and 520 Nm of torque between 2,000 and 4,200 rpm. There’s also a nine-speed 9G-Tronic automatic transmission and 4Matic all-wheel drive.

Could Malaysia follow Thailand in building 43-series (soon to be 53-series) AMG models? Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) already assembles the cooking C- and E-Class sedans in its plant in Pekan, Pahang, as well as the GLC crossover – so turning these into 43 models shouldn’t be too difficult. Full AMG models will likely be out of the question, however, with production remaining overseas.

GALLERY: Mercedes-AMG C 43 Sedan in Malaysia

GALLERY: Mercedes-AMG C 43 Coupé in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• klguy on Feb 19, 2018 at 9:05 pm

Dream cars come true. 388k CKD of the Mercedes-AMG C43

• Danny Wong on Feb 20, 2018 at 9:44 am

Buy 2nd hand la. AMG cars, within 2 years become like half price.

Cannot sell wor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Akukaya on Feb 20, 2018 at 11:58 am

2nd hand and sambung bayar declining. becoz Malaysia is high income country.

AMG cars to another year of roaring sales

• SpongeWai on Feb 19, 2018 at 9:26 pm

Come bring it to here from Thai assembled, it would be much more hyper & cheaper than original price

• Sputjam on Feb 20, 2018 at 3:37 pm

Unfortunately, we flout afta wrt motor vehicles. For that, we have to pay penalty to other asean members like thailand and indonesia in the form of high tariffs for our cars.

• Johnny on Feb 19, 2018 at 11:39 pm

Bring on the comments by butthurt people who can’t afford this car!!

About the car..
    Mercedes interior design is really cool. Unfortunately, the materials they use aren’t very good. Looks good, but feels like cheap plastic. BMWs and Audis have much better interior quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 33
    • vodka on Feb 20, 2018 at 10:09 am

Audi’s have always been the benchmark among these 3 for interior quality. Mercs traditionally the worst. But the recent models like the latest C and E class get top reviews for interior quality and design. On top of that they are the most exciting cars now compared to Audi and BMW. Well done to Mercedes. Their success is also reflected in their sales figures worldwide.

• Elchino on Feb 20, 2018 at 12:26 pm

Hvin Daimler & Geely guidance, P1 cars gonna be more exciting interior quality and design.

• Sputjam on Feb 20, 2018 at 3:38 pm

The price is similar to bmw M2. BUT audi A4 quattro is way cheaper.

• Danny Wong on Feb 20, 2018 at 9:32 am

Thailand more hardworking than Malaysia. This is why Thailand is the Detroit of Asia.

Malaysia was the Detroit of Asia in the 80s and 90s but no more. Car companies prefer hardworking Thai people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 33
    • And yet their cars more exp than MY. According to basher logic, something must be wrong with tomyamland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 25
      • Danny Wong on Feb 20, 2018 at 9:54 am

Despite not speaking English, all car companies now prefer Thailand. I wonder why.

We have lost hundreds of billion USD in investments and about 500,000 jobs to Thailand the past 30 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Better they go there. We dun need foreign companies staff by even more foreign workers. Later all profits and salary repatriated out from MY and left us with foreigner problems. So gud riddance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Cakap byk pun x guna john. Now already bersepah BMW X5 40e on our road, let alone C class and 3er.

• Betui. Volvo XC90 & BMW X5 bersepah mcm myve, waiting list Toyota HARRIER now alredi 1.5 year..

• Jokermoh on Feb 21, 2018 at 9:27 am

Dont see many volvo car. See more Audi and Merz.

• rotijohn on Feb 21, 2018 at 11:06 am

Wonder why Thai Baht is almost 30% up against MYR, and u say their cars more expensive..u only value everything in Ringgit? whatabout dollar-to-dollar comparison

• theanswer on Feb 20, 2018 at 11:01 am

thai auto policy is better. plus thai population is double from malaysia. their market is bigger.

• Bigger market n able to buy is not the same ya. Compare india n thais, india have bigger market. Do merc laku keras there? Not to mention merc price in thai is much more expensive then here in My.

• 12546670089th comment about praising Thailand’s Detroit while belittle Malaysia. I lost count how many time I throw up hearing that.

Following your own logic, Singapore must be lazier than Malaysia since virtually no car company open assembly over there. Right?

Listen, foreign investment is all about outsourcing job for higher profit. Usually a menial and tedious job with low pay rate. Yes we can do that, but if we still depending on foreign investment, we will never be a high-income nation. This is one of reason why Thailand still stuck in middle-income trap.

Even Apple wanna move its iPhone manufacturing out of China to somewhere cheaper since China wages now too high (for Apple).

All we need is homegrown companies driven by R&D and patents that provide high paying jobs which Proton, Silterra, and Mimos are all about when they were first established. Yes some of them went south due to incompetency. But why only depending on government initiative? Can’t these armchair experts establish their own private companies to compliment and diversify our economy like in US? All pandai komen but no action?

• alldisc on Feb 20, 2018 at 12:09 pm

Deswaii those foreigners work in menial and tedious job with low pay rate here, gips strong support for Grabcar a proud homegrown local company driven by R&D and vision.

• Thats the problem with these pipu. They pandai bash and whine but idea satu pun tarak. Lucky we dun depend on them to advance country and develop economy.

• Sputjam on Feb 20, 2018 at 3:43 pm

Hyundai, VW, GM all wanted to make malaysia its right hand drive hub. But they also want to stop protecting proton so that they can sell their cars freely in thailand and indonesia.our gahmen refuse.

• Hyundai, VW, GM all wanted MY to be their dumping ground for low spec unsafe ASEAN only cars. But gahmen din want to endanger MY pipu lives with these junks so our gahmen refuse them come. Tenkiu gahmen.

• Makauhijau on Feb 20, 2018 at 1:38 pm

Detroit your mom, the city of Detroit in US already bankrupted since 2009

• Digidigi on Feb 20, 2018 at 10:46 am

C class interior feel so dated compare to latest Benz lineup, this is the problem with merc, every new model come with radical change, means existing model feel dated in just 2-3 years.

• most likely the facelifted 53 series onwards, easier to justify slight price hike as theres no previous models to compare with lol,

CKDs are definitely for export

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 20, 2018 at 12:49 pm

Tahniah to Thailand. Anyways, full AMGs (their engines anyway) are hand-built in Affalterbach, so no chance of CKD here nor Thailand. But I am sure if they can CKD the 43/53 models here or sell those from Thailand here, there will be buyers. Imagine buying one for RM400k to 450k from an official dealer with warranty. What will BMW Malaysia do? Their model options are so limited (only 2 models each for the 3 and 5 Series).

• Better remained as CBU. If I have money for AMG, I hope it to be better quality. Those afford and will go for this model, will not mind to pay a little bit more.

Still got some fools mentioned the second hand value, people will not care if they buy MB. If they mind, mean they are not ready, better buy national cars.

• P1= performance + cheap + easy on Feb 20, 2018 at 6:25 pm

I still support P1 till kingdom come….

• Standard A250 on Feb 20, 2018 at 7:37 pm

Blom beli dah pikir resale value..mindset LEMAH.
    why even bother buy a car then?