VIDEO: I do not like tolls – prime minister Najib Razak

Malaysian prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak recently spoke in a social media broadcast, which focused on the economy and the government’s policies under Budget 2018. During the near hour-long session, Najib, who is also finance minister, touched upon a topic that always sparks a conversation – tolls.

At the 23 minutes and 24 seconds mark, Najib stated that he wasn’t a fan of tolls, but abolishing them isn’t that easy. “Take for instance abolishing tolls, oh very easy. It’s actually not, but I don’t believe that if you are charged toll a daily basis, it’s good for the rakyat,” he said.

He continued, “if it’s the North-South Expressway, if it’s the Karak Expressway, then yes, you only use them once in a while. But if you are paying tolls daily, twice, four times, anyone would be upset.”

“So, I don’t believe that. My predecessor was a great believer in toll. I do not like toll. Which is why there is no toll on the Pan Borneo Highway for the people of Sabah and Sarawak. Batu Tiga, Sungai Rasau, Bukit Kayu Hitam, EDL (Eastern Dispersal Link), we abolished (toll collection) there.”

“Wherever I can, I will abolish toll because I don’t think it’s good. It’s upsetting and creates jam, but we can do it because I have to unravel some of the earlier decisions, legacy problem. I will unravel what I think is not to the interest of the people of Malaysia, that I will do,” he ended.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mesin rumput on Feb 22, 2018 at 1:52 pm

If you are paying GST daily, twice, four times, anyone will be upset.

So, I don’t believe that.

I do not like GST.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 266 Thumb down 27
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 351
      • Anton Ravind on Feb 22, 2018 at 3:01 pm

the problem in Malaysia is this. It has the highest cost to make 1KM of highway in the world. Despite using super cheap Bangladeshi, it cost over RM100 million per KM of highway. And that does not include acquisition costs even.

No where in the world 1KM of highway cost this much.

So, the concessionaire tells the Government they need to recoup 40 or 50 years with every 3 years increase.

The main issue is this….why does it cost over RM100 million per 1KM? Even expensive labour European countries also hardly cost few million ringgit per KM

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 28
        • awg1031 on Feb 22, 2018 at 4:15 pm

rm100m per km..are you sure you got your that fact right??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 63
        • Anton,

Can you tell me where you got your costings from?

Thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 49
        • Rooney on Feb 22, 2018 at 5:01 pm

Which particular highway you’re referring to?

Elevated is about RM50 million per km
          At-grade is about RM15-RM20 million per km

Must factor in also difficulty to build on terrains etc.

When you build on land, of course you have to factor in land acquisition cost which will significantly add to the cost/km. City more expensive. Rural less expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 24
        • Casey Qing on Feb 22, 2018 at 7:43 pm

Malaysia is one of the richest countries in the world. It has every natural resource you can name. Oil, gas, palm oil, tin, iron, kuprum, coconut, bauxite, gold, silver etc etc.

Long long list. Infact, Malaysi is a super rich country if there was equal distribution of wealth and no corruption.

To be honest, if there was no corruption, there is no need for even tolls because the Government will be so rich from natural resources.

Look at Singapore, not many tolls but they got ZERO resources.

Malaysia has so much of resources but got hundreds of tolls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
          • Lolz! Somebody here thinks ERP is not toll. Wait till he passes thru them veli merrily then see the toll bill when exiting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
          • Sg got they 7% GST. Not to mention their income tax are not cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • Gojeng on Feb 23, 2018 at 4:49 pm

And they planned to raise another 2 percent on the existing GST. Giving excuses like to improve economic resilience, improve the lives of the people bla..bla..bla So how?

• Geng Cukur on Feb 22, 2018 at 5:14 pm

U mean Norwegian salmon ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Depends. Did u buy it fillet from a supermarket (GST rated) or whole fish from pasar basah (GST exempted)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 22
          • lilytan on Feb 22, 2018 at 7:39 pm

Ikan kembong alredi so exp. How to afford salmon.. Sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Casey Qing on Feb 22, 2018 at 7:49 pm

fish in pasar is GST exempted? Are you very sure?

• Monsoon season of cuz exp now lah. Wait till Jul-Aug, then prices becomes super cheap.

As for GST, here is from (customs. gov. my).
            The following supplies of fisheries sector are subject to GST at a zero rate:
            (a) supply of fish whether marine or aquaculture which is used as foods for human consumption either live, fresh, chilled or frozen and not further processed;

My bad, not GST exempt but ZERO RATED.

• According to your logic, you’d drink your wife’s milk, make your own bread, grow your own rice, make your own butter… Good luck with all of that

• According to ur logic, wet markets and pasar borongs dun exist. Gud luck with the shock on seeing them near ur neighbourhood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • You da real MVP

• Only 14% working people pay tax. Other then those 14% get exemption. Tolls want to abolish, gov hosp want free, fuel want cheap, gov school want free and etc. Do the math.

• Lolz! Its unbelievable how they can have this spoonfeed mentality and dun see the problem in that.

• Gojeng on Feb 23, 2018 at 4:52 pm

They also don’t realized for generations they have been fed dedak from they day they were born till the day they dies.

