Geely VF11 MPV leaked – a Proton Exora replacement?

Geely’s new MPV, known internally as the VF11, is set to make its debut in China soon. It’s said to be the successor to the Emgrand EV8, but more importantly, there are rumours that the new MPV will in fact be the next-generation Proton Exora.

We first saw pictures of its concept at Auto Shanghai 2017, but leaked photos of the MPV have begun circulating online – particularly on CarNewsChina – ahead of its debut at the 2018 Beijing Auto Show.

Based on the leaked photos, it’s clear that Geely stuck to the overall look of the concept, albeit toned down a fair bit. The front fascia wears the signature Geely grille and is flanked by a pair of sleek headlights, presumably LED units to go with the rather imposing LED DRLs.

Round the side, the production version features smaller wheels and conventional doors rather than sliding or coach doors. Profile-wise, the MPV looks suitably lengthy, and it apparently has an overall length of 4,706 mm, width of 1,909 mm, height of 1,664 mm and a wheelbase of 2,805 mm. In comparison, that’s 114 mm longer than the Exora’s 4,592 mm overall length and 436 mm more than the Perodua Alza (4,270 mm).

Over at the back, again, things appear far more restraint than the radical slim tail lights previewed on the concept. From the photos, it seems that the tail lights cluster feature subtle three-dimensional contouring, and resting snug beneath the large adjoining chrome strip – with the Geely lettering – is a reverse camera. Interestingly, the exhaust pipes are nowhere to be seen, although they could be tucked away for a neater look.

According to the publication, there will be three variants of the VF11 – regular petrol powered, plug-in hybrid, and full electric. The petrol will get a 1.5 litre turbocharged four-cylinder making 177 hp, whereas the hybrid gets the same 1.5L unit plus an electric motor. Both variants will be launched in June, and the full electric version is said to join the line-up later in the year.

For equipment, it’s unclear what exactly the MPV will get, but a large panoramic glass roof is certainly among the cards. A choice of five-, six- or seven-seater versions will be available at launch.

GALLERY: Geely MPV Concept at Auto Shanghai 2017

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• DRBB screwed on Apr 16, 2018 at 12:40 pm

The Proton sale to Geely was 200m cash and 400m Goodwill rights to sell One model . The Boyue. Want to sell other models . DRB will be squeezed another round to sell their remaining 51% stake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
    • waters on Apr 16, 2018 at 2:48 pm

DRB pretty good deal got back the land which houses PONSB assembly plant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • rightwinger on Apr 16, 2018 at 3:36 pm

were you there during the negotiations? were you privy to details?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • ur juz wanna show how fancy u r wif those figures,,reality is all copy paste! juz like p1 n p2 rebadge cars.. ooo waii!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Henry on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:12 pm

Why? You want something for nothing?

• Marhalim on Apr 16, 2018 at 12:46 pm

(Like) Proton MPV
    (Dislike) Honda BRV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 16
  • Geely Volvo Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • I see the proton culture adapt on 2018 pic compared to 2017 pic more European style

• lilytan on Apr 16, 2018 at 12:50 pm

Rather then rebadge straight from geely like the boyue perhaps potong can regain it honour a little bit by doing a proper remodeling ala perdana/accord. Under supervision of course. Would not wanna make it worse than the original car. Anything less, pls sack the idling engineers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
    • Yup. P1 has the bad habit of taking the original and making it better than the OEM can do. Even Mitsu says so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • rightwinger on Apr 16, 2018 at 3:52 pm

..worse than the original car..
      you mean the way our Perdana V6 handled and rode better than the Eterna? or the venerable Satria GTi that shamed the Mirage? or the Inspira that humbled the Lancer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Effendi on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:33 pm

Deswaii do whut P1 do best 》》RebadgE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
        • Whenevere P1 need to rebadge, they improved on it. Compared to when P2 rabadge it, they make it worse than ori.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
          • zunaidi on Apr 16, 2018 at 5:11 pm

Wow.. improve on it. Than where goes the profit?. where goes the payment to vendor?. I run the company and supplied to Proton Tg Malim unpaid since Nov 2017..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
          • All vendors alredi got paid via the disbursement of the R&D grant lah. U probably got blacklist from payment for trying to cheat P1. Serves u right lor. Its becoz of vendors like u that gips P1 a bad name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
          • zunaidi on Apr 17, 2018 at 11:48 am

Don’t talk cock if u not in this industry. I am part of Proton vendor association and I know sapa dapat and sapa x dapat, half paid, full paid or even COD basis. Nowdays its not P1 blacklisted the vendors, but vendor blacklist P1. If they blacklist me, definitely they dun come to me and ask to stay.. lol!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Hahaha! More tokok tipu orang. Tell us what ur company name is lah. Dr Li has had enuff of ur shenanigans and he laid down the law, either reduce ur overpricing by 30% or ur out the door. See who comes ask who to stay. As if we dunno ur the kunta troll again.

