GALLERY: Nissan Serena S-Hybrid, new C27 v old C26

The Nissan Serena S-Hybrid has been a modest sales success for Nissan, and the new fifth-generation C27 hopes to continue finding favour with large families, with competitive pricing and a bunch of new features. As it happens, we’ve got a comprehensive photo gallery of the new car right next to the previous C26 to lay bare all the changes between the two generations.

Let’s start with the most important information of all, pricing. Offered in locally-assembled (CKD) form and in the same two variants as before, the new Serena is priced at RM135,500 for the Highway Star variant and RM147,500 for the Premium Highway Star, on-the-road without insurance. That means that the new models are between RM2,500 and RM4,500 more expensive, which isn’t too bad considering the extra kit on board.

Although the new car’s slab-sided body appears to be an evolution of its predecessor, put both together and you can really see the design differences. While the old car sports a face that apes the larger Elgrand, the new one has a more striking maw, with dual-tier LED headlights that are reminiscent of the Toyota Vellfire. There’s also a V-motion front grille, a more aggressive front bumper design and rectangular fog lights.

The upswept beltline along the side remains, but on the new car it’s complemented by a downwards-sweeping character line that adds some pizzazz to the styling. The blacked-out D-pillars and shorter tail lights give the new Serena a trendy “floating roof” look, emphasised here by the two-tone colour scheme on this range-topping Premium Highway Star. The variant’s 16-inch two-tone alloy wheels are the same as before.

No such luck finding carryover components on the inside, as the new Serena has a thoroughly modernised cabin, with its floating centre console and flat-bottomed, three-spoke, leather-wrapped steering wheel. What’s more, while the old car’s dashboard was made with hard-wearing hard plastics, the new one gets plusher soft-touch materials with real stitching.

Then there’s the level of technology on board, starting with the digital instrument cluster – now featuring a seven-inch full-colour multi-info display that shows the rev counter, trip computer information as well as the around view monitor with Intelligent Moving Object Detection (i-MOD). There’s also a new Clarion head unit with a 6.75-inch touchscreen and Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatibility.

One big change is the move from eight seats to seven, with second-row captain’s chairs with armrests. Local distributor Edaran Tan Chong Motor says that this increases the feeling of luxury, but it also means that the outgoing model’s second-row centre seat, which could be folded and slid forwards to double as a storage console in front, is now gone.

New C27 Nissan Serena S-Hybrid (left) versus old C26 (right)

On the plus side, the first- and second-row seats feature Zero Gravity technology for improved comfort, and there are also seven USB ports all around the car – one in each of the front dashboard storage bins, one on the head unit and two each for the second and third rows. The third row can now be slid forwards and back for either increased legroom or a larger boot.

Access is improved though a new hands-free opening function for the twin power-sliding doors, operated using a kicking motion under the doors, while opening and closing buttons have also been fitted for the third row. A split-opening tailgate provides easier access to the boot in tight spaces.

An increase in space is claimed for the new Serena, with interior length extended by 180 mm, while height and width has been increased by 20 mm and 65 mm respectively. This is despite the exterior dimensions remaining largely identical, measuring 4,770 mm long and 1,865 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,860 mm also retained. Only the width of the car has been changed, growing a measly five millimetres to 1,740 mm.

New seven-seat layout (above) versus old car’s eight seats (below)

As standard, the new Serena comes with front and rear fog lights, 15-inch alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, single-zone auto climate control and new digital rear air-con controls. Safety wise, there are now six airbags instead of two, joining the existing ABS with EBD and brake assist and stability control. There’s also a new Intelligent Driver Alertness (i-DA) feature.

The Premium Highway Star variant adds the aforementioned 16-inch alloys, door visors, combination leather upholstery in either black or two-tone Truffle Brown and Chestnut, a 10.1-inch roof-mounted LCD rear display, a Tech-On tray mat on the second-row picnic table for holding tablets or other devices, an LED interior room light and V-Kool 4Mil security film tinting.

Powering the new car is a carryover MR20DD 2.0 litre direct-injected four-cylinder petrol engine, now making slightly more power at 150 PS at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm at 4,400 rpm. It’s fitted with a new dual-arm tensioner to reduce tension on the arm belt and improve fuel efficiency, and is mated to an Xtronic CVT.

New Serens’s split-opening tailgate makes it easier to load smaller items in tight parking spaces

Working alongside it is a 2.6 PS/48 Nm ECO electric motor that replaces the starter motor, controls the Idling Stop System and and energy regeneration. The motor also offers acceleration assistance to the MPV, providing a 50 Nm torque boost for up to one second when moving away from a standstill. As for fuel consumption, Nissan claims the Serena is good for 14.2 kilometres per litre on the European NEDC cycle.

While the new Serena rides on the same platform as before, it comes with a few upgrades to improve refinement, ride and handling, such as a sound-absorbing wheelhouse liner, a speed-sensitive electric power steering system with a quicker ratio, stiffer front and rear suspension mountings, as well as high-performance valves in the dampers for a more stable and comfortable ride.

