DRIVEN: Toyota C-HR 1.8L – about logic vs emotion

When was the last time a new model from Toyota created so much hype? Sure, car guys like the Toyota 86 and many within the same group are eagerly anticipating the new Supra, but if you haven’t already realised, there’s a real world out there with actual car buyers. And normal people really like SUVs.

But in a landscape already saturated with SUVs, how does a latecomer stand out? Go for broke, design-wise – that’s what Toyota did with the C-HR.

UMW Toyota Motor’s long tease of a nationwide pre-launch campaign drew massive interest from Malaysians, who flocked to showrooms and roadshows for a closer look at the Coupe High Rider (Compact High Rider and Cross Hatch Runabout are the alternate names, but I like coupes and we’ll stick to that). Local previews started in May 2017, culminating in a key handover ceremony last month, but appetite has been building since the C-HR’s debut in March 2016. Let’s not forget that a car-based Toyota SUV in our market is already a novelty in itself.

The bubble deflated somewhat when UMWT announced Malaysian pricing and specs. At RM145,500 for the single spec 1.8L, the C-HR is priced RM28,000 higher the highest spec HR-V 1.8L, and RM14,000 more than the 2.0L Mazda CX-3. The substantial price difference between the C-HR and the incumbent Honda can be explained by the CBU Thailand vs CKD factor, and the fact that the C-HR is a costlier product for the first buyer, which is UMWT. From what we hear, they’ve tried their best.

Honda salesmen must have let out a collective sigh of relief. At RM145k, a C-HR buyer can opt for a seven-seat Nissan X-Trail and still have change for a family holiday; while the starting price of the new Mazda CX-5, which is also a larger car, is RM10,000 less.

Priced as such, there’s little chance for the funky Toyota to top the sales charts, but failing as a value proposition says nothing about a car’s abilities and appeal. There’s plenty to like, as we found out over a weekend.

Now that we’ve got the elephant named ‘Value’ out of the room, let’s talk car. The Toyota C-HR isn’t the straightforward competitor to the Honda HR-V (and by extension, the Mazda CX-3) as most think. B-segment SUVs are based on B-segment hatchbacks, that’s the convention – the HR-V shares underpinnings with the Jazz, the CX-3 with the Mazda 2, the Renault Captur with the Clio; you get the drift.

The C-HR is different. This global model has no bones in common with the B-segment Vios and Yaris that we’re familiar with, but uses the modular Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) platform that also underpins the latest-generation Prius and the just-unveiled Corolla Hatchback, which is the third-generation Auris in Europe. These are fresh C-segment vehicles, and as we know, the higher up the car chain, the more sophisticated the underpinnings are.

Chief engineer Hiroyuki Koba revealed in 2016 that they started working on the project six years ago, and the original plan was to build the C-HR on an existing small car platform. Midway through the project, TNGA became available and they went for the best option.

It may have been the best, technically, but the decision would also improve TNGA’s economies of scale. The C-HR is the second model to use the TNGA C-platform after the Prius (a D-segment version underpins the new Camry and US-market Avalon) and the first ‘regular’ car to do so after the dedicated hybrid. It won’t be inaccurate to call the C-HR a “compact C-segment SUV” then.

The dimensions correspond with its larger frame. At 4,360 mm long and 1,795 mm wide, the C-HR is 66 mm longer and 23 mm wider than the HR-V. Against the CX-3, the footprint advantage grows to +85 mm and +30 mm. The Toyota’s 2,640 mm wheelbase is 30 mm longer than the Honda’s and 70 mm longer than the Mazda’s. It’s a heavier car too, tipping the scales at 1,405 kg, 138 kg more than the HR-V and 194 kg more than the CX-3.

The Toyota’s larger footprint is apparent when you see it in the metal. The width is made more apparent by a sweeping roofline that at its highest point, is 40 mm lower than the HR-V’s. The athletic stance is coupled to a muscular body that’s sculptured like no other compact SUV – those swollen wheel-arches are accentuated by deep creases that form a clear ‘V’ on the profile. Nice ab definition.

