New Peugeot 508 – pics leaked ahead of Geneva debut

Here are some images of the new Peugeot 508, circulating ahead of the big sedan’s debut at the Geneva Motor Show next month. The French brand doesn’t do me-too design, and you’d expect its flagship model to have plenty of design flair – Peugeot doesn’t disappoint in that respect.

The new 508 isn’t very linked to the outgoing model in terms of design, appearing more substantial and more dynamic. The front end has the new Peugeot grill as seen on the 3008 and 5008, but the headlamps here omit the bottom notch seen on the SUVs. There are two eyes on each side and a distinctive LED DRL strip that frames the wide face.

One unique cue is the 508 badge on the bonnet, above the lion badge. This isn’t a new idea but a revived one – my uncle’s 504 from the 70s had a similar badge placement too.

Peugeot has ditched the rounded shape of the outgoing 508 for sharper lines, and we can see that on the sides and rear. The triple LED “lion claw” tail lamps are there, connected by a black strip that gives the sedan a Lamborghini Huracan-esque look. Prominent tail pipes and an integrated trunk spoiler adds to the sporty image.

Speaking of sporty, the new 508 will come with frameless windows. That’s usually associated with coupes, and the 508 appears to be rather coupe-like, with great proportions.

The red car you see here is the range topping 508 GT, which will have its own grille with chequered flag motif, sportier wheel design, black mirror caps and window trim, and a GT badge on the C pillars.

The new 508’s dashboard is unmistakably Peugeot. The steering wheel, high digital instrument binnacle, gear knob and piano keys are all trademarks, but the air con vents are placed much higher on the dashboard than in the 3008. We also spot ambient lighting, contrast stitching, brushed wood trim and a high-end Focal sound system from the pics.

Really stylish and really unique, the new 508 will be a design statement in the D-segment. Like what you see?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ben Yap on Feb 21, 2018 at 10:42 am

it has some cues of the ford mustang. nice…..

• Stefan on Feb 21, 2018 at 12:00 pm

The rear looks like proton inspira. Lately peugeot has not been very innovative, the new 308 is basically a VW Golf clone and wannabe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 40
    • Semua u menang on Feb 21, 2018 at 1:07 pm

Bye bye s90

• Sonyman on Feb 21, 2018 at 1:27 pm

Hallo Peugeot workshop. I need a place to stay can you arrange an accommodation for my 508

• Conti on Feb 21, 2018 at 5:08 pm

Most Pijot 207 owner bought on 0% interest loan… can upgrade 508 atlast

• Red Barron on Feb 24, 2018 at 2:23 am

Bye Bye A4 , E class

• The face looks like, it’s smiling at you …

• samson on Feb 21, 2018 at 12:42 pm

The 508 is ranked 4th most commonly robbed car in 2016. A very desirable and underrated car

• thefact on Feb 21, 2018 at 8:10 pm

probably because parts so expensive, people resort to buy second hand parts and that fuels the theft of these cars :D

• Anton Ravind on Feb 21, 2018 at 10:46 am

Pity Proton did not accept PSA offer to merge. Otherwise we can enjoy rebadged 508 as a Proton. And also the lovely looking 3008 as a Proton SUV

Peugeot is sold in 200 countries worldwide cause high continental quality

China car is ony sold in China. Hardly can sell outside China due to quality issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 16
    • But MY pipu dun wan lazy RHD conversion with impractical glovebox, hard to service engine bays, unreliable components which takes forever to come, and no RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • While watching over his son having his dental treatment, The Head of Peugeot design was hit with a sudden inspiration for the front of his new project sedan. Peugeot interior of late doesn’t seem to disappoint, having one of the most lavish interior outside the luxury brands…… that said still not liking how they position the instrument binnacle above the rather odd sized steering. Not the most comfortable driving positions I would imagine.

• You’re supposed to look over the steering wheel towards the cluster instead of through the steering wheel like the rest

• But over the steering wheel is meant to be the road where I am really supposed to look, and glance down once in a while for my basic info…. the previous Honda Civic FD only had the bare essentials over the wheel.

