2018 Volkswagen Golf R debuts in Malaysia – RM296k

The fourth Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 variant making its debut in Malaysia is the Volkswagen Golf R. The model was introduced alongside the Golf GTI and Golf 1.4 TSI Sportline/R-Line versions.

The refresh brings about styling revisions – at the front, the facelift gets a new bumper, a revised lower grille intake design (a rectangular pattern replaces the previous horizontal slats) and new Advanced Adaptive LED headlamps with dynamic light assist.

The rework also introduces LED tail lights and a revised four-slat diffuser at the rear as well as 19-inch Pretoria Black alloys – and 235/35 profile tyres – for the local specification car.

The model’s 2.0 litre TSI engine has 290 PS at 5,500 to 6,500 rpm and 380 Nm from 2,000 to 5,400 rpm for output numbers – the 290 PS power rating (instead of the 310 PS seen in other markets) follows the path taken with the pre-facelift, in which the mill is detuned for our market.

The unit is paired with a seven-speed, wet dual-clutch DSG transmission, and power is applied to all four wheels via the automaker’s 4Motion all-wheel drive system. Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 5.1 seconds and an electronically-limited 250 km/h top speed.

Inside, the car features Vienna R leather interior upholstery, an R sports steering wheel with paddle shifters, brushed stainless steel pedals and illuminated scuff plates.

As standard, the Golf R facelift comes equipped with Adaptive Chassis Control (DCC), an Air Care dual-zone climatronic system, a configurable 12.3-inch Active Info Display virtual instrument cluster and power-adjustable driver’s seat with memory (the front passenger seat is a manual adjustment unit).

It also features a 9.2-inch touchscreen Discover Pro infotainment system with a gesture control function. Aside from an eight-speaker audio system, there’s a 10 GB jukebox on top of the usual connectivity features, which includes App-Connect, which offers smartphone screen mirroring functionality via Apple CarPlay, Android Auto or MirrorLink. Other items include park distance control and a rear-view camera.

Like the GTI, the R comes with front/rear fog lamps, driver profile selection, cruise control and automatic headlights/wipers and keyless access lock/start, among other things.

Safety-wise, the car is equipped with seven airbags, ESC and a Proactive Occupant Protection System. Three colours are available for the Golf R, Lapiz Blue, Pure White and Deep Black.

The facelifted Volkswagen Golf R is priced at RM295,990 (on-the-road without insurance), and is covered by a Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) package that includes a five-year factory warranty with five years of free roadside assistance and three years/45,000 km free service. Check out the full specifications of the Volkswagen Golf R facelift at CarBase.my.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Good performance hatch

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 432 Thumb down 113
    • Harga Gila on Mar 23, 2018 at 1:07 pm

US$39,375 in US

In Malaysia RM300k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
      • Proton Golf RM77k only when VW takeover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
        • U cant even get this baby at €77k bub. Keep on dreamin yeah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 20
          • HukAloh on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:55 pm

All VW owners got tow truck contact on speedial.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 29
          • Lower Golf R on Mar 24, 2018 at 12:05 am

Why not bringing the 310ps Golf-R here?

• Fuel not Euro6 level. For Euro5 need to detune abit to meet local emissions standards. But theres alwiz racechip.

• Rahmat Ali on Mar 24, 2018 at 4:55 pm

I bought a 2010 BMW 740li for RM100k. Comes stock 326bhp engine. More powerful than this VW.

I am palnning to re-map the ECU to give me 500bhp.

My total cost RM120k. RM180k i save, i can use for service, buy additional warranty etc and future repairs.

Far bigger and more luxurious car than this vw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 18
        • basherlogic on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:00 pm

This is wet clutch DSG. Not as bad as dry clutch DSG but still kaki breakdown.

DSG is DSG. It will breakdown a lot but not as often as the dry clutch

buyer beware

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 24
          • Rahmat Ali on Mar 24, 2018 at 4:57 pm

Buy BMW or Mercedes. Better quality. No DSG that jerks and halts half way in highway or lose power when overtaking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
          • Rahmat Ali on Mar 24, 2018 at 5:03 pm

As with all VWs in Malaysia, 2 years later this car will be in mudah for RM120k.