The sloping roofline and hidden rear door handles are highlighted by our test car’s black roof (only available with Blue Metallic and Red Mica), which gets the now ubiquitous ‘floating’ effect that’s rather well-executed here, I think. As far as translations from concept to production go, the C-HR retains the essence of the eponymous concept car that was first shown at Paris 2014 and updated for Frankfurt 2015.

Coupe enough? Although its short front doors give away the game, it’s a yes from me. It’s always good to have reference points, and we brought along two genuine two-door Toyotas for you to compare angles. So, what do you think?

My favourite view of the C-HR is the rear three quarters, where the crossover’s twin spoilers (an elaborate cantilevered wing on top and a slim lip bridging the lights further down) and boomerang tail lamps decorate a backside that’s very ‘3D’. There’s plenty going on, and this writer is usually the first to dismiss overwrought designs and busy backsides, but this one works for me, somehow. You’ll either find the C-HR’s looks fascinating or revolting – there’s no sitting on the fence with this one.

Toyota says that the C-HR’s design theme is “Distinctive Diamond” and that the silhouette resembles a diamond set on its side. If you, like me, have yet to spot the precious stone, step inside the C-HR to see the sparkle. One will find geometric shapes on the perforated leather seats, door inserts, button clusters, speaker grilles and even the roof-lining. It’s immediately clear that the bold exterior styling has its match with this cabin.

The C-HR’s dashboard is slim and sweeping, a complicated affair that somehow manages to look minimalist. There are many layers, but the centre stack only has one control panel for the air con, apart from the freestanding touchscreen head unit. The high centre console is similarly sparse, housing just the gear lever, electronic parking brake, two small buttons and two (very deep) cupholders.

Personally, I’m not a big fan of protruding touchscreens, but accept that they’re unavoidable these days. The one here is even more prominent because it’s asymmetrical, with one side of the bezel housing a digital clock (so Toyota!) and some warning lights. Here’s an exercise: mentally block out the protrusion and see how sleek and sportscar-like the dashboard would have been. Good thing then that the twin barrel dials – which sandwich a colour 4.2-inch multi-info display – are as classic as they come.

Much of the above points are also true of the HR-V’s pleasant cabin – coupe-feel, slim dash, pared-down look – but the C-HR’s cockpit design is more edgy, more controversial, and ultimately more special – if you like it in the first place. Toyota has a big parts bin, but much of what we see here is unique to the model, underlining this project’s dedication to design.

Trim wise, the stitched dash topper in brown provides a dash of premium, and much needed contrast to a dark cabin. The chocolate tone is repeated on the door cards and centre armrest, and it plays off sparkly piano black trim that covers the entire centre console and features prominently on the dashboard. The occupant-facing plastics are soft and the door armrests are squishy. Plastics are harder as you look lower, but that’s expected at this price point.

The materials are good, but the fit and finish is impressive, considering the number of pieces on this elaborate design. The steering audio buttons don’t click with much authority though – tactile feedback is feeble. In contrast, the satin feel of the gear knob is really nice, and I found myself subconsciously caressing it rather often.

With its focus on design and sportiness, something would have to give, and as you’d expect, the C-HR isn’t the most practical or family-friendly compact SUV in town. Access to the rear seats isn’t the most straightforward with the disguised door handles, which open upward. The HR-V plays the same trick, but the Honda’s handles are placed lower and open forward. Once opened, the aperture isn’t the largest, either.

However, once inside, rear seat space is actually decent. With the driver’s seat set in this 173 cm writer’s position, there’s good leg and knee room available, and headroom does not seem to be overly compromised by the roofline as feared. There’s also ample space under the front seats (at their lowest position) for feet to tuck in.