• that’s why they design the meter cluster to not obstruct your view infront, and the steering is much smaller so that you can lower it. Need to try it once in a Peugeot to understand the design.

• Pijot copied the binnacle from Ioniq.

• It seems like you haven’t even driven one of the cars yourself and yet you’re here giving your ‘accurate’ opinion of Peugeot’s cars. Can you even afford one or did you just hear from others that Peugeot’s cockpit is not practical and the steering wheel is ‘odd-sized’. Maybe there’s a reason why a multi million car manufacturer decided to do so, and being someone who hasn’t even driven one maybe it’s unfair to judge based on just looking at pictures?

• vikingkong on Feb 21, 2018 at 10:49 am

that is one handsome beast, a complete improvement over the old model. interior looks even better than the 3008.

• markgoh on Feb 21, 2018 at 10:49 am

still 1.6THP..??

• DonkeyKong on Feb 21, 2018 at 1:59 pm

Somehow the Peugeots sold in this region are still being outfitted with 1.6 THP and 6-speed Aisin gearboxes. In other markets, they have already moved on to using the 8-speed Aisin gearboxes for transverse mounted applications (similar to the ones used in Volvos and BMW’s X1) and there are 1.2 turbo engines as well as 1.6 and 2.0 turbodiesel engines.. Hopefully this car, though still soldiering on with a 1.6THP, gets updated with an 8-speed Aisin transmission befitting its segment

• Sick&tired on Feb 21, 2018 at 11:09 am

Wow. IMO this is probably the best looking car in its class. I hope Naza brings in the diesel. I am driving the 508 GT diesel and it’s a much better and reliable car compared to the petrol

• Preve rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • Caddilac on Feb 21, 2018 at 11:19 am

Finally a very desirable sedan from Peugeot!

• sparcobulk on Feb 21, 2018 at 11:23 am

That’s a HOT looking sedan! Hopefully the engine is not the outdated and problematic 1.6 THP – poor fuel consumption, unreliable and average performance.

• superdriver on Feb 21, 2018 at 2:02 pm

Dude have u driven the 1.6thp before?°Really sublime to drive. Can hear the turbo going psst psst from engine. Pickup is always always there ,can overtake any lane any time with full power. Better power delivery than even the more powerful civics 1.5 turbo. Really good,never miss driving it from kl to melaka.

• Sparcobulk on Feb 21, 2018 at 6:21 pm

Yes. I drive a 408 1.6thp. I dunno how you base your comparison from but the Civic 1.5t and golf tsi 1.4t smoke me every single time bro. You can also look at the specs sheet, you see the century sprint for the Peugeot is about 1 sec slower. What’s even more embarrassing is that they have way way better fuel consumption despite the higher power output.

• Agreed, I drive a current gen T9 308 and trust me in terms of its agile handling and sufficient power and torque usually all the Civics and 1.4tsi Golfs stand no chance. The newest version of the 1.6THP engine has been enhanced and improved countless times compared to even your 2013 Peugeot 408’s and in terms of fuel efficiency if I were to drive around town it’ll be around 450KM for a full tank, costing me about RM110 to fill up with RON95? but highway driving will improve efficiency significantly. Moreover, in real life driving and in traffic, does the 0-100 really matter? what matters more is the mid-end torque and ability to pick up, which I find is more consistent than most 1.4/1.6 our there. Also, Peugeot is only offering its new 8 speed AISIN Gearbox for the facelifted 308 onwards, but only with their diesel engines, the 1.2 and 1.6 Turbo petrols are still mated to the current 6 speed AISIN gearbox

• thefact on Feb 22, 2018 at 5:02 pm

hmmm. maybe you are right, but Golf still sells much much much more then the 308 in Europe.

• carol on Feb 21, 2018 at 4:12 pm

Actually I own a current gen 308. The engine is pretty decent with good low end torque. Granted city driving the fuel consumption varies but long distance driving is a pleasure. Only issue is with Naza’s after sales service. Still a long way to go.

