GST zero-rated: Mazda models up to RM17k cheaper

With the government’s impending abolishment of the goods and services tax (GST) looming, more and more car companies are releasing price lists of vehicles sans the six-percent tax. Official Mazda distributor Bermaz is the latest, with its range of cars becoming cheaper come June 1, until the sales and service tax (SST) is formally reintroduced later this year.

The savings range from RM4,221 for the cheapest Mazda 2 mid spec, all the way up to RM16,784.29 for the CX-9 AWD. All Mazda 6 models (except for the base 2.0 litre variant) are over RM11,000 less expensive than before, while the MX-5 RF roadster is another big beneficiary of zero-rated GST, with savings of over RM13,000 for both manual and automatic versions.

As with a few other companies, Bermaz has also decided to trim down its lineup, removing the base BT-50 2.2 manual. The pickup is now priced starting from RM101,428.88 for the high-spec 2.2 manual, RM6,028.82 cheaper than before.

Keep in mind that all BT-50 prices listed here include the RM6,415.10 Sports Package, which Bermaz has decided to include in its price list.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mazdarati on May 22, 2018 at 6:39 pm

Great bargain for such premium Jap cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Leonardo on May 22, 2018 at 6:42 pm

Sekenhen CX5 value folo old price..

• Another get the rich to be richer scheme. Tenkiu new gov!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • willie on May 23, 2018 at 10:47 am

if u born poor, it is not your mistake. but if u die poor, then it is your fault

• If get richer on the backs of the poor, thats call servitude, but if it means making MY great again, then so be it, right?

• Crazeeee on May 22, 2018 at 7:57 pm

Now below 128k, cx3 2.0 is worth to get than chr 1.8. Oppssss….

• cheapo on May 22, 2018 at 8:08 pm

Mazda makes premium looks cheap

• acmilan on May 22, 2018 at 8:24 pm

Pergghh Miata merecikk.
    No income tax for M’sians under 26. Anyone?

• BN Gov paid RM7B to bail out 1MDB. RM17K cheaper is nothing lah

• Kyoshooo on May 22, 2018 at 8:57 pm

WTF just registered my Mazda on 18th May. Hopefully Mazda will give me GST rebate!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 23, 2018 at 8:54 am

cx-5 2.0 is pretty damn good value if u can live with lower specs

• sam123 on May 23, 2018 at 9:28 am

any idea when they will bring manual gearbox? m2 m3

• lioaw on May 23, 2018 at 9:31 am

with that price you think the poor can buy you car meh???
    thanks to the gov. now the rich get richer, the poor get poorer :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • turborider on May 23, 2018 at 10:26 am

now 0% gst, price go down, you not happy, later when SST implement back and price go up again, you also not happy. Just buy the car within our budget and enjoy it man, cheers

• Paul; thanks for the sharing . Great bargain indeed!
    How about BMW new pricing ? Do you have them ?