Mazda 2 mid-spec – new variant for Malaysia, RM76k

Mazda Malaysia has introduced a mid-spec variant of the Mazda 2 1.5 sedan and hatchback, and prices for the new base version of the car now starts from RM74,866 on-the-road without insurance, or RM75,396 with the cost-option Soul Red paint finish.

Fundamentals such as the 114 hp/148 Nm 1,496 cc Skyactiv-G petrol engine and six-speed torque converter automatic gearbox remain untouched, and so changes that bring the Thai-assembled Mazda 2 to a lower price point are accomplished through a new trim specification.

Out goes the machined/two-tone 16-inch alloys, and 15-inch units – wrapped with 185/65 series tyres – take their place. In front, the foglamp housings are similar to the ones found with the recent update, but are in matte black compared to the gloss black on the fully-specfied variants.

Elsewhere, the blades on the front grille are also finished in matte black instead of being body-coloured items. The mid-spec also dispenses with the LED headlamps and daytime running lights, while around the back, the boot release is now solely operable by a button residing above the bonnet release inside the cabin.

Further along, the push-button engine start has been retained, but there’s no keyless entry. Inside, seat upholstery is a grey fabric scheme instead of the part-leather, part-suede trim found higher up the model range. Safety equipment remains as is, with dual front airbags and Isofix child seat anchor points at the back.

Among the more apparent changes on this specification include manual air-conditioning, a polyurethane steering wheel and the omission of paddle shifters, though the Sport mode toggle switch – which provides a more enthusiastic gearshift logic – remains. Also, the padded leather dash panel and centre console knee padding have been replaced by gloss black chequered plastic trim on this one.

Infotainment on the mid-spec Mazda 2 is reduced to a simplified CD audio player unit, which features four speakers instead of six and a downsized dot matrix display in place of the LCD unit on the full-spec car. The display choice means that there’s no reverse camera here, but reverse parking sensors remain.

Also, the simplified audio system also does away with Bluetooth connectivity as well as the Commander Control rotary dial and button set, but you get an extra cubby hole for small items in its place. One of the two USB ports on the higher trim level model makes way for a 3.5 mm auxiliary audio cable input.

Elsewhere, driver instrumentation omits the HUD and the instrument cluster features some revisions – the central binnacle now features an analogue speedometer in place of the tachometer (and digital speedometer) seen on the higher variants. Here, the tachometer has been shifted to the smaller display on the left.

All in, the mid-spec car offers a saving of approximately RM12,000 from the more generously kitted one – do you think it’s a worthwhile trade-off, the lower entry point to the Jinba Ittai experience, dear readers? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section.

You can view the full specifications of the mid-spec Mazda 2 1.5 hatchback and mid-spec Mazda 2 1.5 sedan on CarBase.my.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Bernard on Mar 28, 2018 at 10:50 pm

Too expensive! Should be below 50k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 28
    • Richard Tido on Mar 28, 2018 at 11:57 pm

Just buy the 2018 Perodua Myvi. Far more spacious than this Mazda. And it is half the price.

Uses a time tested Toyota VVTi engine. Why spend RM76k when you can get a solid top seller 2018 Myvi for RM50k????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 69
      • lotusftw on Mar 29, 2018 at 8:33 am

Buy mazda over myvi coz it has much better handling but dun compare mazda with P1 handling. P1 is far ahead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 15
        • Matsuda lor on Mar 29, 2018 at 10:11 am

I beg to differ. Mazdas have more driver feedback as you know what the car is doing exactly. And not suprisingly more power as well. P1s are pretty sedate if compared to Mazdas in my experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
          • There you Go on Mar 29, 2018 at 1:37 pm

Car price gets cheaper now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • turboed on Mar 29, 2018 at 5:45 pm

2.0l n/a mazda cannot beat 1.6l campro turbo performance, it is not rocket science

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
          • Same L00 on Mar 30, 2018 at 7:19 am

Typical Proton style Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. 1.6l campro turbo 0-100kmh only 9.6s while 2.0na skyactiv is 7.8s. There is a thing in the world called wikipedia (preve & mazda 3), don’t talkok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
        • Correct. Proton marketing must do Roadshows to promote local uni graduates who have completed their studies to buy Proton as their 1st cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
          • Same L00 on Mar 30, 2018 at 7:21 am

You can’t lure the uncles to buy proton so now target the youngster. Why it sound so much like scam scheme?

