G01 BMW X3 launched in M’sia – 30i Luxury, RM314k

After some sightings and teasers, BMW Malaysia has officially launched the new BMW X3. The third-generation G01 X3 is available here as a CKD locally-assembled X3 xDrive30i Luxury priced at an estimated RM320,000 on-the-road without insurance. It was revealed globally in June 2017 and we’ve driven Munich’s midsize SUV – click here for a full review.

UPDATE: The BMW X3 xDrive30i has finally made its market debut in Malaysia, priced at RM313,800 on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a 10% sales and service tax (SST).

The X3’s footprint has not changed by much – sitting on the modular CLAR (Cluster Architecture) platform that also underpins the G30 5 Series, the G01 is 60 mm longer and 10 mm wider than before, with 54 mm of the newfound length going into the wheelbase for more legroom. If it appears larger than before, it’s the bolder design and “optimally balanced body” at work.

In our exclusive walk-around video with X3 exterior designer Calvin Luk, the man who penned the car talks us through the X3’s bold new face (larger and higher kidney grille, deletion of the X-car signature ‘third eye’ fog lamp), squarish wheel arches, pronounced shoulder crease, sculpturing on the flanks and strong shoulders. Rear-end highlights include 3D sculpted tail lamps, a downward-sloping spoiler and horizontal lines to emphasise width. Also check out the hidden embossed ‘X’ marks when the doors are open.

For urban adventurers, the new X3’s relatively high ground clearance of 204 mm may be good for speed bumps, while its fording depth of 500 mm may prove useful when confronted with light floods. Decent approach and departure angles too, at 25.7° and 22.6° respectively.

Also of note is the X3’s best in class aerodynamics of Cd 0.29, which is as efficient as the smaller F48 X1. Overall weight, distributed 50:50, is down by up to 55 kg over the previous-gen F25, thanks to the increased use of aluminium in engine and suspension components. That may not sound like much, but the new X3 is a larger car with more tech onboard.

The cargo area holds 550 litres, expandable to 1,600 litres with the 40:20:40 rear seats folded. There are some neat compartments under the boot floor, including one specifically for the tonneau cover. The floor is neatly held up by a strut when it’s lifted.

The X3 xDrive30i is powered by a 2.0 litre twin-scroll turbo engine with 252 hp and 350 Nm of torque. Paired to the standard xDrive AWD and eight-speed Steptronic Sport automatic transmission, it’s capable of sprinting from 0 to 100 km/h in 6.3 seconds on to a top speed of 240 km/h. Average fuel consumption is 7.6 litres per 100 km. The previous-gen X3 was sold in Malaysia as a 20i, with 184 hp and 270 Nm.

The Luxury Line car comes with underbody protection in Frozen Grey and high-gloss chrome, 19-inch double-spoke alloys in Ferric Grey, LED headlamps with high beam assistant and Comfort Access with contactless tailgate operation, among other things.

Inside, the X3 is trimmed with Vernasca leather with contrast stitching on the sports seats, Sensatec-covered instrument panel with contrast stitching and Dark Oak wood trim strips with Pearl Chrome accent strips. Also standard are a rear camera, Park Distance Control, Parking Assistant auto parking, a 10.25-inch central screen, Welcome Light Carpet and BMW Connected Drive.

The SUV is available in four colours – Terra Brown, Black Sapphire, Glacier Silver and Alpine White. There are two interior interior leather options – Vernasca Black (recommended for Alpine White, Black Sapphire, Glacier Silver and Terra Brown exteriors) and Vernasca Mokka (recommended for Alpine White and Black Sapphire exteriors).

The BMW X3 xDrive30i is priced at RM313,800 on-the-road excluding insurance, inclusive of the 10% sales and service tax (SST). The car comes with a five-year, unlimited mileage warranty with free scheduled service programme, a two-year tyre warranty, roadside assistance, the BMW Group Loyalty+ Mobile App, BMW White Card membership and BMW Service Online.

Check out CarBase.my for detailed specs of the new BMW X3.

GALLERY: G01 BMW X3 in Glacier Silver

GALLERY: G01 BMW X3 in Terra Brown

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• MSPORT on Apr 20, 2018 at 11:19 am

wheres the MSPORT variant??

