2018 Lexus LS launched in Malaysia – three LS 500 variants available, from RM799k to RM1.46 million

Lexus Malaysia has officially launched the 2018 Lexus LS sedan in the country – as indicated when order books opened in January for the automaker’s flagship rear wheel-drive limousine, the fifth-gen goes on sale in Malaysia in three variant forms, the LS 500 Luxury, the LS 500 Executive and the range-topping LS 500h Executive hybrid.

First unveiled in Detroit last year in its LS 500 form, the new LS sits on the company’s Global Architecture – Luxury (GA-L) platform as seen on the LC, and measures in at 5,235 mm long with a 3,125 mm wheelbase, 1,900 mm wide and 1,450 mm tall. Compared to the previous fourth-gen, the new LS is 28 mm longer (wheelbase, +33 mm), 25 mm wider and it also sits lower by 15 mm, with the bonnet and boot placed lower than before.

Exterior design bits include a signature spindle design mesh grille, ultra-compact three-beam LED projector headlamps with LED DRLS, flared fenders and full LED combination rear lamps with a distinctive sequential illumination turn signal. It’s also the first Lexus sedan with a six-window profile, which according to the automaker enables excellent outward visibility for occupants.

All LS variants come equipped with a multi-link front/rear electronically-controlled air suspension system, and ride on 20-inch wheels wrapped with 245/40 front and 245/45 rear profile run-flat tyres. Boot capacity for the petrol variants is 480 litres, while that of the hybrid is 440 litres.

Standard equipment across the entire range includes semi-aniline leather upholstery, a smart entry and start system, a powered assisted boot with a kick-open handsfree function, electronic parking brake with auto brake hold and four-zone automatic air conditioning with Lexus Climate Concierge. The latter uses infrared sensors to measure the occupants’ body temperature and applies the most comfortable climate control setting for each one.

Other standard fit items include a 12.3-inch electro multi-vision navigation display, a 24-inch (600 mm by 150 mm) colour heads-up display, a three-spoke leather/wood finish multi-function steering wheel and 28-way power adjustable driver/front passenger seats complete with cooling/heating features and a Shiatsu massage function.

The LS 500 Luxury comes equipped with a 12-speaker Pioneer audio system with eight channels of amplification and Miracast support, fabric door trim as well as 18-way power adjustable rear seats. As you’d expect, both the LS 500 Executive and LS 500h Executive models bump the equipment specification up in key areas of entertainment and occupant plush.

On goes a 23-speaker Mark Levinsion QLI reference surround sound system with 16 channels of amplification and 2,400 watt output on these two, and novelties include in-ceiling array speakers and rear seat entertainment displays (dual 11.6-inch LCD screens with Blu-Ray, HDMI and SD card playback.

Door trim on the duo is of the leather variety, and the rear seats get a hike up to 22-way adjustable units, complete with a massage function. The inclusion of a rear seat luxury package adds on a raised ottoman, which the LS 500 Luxury doesn’t have.

In terms of powertrains, the LS 500 Luxury and Executive petrol variants are powered by a 3.5 litre, twin-turbo petrol V6. The unit, which replaces the previous-gen’s naturally-aspirated V8, offers 415 hp at 6,000 rpm and 600 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 4,800 rpm in the way of output, and the unit is paired with a 10-speed torque converter Direct Shift automatic transmission.

The hybrid also utilises a 3.5 litre V6 petrol mill, but this one is normally-aspirated and good for 295 hp at 6,600 rpm and 350 Nm of torque at 5,100 rpm on its own. The engine is assisted by two permanent magnet synchronous electric motors, with a 310 volt lithium-ion battery providing the necessary juice.

The motor drive offers 176 hp and 300 Nm, and overall combined output from the hybrid system is 354 hp. Power is put to the ground via a Multi Stage Hybrid Transmission, which combines a four-speed automatic with a traditional hybrid continuously variable transmission (CVT) to recreate a 10-speed transmission.

Performance figures are a 250 km/h top speed for all three LS models, while the two petrol variants accomplish the 0-100 km/h sprint in 5.0 seconds, slightly faster than that of the hybrid, which takes 5.4 seconds to do the same. Fuel consumption is a claimed 10 km per litre combined for the petrol-only LS versions, and 15 km per litre for the hybrid.

On the safety front, aside from a vehicle dynamic integrated management (VDIM) system, VSC and 12 airbags, the luxury sedan is equipped with the Lexus Safety System + as standard. Items available under the system’s umbrella include a front pre-collision warning system with pedestrian detection, advanced lane departure alert with lane keep assist and vehicle sway warning, automatic hi-beam and dynamic radar active cruise control.

