Grab drivers must follow the same rules as taxi drivers

All e-hailing drivers (Grab, etc.) are now subject to the same regulations and requirements as taxi drivers as of April 6, 2018. This is according to caretaker prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak, who spoke at the presentation of the 1Malaysia Taxi Assistance Card at the Malaysia Agro Exposition Park Serdang (MAEPS).

“I realise that taxi drivers face many obstacles and challenges. I am aware that the income of taxi drivers has been somewhat affected by the existence of e-hailing services in our country. The e-hailing service has a demand but we have to do something through government intervention to protect the rice bowl of the taxi drivers,” he said in a report by Bernama

With this announcement, e-hailing drivers will need to undergo evaluations involving their background, traffic offences, health, training level and vehicle roadworthiness. Najib said the proposal for the new ruling was presented by then minister in the prime minister’s department Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri and the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD), and has been approved by the Cabinet on April 6.

The move has already been in the works since December last year, where discussions to replace/update the Public Service Vehicle (PSV) license were made, following amendments made to the Land Public Transport Act 2010 and the Commercial Vehicles Licensing Board Act 1987.

“I instructed the enforcement through the gazetting which was done on the same day,” said Najib. He also stated that since individual taxi permits were issued to taxis drivers whose lease agreements ended, 2,533 taxi drivers had been given their individual licences, while 643 government cash grants worth RM3.215 million had been channelled to eligible recipients.

The government also approved a special grant of RM60 million to set up a Social Security Organisation (SOCSO) scheme to provide protection to taxi drivers, as revealed in Budget 2017. The scheme requires taxi drivers to make a minimum contribution of RM157, or RM13.08 a month.

“The scheme provides cash benefits to taxi drivers and their dependents in the event of unforeseen occurrences such as accidents by providing medical treatment, physical rehabilitation or vocational training,” Najib explained.

The new ruling is meant to promote fair competition among e-hailing and taxi drivers, with Najib saying the latter played an important role in highlighting Malaysia’s positive image to tourists as they were on the front line of the country’s tourism industry. “Be a taxi driver who is always friendly, honest and gives good service, then you can all be considered as Malaysia’s little ambassadors,” he said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Pordah on Apr 16, 2018 at 10:16 am

Meaning ? To cheat ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Nazroll on Apr 16, 2018 at 10:28 am

Follow them taxi drivers ?
    https://paultan.org/2017/03/22/cabbies-protest-against-uber-grab-outside-parliament/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • lilytan on Apr 16, 2018 at 10:47 am

Can grab now get cheap toll fares like taxi do? If not then its not fair to the grab driver as well.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 4
    • Good point, but I would have preferred the toll discount be in the form of rebate (which is to be matched with their trip instead) to avoid abuse.

Similar case with Uber drivers in UK who abuse their minicab license to skirt around the £11.50 daily congestion charge to drive into London.

• Digidigi on Apr 16, 2018 at 10:59 am

then can grab driver get RM800 petrol card as well?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 2
  • 12yrsold john on Apr 16, 2018 at 11:18 am

ALL Taxi drivers MUST follow same rules REGARDLESS :P

• Low Hat on Apr 16, 2018 at 11:28 am

I get that securities is one thing.

Fair competition between Grab and Taxis? DEY. I remember that time when some taxi driver says come ride his blue car for a short ride. Are you bloody joking? Of course I know Blue cabs are expensive ones, and then I requested for the standard fare. He shooked his head, slammed the door and went back to puffing his smoke at the taxi stand. Dey! Then WHY DID YOU EVEN COME TO ME IN THE FIRST PLACE?! There are a few regular cabs around and you, the one with the luxury cab, is the one that sepakat to pick up customer? I swear that time I will never use roadside taxis ever again unless it is an emergency.

Dah tak pandai jaga customer, buat pasal pulak.
    Perangai macam taik, handouts also cannot help.
    Hell, they even managed to injure themselves when given handouts. Ptui.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
    • Disgruntled Iriz Driver on Apr 16, 2018 at 12:51 pm

Handouts and donation. Nrexit next.

• Mmg betul…taxi ikut suka hati bapak dia je cas penumpang..pastu biadap…atas jalan pon biadap…ptt bubar je teksi2 ni…servis ke laut bila org ada pilihan cemburu dan sakit hati…dijamin klu teksi diarah ikut fare grab semua driver teksi masuk tg rambutan…jadi giler

• Landan on Apr 16, 2018 at 11:37 am

Grab and taxi cannot be using the same rules. Taxi can be an unsafe 20 yrs old car and still considered safe by the authorities.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
    • Confused man on Apr 16, 2018 at 11:12 pm

The one who unlike this good point highlighted by Landan, most probably a 20 years proton iswara’s taxi driver…

• Hemah lucy on Apr 17, 2018 at 6:10 am

If u all dont know anythg dont talk. Taxi can only use for 10 years max. There is no 20 year cars idiots. N secondly the go for inspection evry year. I know how tight those spad inspection. Even windown cant wind down also can fail inspection. If dont know anythg dnt talk la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
    • st2wp1d on Apr 17, 2018 at 5:03 pm

gov sked to ask taxi owners to dispose old & unsafe cars… nanti tak mau undi.