Not bad….from RM296 to RM120k. You save RM180k plus you still have 3 years warranty intact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
          • TerangTerang on Mar 24, 2018 at 9:46 pm

DSG is just a name. Its basically dual clutch gearbox. Every company from Honda to Hyundai; BMW to Brabham; Corolla to Chevrolet uses it. The only problem lies with the dry version in hot climate countries because its mechatronics does not use lubricant such as the wet ones. ALL dry clutch gearboxes from ALL manufacturers have the same problem. The only reason people talk about VW cars is because it is the the biggest user of dual clutch gearboxes. I have known cases of Honda, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Ford and BMW dry clutch gearboxes having the same problem. But you know what? There is nothing you can do, because in the near future, there wont be any conventional automatic transmission cars anymore. All cars will eithet be dual clutch ot CVT. So get used to it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
          • waters on Mar 26, 2018 at 9:48 am

Then get a CVT :P

• NIZZAN on Mar 23, 2018 at 10:41 pm

Cheaper than honda civic type R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Sputjam on Mar 25, 2018 at 11:28 pm

Price starts from USD39k. But if you add in power seats, leather, etc etc, it vomes up quite a bit.maybe another Several k.

• Ais Kacang on Mar 23, 2018 at 9:03 pm

But real ugly car. Mostly uncle driving this overpriced junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
      • Very obvious you cannot afford one but be positive in your life ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • The macho man on Mar 26, 2018 at 2:25 pm

Yes indeed

• Thecar on Mar 23, 2018 at 12:04 pm

Damn good car from VW

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 8
  • Cheaper than CTR but a much more capable track machine, plus Sausageland mari. Kudos to VPCM!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 346 Thumb down 183
  • Besi Buruk on Mar 23, 2018 at 12:11 pm

RM300k for a mere VW? This really proves something is wrong with Malaysian car prices or the Ringgit is just way too weak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 83
    • Pyraxle on Mar 23, 2018 at 6:00 pm

How about RM320k Honda CTR then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • Ta mee zie on Mar 23, 2018 at 8:15 pm

why the rush

https://paultan.org/2017/05/19/volkswagen-raya-deals-polo-sedan-as-low-as-rm38k/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Go get the biasa golf. Aiming for Golf R then complaint high price.. pfff..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • Reminds me of a kid yesterday at Toys R Us whining and crying loudly when his parents refuse to buy him that toy. Whine & cry, whine & cry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 22
  • Besi Buruk on Mar 23, 2018 at 12:12 pm

I rather buy a pre reg Mercedes A45 AMG. Better value, better power, more status and it is a MERCEDES

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 86
    • Heng Lee on Mar 23, 2018 at 1:13 pm

Why not buy an old Mercedes 911 lorry? It’s much cheaper, has more load capacity and it’s a MERCEDES

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 29
    • too free on Mar 23, 2018 at 1:18 pm

Besi Buruk, can you afford to buy Mercedes A45 AMG? I think you could only afford to buy Besi buruk with A45 AMG emblem on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • too free on Mar 23, 2018 at 1:21 pm

stop talking crap, go ahead and buy. pre reg mercedes A45 AMG. Or maybe you only can afford to get yourself a besi buruk with A45 AMG emblem on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • VW Flagship on Mar 23, 2018 at 3:53 pm

I think this VW Golf R commands more “status” than an A45 AMG because it kinda shows you know what you’re buying and what you want. But de-tuning this and having slower 0-100 times doesn’t help though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • gannie on Mar 23, 2018 at 8:26 pm

VW arteon R @ 320hp.

• Ais Kacang on Mar 23, 2018 at 9:08 pm

Nobody except car nerds know its golf R. Most people just pity owner of this car because too poor to miss out on Merc or BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
        • TanJH on Mar 24, 2018 at 6:35 am

Ais Kacang. You are obviously a Malaysian who has never lived outside of this country. Lets not talk UK or Europe. Even in Thailand, Indonesia, Philippines and Singapore, the best selling performance hatch is the Volkswagen Golf R and GTIs. Not Merc A Class or BMW 1 series. Because people who drive performance cars know what this car is. Its a pure performance machine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
        • Nerdboysrus on Mar 24, 2018 at 2:00 pm

Nerds are the richest people on the planet now :-)

• Heng Lee on Mar 25, 2018 at 1:19 am

“Most people just pity owner of this car”

So you care what “most people” think? Poor man, go and build up some self-confidence… :D

• Sputjam on Mar 25, 2018 at 11:35 pm

A45 AMG a really uncomfortable car. Very cramp behind too.

• Kengdukking on Mar 23, 2018 at 12:15 pm

What a joke…So many much better reliable option for the money! Skip!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Bernard on Mar 23, 2018 at 12:36 pm

Ridiculous pricing!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • For those who complain and complain everyday about not able to afford the overpriced AMG A45 or FK8 type R, buy this Golf R straightaway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on Mar 23, 2018 at 1:14 pm

i better buy a civic type R. better reliability and higher output.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
  • QChan on Mar 23, 2018 at 1:30 pm

The unit is paired With a seven-speed, dual-clutch DSG transmission……..