Also on, a blind spot monitor with rear cross-traffic alert, a tyre pressure warning system for the run-flats, a panoramic view monitor and reverse parking assist monitor.

No shortage of colour options for the CBU unit, with 11 exterior shades to pick from – there’s Black, Graphite Black Glass Flake, Deep Blue Mica, Red Mica Crystal Shine, Amber Crystal Shine, Sonic Quartz, Sonic Silver, Sonic Titanium, Sleek Ecru Metallic and two brand new colours, Manganese Luster and Sonic Agate.

Likewise, the interior colours and trim, of which there are six choices. The LS 500 Luxury gets two, called Black/Art Wood Organic and Noble Brown/Art Wood Herringbone. The LS 500 Executive and LS 500h Executive also get Black/Art Wood Organic, but this is listed under a different code, effectively making a separate choice to that for the Luxury. The two variants also have an alternative combination called Crimson & Black/Art Wood Herringbone.

Further personalisation is available for both Executive variants in the form of a Kiriko Cut Glass package. Available as a cost option for RM98,000, this consists of Kiriko cut glass door trim ornamentation and origami hand-folded pleats on the door trim, matched with either a Black or Crimson & Black interior.

Finally, pricing, and the 2018 Lexus LS range goes for:

Lexus LS 500 Luxury – RM799,000
Lexus LS 500 Executive – RM999,000
Lexus LS 500h Executive – RM1,459,000

All prices are on-the-road without insurance, and the new Lexus LS comes with a comprehensive five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

We’ve driven the new Lexus LS – read our Japanese drive report on the flagship sedan. Visit CarBase.my to compare all the Lexus LS variant specifications.

GALLERY: 2018 Lexus LS 500 Executive in Sonic Agate and Manganese Luster exterior finishes

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• SpongeWai on Mar 15, 2018 at 12:44 pm

RM800k for Lexus LS500 vs RM600k for Merc S400 Hybrid

CBU from Japan vs CKD in Pekan plant

Well UMW, screw you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
  • Nice Amoi yo.. on Mar 15, 2018 at 1:01 pm

Better than benz and bm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 80
    • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 15, 2018 at 10:15 pm

Better to just buy a 2015 S400h for RM350k. I have seen so many low mileage ones ie like 10,000KM only. Virtually new.

The RM1.2 mil…you can keep and enjoy life.

Nobody will look at you when you drive this Lexus. But everybody will look at you when you drive a S400h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
      • Anonymous on Mar 16, 2018 at 10:54 am

Look at your old car?? XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Don’t give up and work harder so that you might have a chance to drive a Mercedes in future

• Car guy on Oct 19, 2018 at 5:42 pm

Anonymous base on your comment you sound like a 5 year old child lololol

• You have no taste

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Douglas Tan on Mar 16, 2018 at 7:00 am

Lexus owners on Malaysia are sad dudes. Cause in the overseas markets, Lexus is considered a cheap car. Far cheaper than even Mercedes S class and BMW 7 series.

But in Malaysia, it is many times more expensive than BMW and Mercedes

Buyers just want to syiok sendiri in Malaysia and show off they got money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 17, 2018 at 5:30 pm

Do your homework before making such silly remarks. Lexus in the western world is priced more than Benz/BMW/Audi in certain variants

• KNIGHTRIDER on Mar 15, 2018 at 1:01 pm

In tech & advance=win, but in heritage & exclusivity cannot beat merc & bmw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 15, 2018 at 10:16 pm

2017 730Li with 5 year warranty left going for RM380k.

The RM1.2 million you save can enjoy life forever.

Why pay RM1.5 mil for a Japanese Toyota in disguise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 153
      • Alex259 on Mar 19, 2018 at 11:06 am

Its true! Scooter CVT gearbox is their top range of technology, haha

• The stubborness to not CKD the LS to almost anywhere outside their Tahara plant in Japan means that the LS benefits from consistent quality but very uncompetitive pricing than ze germans. You’re effectively paying RM200k more for a car that granted has more power, but has one of the worse infortainment system in the market, and constantly laughed by internet peasents that its an over glorified Toyota, its competitor from Munich has lasers for gawdsake, and can move with the wonders of electricity.

