Abolish Grab and give e-hailing operations to us – taxi association to govt’s Council of Eminent Persons

With a new government in place, and a Council of Eminent Persons (CEP) established to advice the administration on key issues, several interest groups are taking the opportunity to pitch their cases. A group that has resurfaced recently is the one representing the taxi industry. As expected, the villain is Grab.

Sounding as bold as ever, the Malaysian Taxi, Limousine and Car Rental Operators and Drivers Association urged the new government to “abolish” e-hailing services in Malaysia and focus on improving the taxi industry, Malay Mail reports. Its president, Mohd Shahrir Abdul Aziz, said this was one of the proposals made by the group to the CEP in a meeting today.

“Our source of income has been severely affected since e-hailing services like Grab was introduced. If our quality of service was really horrendous, do something to correct us or help us improve. We exist but still the e-hailing services are given to businesses to handle who eventually monopolise the industry. We call for the abolishment of Grab and to give the e-hailing operations to us,” he said.

Mohd Shahrir said his group also welcomed the disbanding of the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD), which he claimed had neglected the interest of over 60,000 taxi drivers over the past few years. “All recommendations to improve the situation were completely ignored. We wrote multiple letters to SPAD and even the ministry, but to no avail.

“SPAD was not doing its job in taking care of us (taxi drivers) and the rest of the industry, so in our eyes it does not have any purpose to resume operations,” he said, adding that the CEP merely listened to his suggestions. “They acknowledged it but they didn’t say anything.”

Earlier this week, Big Blue Taxi Services advisor Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail called on the new government to restrict Grab’s operations in the country, claiming that it caused taxi companies and cabbies to lose their source of income.

“Once in the past, taxi drivers fully supported MyTeksi’s efforts but once it reached a high level of success, the company introduced services where vehicles without proper licencing were allowed to ferry passengers.

“The move caused taxi fleet operators and drivers to lose their source of income, not to mention they (e-hailing services) operated without regulation. The taxi industry is keen to modernise and is agreeable to use technology to improve its service but many things must first be revised, including the management of the SPAD,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Richard Sambrani on May 24, 2018 at 5:40 pm

These people still think it is the old corrupted Government that will kowtow to everything. Let me remind you, Pakatan Harapan is clean and they do everything they can for the benefit of the rakyat.

To date, Uber and Grab have proven to be cheaper and more efficient for the rakyat. So why ask Government now to abolish it?

Try to work harder. Not everything is free. Everything also ask Government for Bantuan. Let me remind all these teksi drivers….nobody is stopping you from joining Grab and earning good money.

I drive Grab also and I make a cool RM5000 per month. Nobody is stopping you guys from joinging Grab.

It is just that you guys are so used to tongkat and bantuan that now, you don’t know how to stand on your own two feet.

Well times are changing. There is no more favourtism and cronyism in the PH Government. It is all honesty and hard work. It is time you guys also work hard for your living just like all of us. Enough of rilek and lepak bawah pokok smoking and chilling

If half the time you guys chill bawah pokok, how do you expect to make money?

I work non stop 10 hours a day. No break. Time you guys also join Grab and lets all make Malaysia a better place to live in

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 320 Thumb down 29
    • Vicknesh Paramajothy on May 24, 2018 at 9:14 pm

Totally agree to your comments sir!They are all just waiting to be spoon fed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • YH Chuah on May 25, 2018 at 10:29 am

Taxi drivers deserve second chance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
        • yes, you are right. So stop complaining, stop depending on the government and start working, join Grab as well. Make your service more effective, accept feedback and criticism. Like Richard said “If half the time you guys chill bawah pokok, how do you expect to make money?”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
          • Rightwinger on May 25, 2018 at 12:46 pm

You’re claiming ALL taxi drivers chill half the time, ALL the time, which is disingenuous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Fut Mun Wong on May 25, 2018 at 2:50 pm

No more subsidy bcos we have 1 tree lion to pay.