While space isn’t an issue, rear occupants won’t be enjoying the journey much if they’re not the sleep anywhere kind. Directly next to the head is door trim, not glass. As the small rear window is located further forward, one will have to perch forward for a view out. Coupled with the all-black cabin theme and large front seats, the C-HR’s rear quarters is claustrophobic. Still, we’ll rather be in here than in the cramped CX-3.

Similarly, the Toyota is also nowhere near as cargo friendly as the HR-V and its multi-folding Ultra Seats. The C-HR’s rear bench can fold flat 60:40, but that’s about it. The boot is beaten on space and squareness by the Honda (388L vs 437L), and I found the hatch to be rather heavy.

On the move, forward visibility is good, but off the shoulder rear vision is not, blocked by the thick C-pillar and small rear window combo that’s crucial to the good looks. Reversing out of a perpendicular parking spot is a guessing game, more so than in my Honda CR-Z. It’s just as well that the C-HR comes with a reverse camera and Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA); the latter isn’t a bonus but a necessity here. Fashion comes at a price – coupe, remember?

In Malaysia, the C-HR is powered by a 1.8 litre four-cylinder engine with 140 PS and 171 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Power from the naturally aspirated 2ZR-FBE Dual VVT-i unit goes to the front wheels via a CVT automatic with seven-speed “Sequential Shiftmatic” manual mode. Not available here are the efficiency-focused 1.2 litre turbo and a 1.8 litre hybrid.

The 1.8L CVT combo has decent zip around town, and impeccable manners. Drivetrain refinement is good and the engine does its thing unnoticed most of the time. The CVT performs well, revs falling almost immediately once you ease off the gas to mimic an upshift, albeit a soft one. Much of my urban driving is done in the 80-90 km/h range, which equates to a barely awake 1,500 rpm here. Progress is smooth and serene, with the proviso that you don’t treat the accelerator like a light switch.

Much-maligned by car enthusiasts, the stepless transmission has improved massively over the past few generations of Japanese cars and is a far cry from the noisy early examples embedded in our heads. In fact, based on this latest sampling, I might actually prefer one over a regular torque converter auto in a daily urban driver.

The low NVH is allied with good ride comfort. The C-HR absorbs everything our construction ravaged roads can throw at it with dismissive ease. High speed primary ride is very composed, too.

However, roar from the Dunlop Enasave tyres (215/60 R17) can get pretty loud on certain surfaces, occasionally breaking through the otherwise impressive insulation. Nothing a good set of touring rubber can’t fix, though.

Also, going over humps at moderate speeds (that a CR-Z can skip over without issue) would also cause a heaving sound from the boot area – I’d like to be able to take more liberties in an SUV. These two small gripes don’t detract from the fact that I found the C-HR to be a great daily driver.

Up the pace and the C-HR’s case doesn’t crumble. Instead, it gets better. Push it harder and the earlier signs that the C-HR is well-judged dynamically becomes clear. The steering has good weight and feels natural, not artificially quick or cloying, as can be the case when carmakers want to emphasise “sporty”. It corners flat, and the touted lowest-in-class centre of gravity translates to a sense of light-footedness that I didn’t expect. The composed ride and gently supportive seat also helps one focus on the job in hand.

The town-friendly CVT holds on to revs longer in Sport mode, which is something i don’t normally use these days. But flipping the gear lever to the right revealed a rather convincing manual mode for a CVT. The shifts feel legitimate and you get a big sensation as you row through the “gears”. Good response in DIY mode aside, the ability to fully wring out the engine adds a layer of drivability not found in the HR-V. Despite not having paddle shifters, I used manual mode throughout the backroad blast, which says something.

Think of the squeal from the non-sporting tyres as a natural reminder to calm down, because the C-HR is a fun to drive car on B-roads. It’s not the fastest, of course, but there’s an inherent rightness about how it all comes together dynamically – despite the format, despite the CVT. One complaint though: the only way to change Drive Modes is to dive into the MID menu, and that’s a lot less efficient than thumbing a physical button.