But than as something to really stand out from the crowd of usual political and financial figures of Sondërklasse and 7 serieses. The LS does it wonderfully. It does luxury its own way and yes will be hated for it, but i guess thats originality….just RM200k? Abit stretching it for originality. Also honestly, as someone who dabble in art, the RM98k Kiriko Cut Glass package is an absolute must for this car, sell the maid’s Car if you have to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • 12yrsold on Mar 15, 2018 at 4:59 pm

Yes, I know what U mean & I agree with U 100%. For RM200k less, U get a German engineered marvel car that is more accomplished & will not look out of place even if park with this LS 500 & most M’sian still think the Germans are way better than any Japanese or Koreans can muster.
      Like U said B4, to each his own when U have the $$$ to throw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Lexus of late have been trying to do things its own way love it or hate it, So I have to disagree if you said this wont stand out in the sea of krauts. What I am trying to point is that, on that factor alone, being different, worth RM200k? I always maintain, being someone who regularly use both Apple and its competitor products, that an Apple product is better than its competition(Oh here comes the bashing)….but is it worth more than its competition? thats the question.

The Lexus LS is an outstanding car in every rights, just that brand perception and the crazy non-CKD price really brings a huge question mark.

• 12yrsold on Mar 16, 2018 at 10:40 am

I know to CKD the Lexus, we can save the 200k but we must have economic of scale 1st. In this scenario, people who own a Lexus can say their Lexus is a rare commodity & maybe that is why they don’t mind paying 200k for its exclusivity.

Anyway, I’m just guessing & I have a feeling you know this better than most here including me. TQVM for sharing your thoughts & feeling. Cheers…

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 17, 2018 at 5:32 pm

For the low end 3 series/A4/C class, these are the low grade CKD’s that will rattle and leak like Protons from the 90s

• Empro on Mar 25, 2018 at 5:35 pm

Bro, I hope you purchase a Rolex made in Malaysia next time ya. Save money compared to swiss made.

• sam123 on Mar 15, 2018 at 1:20 pm

Wow Lexus, lookin real good in white..

• Sonyman on Mar 15, 2018 at 1:38 pm

Wah nice……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 52
  • So yeah, you have to be a really big fan of Lexus to choose this over the germans.

I have zero interest in anything Lexus. Not even the biscuits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
  • Hybrid variant more expensive than petrol variant. Why? Where is excise duty benefits?

• sohai on Mar 15, 2018 at 7:38 pm

Only CKD gets the benefit.
      Otherwise, production cost of Hybrid is typically more due to additional motor and complexity

• Dead few years ago

• vVivi Zurianti on Mar 15, 2018 at 6:36 pm

Kinda pricey for a Toyota car…..The red interior looks cheesy, or is it just me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Patriach on Mar 16, 2018 at 8:18 am

The problem with Lexus cars is, it doesnt have a strong brand identity and family resemblance. Take out the badges of all the Lexus cars produced since the 80s and you wont be able to tell the car apart from a Toyota. Unlike Mercedes or BMWs that has strong brand identities since the very beginning. Even a kid can tell a Mercedes apart from a BMW from the respective grilles, light and body designs – even without their badges. Also the design of German cars age really well. Not so for Lexus, Infiniti or Acura’s.

• They are just trying so hard to be a Mercedes and BMW… Instead of just copy here and there and then slap an expensive price tag, they should just focus in improving their tech and bring more values to their customer so that it can slowly bring up their reputation.

• sohai on Mar 15, 2018 at 7:16 pm

Lexus Hybrid – RM1.5mil
    Mercedes Hybrid – RM600k

Do you still need to ask more question?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 17, 2018 at 5:33 pm

Merc Hybrid will stall and break down in the middle of the highway all the time. That’s why the famous sui kwan euro came about

• Endothermic Reaction (Endo) on Mar 15, 2018 at 9:50 pm

Lexus LS design is getting uglier and uglier. Not only that including other latest Lexus Models design also looks very ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Boleh! on Mar 16, 2018 at 9:56 am

All I can see here are green eye monsters who eat sour grapes for breakfast, hiding behind keyboards.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 17, 2018 at 5:36 pm

When one has spent RM250k on a lemon BMW/C200/A4, one would naturally defend kau kau that the german makes are the best cars in the world.

In Oz, 3 year old C200k will be less than 1/3 its ori selling price, if the mileage is low and body in near new condition. Otherwise, it will be unsold for years

• Sorchai Albert on Mar 18, 2018 at 2:22 am

After 3 yrs, this 1.5mil lexus will burn 1.2 mil into dust. I will buy it for less than 300k.

For 1.5mil I can buy the entire collection of merc/BMW sedan models…

CLA200, C200, E200 and S400H. Total still less than 1.4mil. So what if it breaks down. I have many cars.

• Glorified Toyota for close to 1 million???

I can buy 4 Merc C Class with this price and get more girls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • WTH.. Windows design look a like old hyundai elantra or Daewoo..

• Might get one after 9 years. hope by then its only 100k

• Might get it 9 years later when its 100k