Turbo Toyota 86 would need a new platform – Tada

It’s one of the most popular requests in enthusiast circles – more power for the Toyota 86, by plonking in a turbocharger. Sorry, but there’s no chance of that happening, in this generation at least, as reiterated by Tetsuya Tada, the chief engineer for the 86 and Supra.

“When we launched 86, I got literally millions of questions from around the world of ‘when would you be launching the turbo version?’ I believe that often times I answered that there won’t be a turbo version, and there were some articles in the media that Mr Tada doesn’t like a turbo,” Tada told Australia’s CarAdvice in Geneva.

“That’s not really true. I do like turbos, however if we come up with a turbo version of the 86 and boost up the power that would result in the necessity of changing the basic configuration completely, to come up with a car that I would be satisfied with,” Toyota’s sports car guru explained.

Tada san said that the current Toyota 86 is designed to feel agile and nimble, with weight distribution adapted for its powertrain. “One characteristic of the 86 is that in terms of the front balance its slightly front loaded so it makes the handling more fast and agile. So if we were to come up with a turbo version, we would have to go change the weight balance between the front and the rear.

“That means we have to come up with a completely new platform, so it’s not about just changing or slight modification in the engine parts,” he said.

For those who feel strongly about the Toyota 86 and Subaru BRZ lacking power, you’ll have to wait for the next generation to see if a turbocharged engine ever happens. For the rest of us contented folk, including this easy to please pundit, let’s continue to enjoy this well-balanced driver’s car for what it is – a light and agile sports car with a revvy naturally aspirated engine that needs squeezing. Enjoy the NAs while they last!

GALLERY: Toyota 86 facelift in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Henry on Mar 12, 2018 at 6:59 pm

A 25k car in the USA but cost 250k here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • Taxing the rich so no problemo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • James on Mar 12, 2018 at 11:52 pm

86 same class as Hyundai Veloster rm135k.

• Tan Siew Han on Mar 13, 2018 at 10:42 am

I rather add a little bit more and get a AMG A45 or CLA45.

Merc is Merc. Toyota is nothing

• taknaktoyota on Mar 13, 2018 at 12:49 pm

Last time toyota said to use n/a , suddenly change direction 360 degree. Malu betul.

• Muhd Azman on Mar 13, 2018 at 6:22 am

Super cheap car in Australia too. But here it is for the rich only. Where is our 30% car price reduction promise?

• Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
        Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

• musangKing-originalz on Mar 13, 2018 at 10:38 am

here just source for used lotus if u value so much on handling sensation, skip 86!

• Pinjam Here Pinjam There on Mar 12, 2018 at 7:41 pm

GT86 (Subaru Boxer engine) needs to enter new contract before can ‘pinjam’ one turbo engine from BMW

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 12, 2018 at 7:48 pm

Waiting for Subaru to throw out the FA20 and drop in the FA20 Turbo from the WRX. I mean, it should be plug and play. “Balance” be damned.

Sadly, Toyota would have none of that malarkey.

I really don’t buy the new platform excuse……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Anonymous on Mar 13, 2018 at 8:30 am

If you think about it, Toyota and Subaru likes the front-rear balance, and if not for the lack of power drivers like how it makes it go too. Adding the weight of a turbo and all its accessories puts more weight on the front to the already front-biased weighted car. To re-address that issue would require an almost complete redesign of the chassis; driver seating, gearbox placement, wheelbase adjustment, etc.

Unless you can settle for a simple addition of a ballast at the rear, a new platform might be what the car would end up with for a REAL turbo 86, rather than just another car with an added turbo.

• 4G63T DSM is not really an engineer, perhaps just engine-near.

• Autobahn on Mar 12, 2018 at 8:40 pm

When people said enjoy the quick response of na sports car …we meant a 400hp na car like e92 m3…not like this sport look alike that a family mpv can smoke on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
  • Jamaluddin Jaafar on Mar 12, 2018 at 9:00 pm

toyota 86 here same price as a 2nd hand Ferrari or a Porsche.

