2018 Yamaha XMax 250 in M’sia end March – RM22k

Launched recently at the Hong Leong Yamaha Malaysia annual dinner, the 2018 Yamaha XMax 250 will be in authorised Yamaha Big Bike dealers at the end of March, as promised, and priced at RM22,498.50, including GST but excluding road tax, insurance and registration. The XMax 250 is designed to be an urban scooter, and takes styling cues from other scooters in the Max family, notably the TMax.

Carrying a 250 cc, single-cylinder, liquid-cooled power plant with four-valves and fed by EFI, the XMax 250 gets power to the ground via an automatic transmission and belt-drive. No power figures were provided by Hong Leong Yamaha, but we would hazard a guess at something around the 27 hp mark and the engine is Euro 4 compliant.

Standard equipment on the XMax 250 is at a fairly high level, with the specifications list including two-channel ABS, and traction control. Also included is keyless start and LED lighting for the headlight and tailights.

Under the seat, a storage compartment large enough to keep two full-face helmets can be found, and inside a dashboard compartment is a 12-volt socket for charging electronic devices. Inside the cockpit is an LCD instrument panel, and the windshield and handlebars are adjustable to suit different riders.

Suspension for the XMax 250 is with telescopic forks in front and dual shock absorbers at the back, and braking is with hydraulic discs, while wheels are a 15-inch in front and 14-incher in the rear. The 2018 Yamaha XMax 250 comes in two colours – Metallic White and Rusty Bronze.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• fromeastside on Mar 09, 2018 at 11:00 pm

is it nmax 250 or xmax 250

• Bernard on Mar 09, 2018 at 11:38 pm

This is going to sell really well. Great news!

• SYM VTS150 still more value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • TreeHugger on Mar 10, 2018 at 6:55 am

Mohan the pictures show the rear suspension is a dual shock instead of mono.

• Lim Kwan Sek on Mar 10, 2018 at 9:08 am

Who can afford Rm22k? Scooter supposed to be a cheap bike. Those days my atuk told me Italian Vespa he bought just RM2k

Something wrong with the ringgit if scooter is at this price

Scooter is scooter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 16
    • Biker on Mar 10, 2018 at 6:49 pm

You can continue to use bicycle if no money for this scooter. No money go play far far

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • There are scooter less then 10k. Aiming for big cc bike, then complaint about high price. Apa ni? If not so smart when buying, don’t blame the ringgit. Ukur baju badan sendiri.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 11, 2018 at 12:53 pm

small scooter maybe cheap but not big like this one

• Samuel Toh on Mar 11, 2018 at 2:51 pm

cars and bikes are super expensive in mesia

• Wait till you see the price of those 600cc+ maxies

• Turbo_ridera on Mar 11, 2018 at 4:49 pm

What do you expect. Every 250cc is in rm20k until rm25k price range no matter its a scooter, naked bike or a full faired 250cc bike. Scooter nowadays are not like it used to be. You sir, doesn’t have soul for 2 wheelers

• rightwinger on Mar 11, 2018 at 10:08 pm

well for starters its NOT meant for your average joe. even the SYM evo 250 scooter is a tad shy of 19K. There are plenty of other sub 5K mopeds/kapchais on sale now for the regular joe.
      a 400cc scooter is not the same as a 250cc scooter, which is not the same as a 100cc scooter. stop lying.

• Lagi kena kantoied by well informed readers. U just never learn, huh?

• Zulkiefly Omar on May 18, 2018 at 5:29 pm

Those days (60’s) things were cheap. A bottle of coke just 20cents! & so on. Now it is 50 years ahead things are more and more expensive! You have to pay to go to the toilet.

• Vanhoe on Mar 10, 2018 at 10:56 am

22k I was right.
    Btw Honda revealed the new Forza 300 to fight this model.

• Wow, nice scooter for commuting & with enough power for safe highway cruising…good safety tech too!

• Once this yamaha xmax 250 comes to the market, kymco downtown 250i must reduce price by 50% to clear stock.

• Fireant on Mar 10, 2018 at 5:23 pm

HLYM..is a blood sucking company..This exact model is selling for around RM17K in Indon..from which we are getting a CKD model kit and yet our prices shoot up way pass RM20K which I thought would be the max. for a reasonable pricing..But Noooo.. HLYM must suck more blood from the biking community…

• Papa Goines on Mar 11, 2018 at 7:20 am

Come on Kawa & Honda… please bring down your cc to B2-friendly size

Else, it’s only SYM, Kymco and Modenas out there

• With the bells and whistles and 250cc this ain’t no everyday biker’s ride. Only deep pocketed recreational riders need apply.

• Rizal on Mar 11, 2018 at 8:57 pm

Rm22k is exactly the same with Sym Evo250 special edition OTR. Pretty much is a competative game, and with this Yamaha pricing, its good to have a healty compatitor. I do own SymEvo, for its maintenance cost in the long run compared to Sym400. Worst case scenario, this scooter position into weekend ride or short distance ride. Using it for daily working commute may end up pretty expensive whenever required service, especially belt replacement. Hope HLYamaha brings a lot or getting local to produce parts

• Francis Lim on Mar 11, 2018 at 11:10 pm

How to use this scooter when the petrol sold here is Euro 2M when this scooter require Euro 4?

• Yamaha try to con the Malaysian with 1 year warranty.

Buy honda/Kawa/SYM for 2 years warranty. boycott them.

• sohai on Mar 13, 2018 at 9:14 pm

the don’t actually con you.. is stated quite clearly and is then for the consumer to decide.
      if warranty is important to you, by all means avoid Yamaha.

• Dont waste your money rm22000 cash or maybe become rm40000 (loan credit) just for 250 cc.