GST zero-rated: Honda absorbs 6% GST for Civic, City, CR-V and HR-V; rebates up to RM9.5k – May 18-31

Honda Malaysia has announced a GST Bonus programme that will see it absorb the 6% goods and services tax (GST) on selected vehicles. This, after the newly-formed Government revealed that it will roll back GST to 0% (effective June 1) from the current 6%.

The Honda models applicable for this are the City (non-hybrid), Civic, CR-V and HR-V. As expected, the rebates get bigger the more expensive the car is, ranging from RM4,282 for the City 1.5 S all the way up to RM9,497 for the CR-V 1.5 TC-P in White Orchid Pearl. These rebates go on top of those already offered for Honda’s Welcome Ramadan Rewards campaign, resulting in a saving of up to RM11,497.

Other models such as the Jazz, Jazz Hybrid, BR-V, Accord, Odyssey, Civic Type R and City Hybrid are not eligible. Instead, those models are only entitled to the aforementioned Ramadan bonus.

The GST Bonus programme starts from May 18 to May 31. Honda Malaysia will soon announce its new vehicle pricing prior to the re-introduction of the Sales and Services Tax, or SST. In the meantime, you may read in further detail on how GST affects the selling price of a car, here.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Hasley on May 18, 2018 at 6:56 pm

New Honda to balik kampung this year^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Mahadzir Lokman on May 18, 2018 at 7:58 pm

Why harga go down? Our friend john said because got new gomen, all non national cars will go up 300%

Where is john now? Macam mana boleh turun?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • IGP mom on May 19, 2018 at 10:22 am

Take note while John is missing, this “New Government New Hope for 30%” guy has been posting as frequent as John before GE. See how this guy is talkinig to camouflage himself, he professes he is Pakatan supporter, but he is also pressuring the 30% reduction impatiently, hoping to see PH fails to do this, and the bash can start coming in.

• Ah Kow on May 19, 2018 at 11:37 am

Now there is a new dawn for Malaysia. Well done to the people of Malaysia … regardless of race and religion who stood by the principles of democracy and freedom

• Christopher on May 19, 2018 at 2:58 pm

People of Malaysia have rejected a corrupt Government and Readers of Paul Tan also reject trolls and those that spread fake news.

Goodbye John.

• Preve Owner on May 21, 2018 at 10:04 am

Honda Accord no GST rebate. Anyone here can help?

• Christopher on May 19, 2018 at 2:27 pm

john is still here spreading false and fake news despite his old bosses have lost badly and have no more money to pay him.

I am very happy to pay high car prices because I know now, all my tax money will be used for good causes and not to buy expensive Birkin handbags

• Sohai on May 20, 2018 at 7:05 am

Habislah, Jazz GST 6-0% official announcement by DRB Honda songklap into whose pocket… Boxes in ringgit kept from 6% GST from sohai Jazz buyer …

• Luv Harapan, luv Bapak P1, sapot P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • New Government New Hope for 30% on May 18, 2018 at 8:05 pm

Now it is not a good time to buy a car. The GST and SST are uncertain times. Eventhough Honda has shown a reduction in car prices….it is uncertain times. They say ln 3 months times SST might come into play. So which is it??

But forget this GST and SST which will be sorted in June. More importantly, one of Pakatan’s manifestos is to reduce car prices by 30%.

You see, before BN made this promise of reducing car prices by 30% (which they never honoured), Pakatan, through their campaign “Turunkan Harga Kereta” also made this promise before BN did. This is why BN copied Pakatan’s promise to reduce car prices.

Remember the campaign “Turunkan Harga Kereta” which we all put yellow stickers behind our cars? I think the campaign was strongly supported by Rafizi also.

So, these are uncertain times. Pakatan Government will reduce car prices by 30% and honour their campaign promises.

So, these are uncertain times. Even after June, if you buy a car, the same car might be 30% less later in this year.

You buy RM100k now, later in the year, when the same brand new car is sold for RM70k, you will cry like a newborn baby with his pampers on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 45
      • YS Lim on May 20, 2018 at 10:04 am

I’m not so naive to believe this. If this is carried out within a short span of time, all the used-car dealers in our country will go bankrupt. Not only that, the automobile companies will also suffer a hefty loss!

• john is otak batu on May 20, 2018 at 11:29 am

Dear All,be careful if u intend to purchase 100k & above car price. When it start to drop drastically, U might wonder to pay up the 100k for bank & selling it under 50% RV. That’s why least crowd visiting car showroom lately.