Anthony, is it difficult to include the word – Wet or Dry Dual-Clutch DSG ?? Good to know.

• Golum on Mar 23, 2018 at 7:58 pm

Its a wet clutch 7speed high performance DSG unit. Quite reliable unit. Check the reviews online

• Ais Kacang on Mar 23, 2018 at 9:12 pm

Wet or dry, it will die in the hands of Malaysian speed kakis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Alvin on Mar 23, 2018 at 1:59 pm

Good luck with the sales folks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • 12yrsold on Mar 23, 2018 at 2:08 pm

Who buy a Golf “R”? Chances are a successful young man who don’t want to “show-off” but want a Solid German engineered built car that have enuff Power to keep up with some performance cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • Better buy a used GTR and run circles around this thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • rocket on Mar 23, 2018 at 8:30 pm

No need old recon GTR bro, nowadays people buy FK8 Type R. It beats the Golf R in terms of engine output and looks more wild on the streets of Malaysia.
      Have more money or come from Rich family, AMG A45 FTW. Nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Pau your head on Mar 23, 2018 at 10:40 pm

Go ahead and buy your used GTR then. You won’t be whining here if you could afford the used GTR.

• dsgsux on Mar 23, 2018 at 2:43 pm

Stay longer at workshop rather than home

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • Sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Upgraded Ricer Man on Mar 23, 2018 at 7:41 pm

gonna sell my Honda Type R for this Golf R…….Once I go conti, I wont go jepunis or kimchi no more……Class!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • rocket on Mar 23, 2018 at 8:36 pm

Aiyo bro, Malaysians typically look at Honda’s good RV and will drive, love the H brand to death no matter how expensive they are. Hondas even come with extremely poor build quality. Check their Facebook page. All kinds of problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Ais Kacang on Mar 23, 2018 at 9:13 pm

Why go from amoi magnet to an unker car? Stay with the Honda if you wanna get the chicks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
      • Duh..even chicks nowdays know which one better.. they prefer VW then H. Lol

• Gurindam on Mar 24, 2018 at 2:49 pm

Nobody wants amoi magnet. Just want blonde magnet

• rocket on Mar 23, 2018 at 8:30 pm

No need old recon GTR bro, nowadays people buy FK8 Type R. It beats the Golf R in terms of engine output and looks more wild on the streets of Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • KNIGHTRIDER on Mar 23, 2018 at 11:01 pm

Crazy price…In three years would be half that price here… toys for super duper money in pocket

• gtrfanboyan on Mar 24, 2018 at 10:05 am

price lower 20k than civic type r, but top speed also slower 20km/h than civic. ctr win !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • A race is not just a quarter mile run. On a track, This R with AWD will easily eat CTR with puny FWD.

• wSUMIT on Mar 24, 2018 at 12:30 pm

Just to update : VW TSI engine is manufactured by AUDI and under VW group all below brand’s comes
    Lamborghini
    Audi
    Skoda
    Scania
    Etc
    Etc

• Scirocco owner on Mar 25, 2018 at 7:33 am

thanks for the information , tomorrow I will send my Scirocco R to Lamborghini specialist workshop , hahahaha all already know bro

• Hyundai dont want to introduce i30n here ? That would be awesome

• Bryan on Mar 24, 2018 at 6:04 pm

Owned God GTi Mk VII before, a fabulous fast yet great car for daily use….VW Golf GTI AND Golf R is by far one of the best sporty car and the engine and wet clutch DSG are not as problematic as those dry cloth gearbox…..you need to drive it to really appreciate this car especially in corners and wet road…superb car!!!

• rocket on Mar 25, 2018 at 7:33 am

Nowadays people buy FK8 Type R. It beats the Golf R in terms of engine output and looks more wild on the streets of Malaysia.

• Templer on Mar 24, 2018 at 8:20 pm

Expecting poor customer and poor ownership experiences with frequent breakdown and car in workshop for weeks with always spare part shortage. If u r not lucky, car out from workshop can breakdown on the same day. No more VW 4 me!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Myvi owner on Mar 25, 2018 at 7:26 am

Ais kacang , rich uncle only drive this car , you cannot afford just be quiet , play mobile legend on your mobile

• Sputjam on Mar 25, 2018 at 11:26 pm

No golf alltrack station wagon? These cars are built too low for our riad bumps booby trapped roads.

• Vijay Khandhar on Apr 22, 2018 at 12:35 am

Does the Malaysian Golf R come with dynamic or standard cruise control

• Jeffkl on Jul 06, 2018 at 8:45 pm

It’s a very good car but it’s overpriced. I’d buy one if I have extra money. Now I’m happy driven by my Clio RS