I might as well buy a Ferrari or a Porsche.

Thank you UMW for your high pricing. No wonder you sold 1 or 2 whole of last year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
    • Henry on Mar 12, 2018 at 10:03 pm

Several recons on the road though, at half the price.

• Abdul wahub on Mar 12, 2018 at 10:50 pm

Sure you want to buy ferrari or porsche , 1 year after own ferrari you can refinance your house for insurance , roadtax , maintenance , buy new myvi bro , sweet dream for 9 years or more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • New Myvi tak jamin saya blh hidup sampai 9 tahun @ lebih sbb bawa new myvi laju tak safe. Rela ambil Iriz @ picanto skrg…jamin saya dpt kereta mewah 10 tahun kemudian.

• Not 86 on Mar 13, 2018 at 9:01 am

The other prob will arise… you wouldn’t afford to maintain Ferrari or Porsche’s running cost…

Opps, sorry..you are billionnaire.

• One thing that kills this car is the utterly uninspiring interior. It looks modern-ish, but so generic and flat and un-artful.

Exterior doesn’t have the wow factor either. Just bland.

If this car was made in the 90’s, it would be gorgeous. But the competition has moved miles ahead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Malaysian Driver on Mar 13, 2018 at 12:13 am

If you being so particular about the interior and exterior of the design of this car, you totally, totally miss the point altogether what this car is all about. Competition? A Toyota 86 or a Subaru BRZ is made to compete in the design department? You really makes laugh.

People who buy a 86 don’t even care how it looks, people who care will never buy an 86, they will buy a posers’ car with shit dynamics and handling.

• Not 86 on Mar 13, 2018 at 9:01 am

Have you tried drive one?

• Toyota dun wan Subaru’s tebo version to outperform toyota’s, so the jeles and says no tebo.

• A45 recond owner on Mar 12, 2018 at 10:37 pm

Rm 260k expensive for 2000 cc car 200hp & non turbo ,same price you can buy mesidis benz A45 recond or Vellfire price around rm 170k , look more kaya

• Shout so much but this thing got any achievements in world stage?motorsport?

• Anonymous on Mar 13, 2018 at 5:24 pm

Has the AE86 ever been the greatest at motorsports? It’s one of the most popular cars for drifting, and won the ETCC manufacturer’s title once in the 80’s (the ETCC is no more), a it competed in many races but that’s about it.
      The only truly successful Toyota in motorsports is the Celica. That car properly dominated in world rally.

Since when is it so wrong to engineer a car to one’s own vision? He’s “shouting” because everyone is howling at just how “bad” his engineering decisions are. If it is so bad, why has it won many car of the year awards, why does the power hungry Jeremy Clarkson called it his car of the year?

• This one i like, the others model looks very ugly

• 12yrsold on Mar 13, 2018 at 9:22 am

The Toyota 86 is designed to feel agile, nimble & light with weight distribution adapted for its powertrain(N/A engine) not to mention a cheap sports car for enthusiast to maintain & service(Don’t ask why its expensive here).

Plonking in a turbo will increase the power hence to come up with a completely new platform as explained by Tetsuya Tada, the chief engineer for the 86/Supra.

In short, Mr Tada is saying if U want a cheap sports car, buy the 86. If U want a more POWERFUL Toyota, buy the Supra. Thanks for explaining/clarifying Mr Tada.

• camtakpro on Mar 13, 2018 at 9:22 am

Just mass produce the original AE86 with original spec and sell it @ RM30k.

• Henry on Mar 13, 2018 at 10:46 am

But it won’t be able to comply with today’s various legal and environmental requirements.

• sabahan on Mar 13, 2018 at 2:28 pm

at first I thought “Tada” was the sound effect of “TADAAA~~~”!! turbo for GT86!!

• Kangkung with Cheese on Mar 13, 2018 at 10:49 pm

My mild-modded P1 Neo can smoke kaw-kaw this 86….Cost me only 1/3 of the toyota price….