• Myvi are hatcback, smaller car, no boot and it look so feminine, better buy sedan car la much bigger and spacious boot such as persona or city

• Sarcasmmmz on Mar 29, 2018 at 9:21 am

1.5, 114hp n 6 speed. Rm75K. Habis la vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
      • Same L00 on Mar 30, 2018 at 1:51 pm

You won’t go wrong with Japanese cars. Whole world knew it.

• prof brain on Mar 29, 2018 at 10:07 am

I just don’t get it, why would anyone smart enough to spend this money on a budget japanese car that sold as mid premium here yet there is this super value for money japanese DNA car known as xxxxVi with highly reliable xxiOS engine…. xxxVi is a no brainer if your budget is not high enough for a luxury/perf model.

Thumbs me up guys!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 82
      • Anonymous on Mar 29, 2018 at 9:45 pm

Mazdas are not for the “sensible”. The engineers of Myvi don’t refine the gearboxes, they make the chassis to pass safety laws, they make the boot to fit as much cargo in a small package. As good as the Myvi is for those who want a practical, no frills car, that’s all you’re getting.

Mazda makes drivers’ cars. They have a different focus. There are nothing made that are just “good enough”. Are the gearboxes in the Myvi made with extra friction reduction, be as light as possible, and feel good when using them? Are the engines any special. Is the chassis made to just pass safety laws, or was driver feel and car handling also considered? Was it designed to be as stylish as possible and unique to the brand, or was it designed so that the body panels can be made economically?

They make cars with premium engineering, but without the premium prices of say a Lexus or a BMW.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • 12yrsold on Mar 28, 2018 at 10:55 pm

Very expensive and very small too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 19
  • Johan on Mar 28, 2018 at 10:58 pm

Got a feel the price is too high

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
  • The one worthy to enter US market as a Toyota. If u wanna gud Toyota, buy a Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 10
    • Richard Tido on Mar 28, 2018 at 11:54 pm

In Malaysia, you want a Toyota, just buy the 2018 Perodua Myvi. It uses a Toyota engine. Malaysians know this secret. For a mere RM50k, you can own a RM95k Toyota.

This is why 2018 Myvi is now the top selling car in Malaysia now!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 50
      • Oh look, a Myvi fanboy, and u do know that the Myvi and Mazda has about the same cabin space right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
        • Same L00 on Mar 30, 2018 at 7:25 am

Mini is even smaller so what. People still buy it happily on the price of multiple Myvi. Want a lot of space? Take bus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • It uses Toyota engine alrite. Donated from Toyota museum. Drinks petrol like 10L engine but performs like asthmatic lembu.

Here is comment from actual user David Hicks of ur exalted Toyota engine:
        “I’ve driven the HB-derivative of this (the Yaris Ativ 1.2 L + CVT) back in Bangkok 3 weeks ago as a rental car. It was extremely underpowered & literally had to floor it all the time to match the average speed of other motorists on the motorway.”

This is worse and even more dangerous. It makes overtaking lethargic and those who do try will risk lives cuz taking too long. Stay away from ToyotaP2 ASEAN junks. If wanna get a proper Toyota, get a Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 13
        • the myvi uses the same unit as the vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • Ahmad Amin Abdul Wahid on Mar 29, 2018 at 10:29 am

No, different variants of engines with different output (Vios ‘2NR-FE’ 105hp vs Myvi ‘2NR-VE’ 102hp)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • MaxAz on Mar 29, 2018 at 10:51 am

Myvi is not even Toyota. It’s Daihatsu, cheap version of Toyota tech. Geely buying Daemler does not made Shanghai Maple = Mercedes. Same with Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • polla on Mar 29, 2018 at 12:41 am

i-stop is still there???? So removal of i-stop is a feature?