• thomasNOTMYNAME on Apr 16, 2018 at 12:54 pm

so… this is their plan all along… once UBER gone… everything going back to what it’s use to be… wish i can say “LONG LIVE MALAYSIA”

• Zaidi bin jinal on Apr 16, 2018 at 12:57 pm

Driver taxi duta msia..sangat baik..spad plz spotchek driver taxi di econsave senai johor…brp ramai driver grab di ugut…utk keadilan..grab mesti dpat sama mcm taxi…toll kurang…petrol percuma…baru la adil…tambang grab murah…tk mcm taxi leh suka hati letak harga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • Kalau kerja must Ada Wang kuli, cakap banyak
    2, grab RM 5 < 25% = 1.25, bal RM3.75, you pun grabcar or promo,
    teksi tariff least fair.

Grab should follow teksi tariffs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Confused man on Apr 16, 2018 at 11:06 pm

Hi Rony…. I paham oni “Grab should follow teksi tariffs.”…..

• doyee on Apr 16, 2018 at 1:05 pm

taxi fares is tooooooooo hiiiiiiiiigh!grab is the good choice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Kalau kerja must Ada Wang kuli, cakap banyak
    2, grab RM 5 < 25% = 1.25, bal RM3.75. Itu pun grabpay grabcar or promo,
    teksi tariff least fair.

Grab should follow teksi tariffs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Now, PM want to angkat kaki Texi drivers for votes but he forget that Grab drivers also Voters. Oh I forget, Grab drivers are mostly educated ones that vote opposition so no petrol money for you unless you pledge to Vote BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
    • Grab drivers alredi in the bag when he legalise ride-share lah. PM FTW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
      • Deep Purple on Apr 16, 2018 at 3:37 pm

Syukurlah PM bagi RM4,000 beli Iriz.

http://paultan.org/2016/10/24/proton-iriz-tak-sesuai-guna-untuk-uber/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Bagilah full link name. https://paultan.org/2016/10/24/proton-iriz-not-suitable-for-uber-duty-says-taxi-firm/

Of cuz taximen will say its not suitable for their competitor service. U see uber ada complain tak? Topkek purple.

• H.Chia on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:15 pm

I thought the introduction of Grab do away the usual poxy holding thousands of taxi licences.
    So it is fair for Grab as anyone can work and no longer a monpoly.

• Ah Jib Kipas Baik on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:36 pm

have anyone calculate how many taxi drivers compare to e-hailing drivers? so jibby mau kempen ambil hari few thousand of taxis driver and complicating the life of ten of thousands e-hailing drivers?

i use grab short trip only rm5 to rm10..comfy cars, nice music, free mineral water..

take taxis, hot aircond, smelly seats, loud dangdut songs, samseng drivers… and sometime use meter sometimes not.. sometimes sorry i dont go that area.. c’mon this is 2018 not 1988…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • The Transporter on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:42 pm

Government to pamper taxi’s driver…they should take grab customer feedback before make any decisions.. grab customer also voter’s

• Utimate warrior on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Oh come on !! Fair & level competition ?? Then let taxi follow grab fare !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • st2wp1d on Apr 17, 2018 at 5:13 pm

they dunwan…nanti komplen takbole bayar sewa taxi, takbole bayar permit driver, tak boleh tukar tayar suda botak liao. nanti cakap kat pm anak bini tak cukup makan.

• Ben Yap on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:54 pm

at the mean time, Grab and Grab drivers are busy raking in more money without Uber.

• Want to save the taxi drivers? Easy.

Hand out daily promo codes for the next 5 years and taxi drivers sure will have business and rakyat become happy.

If your manifesto got this you could win the next election but youre only talking about the interests of taxi drivers, taxi companies and not so much about public interests..

Come on la, handing out benefits to taxi drivers might as well hand out promo codes to score votes..

• Hamsani on Apr 16, 2018 at 9:07 pm

Did that rules…then i will change cabinet…wait PRU13….

• Andrekua on Apr 16, 2018 at 10:11 pm

More government intervention will only result in worse result for public transport. You can sort of speculate where the taxi industry is heading. It will become extinct due to government reluctance to open up the market so that only those who are interested to work get a licence instead of being sold in batches to crony members. Just look at our buses, where are them now? Government want to control the market so much that only their crony members will get monopoly but each and every time it had proven that crony only wants easy money by milking those who are doing the hard work. They are not there because they are interested in providing the services.

• fairoz on Apr 17, 2018 at 10:13 am

org teksi ni mcm org yg amik diploma, mcm2 exam kena amik,mcm2 peraturan kena ikut. driver grab plak mcm org yg ada upsr tp nak keje cam org ada diploma, so gunakan org tgh (etc: grab/uber). so korang pk kan la keadilan apalagi yg pemandu grab nak tuntut. dah abis adil dah tu…

• st2wp1d on Apr 17, 2018 at 5:05 pm

but u cannot change the mindset of common taxi driver have dude. sijil belambak pon tarak guna.

• The rakyat on Apr 17, 2018 at 10:32 am

To our PM, go undercover and try out grab and normal taxi for one or two weeks, then tell the rakyat what’s the difference.

• st2wp1d on Apr 17, 2018 at 5:00 pm

Finally….
    there’s no point e-hailing drivers to pay all hassle to get passengers.

• Grabber on Apr 17, 2018 at 8:29 pm

Will Grab charge extra if caught in traffic jams? It’s fix rate regardless how heavy the jams is…whereas in jam taxi meters still ticking away!!!

• Thats a loss for the Grab driver then.. his car petrol is still burning while caught in jam but fare no different

• Pfollower on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:16 pm

Thank you PH minister….you r so full of wisdom. To all Grabbers when the time comes we should organize full boycott on normal taxi cars..