How does it compare with the HR-V and CX-3 on the move? The latter, like most modern Mazdas, serves up plenty of sensation at the expense of refinement. Some may like it that way, but the C-HR does fun while being a matured daily driver. The Honda meanwhile is comfortable and dynamically competent without ever raising your pulse rate.

As you would have gathered by now, I really fancy the C-HR. It performs well when you’re in the mood, and more importantly – because this might be 95% of the time – when you’re just ambling along. That’s impressive, but the main draw is the crossover’s wild but captivating looks. You’d expect Toyota to come up with a safe, uncontroversial ‘me too’ SUV; instead the C-HR sacrifices rear comfort and boot space for coupe looks and double wishbone rear suspension. This no compromise approach makes the C-HR a special car in a humdrum segment.

We reckon that the C-HR would have been an easy pick for many were it not for a price tag closer to the CR-V than the HR-V. Seven airbags, blind spot monitor, RCTA, tyre pressure monitoring system, LED daytime running lights, auto lights/wipers, dual-zone auto air con, keyless entry and push start, leather seats (manual, but powered lumbar for driver), anti-dazzle rear view mirror and a seven-inch touchscreen head unit are what you get for RM145,500.

While not bad, the list omits some highly visible items that the layman can pick on – halogen headlamps, the lack of rear LED signatures and plain/small-looking rims are some. IMHO, the class-above platform and double wishbone rear suspension are more valuable, but their benefits aren’t as easily seen as LED lights.

Those looking for value won’t go wrong with the Honda HR-V, which has become the default SUV in our market, and rightly so. Those buying the C-HR will do so because they desire one for how it looks, because they want to be different, and because they can afford it. Desire – it’s why people pay good money for the Range Rover Evoque, MINI and special Toyotas.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• digidigi on Apr 19, 2018 at 8:49 pm

Emotional? Lol, the rear of the real car just feel like a toy car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 39
    • Shafiq on Apr 19, 2018 at 9:47 pm

Life’s too short & complicated for all logics. Keep it real, have a life & start living. CHR on motion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 26
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 19, 2018 at 11:27 pm

This car is super sexy…seen a lot in europe…not to mention japan..the best selling suv ever…it commands attention no doubt…slowly becoming ubiquitous on our roads…kudos Toyota for producing sonething beautiful like this…truly stunning…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 33
      • Ha je mie on Apr 20, 2018 at 12:27 am

Huge kudos to UMW Toyota…Msians dun hv to go for costlier & riskier recond versions…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • Abdul Kadeer on Apr 20, 2018 at 7:36 am

The biggest question here is why is our Gomen owned UMW not bringing in the Hybrid version?

If they cared for Malaysians, they will bring the Hybrid version which will benefit from huge reduction in tax because of our EEV hybrid tax benefit.

So instead of selling for RM150k, this car can be sold for RM110k. Just like the BMW X5 which was sold for RM590k. With Hybrid EEV tax exemptions, the new X5 40e is now RM388k.

The rich are lucky. They save RM200k just like that.

So, why isn’t UMW doing this for the rakyat? Gomen says it knows Malaysia has the highest car prices in the world and want to reduce it to lessen our burden. But on the other hand, their fully owned UMW charges rakyat RM150k for this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 19
        • Tahi politik on Apr 20, 2018 at 9:46 am

Silly rants. There are thousands of choices available fir you to pick.to be fair to gov, they do not force you to buy expensive car. Go buy axia if you cant afford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 33
    • Toomahallor on Apr 20, 2018 at 7:17 am

Chr 1.2 turbo recond oredy rm185k. Not even touch any logic here. At 185k, theres’s so many other option to spend on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • Abdul Kadeer on Apr 20, 2018 at 7:40 am

Singapore is clever. They bring in the Hybrid. And lucky Singaporeans, it is only sold for SGD65k. That is Toyota Singapore selling price.