• Sparcobulk on Feb 21, 2018 at 9:27 pm

It’s a great engine by 2008 standards when it came out. But for an all-new model in 2018 using essentially an engine designed in 2008, it’s antiquated!

• GTi-R on Feb 22, 2018 at 12:23 am

Dont be duff, it might be designed in 2008, but that is the 1st version the engine. What they use now is the latest version of the Prince engine. There are several versions already. Peugeot keep updating and improvising the engine. They, like other car manufacturers, will want to prolong the lifetime of an engine because its cost efficient to do so. None want to roll out a totally new design engine every 7-10 years just for the sake of it. The cost of designing a new engine can be huge.. hundreds of millions of dollars. You claimed to drive a 408.. and impressed upon us that its the turbo version (with163bhp and 240Nm) coz you shared tour experience being smokwd by civic and golf turbo. You might need to brush your driving skills if golf 1.4tsi and civic 1.5t smoked you every single time.

• superdriver on Feb 22, 2018 at 10:49 am

Agreed! I have driven the civic 1.5t and put pedal to the metal, nothing really kicks in till the very end of the rpm, by then no more road to drive already and its actually late in delivery of power despite the fancy speedo screen. I have never drove the 1.4tsi but have drove the more powerful older 1.8 Passat instead, feels and accelerate better than civic. Granted Honda’s fuel consumption is always better but what’s the point if it a slower car.

• Local manufacturer can copy this interior design in D segment car within this year?

• stephen on Feb 21, 2018 at 11:37 am

Damn nice…

• Ah but is it going to have a Nissan engine?

• lchan on Feb 21, 2018 at 11:58 am

Proceed with faulty ABS/ESP unit, turbo replacement, timing chain stretch, high pressure pump fault, occasional power window malfunction, rare transmission ecu fault, leaking aircon gas at condenser, steering rack wear, suspension link wear and many more pleasures of french car ownership.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • superdriver on Feb 22, 2018 at 11:03 am

Bro not sure where u bought your Peugeot from with all these faulty…Their cars are really robust and can run for many years with proper maintenance and service.

• suomynona on Feb 21, 2018 at 12:35 pm

What they call Lion’s Claw tailights a signature all this while, they’ve got a front look to match. Those DRL look like ‘Fangs’!

Wonderful work overall, Peugeot!

• Remember kids, in Malaysia, being different and unique is a good thing, but being a french car is no good at all. especially under Naza.

• Wong Fei Hong on Feb 21, 2018 at 1:23 pm

Wah such a slim aircond vent hot die people lor

• Jonn Dol on Feb 21, 2018 at 1:56 pm

Very stylish & fresh-looking. Will strongly challenge the likes of VW Passat, Opel Insignia and the next Volvo S60.

• Advance Tech on Feb 24, 2018 at 2:30 am

Nice modern design and awesome styling.

Will take on the likes of BMW 3 series and coming new Mercedes C class ..

• Very nice design, but very poor reliability.

• Poor reliability? are you referring to the Peugeots from before 2012? You must remember to set your watch we’re in 2018 technology improves so please do your research

• Comment a car don’t used past data or look backward because is diferrent tech and design

• Lancer evo inspired rear
    Athletic shoulder lines
    Front looks like the old aussie ford falcon

very handsome and sporty looking pug

and a class leading interior

• Honda Fan on Feb 21, 2018 at 2:42 pm

Everything about the car is damn nice, design, features, safety, performance and so tempting except the owner will probably spend more times in the workshop than on the roads. When he fed up and wanted to let go the car, he found himself with no taker and the 2nd hand dealer only willing to offer a price lower than the hire purchase amount owed to the bank.

• sparcobulk on Feb 21, 2018 at 2:49 pm

Naza Pug KL doesn’t seem to have any other engines than the outdated and problematic 1.6 Prince, why cannot source other engines from Pug France?

Nice design is useless if car is making SC its home.

• Bernard on Feb 21, 2018 at 3:57 pm

This car got RV ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • something will eventually leak on these cars..reliabilty is world renowned