2018 Nissan Serena S-Hybrid full specs – Highway Star and Premium Highway Star, from under RM140k est

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has released full details of the new Nissan Serena S-Hybrid, which is already open for booking ahead of an expected May launch. The seven-seater MPV will be available in Highway Star and Premium Highway Star variants, expected to be priced under RM140,000 and under RM155,000 respectively.

The MR20DD 2.0 litre direct-injected four-cylinder petrol engine can again be found under the bonnet, now making slightly more power at 150 PS at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm at 4,400 rpm. It’s fitted with a new dual-arm tensioner to reduce tension on the arm belt and improve fuel efficiency, and is mated to an Xtronic CVT.

Working alongside it is a 2.6 PS/48 Nm ECO electric motor that replaces the starter motor, controls the Idling Stop System and and energy regeneration. The motor also offers acceleration assistance to the MPV in the form of torque assist, providing a 50 Nm boost for up to one second when moving away from a standstill. As for fuel consumption, Nissan claims the Serena is good for 14.2 kilometres per litre on the European NEDC cycle.

On the outside, the Serena features a more distinctive design compared to its predecessor, with dual-tier headlights, a more expressive V-motion grille and a character line that sweeps downwards, contrasted by the upswept window line. Vertical tail lights feature as before, while blacked-out A- and D-pillars provide a floating roof that is emphasised by the Premium Highway Star’s two-tone colour scheme.

The interior is more modern with a stitched soft-touch dashboard, a flat-bottomed steering wheel and a floating centre console. The larger digital instrument cluster features a seven-inch multi-info display that shows the rev counter and the around view monitor with Intelligent Moving Object Detection (i-MOD).

Unlike the previous eight-seater Serena, the new model has seven seats with second-row captain’s chairs with armrests. This means that the outgoing model’s second-row centre seat, which could be folded and slid forwards to double as a storage console in front, is missing here.

On the plus side, the first- and second-row seats feature Zero Gravity technology for improved comfort, and there are also seven USB ports all around the car – including two each for the second and third rows. Access is improved though a new hands-free opening function for the twin power-sliding doors, operated using a kicking motion under the doors. A split-opening tailgate provides easier access to the boot in tight spaces.

Standard kit includes LED headlights, front and rear fog lights, 15-inch alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, single-zone auto climate control, with rear air-con controls and a Clarion head unit with a 6.75-inch touchscreen and Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatibility.

The Premium Highway Star variant adds 16-inch alloys, door visors, combination leather upholstery in either black or two-tone Truffle Brown and Chestnut, a 10.1-inch roof-mounted LCD rear display, a Tech-On tray mat on the second-row picnic table for holding tablets or other devices, an LED interior room light, V-Kool 4Mil security film tinting and Three-Bond Ultra Glass body coating.

Safety-wise, all models now come with six airbags, joining the ABS with EBD and brake assist and stability control that was already offered previously.

The new Serena will be offered in Brilliant White, Tungsten Silver, Diamond Black and Cashmere Gold colours. The Premium Highway Star adds three two-tone exterior colour schemes, including Cashmere Gold with an Imperial Umber roof as well as Tungsten Silver and Brilliant White with a Diamond Black roof. A five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty and a three-year/60,000 free service package is included.

GALLERY: 2018 Nissan Serena S-Hybrid Premium Highway Star

GALLERY: 2018 Nissan Serena S-Hybrid Highway Star

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• What a big mistake to take away the 8 seater magic seat and replace with the 6+1 children seat.

I taught of getting one to replace my 8 seater Estima but now need to consider other.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Rizalman on Apr 13, 2018 at 1:36 pm

Dont fret. Upgrade to Toyota Innova range-topping variant with Two captain seats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Kassim bin Abdullah on Apr 13, 2018 at 2:39 pm

Prices are way too high. 5 years ago we were promised 30% car price reduction? Where is this promise?

We cannot go on having the most expensive car prices in the world when our pay packet is so low.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 31
        • Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
          Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 26
          • only a fool will want high car prices for the rakyat. A fool who does not know how much the rakyat is suffering with highest car prices int he world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
          • Impressed but not so impressed on Apr 13, 2018 at 3:52 pm

wow! what a VAN !!