• 12yrsold john on Apr 20, 2018 at 11:35 am

At RM320k, this is smack onto GLC territory. Visually, the GLC looks more appealing(only my opinion). Will this X3 scare the light out of X3 or even XC60 ?
    I think Merc & Volvo can sleep better knowing even Makcik & Nenek prefer the Merc/Volvo. Hehehe, cheers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 26
    • Digidigi on Apr 20, 2018 at 4:26 pm

Sorry lo, macik and nenek prefer merc but not Volvo, so this bmw will still outsell Volvo locally, this is truth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • 12yrsold john on Apr 20, 2018 at 5:10 pm

Should read as Will this X3 scare the light out of GLC or even XC60 ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • SpongeWai on Apr 20, 2018 at 11:43 am

BMW Malaysia should follow Mercedes Benz Malaysia marketing like Merc got 3 GLC variants while BMW X3 only got 1 variant.

Hopefully they will add range topping X3 M40i & entry level X3 SDrive20i variants in he future to against Merc rival

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Gabriel on Apr 20, 2018 at 11:43 am

Pay overpriced BMW here and Chinese rail contractors all receive GST tax reliefs…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
    • Mahafiraun on Apr 21, 2018 at 8:27 pm

Thank you to our future oldest prime minister in the world at 93 year old. He started this AP system you don’t know ah.

Not even the richest man in the world can produce 3 billionaire sons. Our future grandpa PM can! Mahakleptokrat boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • BowArrow(Mr.SFA) on Apr 20, 2018 at 11:47 am

Oh that headlights … = =a

• For RM 14k more, you get over 400hp and 600nm torque plus all the safety features with 360 cameras etc on the XC60.

Too bad Volvo doesn’t have that strong of a marketing presence, great car, but effort to sell isn’t there. Not to mention the propeller and star badge is worth its weight in gold here in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
  • Is tempting but for any cars esp SUV priced over RM300k, it should come with all the autonomous driving and safety systems. It may still be relevant in this 2018 but another 2 years down the road with the mass market brands all equipped with better safety system, these luxury brands will become a bad choice. Now the XC60 is still a way sincere offering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
  • Sapa Tu on Apr 20, 2018 at 11:59 am

So who was the person that said it was going to be offered in a kosong 2WD and 20i version at 320k?

• stastasta on Apr 23, 2018 at 1:47 pm

that person’s name is Gerard Lye:

https://paultan.org/2018/04/17/g01-bmw-x3-malaysian-launch-teased-roi-now-open/

https://paultan.org/2018/04/18/g01-bmw-x3-spotted-undisguised-in-malaysia/

• Mr Linggam on Apr 20, 2018 at 12:03 pm

Look good but front grill like lubang hidung , if smaller much better

• TreeHugger on Apr 20, 2018 at 11:29 pm

From far away you can’t mistake it from an x3 due to that extra large lubang hidung. With this new design style bmw should no longer call it kidney grille. Instead, they should call it nostril grille, or simply nosgrille.

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 20, 2018 at 12:08 pm

Thankfully, BMW Malaysia brings in the 30i model instead of the 20i which was the only petrol model available previously. Wished there was a RWD option, but the XDrive is still rearward bias to ensure that its still fun to drive. Vernasca leather is new to Malaysia correct? A level below nappa, but above Dakota. But am not sold on those rims. Couldn’t they have picked out better looking ones? Maybe they look better in the metal than in pictures.

• Digidigi on Apr 20, 2018 at 12:17 pm

too expensive, don’t even have autonomous braking which a myvi have

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • Myvi AEB is a sampah AEB. Only max 30km/h to function? Better break yourself laa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Sampah it is on Apr 21, 2018 at 3:25 am

Agreed. Myvi’s ASA is a marketing gimmick only, with little use in real life. Max 30km/h, the AEB is only useful in parking lot. Then again, the AEB most probably won’t activate if another car suddenly reverse in front of the Myvi because the low-end cameras can’t detect that car.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 20, 2018 at 12:25 pm

What the..they actually launch the vehicle without confirming the price! Anyhow kudos to them for bringing in the 30i version. The previous 20i didn’t do justice to the SUV.