So what do you think of the new Nissan Serena S-Hybrid – is it a good improvement over the previous model? To help you make up your mind, you can watch our in-depth walk-around video of the new car below, and browse full specifications and equipment on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: C27 Nissan Serena S-Hybrid
GALLERY: C26 Nissan Serena S-Hybrid

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Rizaziz on May 15, 2018 at 2:05 pm

Previous Serena gooder becoz 8 seats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • New Government - Clean and Honest on May 15, 2018 at 3:07 pm

Loos good. Let us hope prices come down once the Pakatan Government settles down in a few months time and they honour their 30% car price reduction promise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • Driver or Typist on May 15, 2018 at 3:36 pm

Did they make such a promise or did I miss it?

• deal breaker on May 15, 2018 at 8:24 pm

The gear stick is too long like old Datsun 120Y really a deal breaker

• Nissan PR on May 16, 2018 at 9:33 am

I’m sorry sir that your car buying decision is based on the length of the gear stick.

We hope you can overlook this with the many good features that the new car has.

• deal breaker on May 16, 2018 at 1:51 pm

6 seater is another deal breaker for me

• If by end of their 100 days (95 now) and this dun materialise, can we demand referendum for a new election maybe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
        • Delorean on May 15, 2018 at 10:08 pm

What happened was we became delusional, we got drunk on our own Kool-Aid and we got carried away. Nobody wanted to acknowledge there was a problem and we regretted keeping the truth that the grassroots had rejected us. Sigh..

• YB Albert on May 15, 2018 at 7:56 pm

Car prices ,will not be reduced.Excise duties on cars over rm 10 B .needed for treasury.Our national debt is close to A TRILLION RM.
        instead, the rakyat should trim spending.
        When the buying of new cars are reduced,prices will have to drop,to clear stock overhang.
        Just wait for the GSt thing to zerorise.Cant u guys wait 3 months?

• article by Paultan (as said by TanChongMotors)
        : Once GST abolished, SST will be re-introduced , CAR PRICE GOES UP.

Refer here : https://paultan.org/2018/05/14/etcm-says-prices-might-go-up-slightly-post-sst-price-protection-scheme-will-also-apply-to-nissan-models/

• NewNews on May 15, 2018 at 2:15 pm

Is there any other interesting news beside Serena?

• Jagjit Singh on May 15, 2018 at 3:24 pm

Soon Alphard also will be cheaper cause AP will be abolished. All the AP abangs all now in shock and they know, their business will close down soon…..oh wai!

• AP Queen is BACK.

• Uncle Lim 07 on May 18, 2018 at 6:12 pm

Come to think of it will Rafidah and Tun Dr. M make new policy for AP then we can bring in our own dream car from foreign country?
          Let’s hope.

• kzm (Member) on May 15, 2018 at 11:19 pm

which type of AP u refer to? How much is the cost for that AP?

• Jagjit Singh on May 15, 2018 at 3:25 pm

News is news. Let us be happy Paul Tan gives his site free and we don’t have to pay for it……oh wai!

• Cendol on May 15, 2018 at 3:31 pm

Venus Williams maybe?

• panjang on May 15, 2018 at 2:23 pm

New G v old G. Better New G

• Until u realised new G is same same as older G that pipu hated. Lolz!

• Ah Kow on May 15, 2018 at 4:41 pm

Has been waiting long for this car but unfortunate come with 6+1 seaters without the magic seat. WTF

• The seventh passenger can still sit on floor between captain seats, only if he has anirexuc body

• bread seller on May 15, 2018 at 8:36 pm

This is more like a van than mpv coz it is narrow and high. Sometimes looks like bezza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Totti on May 16, 2018 at 9:07 am

I owned a C24 6+1 seater for 5 years before upgrade to 8 seater estima ACR 50.

The 6+1 configuration is only good for 6 seater + 1 children. This C27 cant take 7 adult.

What a waste with the decision to bring in the 6 seater.

Like the honda CRV, the sale will be better if they bring in the 7 seater configuration. WTF

• c20 driver on May 16, 2018 at 1:55 pm

ACR50 can get FC like serena s-hybrid?

• Uncle Lim 07 on May 18, 2018 at 6:18 pm

How about Starex? Had one since 2009.
      Accommodates 10 adult + 3 children and is easy along the highway while climbing hill like a toyota hilux.

• Is it just me? I went to showroom and found out myself the high spec version. According to the article, leather wrapped steering and soft touch dashboard material. The steering shown in the photos n videos look like leather wrappd but the actual I touched is hard plastic. The dashboard also look like cheap hard plastic. When I touched it, was hard plastic. May be I did not press too hard to see whether it could actually be pressed down. The unit I saw confirmed is high spec as the seat was leather.

It takes away the favourite 8th seat. No auto wiper. Leather seat too soft, not comfortable for long journey. No ambient light, even innova high spec has it now.