So much cheaper than Malaysia considering the average Government servant in Singapore earn SGD5000 per month and our Putrajaya Government servants earn average RM1200 per month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 27
        • Eh. But u says even lowly gomen servants r going around with Cayennes and Beemers wor. So which is fail-ry tale, ur current one or previous fake news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • Autobahn on Apr 21, 2018 at 9:12 am

Emotion is about stepping on the accelerator pedal and feel the surge of power pushing you ahead when you overtake on the highway or when you leave another car tailgating you to dust. There is no emotional other than feeling clusterphobic in this vehicle with puny 180nm of torque….hearing the engine scream for help as you trying to gain some momentum. Msian learn to read the tech spec pls. You want effortless power low consumption get the sportage 2.0 turbo diesel instead of this poser

• Fancy on Apr 23, 2018 at 9:29 am

I don’t care what people say. I’m definitely emotional when it comes to this car. Don’t be sour if u can’t afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Autobahn on Apr 23, 2018 at 8:08 pm

Those who buy the ft86 emotional too..some even crying when they got smoked by a family hatch like golf gti….but why? My car is two door coupe low slung drift master worr..how come get smoked by the 4 door golf? Well next time learn to read the tech spec…your ft86 is only 200hp 200nm while the gti has 220hp 350nm and the peak power comes early in the power band unlike your slow ft86..dont simply get carried away by marketing gimmick…drift here drift there..those drifter got sponsor for tyres and suspension…

• Fancy on Apr 23, 2018 at 9:32 am

I don’t care what others say. I’m definitely emotional when it comes to this car. Don’t be sour people if u can’t afford or simply because it’s not your cuppa tea.

• I saw one. Small car. on Apr 30, 2018 at 1:12 pm

It looks special.

• just ugly, impractical and expensive for me. emotions only last for awhile before reality sets in

• The lack of safety suite …even MYVII top spec has it. Come on…what a shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
    • Tak payah pening, Tak payah fikir. Beli aje MYVII

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
      • yawnz on Apr 21, 2018 at 4:59 am

Tak nak ar, nanti pening why cannot get 20.1km/l. Better settle for hpfed Iriz or Jazz

• wastinglor on Apr 19, 2018 at 9:39 pm

Still expensive. Aus high spec 1.2 turbo premium to our money is 107k. Europe 1.8 hybrid spec to our money 133k. Thai HV hybrid top spec to our money 144k but na model 129k. Reach bulihlend 145k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 7
    • apala on Apr 20, 2018 at 8:50 am

ni bengap. org dah cakap pasal CBU, CKD lagi x paham. AUS, EUROPE,THAI all CKD laaaaaa. adoi….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 47
      • Apola on Apr 20, 2018 at 10:37 am

Ni bengap bin banggang. Chr cuma di buat di kilang negara JAPAN, TURKEY, CHINA dan THAI saja. So chr AUS CKD ker mcm tu? Europe tu CKD ker? Dlm Europe ade berapa buah negara bro tauk ke tak? TURKEY salah 1 daripada bahagian EUROPE bro. Faham ke tak mana negara yg CBU dan negara mana yg dpt CKD ni bro? Get ur fact right bro. Negara2 lain selain drpd 4 negara pengilang chr ni, semua dapat CBU bro. Adoiiii…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Factzis on Apr 20, 2018 at 11:43 am

Ckd only for Thailand, Japan, China and Turkey because chr only produce there. Other countries than that are all receive cbu units from these 4 countries. Toyota chr Turkey cbu units is to be export to 80% of Europe countries, other 20% is for outside Europe like USA, Canada, etc. Msia get cbu from Thailand. For your info, Aus, Singapore, Indonesia all get cbu. So brader, yang bengap is u. Tak paham langsung ckd cbu. Cheerrrr!

• I like manuals on Apr 20, 2018 at 4:13 pm

Topkek individual : “I know everything. I’ll give you my knowledge!”
        Everyone else : “No you don’t.”