• kevin on Apr 20, 2018 at 12:27 pm

X2 and X3 same price?

• Nice looking taillights

• Otman Tino on Apr 20, 2018 at 12:58 pm

300k reali small money. My bff jz spent RM1.5juta for renovation his banglo in Kajang yo’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 31
  • Eternalgl0ry on Apr 20, 2018 at 1:00 pm

That’s the same price as BMW x2

Bargain

• RyderSoHigh on Apr 20, 2018 at 1:14 pm

i like

• this or glc 250?

• Capt Obv on Apr 20, 2018 at 1:35 pm

This is a super good price considering it’s a 30i and not 20i. Actually why BMW keep on hit and miss their pricing. Some good some terrible value. Is it different teams internally? Fire the team that did X2 and 530e!

• Michale Song on Apr 20, 2018 at 2:11 pm

Why get this when X5 is RM 388,800??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • Song Michale on Apr 20, 2018 at 5:59 pm

Because its newer, cheaper, less maintenance cost and less hassle to deal with hybrids

• Kevin on Apr 20, 2018 at 6:30 pm

My friend bought below rm350k for x5.

• It’s even less than that for a pre-reg unit! That steering wheel is so uncle! Where’s the M sport?

• Kesha on Apr 20, 2018 at 8:18 pm

New platform. Lighter more agile body. The x5 is becoming a dinosaur. Plus not everyone wants a phev.

• old dog on Apr 20, 2018 at 2:52 pm

again, Merc is laughing…GLC sell will be load up as those waiting (like me) will be no eye see of the price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 20, 2018 at 3:15 pm

rather have the xc60 which is better on power and specs. granted, the bmw might be better to drive but unless they brought the m-sport version this luxury line is a bit gaudy. considering how good the m40i version looked…on the other hand…for not much more…u can get the superior x5….plus i know bmw malaysia giving good discounts for the x5 as new model coming out soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 20, 2018 at 4:03 pm

Super cramp inside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • joker

• Bernard on Apr 24, 2018 at 5:04 pm

Hey,

Are you telling us that Lexus NX SUV which was review by most international motor journalists as having the most cramp interior compare to other premium compact SUVs???

Please don’t be shy to reveal the truth then .

• Leafable on Apr 20, 2018 at 4:45 pm

RM320k for an empty spec car. Good luck BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • daniel on Apr 20, 2018 at 6:19 pm

Quote:The X3 xDrive30i is powered by a 2.0 litre twin-scroll turbo engine with 252 hp and 350 Nm of torque.

Is this a thpo Danny? 2.0 litre?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • The kop 555 on Apr 20, 2018 at 8:44 pm

BMW 320i and 328i both using 2.0 litre engines. The 2.0 in 328 having similar output to 2.8 straight six of previous models.

• Similar to 530i

• stastasta on Apr 23, 2018 at 1:49 pm

the majority of bmws sold in malaysia have been equiped with a 2.0 liter turbo, since donkey years ago. you just come out from cave ?

• The looks of a car is very subjective. but we can look from other tangible aspects of it such as performance (hp, torque, century sprint time), safety features (no of airbags, breaking etc) as well as gadget and sound system. this criteria is measurable. by saying that, XC60 T8 is the best in the market. they have won world and japanese car of the year. unfortunately volvo brand equity is not strong in malaysia. if you really compare apple to apple, volvo xc60 T8 inscription plus is the best of them all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • willy on Apr 21, 2018 at 8:12 am

is it equip with apple car play or Android auto ?

• Matjava on Apr 21, 2018 at 11:25 am

Wait New Audi Q5 vs New X3..

• Accord Is Here on Apr 21, 2018 at 6:56 pm

Nowadays BMW design language is too generic. Kinda feel lifeless especially interior

• No comparison as to cars – why not compare companies.
    Went to Volvo – cash money, near 500K all up cash money, XC90 – when? September maybe lah…XC60 when? …maybe September lah…
    Went to Audi…same bullshit
    So the worst car…the BMW – appeared the option…but a Subaru for just over 100K now looks very good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Still the same interior design style? outdated!