GST zero-rated: VW prices down in June, up to RM17k

We’ve heard from Toyota, and now it’s the turn of Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) to release a price list without the 6% goods and services tax (GST), which will be zero-rated from June 1, 2018. The rolling back of GST rates was announced by the new Pakatan Harapan government two days ago.

These new prices – which, typical for VPCM, are nett prices excluding registration and insurance – will remain in effect until the sales and services tax (SST) comes back in to replace GST. The return of SST was not mentioned in the 0% GST announcement two days ago, but the finance ministry confirmed yesterday that SST will be back, although no date was given.

Without GST, savings range from RM4,400 for the Polo to RM17,102 for a Golf R. Note that VPCM has also made slight pricing adjustments – the whole range gets new sticker prices ending with ‘8’. The before (current) and after prices are as follows.

VPCM says that with limited stocks available, customers should take the opportunity to place their bookings, as the company is also having ongoing Hari Raya promotions. A windfall, as the VPCM chief puts it.

“This period in time is a windfall for Malaysians, and so I would like to urge those considering our products to grab this opportunity as there is no better time to own a Volkswagen. Customer peace of mind is always a priority for us, and we want to be able to provide this during the transition period until the implementation of the SST. We want our customers to benefit from the revised prices, and enjoy our ongoing promotions,” said VPCM MD Erik Winter.

Besides the GST effect, VPCM’s Fuel Up Your Gaya promotion is offering 0.88% interest rates and cash rebates of up to RM15,000 on selected models. To further sweeten the deal, those who purchase a Volkswagen from now till June 30 will also receive a petrol card worth RM1,188.

All new Volkswagens come with a five-year manufacturer’s warranty, five-year roadside assistance and three years of free service.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Conti pedigree at asean pricing.

• They removed the GST, they didn’t get rid of all the other taxes. But given that Tun first introduced such to protect Proton, and now that’s no longer an issue. We may see those taxes go away. MAY. Jibby left a LOT of debt for us…

• Sohai on May 18, 2018 at 4:04 pm

Why Honda price list no come out…?

• Rashid bin Ohwai on May 18, 2018 at 4:19 pm

Amazing, new Government just took over 1 week only and we see Toyota and VW prices dropping so much.

I am so happy. I am proud of our new clean and honest Government…..oh wai

• bingo on May 18, 2018 at 6:21 pm

Wtf this zero tax is only temporarily before they put in sst tax in

• seancorr (Member) on May 18, 2018 at 12:43 pm

The prices after deducting the GST should be the actual price VW be selling in the first place. Currently their vehicle pricing is overly inflated.

• Carlover on May 18, 2018 at 1:10 pm

But then VW products are way underrated. Imagine buying Audi quality w Kia pricing

• Rashid bin Ohwai on May 18, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Rakyat save so much money now with a clean and non corrupted Government….oh wai!

• You are implying “overly” to mean “six percentage points.”

• Proton oh Proton on May 18, 2018 at 12:44 pm

So we can expect double discount price from VW hahaha

• Cukurlah ada Bapak P1… dan bukan Bapak 1MDB

• Same L0rr on May 18, 2018 at 1:47 pm

Make sure dsg ok..

• guller on May 18, 2018 at 2:51 pm

I am waiting Jetta 2019 and Virtus/Vento 2019 to be sell in Malaysia.

• C.P. MOHAN on May 18, 2018 at 3:42 pm

Others will be forced to follow.

• Under Fuel Up Your Gaya promo , there is a 10k savings for Vento comfort-line. Another 5k from zero rated GST.
    Meaning it’s only 71,888 now ?

• Jimmy on May 19, 2018 at 1:15 pm

VW marketing biasalah… If CUT from GST already there, they withdraw their own discount… More or less will be the same. Where got selling Tiguan 158k before GST CUT, now showing 158k like macam banyak sangat kurang… They just put that price to show that they are reducing. But not showing any more discount.

Unless if they are honest, they will continue to give additional discount despite already got GST cut…