• Agree on everything Danny put in here. You really need to drive it to believe. I asked the sale person how do they sell this car at this price point? He said: “WELL, I ask them to drive it, throw it into corner and fly over bump…” I don’t believe him at first until I test drove it. Something very special from Toyota. Like Danny said, if this car is selling at 110- 120k, it will really sell like hot cake. Too bad it is bloody 145k!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 11
    • passion on Apr 19, 2018 at 10:53 pm

Only extra rm200 instalment pymt. No big fuss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 32
    • Yeah, after years of boring sampan cars from UMWT, this is truly exciting.

• superdriver on Apr 20, 2018 at 8:55 am

145K…get the 3008 laar…. more power, much much more better looking cockpit. Damn nice to be in. If still want Japanese top up a bit and get the accord. Better power and comfort. Don’t just buy for the looks. When you drive, your inside the car. Get the full performance and comfort experience when your driving.

• stastasta on Apr 23, 2018 at 11:47 am

plenty of choices for 140k. crv for space and resale value. cx5 for the premium interior and soul red color. sportage for diesel torque and 4wd.

• If “throw it into corner and fly over bump…” is what you are looking for, you should have tried XV and you will say bye bye to CHR. Talks about handling..

• Korean Fan on Apr 19, 2018 at 9:44 pm

Logic:
    Practicality: X-Trail
    Style: CX-5
    Tech: CRV

Emotion:
    CHR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 11
  • Special Toyotas? Don’t get me wrong, I want to like this C-HR but cannot stand the high price matched with the chicken poop specs by UMWT.

CKD the damn thing with either a 1.2turbo or 1.8hybrid, Full LED all the lights, bigger two-tone rims on tyres that don’t have a lame name, standard black roof, Apple Carplay (+ damnit Toyota get Android Auto as well) with a price under RM120k and then I will become a fan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 8
    • The real deal is the 1.2L turbo engine, not the 1.8L hybrid. If you read UK reviews, it is mentioned that the 1.8L hybrid does not behave like a Prius thus score poorly. Very different characteristics.

• TopGear on Apr 19, 2018 at 10:33 pm

Just bring in CKD Toyota RAV4… grab some market share from
    cRV and CX5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • i think la… i think toyota and honda have the unspoken agreement: for malay market honda has the CRV, toyota has hilux. so honda’s pickup and toyota’s rav4 are not brought in (grey importer excluded).

because there is no other agreement, vios compete with city, sienta with freed, civic with altis, camry with accord.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 19, 2018 at 10:43 pm

Haven’t seen the local spec but I’ve sampled the Australian spec and it’s really small with those small rear windows which does not work for me. Coming back to the local spec version, the price sure did kill its launch and further more for 145k one would expect LED headlights as standard (heck even the base spec CRV retailing for 142k has standard LED lights) and the rims are an inch too small for its own good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • Mohamed Farid Apandi on Apr 19, 2018 at 10:48 pm

RIP CHR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • 12yrsold john on Apr 20, 2018 at 8:46 am

How to RIP when Demand exceeded Supply ?! They sold ALL the CBU stocks even at a ridiculously high price.

When they CKD it later, this will be cheaper hence more will be on our roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • Kamal on Apr 19, 2018 at 11:04 pm

I wonder why did they design the CHR like what it is? Immature and it looks stupid. Can’t believe it’s a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
  • I tried the back seats during a test drive and nearly puke… Really claustrophobia…

Wonder who bother to buy this car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • The 2 rear doors r for show only. Not practical at all. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
    • Capt Obv on Apr 20, 2018 at 10:25 am

People who don’t have claustrophobia

• Karam singh on Apr 20, 2018 at 9:09 pm

It is a coupe. Lower the car, with 215 45 17 tyres and you will see. Toyota has so many SUVs like RAV4, fortuner, highlander, harrier, Prado and land cruiser ninja king. You can buy a Honda, Toyota doesn’t mind. It is still top 3 in the world. To me, when you see a new Honda almost everywhere around you these days – its kinda boring.