Look at other countries’ medical expenses on healthcare, you can get heart attack on the spot.

• So u suggesting abolish GST and don’t give any exemption on income tax?

• tkhengong on Feb 22, 2018 at 2:13 pm

Wonder what was he doing during the cabinet meetings then? He could have spoken up on the matter but did he? I think GST is worse-off than having to pay tolls. you only pay tolls when you use the highways. GST affects every stratum of society!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 9
    • Back to his other explanation. Only 14% pay taxes and that cannot sustain the economy. So GST is introduced. You have been paying taxes before like SST. It is just you do not see the tax being spell out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Yes. Now all needs to pay taxes. No more lari no more hiding. Fair fair to all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 17
    • azhar on Feb 22, 2018 at 3:44 pm

Well done PM for abolishing tolls & made public transports super accessible. Both populist moves are so contradictory… To encourage Rakyat to drive more instead. Take Myve or Mrt, Rakyat so pening.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • But then, other side said they will build more tolls and keep GST. So…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • Syukur harga dah turun 30%.
    https://paultan.org/2017/12/20/nap-2014-eev-review-to-be-finalised-next-year-honda-city-price-dropped-from-rm90k-to-rm75k-madani/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 44
  • Hari-Hari lalu pan borneo on Feb 22, 2018 at 2:47 pm

That’s why pan borneo took forever to complete. No toll. Not to mention the quality of the road here. Sorry but what I heard is so much bullish from him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
    • Belasahaje on Feb 22, 2018 at 3:51 pm

Asal Harga sayur Kangkung dah turun..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • suomynona on Feb 22, 2018 at 4:12 pm

Be grateful cheaper car.
      https://paultan.org/2016/04/07/car-prices-to-drop-30-by-2018-prime-ministers-dept/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Never did see quality appearance in a construction site ever, considering Pan Borneo is still UNDER CONSTRUCTION

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • powerlanjer on Feb 22, 2018 at 3:30 pm

So.. Paultan now advocating gomen videos before election?

Sudah sellout?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 65
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 22, 2018 at 3:43 pm

We are not advocating anything. We are just reporting what has been said, relating to Malaysian motorists.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 11
      • Henry on Feb 22, 2018 at 5:10 pm

Forgive him. Like to use ‘big’ words but don’t know the meaning. LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • Ruslan Bahari on Feb 22, 2018 at 5:19 pm

Sometimes some people cannot see beyond the fact, just because they don’t like something or someone. I may not be the biggest fan of the ruling party, but news is news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
      • Thats the problem with these pipu. They just cant take gud news from those they oppose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
    • PT site is not like some pipu here. Only want to read what they want and like. What fact is fact, just read, watch and do the math with ur own brain.

• What do you mean forever? It just started and also under his tenure which only started in 2009. and the proposal of pan borneo took place years later. and have you read the progress update? If you haven’t I propose you just shut up and get your fact checked.

• azrai on Feb 22, 2018 at 3:54 pm

I don’t like poll also..

• hondaman on Feb 22, 2018 at 5:06 pm

wait… is he advocating us to drive or use public transport?

• He hasnt drop car prices while continue building more public transports, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • superbird #43 on Feb 22, 2018 at 5:15 pm

i like tolls, but i do not like property and income taxes…..
    Feel free to disagree with me.
    Period

• Andrekua on Feb 22, 2018 at 5:34 pm

Apparently there’s many things he doesn’t like as well such as subsidy, cheaper car price.

Btw your minister once said toll is good. Wake up earlier, less stressful when driving to work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Yup. Like a strict parent, he dun like to mollycoddled us with sweet dreams anymore. Its time to wakeup, drink that bitter coffee, and get out to the world and compete.

• Public transports > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
  • kipKEEP1230 on Feb 22, 2018 at 6:00 pm

but then, are the under-construction highways like SUKE, EKVE which are “Projek Kerajaan Persekututan” will be toll-free? if they are not, are these signed by his predecessor as well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • Bernard on Feb 22, 2018 at 7:36 pm

Abolish all tolls and GST.

• Why? The other side says them will toll more and keep GST if selected.

• And make sure all My pipu got no exemption in income tax. No?

• Can be done, but personal income tax starts at 20% up to 60%. Mau?

• Govt shud reduce spending & allocations for free pilgrimage which totally not productive

• Free pilgrimage is only for those hardcore poor and only selected ones (those about to KO). They r veli veli small in numbers, and mostly those that goes, uses their money in TH.

Even advanced countries have 20-25% GST with 40-60% income tax. Do their pipu demand their gov to cut spending so to reduce these taxes too?

• otak udang on Feb 22, 2018 at 8:35 pm

Sambung konsesi sampai 2038..then say don’t like it

• Rubbey on Feb 23, 2018 at 4:20 am

Cus one You like driver grab or driver taxi or you like two.

• pomen on Feb 23, 2018 at 8:50 am

lol…but new coming DASH and SUKE got toll

• Yang mahal on Feb 24, 2018 at 1:41 pm

I like tolls
    Thanks To TUN M
    Thanks To SEMI VALUE