• Abdulls on May 29, 2018 at 1:59 am

Not claiming all taxi drivers are the same. Most of them do chill if given a chance. I’ve seen taxis parked outside snooker centers, and some even parked nearby bridges smoking while waiting for customers. Problem is they select where to go, when to go. Try taxis outside Bts station in the early morning. Yes, I understand we must sembahyang in the morning before beginning to work. But some has already done their prayers but choose to stay and smoke pointing customers away. Mentality must change. Not just asking to abolish Grab etc. Kalau malas nak Kerja janganlah komplain duit tak cukup business tak ada.

• We Are All Malaysians on May 24, 2018 at 9:56 pm

Commercial operators. Private E-hailing.

The key is to how to distinguish and regulate them. And how to ensure Commercial Operators stay competitive. How many active drivers Grab can hire.

To me. If regular taxi is clean and comfy and cheaper than E-hailing. Why not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Henry Huat on May 24, 2018 at 9:57 pm

Very well said

• It is only a very negligible amount of taxi drivers that is causing the bad name to taxi drivers, most of the drivers are sincere, dedicated and very hardworking people. Taxi drivers have been using ehailing services long before Uber came to Malaysia. The big problem that the taxi have with the old government is the poor enforcement action on errant taxi drivers hence causing the bad name. E hailing companies can operate side by side with the taxis but must be on level terms with the taxis. Regulations and fare structures must be rationalised to provide a fair competition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Ultimate Warrior on May 25, 2018 at 12:56 am

Abolish all taxi association and absorb young taxi driver to Grab !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Araasu on May 25, 2018 at 7:40 am

Give taxi also use the same apps then u see how they earn
      Many dont know how all system works
      Im the first person who test the system n now u all using it

• Shalz on May 25, 2018 at 8:09 am

Damn stoopid.. Taxi driver been thru all kind bad situation on passenger.. But we all juz talk other cabby… Not nowdays ehailing driver.. Rider naik kaki kat sitter melalak kt socmed try to get symphaty.. Bullshit…eventhou new taxi go to puspakom to inspect.. Grab? Run to fail? Its all becoz of rosmah n najib..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • Faisal on May 25, 2018 at 12:50 pm

I knew ex-taxi driver that have 2 cabs, but rent to others, while he doing Grab. Duhh.. Honestly, we Grab drivers don’t mind to go to puspakom & buy extra insurance, apply extra license etc, but can taxi driver accept low fare as Grab & need to work 10-14hrs just to get net RM100-RM150 a day? Especially in Johor? No more “tidur bawah & lepak2 bawak pondok & pokok”? We Grab have higher maintenances than Taxi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Mokmok on May 25, 2018 at 8:35 am

This fella does not representing the whole taxi drivers. I saw many taxi drivers joined ehailing service. Do you think those taxi drivers are plain stupid when they can’t make living earning driving taxi alone?
      He just want to save his cronies company that have been monopoly the taxi market since decades.

• hondaman on May 25, 2018 at 8:45 am

Unfortunately bro, the council of eminent person will follow what they said cz they were given the time to have an audience, not e-hailing co. To make it worst, e-hailing operators were seen as pro previous government & SPAD no longer be available to monitor the taxis. Tell me , who will you call if you have a taxi complaint after this, JPJ, MOT, taxi co?

• #spadkorup on May 25, 2018 at 6:08 pm

Alaa…rakyat byk komplen psal teksi ada SPAD ambil kisah? Tak penah settle smp wujud Uber/Grab pun tak settle masalah teksi juga. Ada SPAD pun mcm takde, elok la takde. Org SPAD ni asyik bising je. 800 staf SPAD akan diserap masuk MOT, nak apa lg? Dulu gaji SPAD byk pun x buat kerja, elok la ikut gaji gomen.

• To Grab drivers. on May 25, 2018 at 8:56 am

Wow. I hope u dun drive like maniac like many teksi or grab drivers endangering all rushing to places and stop suddenly looking at map. 10hrs non stop in a car u may kiss your kidney and health goodbye in 5 years time. Afraid the money earned will go to doctors pockets. However, applaud for your hardwork! Keep it up.