• Toyota no fan on Apr 21, 2018 at 5:17 am

I won’t buy car to entertain pipu eyes. And pipu ady say CHR is ugly

• If want a proper SUV, with usable rear, looks modern, cheaper yet more capable, and most importantly a better toyota than toyota, get the CX5. Even Toyota USA sez so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 43
  • Bash the basher on Apr 20, 2018 at 6:26 am

Danny, I appreciate your use of puns and word play.
    Thanks for this well written review.

• I saw this parked in a local mall last week and I took a quick look at the exterior. It certainly stands out from the crowd, although not in a good way, to my eyes anyway.

It almost has the feel of trying too hard to create something different, without much consideration for too much else.

For me, it looks like it’s been designed by Homer Simpson on speed.

It’s not for me, although it may attract those with a penchant for the more avant garde look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Capt Obv on Apr 20, 2018 at 10:19 am

This is like those who would go for Citroen DS or mini or evoque… a budget evoque basically

• Why bother with this overprice Toyota. If you like the styling, just wait for the futures models to come. It should based on the same or similar design language and CKD with more space/spec and a reasonable price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Capt Obv on Apr 20, 2018 at 10:20 am

So you think eventually the avanza is gonna look like this?

• Capt Obv on Apr 20, 2018 at 10:21 am

Let me ask you do you think the Honda brv and hrv looks the same level of premium

• viosfan on Apr 23, 2018 at 4:32 am

This CHR looks like Homer simpson

• Design and Premium are 2 different things.
        If its all gonna looks the same, then it’ll be as boring as Audi or Merc.
        Since the styling was so hot, they should apply it or at least embed the concept into future model to makes Toyota more exciting.
        Don’t you want your future Vios to have the similar WOW element?

• LOK CHYI YEU on Apr 20, 2018 at 8:43 am

The prices itself with the super low spec for it already turn off most the emotion

• Capt Obv on Apr 20, 2018 at 10:23 am

Personally I feel the price is ok if they give two tone rim and led headlamp

• IF and only IF on Apr 23, 2018 at 8:32 am

“Personally I feel the price is ok IF they give two tone rim and led headlamp”

You should just buy the facelift high spec HRV then, plenty of spare change for the two tone rim and led headlamp is standard.

• ChunWei on Apr 20, 2018 at 8:50 am

The car is good, I like toyota quality, sure better then HRV and CX3. But wait, the competitor is CRV and CX5, sorry, this price i will pick CRV 2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Capt Obv on Apr 20, 2018 at 10:23 am

Crv for Aunty uncle la bro

• Bro, you’ll eventually become aunty uncle also. Or you already are?

Keen to go check out the CRV, you’ll be impressed.

• What rubbish spin! Emotion? We are talking about Toyota here, not Lexus or BMW! 145k for this car? Thanks, but no thanks. UMW us gonna have a pile of unsold C-HR’s. This writer is paid by UMW ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • I like manuals on Apr 20, 2018 at 9:32 pm

That’s why it’s logic vs emotion. If emotion beats logic then people will eventually buy it.

• Henry on Apr 21, 2018 at 9:56 am

You are right. Some people think theirs is the only correct choice/taste/decision.

They will probably also think people who buy a RM500k or RM1 million car are nuts.

If everyone uses logic then on our roads you can only see the cheapest cars. Afterall what people really need is a car that can take them from A to B. An Axia can do the job very well. But what people want is another story.

• Henry on Apr 21, 2018 at 6:14 pm

If the writer is paid by UMW to write nice things about the car then you must also be paid by their (UMW’s) competitors to criticize the car, no?

The Fake News Law is to deal with comments like yours. Better hope no one reported it.

• Tiguan on Apr 20, 2018 at 10:10 am

I don’t like CHR design. So immature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • azhar on Apr 20, 2018 at 10:25 am

i’ll buy it if im still single..too many disadvantages if you are a family man

• johnnas on Apr 20, 2018 at 11:09 am

“RM145,500 for the single spec 1.8L, the C-HR is priced RM28,000 higher the highest spec HR-V 1.8L, and RM14,000 more than the 2.0L Mazda CX-3.”