• Only a fool will want endless 4-5hrs epic traffic jams caused by cheap cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
          • Ppimm on Apr 13, 2018 at 7:16 pm

4-5hrs epic traffic jams caused by cheap cars
            https://paultan.org/2018/04/04/miti-deputy-minister-says-average-car-prices-have-gone-down-by-16-38-percent/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Current jam alredi bleeding us Rm20 Billion yearly. Imagine how much losses with cheap cars.
            http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/coffee-break-how-make-traffic-jams-productive

• And deswai we have this: https://paultan.org/2017/08/22/mrt-has-served-7-4-million-passengers-since-dec-2016/

• Lemonguy on Apr 13, 2018 at 5:24 pm

They also promise GST will reduce good pricing…u trust them? haha

• Nah. They promised to replace 6% GST with 10% SST and says this is cheaper. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Saya owner on Apr 13, 2018 at 12:29 pm

I am a owner for the existing serena. This new model is certainly more modern and improved in many details. I saw an overseas review that this car sound insulation is much improved too…
    The seat design is better and the captain seat should be much confortable, then u hv to sacrifice the 8 seats magic. Initially I thought this 8 seats is not important, but some how I already used it in many occasions. There are good and bad… You decide your needs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • safety 1st on Apr 13, 2018 at 12:31 pm

All Serena models now come with six airbags. Full credits to ETCM match up to Toyota safety specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Digidigi on Apr 13, 2018 at 12:32 pm

Value for money

• ETCM, where is the pro-pilot feature for this car and when will you launch the e-note version of this car….. Seriously your vehicle range is as fresh as stale bread… Do something about it or are you contend to trail behind Toyota and Honda in the monthly sales chart….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • I think the split tailgate thingy is pretty cool. Havent seen those in a while.

• Please bring all other nissan’s top selling model to Malaysia now!

• Manual, foot-operated parking brake. OMG.

• Do they offered ‘Pro-Pilot’ for Malaysia?

• What to expect with TCM? Malaysia always sell car with higher price from the rest of the world but with less equipments…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Edaran Tan Chong Malaysia, any reason why the ‘Pro-Pilot’ feature being excluded for Malaysia model?

• Medic on Apr 13, 2018 at 1:55 pm

You should ask this at Tan Chong website. Not Paul Tan

• simon on Apr 13, 2018 at 2:15 pm

simple.

Pro Pilot depends on road markings to help with lane control.

Our malaysia road like sh!t and markings not straight, Pro Pilot cannot implement here.

no 2. If implement Pro Pilot, price up to 170k with all the cameras and sensors. will you buy?

They design this car for the masses, families who need to carry people.

You want auto driving? you can consider Honda CR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
        • U mentioned Propilot cannot work cuz line & markings like shit, then u go propose CRV with Honda Sense. Do u know that HS oso relies on line markings and if Honda MY is confident enuff its useful to bring it here, that means ur cerita above is all bollocks! It not make sense right, unless ur a Honda SA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Alyy8128 on Apr 13, 2018 at 1:32 pm

Noticed that no Electronic handbrake as well.

• pailtin auto on Apr 13, 2018 at 2:11 pm

Good value to buy for be grabcar driver.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 13, 2018 at 2:18 pm

When they said under 140k they don’t mean 139k right…………

• ah chong on Apr 13, 2018 at 2:34 pm

I owned C24 serena 7 seater before upgrade to 8 seater estima.

The 3rd row hardly can sit 3 adult and only good for 2+2+2= 6 person.

What a bad decision by EMTC.

• aha adolf on Apr 13, 2018 at 3:17 pm

Toyota Noah still better, Hope UMW will bring it

• makkohijo on Apr 13, 2018 at 4:02 pm

15″ and 16″ rim????

LoLwut…

• What is that highway star thingy? On starex oso have. Serena oso have. Can someone explain?

• LookingForFamilyMPV on Apr 14, 2018 at 5:25 pm

7 not 8 seats? Dissapointed

• Eh Tan Chong boy, your new captain seats doesn’t look any more exclusive than the already convenient old 8 seater one. Why the stupid change? Must have save you quite a bit. You save some, win some but at the same time loose some too to the countless 7 and 8 seaters out there.

• Chong KL on Jun 06, 2018 at 10:38 am

Initially, I was considering this C27 but no more now.
    I am really disappointed as many said. Where is the magic 8th seat?! Why oversea market still can have the 8th seat but not Malaysia? Tan Chong, are you sleeping?

Second, interior quality is another negative point for C27. If you call the steering is leather wrapped steering, sorry to tell that it looks like the steering of first batch 1.3 Avanza. I am not saying the design but the hard plastic of the steering! Dashboard and door panel, all is covered with hard plastic except, there is a piece of leather for door panel. The dashboard may look like leather wrapped for top part but when you touch on it, hey, is another piece of hard plastic.

Third, touchless sensor for sliding door. If you try before, then you will understand that better to open manually!

Fourth, some may not agree with me. The leather seat for premium spec is too soft. You will not feel comfortable for soft leather seat if you drive for longer journey.

If you want to tell me, RM147k for such a big MPV, what do you expect more, then I really have nothing to say.

• gogorock on Dec 24, 2018 at 11:47 am

As usual , Tan Chong Motor again failed to think wisely for Malaysia market. Where is the magic 8th seats? You guys are dumb or what ?