• don’t understand why people still say expensive, and go buy a vios….. can someone explain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • Should have retained the LCD screen..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Same L0rr on Mar 29, 2018 at 7:56 am

Buy toyota better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 33
  • I thought the point of buying a Mazda 2 is because of the more premium feel of it. With plastic trim and the horrible safety kit to begin with (2 airbags!), there’s no reason for you to consider this in the first place. Myvi, City, much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Matsuda lor on Mar 29, 2018 at 10:06 am

You buy a Mazda for the Jinba Ittai experience. The so called premium feel comes second.

• Mazda has better drivability but cramped

• is it necessary to have mid spec?
    btw didnt know there was a low spec m2 currently ^^
    i thought only gvc led and gvc non-led.
    with discounts, better go for those 2.

and that rims, looks familiar…myvi rims? ^^

• tokmoh. on Mar 29, 2018 at 10:00 am

In Indonesia and Thailand got these mid specs with 15″, even manual gearbox.

Current M2 16″ rims also look like that.

• “myvi rims” lmao you do know that the current 1.5 myvi rims look like the ones on the mazda2 right? it’s p2 copying mazda not the other way around. :)

• vVivi Zurianti on Mar 29, 2018 at 9:06 am

Better use the money and buy the highest spec myvi……the remaining money to enjoy road trips….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 29, 2018 at 9:24 am

i wished they removed that i-stop though…would be nice if there was a manual option

• berombon on Mar 29, 2018 at 9:36 am

This is no mid spec, this is low spec! For the asking price, it is wayyyy too expensive. Oh well, it is no loss to the buying public as there are alternatives out there..
    Suka hati lu la Bermaz….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 29, 2018 at 11:51 am

Vios and City is locally assemble car. So they have tax advantage over Mazda2. But the price of Mazda2 is within range of City n Vios price. that a good bargain.

• 12yrsold on Mar 29, 2018 at 9:49 am

In shot, Mazda give U more “if” U pay for the added specs. If U don’t want the extras, U can CHOOSE the lesser specs. It is called CHOICES. There is no FREE lunch in this world. Caveat Emptor bros.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Matsuda lor on Mar 29, 2018 at 10:20 am

Mazdas serve a different crowd. A crowd that celebrates the joy of driving. So to some this is a great opportunity to enter the world of Zoom Zoom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • IGP mom on Mar 29, 2018 at 5:28 pm

Haha, seriously? Those Benz and Beemer dudes would be falling on the floor laughing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • Anonymous on Mar 30, 2018 at 2:53 am

And those Ferrari and Lambo dudes would do the same to those Benz and Beemer dudes.
        Then F1 and GT racer dudes would laugh at the Ferrari and Lambo dudes.

There are tiers. And in the lower tiers Mazda can be considered one of the more enjoyable ones to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Leonardo on Mar 29, 2018 at 10:35 am

Mazda 2 is putting itself right in Honda City/Jazz territory with this pricing. And not by chance, it wants a piece of the pie. It would seem that City/Jazz wins hands down with its superior equipment level, safety and styling.
    Better still, why not Paul Tan do a head to head comparison and road test between these two cars? A Dare you?

• aquila on Mar 29, 2018 at 10:46 am

I won’t call this a mid-spec. Base spec is more appropriate.

• Those jokers in here comparing everything to Myvi….Mazda’s an entry-level premium brand.. in other words, like it or not it’s one tier higher compared to T and H and N..where brands like Renault, Peugeot, VW and even Subaru occupy .brands that are stuck between being perceived as slightly premium and mass..

For them to delete some features and offer a car at 75 k should be commended instead of being hated on because at the direction Mazda’s heading worldwide, such prices are not for long for the zoom-zoom brand…

People who buy this car are not gonna cross-shop with a myvi (unless u don’t know the basics of financial management)..but it might tempt the Korean, Almera, Polo and vios kosong buyers to take the plunge …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • IGP mom on Mar 29, 2018 at 5:32 pm

I like your inferiority complex thinking. Splashing more just for a perceived premium class for face. For someone who really want face, they won’t stoop that low with lower spec ‘premium’ car. That’s basically telling the world your pocket stretching limit lol. No face la!

• Not bad, another choice for lady besides the jazz, guys just buy a vios e. Perodua? Ya is rm20k++ cheaper but the interiors are lousy, new myvi rattles sound everywhere even the high spec new car. I rather buy more solid proton with the price.