All logic and emotion gone….
    and talking about logic;
    Given the median income of an average Msian in 2016 is RM5228 per month, those who are earning that much, should be driving a car that is worth no more than a premium Perodua Alza.

Many of you wise cracks will try question but before you do that, try put on my hat for a while to see what I’m rapping ’bout.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 20, 2018 at 11:12 am

interior is so plastic

• Saiful Hamdan on Apr 20, 2018 at 11:19 am

Compare this with the new XV please.

• Robert Parameswaran S/O Kuppusamy on Apr 20, 2018 at 11:57 am

Excellent review from good ol Danny.

• Mr Linggam on Apr 20, 2018 at 12:25 pm

design look weird , that’s why emotion for the buyer’s because buy overprice small suv better buy crv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • rchoo on Apr 20, 2018 at 2:40 pm

Only RM145? I bet if they sell at RM180K there will still be tons of idiots rushing out to buy this car, after all it is a TOYOTA.

• Amran on Apr 20, 2018 at 3:40 pm

Beli je Toyota, tak payah pening, tak payah fikir!

• PreferCX5 on Apr 20, 2018 at 3:42 pm

With that price range, Mazda CX-5 is way much premium in terms of interior.. Features also more then CH-R.. Alot of things missing on the CH-R.. Not worth buying..

• Amran on Apr 20, 2018 at 4:02 pm

The worst is Proton GDi, TGDi is angan-angan kosong! Hahahaha!

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Apr 20, 2018 at 4:16 pm

Lol…people justifying the price saying it is cbu is bullshit. Its just cbu from thailand, just our jiran. If it is full CBU from japan like CX-3, thats a different story. And what with the naming for all those suv crossover? Crv, hrv, chr, cx5, cx3, brv, x7, x5. And now proton also want to use the lame naming of its upcoming suv…sigh

• Bernard on Apr 20, 2018 at 8:55 pm

Take away the hype, it’s just a car. Look at how expensive it is. Should be sold at half the price!

• Meh, its worth only 110k at most.

• I like the look of C-HR but that’s all. The price is ridiculous. The reviewer compares it to the like of Evoque and Mini in value proposition which is a bit too far. Evoque is not only good look. It is a RR and have great off-road capabilities and the ruggedness unlike others. Mini is well … Mini. Can’t say that for C-HR yet.

• Kakaka on Apr 23, 2018 at 4:38 am

Mini got tebu wei, this if got 1.2l tebu pun belum tentu can smoke exora T

Kakaka

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 23, 2018 at 9:56 am

evoque is just a pretty freelander 2

• Raymond on Apr 23, 2018 at 2:23 am

When perodua rebadge this in the future

“This car will be chart topping sale”

• intermilan on Apr 30, 2018 at 1:09 pm

Overall, C-HR will be known as a missed opportunity with a well-agreed label on its head. Overpriced.

What a huge sigh of relief from other B-segment SUVs (and salespersons) I supposed.

After a long absence of desirable products, UMW sensed they got an opportunity to go for the kill and predictably, decided to go for it.

Instead, they just reaffirmed their ‘cut-throat’ image.

The exterior design triumph over it’s competitors although interior is plain Jane toyota and clearly far from the best in class.

They should have priced it inline with other B-segment SUVs (sorry Danny, but it is a B-segment SUV, okay?) and let the exterior design be C-HR overarching value advantage over it’s competitors.

As for the article and the timing of it, can’t helped but feel that its almost like an advertisement. Shame really. Other reviews on C-HR have not been this overtly generous.

• hmmmmm, wonder whose’ MR2 was this..

• Hrv honda is rm100k, CHR is rm135k, both 1.8litre, both look great, facelifted Honda Hrv coming soon, it’s a no brainer which car I’ll buy, Hrv honda, value for money n great looks. I don’t see many CHR on the road after 2-3mths launch…

• Manage to buy CHR during 0% GST woohoo~~