• zunaidi on Apr 17, 2018 at 9:15 pm

Haha dey macha.. i was in the biz more than yr age. That 30% is a flat rate regardless over or underprice. Get ur fact right. In fact that is the reason for them to use their vendor n dismiss local which i dun give a damn. Honda, P2, Isuzu n mazda no prblm in their payment terms. Thats y i hv no prblm losing my biz with P1 afterward.

My co, my a/c – i know la duit x masuk. Lol!

• rally_fan (Member) on Apr 17, 2018 at 8:23 am

i dont get why all the hate about rebadging.. “regain honour”..etc?? all car manufacturers engage in rebadging, platform sharing and powertrain sharing. Perodua’s entire business is based on rebadging but look at it’s sales. There is so much of it happening in the world and many of these collaborations are never even shared publicly. This is the way the car business works today. Rebadging is definitely the best solution for Proton right now, because it can take upwards of 2 years to introduce an all new 100% proton like the preve/suprima, or iriz/persona, or exora.. with the company low on cash, there is no business sense to throw hundreds of millions into a new product that you can only launch in two years time. Proton needs new products now as sales prove current models are not selling well for a whole host of reasons.

• The main priority is price and after sale service. Majority Malaysians are ordinary average Joe’s.

• Geely, P1, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTruck, Lotus, LnC > all

• tony mcdonalds on Apr 16, 2018 at 12:56 pm

#Wengerout

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Nieko on Apr 16, 2018 at 1:14 pm

Hum it actully looks rather good …
    As I expected this car is even longer than the Exora. Cant wait ….The Exora was one of protons better models .So it deserves the best features and the best platform that Proton can get ….

Cheers to you Proton ..

And good luck for the Future

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
  • casual rider on Apr 16, 2018 at 1:22 pm

hope they stick to this clean design instead of adding chrome here and there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Proton oh Proton on Apr 16, 2018 at 1:28 pm

SUV also not seeing… in MPV pulak… P1 which year you going replace this model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 34
  • Kimchi on Apr 16, 2018 at 1:30 pm

Might as well get the XC90 or 5008 at this category

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 26
    • Aikon on Apr 16, 2018 at 2:04 pm

If you have the money to go an estimated 2 to 3 times the price of a ‘Proton’, by all means, go ahead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Sushi Sucks on Apr 17, 2018 at 7:07 pm

Can also get the the Q7 , GLE and X5 which are all on the same category too.

• The title is so harian metro.

XXX ditampar?
    XXX dipukul teman laki?

All these are trying to attract unattractive subjects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
    • loler on Apr 17, 2018 at 8:50 am

How about this one:
      New myvi – more tin milo than tin milo

LOL

• Henry on Apr 16, 2018 at 1:38 pm

Nice.

• sugarhill on Apr 16, 2018 at 1:44 pm

handsome. unfortunately not a malaysian design. defeit the purpose of proton creation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
  • zamer on Apr 16, 2018 at 1:50 pm

i think they are going to right direction.

To let Proton workforce to come out with this, they probably will need another 10 years. At least there is a shortcut for them now.

• Aikon on Apr 16, 2018 at 2:06 pm

I think it’s more a matter of money or rather the lack of it. Many factors involved. If it were to be made here alone, the costs would be high due to low volumes. With input from their partner, the costs are shared and they can come out with newer models faster. Definitely not in 10 years

• 12yrsold john on Apr 16, 2018 at 2:04 pm

The Proton Exora is due for replacement long time ago. M’sian loved MPV/SUV.The longer P1 delay, the more P1 will lose. Stop teasing & start rolling out a new model. FAST !!!

• rally_fan (Member) on Apr 17, 2018 at 2:39 pm

they are not teasing.. this geely MPV is brand new.. its not even launched in china yet.

• Milia Jenius & Isamu Dyson FTW!

• Definitely will bring costs down significantly

But, Malaysian ingenuity? Gone with the winds of change

• What?? on Apr 16, 2018 at 3:35 pm

It even has the smiley face lower grille like the Exora Bold. This could definitely be on the cards as soon as next year.

Rumors are it’ll be paired with a 7-speed dual clutch gearbox, I’d hope they’d swap that with the Boyue powertrain with a regular 6 speed automatic for Malaysia. Just less cost and less hassle to deal with.

• Nice, this is a sleek MPV

• tokmoh. on Apr 16, 2018 at 7:51 pm

Good looking, practical, safe. This will be a hit, yet another winner from Geely!

Geely, Proton > all

• Everytime Geely come out with new car you said it’s a Proton replacement… Come on lah!

• Same L0rr on Apr 17, 2018 at 8:15 am

Hopefully still with campro cfe turbocor engine..

• iampetergriffin on Apr 17, 2018 at 9:47 am

So by the end of the day P1 are back to the re-badging practice huh?

• Yeast Lump on Apr 17, 2018 at 12:52 pm

Kinda hybrid design of exora and suprima

• Braver on May 28, 2018 at 8:46 am

Like: Honda BRV
    Dislike: Proton MPV

• David on Sep 14, 2018 at 7:19 pm

Like: Proton MPV
    Dislike: Honda BRV