• Donovan on Mar 29, 2018 at 11:44 am

The Vios/Myvi/City crowd will not give the Mazda 2 a second look. Have you sat in the rear seats before?

Mazda is a driver’s car. If you intend to ferry passengers, you are better off with the other sushi makes.

• Ben yap on Mar 29, 2018 at 12:01 pm

Better go buy city with such low specs.

• AliAhbengMuthu on Mar 29, 2018 at 12:19 pm

vento is better choice with this price range, VM kasi discount gao gao ah, freeee services somemore, college girl all times favourite, their mother also like the brand, no need thanks me, credit to VM Malaysia

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 29, 2018 at 1:47 pm

Mid spec? More like base spec to me

• Korean Fan on Mar 29, 2018 at 2:53 pm

Well, if you don’t mind, search for a 2nd hand 1 year old mazda 2 and you will pay less and get a full spec car. Usually a 1 year old car is as good as new.

• Dude123 on Mar 29, 2018 at 3:29 pm

Used to drive a myvi but now a Mazda 2. Honestly Mazda 2 is a much better car and different level from myvi

• IGP mom on Mar 29, 2018 at 5:34 pm

Keyword: Used to …
      Which means you drove the old Myvi, not the new one. Most folks here talk about the new 2017/8 Myvi, its a totally different beast. It’s not earth shattering, but much better than the its predecessor.

• Youngster on Mar 29, 2018 at 5:40 pm

The omissions are fine here but why the omission of bluetooth? Bluetooth is becoming essential in the modern age (at least I always play my songs through it ) and while I get its possible to fit an aftermarket unit, for a car that’s supposed to be sporting and youngsterish the lack of bluetooth seems a bit appaling… The rest is fine by me (don’t compare with p1 p2 specs guys, this is an non national car)

• Henry yap on Mar 30, 2018 at 2:09 pm

Totally agree, when driving I can hand free answer phone.

• Jonah on Mar 29, 2018 at 9:09 pm

Dear Bermaz or Mazda Management,

Please bring in the manual option

Not all Malaysian live the big city where congestion is a close part of our daily life

Hope to hear from you soon

Thanks and regards
    Jonah

• William on Mar 30, 2018 at 9:18 am

Since everyone has their own opinion, might as well i give some too. If PRICE is your concern than just go with the Myvi.

However, when comes to driveability between the 2013 and current model Myvi ill prefer the previous model.

Some how i find the power steering response of the NEW Myvi is not as direct as the PREVIOUS model, also there’s abit delay from the electric power steering,

ENGINE feels abit under power and the pick up response is much slower than the previous model. Probably due to the NEW Myvi now the chassis or the interior trimming is more beefier now which also makes the car heavier.

But handling and performance wise no doubt the Mazda 2 are much better than the Myvi.

But one thing for sure is a let down are the CURRENT model Myvi gearbox. Is 2018 for god sake, who still uses 4 Speed Auto gearbox.

I don’t own any of these car so not being bias here.

Cheers!

• Matchy on Mar 30, 2018 at 12:13 pm

I thought the price is matching with City/Vios base spec? And the equipment level is not much different than those two. So, whats the fuss here?

• Henry yap on Mar 30, 2018 at 2:03 pm

Look like awesome, but they should be put at least a Bluetooth in car, nowadays Bluetooth is important when driving.

• Handsome little bugger. Small cars shouldn’t mean crappy design. Congrats Mazda.

• Better buy persona or city, more value

• mazda 2 driver on Jul 10, 2018 at 4:25 pm

mazda 2 2018 driver here .
    Mazda 2 v Myvi 2018 ?
    the interior/sound insulation and comfortable was Mazda 2 way more better , TBH yes myvi just a little improve on it .
    for the outlook , if you dont mind to pay more rm20k of course u can go for mazda 2 .
    if you dont mind myvi is everywhere , why not .
    for the fuel efficiency it just little different ,
    and still mazda 2 with higher horsepower and torque .

Basically pay more rm20k for a better quality , nothing to be compair if you dont need all the EXTRA FEATURE .

• JUN YU LEE on Jul 26, 2018 at 12:35 am

Mazda 3 driver here…
    Going to buy another mazda 2 for family…
    Never considered P1 or P2…