Toyota Hilux facelift now in Malaysia, launching soon?

The Toyota Hilux facelift, which made its debut in Thailand in November 2017, is now in Malaysia and is set to officially surface soon. Sales staff have started to push the refreshed truck, and one of them runs the “Yana Toyota Online” Facebook page, where these images are from.

This is quite a prominent facelift for the current generation Hilux, which was launched here in May 2016. The nose resembles that of the latest Tacoma, Toyota’s North American midsize truck. The hexagonal grille is large, and it joins a redesigned bumper with an upturned centre air intake and new fog light surrounds. The rest of the exterior appears similar to before, like the interior.

In Thailand, this new front fascia is only available on the 4×4 and high-riding 4×2 Prerunner variants; the more utilitarian members of the family carry over the same face, but with a black grille and a front bumper guard. This could be the case here too – we’ll see.

The Kota Bharu-based Toyota SA also let out some info on the Hilux facelift. It seems like we’re set to get a new variant called the “Hilux 2.4 Auto Luxury Edition”, which should slot between the current Hilux 2.4G and the range-topping Hilux 2.8G.

New face aside, the Hilux 2.4 Luxury gets a new rear step ornament (with embossed ‘Hilux’ logo), new side stickers, an all-black cabin (including pillars and headlining), and perforated leather seats.

It’s not clear if the listed kit are exclusive to the 2.4 Luxury or will be shared with other variants. There should be no changes under the hood, with the 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV (150 PS, 400 Nm) and 2.8 litre 1GD-FTV (177 PS, 450 Nm) turbodiesels continuing service alongside a six-speed automatic transmission. What do you think of the Hilux’s new face?

GALLERY: Pre-facelift Toyota Hilux 2.8G with Tough Package

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Not a Toyota Fan on Mar 12, 2018 at 3:48 pm

Ford ranger and Isuzu dmax stole a lot of hilux sales, same goes to triton. But its a just a matter of time before people realise that power and looks alone is not enough. Hilux offers more like reliability, service network support, parts availability and last but not least – resale value.

Those who doesn’t believe me, check out all d segment cars sold in 2012-2013 selling between 160-170k. They include Honda accord, Nissan teana, Hyundai sonata, kia optima, vw Passat sedan, ford Mondeo and Toyota Camry. Go to mudah.my, and see how Camry holds its value best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 59
    • The name is ‘ Not A Toyota Fan’ but the comment is kissing Toyota’s butt to the max.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
      • Jamaluddin Jaafar on Mar 12, 2018 at 8:51 pm

Once this comes to Malaysia, habis lah Boyue. Who will buy it? Yes Boyue is a SUV but still, people rather buy Japanese quality than China quality.

Remember Toyota is sold in 200 over countries. Boyue is hardly sold anywhere else in the world other than China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
        • Hahaha! So blinded until wanna compare a SUV with a pickup truck. Totally diff segment and usage and target customer wei!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Funny that you took 2012 Camry as reference for resale value. 2012-13 XV50 Camry are the worst. All no ESC, even the RM 180k 2.5V and not to mention the 2.0 came with 4 speed automatic. The only reason the high listed prices for these Camry is because the sellers already anticipated potential buyers will drive down the price much more than usual. No buyer that know about cars would buy a pre-update XV50 Camry at anything near listed price.

• Did u know that at this age and technology the Hailat service schedule is still at every 5000kms? I walked away from the showroom immediately when i learned about this.

• Syafiq Aziz on Mar 13, 2018 at 10:45 am

yes true..
        hilux is already 100% out from my list.

• look closer on Mar 13, 2018 at 2:33 pm

I have a 2017 Hilux 2.8 and yes service is every 5k km and it costs about RM200-300).

Last time I had a 2013 Ranger and service was every 10k km so it was more time convenient but it cost RM700-800+ because Sime Darby Ford considers it “continental” car. I heard Rangers have engine injector problems… maybe because using Euro 2 diesel and then servicing at 10k km?

• I sold my Camry few years back losing about RM40k within 2 years of new purchase.
      What the heck you talking about?
      All D segment cars depreciate more than the market value.

• pro-san on Mar 12, 2018 at 4:00 pm

omg boring la toyota. nothing to see here

• Therealmaserati on Mar 12, 2018 at 4:40 pm

Only stupid ppl buy Dmax. Damn no power and damn noisy engine and cabin. The Ranger and Navara are the best pickups at the moment.

Hilux is best for reliability and resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • Those rims look horrible. And how is it a 2.4 model with Luxury in its name doesn’t come with LED headlights? Luxury my ass.

• Terence on Mar 23, 2018 at 10:51 pm

I am wondering if any of the pick up truck would focus more on the comfort level at the rear seats? So far, all focus are in the front seats only