2018 SYM VF3i 183 cc supercub in Malaysia – RM8,467

In the highly competitive world of the Malaysia underbone, or kapchai, market, getting a boost over your market rivals is hard, and SYM Malaysia just upped the ante with the 2018 SYM VF3i supercub, priced at RM8,467 for the standard model, and RM8,785 for the Special Edition. All prices include GST, but exclude road tax, registration and insurance.

This is a first in the market, as the biggest supercubs typically have 150 cc engines, and Malaysia is the first to see the VF3i. What this means is the VF3i carries a 33 cc advantage over its market rivals and as we all know, there is no replacement for displacement.

Displacing 183 cc from its liquid-cooled, SOHC, four-valve single, the VF3i produces a claimed 17.7 hp at 8,500 rpm and 15.3 Nm of torque at 7,500 rpm. Power for the Euro-3 compliant VF3i gets to the ground via a six-speed gearbox with wet-disc clutch.

Rolling on 17-inch wheels, the VF3i carries a 90/80 tubeless tyre in front, and the rear wheel is shod in 120/70 rubber. Braking is done with a 250 mm diameter disc in front clamped by a dual-piston hydraulic calliper, the largest in its category, while the rear is stopped with a 200 mm diameter brake disc.

As for suspension, the VF3i uses conventional telescopic forks in front, with 80 mm of travel, while a non-adjuastable monoshock with 32 mm of travel props up the rear end. Fuel is carried in a 7-litre tank under the seat, giving some 171 km of range according to SYM.

For those who might wish to know, SYM claims the VF3i will show an indicated 155 km/h on the digital LCD speedometer, with engine speed shown on an analogue gauge. Lighting for the VF3i is LED all round, and the front cowl sports a pair of LED DRLs.

The 2018 SYM VF3i weighs in at 124 kg, and comes in two colour options, Red and Blue, while the Special Edition comes in Matte Black. Availability of the VF3i in the Malaysia market will be from May at authorised SYM dealers.

Local market competition for the SYM VF3i comes from the Yamaha Y15ZR, priced at RM8,361 and the Honda RS150R at RM8,478. Another option is the Benelli RFS150i, which retails at RM7,407.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Ruslan on Apr 15, 2018 at 8:20 pm

Public transports > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • yeast lump on Apr 16, 2018 at 10:44 pm

But public transport at village and countryside never existed! How?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • I beli lepas PH menang hapus GSTm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 28
  • I beli lepas PH menang hapus GST

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 26
  • TreeHugger on Apr 15, 2018 at 8:25 pm

What building is that in the background? Is it in Malaysia?

• U-Tun on Apr 15, 2018 at 9:03 pm

Yup..it’s in my backyard. It’s called The Loaf.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • Abuali on Apr 15, 2018 at 9:07 pm

Its spice arena in penang

• TreeHugger on Apr 16, 2018 at 1:00 am

Thanks. I see it’s the revamped version of the old PISA complex by sp setia. They did a great job with the new surroundings design.

• Howard Wolowitz on Apr 15, 2018 at 8:45 pm

Mohan, please do a comparison of the Y15ZR, the RS150R, the RFS150i & this new VF3i.

Perhaps include comments about the supercubs weight, handling and ease of maneouvaribility when splitting lanes.

A section on acceleration and highway performance would be interesting as well.

A lot of readers at Paultan.org use kapchais daily so it is indeed safe to say that a lot of us would appreciate such an article.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 2
  • casual rider on Apr 15, 2018 at 10:26 pm

Y15zr still the prettiest kapchai at the moment,good handling and lots of accessories.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
    • Gracke on Apr 16, 2018 at 12:22 pm

and …with the worst service of Yamaha Hong Leong service centre with the worst staff. Extremely worst!!

• crack on Apr 16, 2018 at 5:23 pm

and the most popular bike for rempit to steal too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • interest3rd on Apr 15, 2018 at 10:58 pm

Typical but important, the top speed ? :-)

• yeast lump on Apr 16, 2018 at 10:36 pm

155kmph to heaven, provided the rider weighes no more than 55 kgs. LOL

• interest3rd on Apr 15, 2018 at 11:01 pm

Typical but important, the top speed ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • jibby v2.60 on Apr 16, 2018 at 8:26 am

i’ll buy in a heartbeat if it comes with 2 channel ABS, looks like have to pass this one. meh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 16, 2018 at 11:25 am

most if not all kapcai dont have ABS lar..at least in this price segment

• not interested in the bike, more curious about that building behind. where is that place?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Babi !dah beli benelli lakh

• I am still waiting for the Modenas supercub, based on the Pulsar 200. Will it ever be developed?

• buncit hensem on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:54 pm

7L only can go 171KM? What the Fish?

• kick starter during battery piss off... on Apr 17, 2018 at 8:29 am

Aisehman…there isn’t any kick starter, is it???Really comes in handy when the battery weakened from time to time…The Honda RS150R really has an advantage when compared to the Yamaha Y15ZR due to it having old timer’s style kick starter…

• It's normal on Apr 17, 2018 at 12:39 pm

But it does has built in voltmeter. No need to worry about kick starter

• Justin on Apr 18, 2018 at 9:46 am

You can jump start the bike by putting in second gear and push. Low compression so it’s easy to start.

• Heng Lee on Apr 22, 2018 at 4:45 pm

I will tell my wife to do that in front of the shopping centre if the battery is flat next time.

• andy ( real deal ) on Apr 19, 2018 at 1:40 pm

Please try to compare all model together with insurance 1st party all rider , 2cnd party all rider and 3rd party single or all rider see how much the differences will be , this is where the hidden charges that we dont know. and the price is totally high then we expected

• Drnumber on May 02, 2018 at 8:32 am

171km/7liter= 24.4km/l .. wow this 185cc drink like Yamaha RXZ

• Mat Moto Jalanan on May 10, 2018 at 8:55 pm

Nice now with this bike benelli 150 Y15 HRS150
    will taste this bike poop lol

• Stan Lee on Jun 16, 2018 at 12:58 pm

Damn those SYM girls look not bad man… would definitely pay 300 per shot for any of them

• Drnumber on Jul 05, 2018 at 8:19 pm

171km/7 liter=24km/ liter.. kuat minum petrol Moto ni