• New Government New Hope for 30% on May 18, 2018 at 8:23 pm

I am glad our blog now is clean and got no more paid cybertroopers who come here and tell us we have the cheapest car prices in the world and the cheapest petrol prices in the world.

So happy we have united our stand against cybertroopers just like 30 million people united to overthrow a corrupted regime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Christopher on May 19, 2018 at 2:31 pm

Malaysia is actually a very rich country. Infact, we are even richer than Singapore. Why cars became expensive is because of stealing and corruption. Well, now, we have moved away from a stinking corrupted government and towards better pastures

• YB Albert on May 18, 2018 at 10:33 pm

Can u guys see the beban GST ,how it has caused car lovers so much of financial burden? Now with Raya around,with this clear picture,many have decided NOW to buy new cars,without GST and SSt ,and given rebates.
      Can u recall who said kangkung is very cheap,but did he know thousands of rakyat,have to forgo some basic necessities ,to honor hire purchase instalments?
      Remember,the new gomen has to repay Rm1.5 Billion annually for 1MDB debt for yrs to come,besides the unwanted ECRL n other mega projects.
      The next move is for car distributors to reduce their margins.Look at the rebates now ,just to clear stocks.Their margins are obscene.UMW should take the lead,to reduce prices further.

• Christopher on May 19, 2018 at 2:32 pm

GST is to buy Birgin handbags and it is not for the rakyat benefit

• wat the? on May 18, 2018 at 7:05 pm

These cars are charged with GST previously Jazz, Jazz Hybrid, BR-V, Accord, Odyssey, Civic Type R and City Hybrid.

Why no rebate on GST?

• Read it carefully on May 18, 2018 at 7:43 pm

0% GST only start on 1st June, so Honda don’t actually have to lower prices of all models until then. This GST rebates for some models is only from 18-31st May. After that, from 1st June onwards, all models will be 0% GST.

• Rashid bin Ohwai on May 18, 2018 at 8:02 pm

Thank you Pakatan Harapan for giving us so much of savings. This goes to show, all our GST paid before was needed by the Government to buy Birkin handbags (US200k each)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Semi-Value (Member) on May 19, 2018 at 9:56 am

greedy syed mokhtar…now his daddy back in power

• Edwin on May 18, 2018 at 10:10 pm

Why no Honda City Hybrid?

I just pay my booking fee for Honda City Hybrid last two days

• omg boring la hondek on May 19, 2018 at 9:03 am

honda stock too many on hands. going to drown that’s why do promotion

• vVivi Zurianti on May 19, 2018 at 9:43 am

syukur……Now cars are more affordable. During the prev govt admin, owning a new car is like an imposible dream for many.

• affordable until SST at 10% comes in la? Then car price would be more expensive than before.

• cclow on May 19, 2018 at 12:20 pm

I entitled to this for my CRV but somehow the agent pulled back 2K discount from dealer, he said Honda Malaysia foece them to share the GST for those car register from 18-31 May. Originally I was offered by Honda Malaysia 3K + dealer 2K

• cclow on May 19, 2018 at 12:21 pm

I not sure how true the story where dealer need to bear then GST with Honda Malaysia from 18-31 May period

• kingkong on May 19, 2018 at 8:23 pm

i thought the ramanda promotion for crv is rm3k rebate? what is the dealer rm2k u were offered?

• old dog on May 20, 2018 at 5:21 am

no rebate for certain model means they are playing with the figure of paying GST? isn’t that crazy? The GST is based on tax invoice and with zero GST, the figure should be the amount based on the tax invoice without GST? unless those company is not paying THAT exact amount to GST!!!

• Ben Yap on May 21, 2018 at 11:01 am

honda don’t absorb GST also malaysians will go and buy. it’s brand that everyone dream to drive.

• i went to honda setia alam, the sales told me that this promotion is only eligible for the first 55 customer only?

• bad move by honda…
    jazz & brv are low price model, yet do not entitle for 0% GST? really?

• indeed … why cant they offer for all models and variants. i gotta wait till june

• Aaron on May 21, 2018 at 6:55 pm

I am interested in Honda HRV. Is the list printed valid after GST and Ramadan rebates?

• Thakum on May 30, 2018 at 5:48 pm

Just went to Honda 3S in Segambut… they said the price isn’t effective on the day of confirmation of booking but instead upon collection of vehicle and registration with JPJ. Meaning that if your car takes three months, and if SST is already implemented, you pay the full price plus SST despite booking the car between May 18-31!! How can that be?