• Hahahaha! Its thanks to Najib that u even have a Grab job. Otherwise https://paultan.org/2018/04/30/grab-detrimental-to-taxi-tun-m/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Ayyub on May 24, 2018 at 5:45 pm

Cab champion support Grab e-hailing.

https://paultan.org/2016/12/07/cab-champion-makes-a-turnaround-supports-the-approval-of-uber-and-grab-ride-sharing-services/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • Driver or Typist on May 24, 2018 at 5:53 pm

Give? Handout? Award without competition? Seriously… Consumers are not complaining, why change? The change should have been those days when people were complaining about taxis but it never happened, and then disruption came along. Too late!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
  • https://paultan.org/2018/04/30/grab-detrimental-to-taxi-tun-m/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • Benny on May 25, 2018 at 9:08 am

Im a taxi driver before more than 10 years i have been driving taxi.Firstly taxi driver you all must abolished your kind of greediness and behaviour be more professional in your way to riders.Take good care for yourself la….

• Rizal on May 24, 2018 at 6:22 pm

Most of these Taxi fleet runs like cartel. During peak hours they won’t ferry people. 1001 excuse. Then charge exorbitant especially tourist. I rather get ride hailing service nowdays compared to Taxi that always give you one kinda of glance if you ask them to drive to unpopular area.

• BELUT on May 24, 2018 at 6:34 pm

GRAB is here to stay and shown the nation how to treat customer right and charge appropriately. It’s you, arrogant taxi drivers need to change and adapt to change. You refuse to change means you are counting your days as taxi drivers. Buckle up and move on with the changes

• sugarhill on May 24, 2018 at 6:43 pm

help u improve?? get your attitude right. thats all u need.

• sugarhill on May 24, 2018 at 6:43 pm

help u improve?? get your attitude right. thats how u improve.

• Dylan Ch'ng on May 24, 2018 at 6:48 pm

Create a friendly application that forces the use of meter, allow customers to review drivers and allow customer to book taxi to wherever they need to be picked up from.

• Why should the government award e-hailing to you’re taxi association? Even with your own taxi services you cannot manage the services and the condition of some of the taxi can be send to junk yard. Now you want to monopolize the industry. Stop dreaming and concentrate on improving the taxi services first. With competition it is good for all.

• CEP didn’t say anything because they were stunned to see the level of stupidity displayed in front of their very eyes.

• Malaysian on May 24, 2018 at 8:09 pm

First, a suggestion for the association to read more at http://www.mycc.gov.my/

Second, probably Transport Ministry can streamline/ revise the process to allow fair and healthy competition between transport service providers while ensuring regulations being followed by the providers?

• Zaman Moden on May 24, 2018 at 8:12 pm

#pos ofis masih bergerak maju walaupun adanya e-mail
    #siaran TV dan penjualan set tv masih berdaya saing walaupun zaman telepon canggih dgn YouTube
    #pengeluaran dan penjualan Newspaper masih berjalan seperti biasa walaupun adanya media internet
    #syarikat pengeluar telefon awan tidak pernah protes pengeluaran telefon mudah alih
    #kenderaan jepun dan eropah masih dijual walaupun ada proton dan perodua yang lebih murah.
    #wujudnya Air Asia tidak menjejas syarikat penerbangan lainnya
    #McD dan KFC tetap penuh dengan pelanggan walaupun harga jauh lebih mahal daripada kedai makanan bajet.
    #KENAPA TAXI COMP MASIH MERENGEK MANJA SEPERTI ANAK KECIL CEMBURU MINTA PERHATIAN PADAHAL MASIH BANYAK RUANG DAN INISIATIF UNTUK BERDAYA SAING..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • pojie on May 24, 2018 at 8:49 pm

“If our quality of service was really horrendous, do something to correct us or help us improve”
    “We call for the abolishment of Grab and to give the e-hailing operations to us”

Aiyooo…they only want to be spoon fed as always. So sickening!

• King kong on May 24, 2018 at 8:54 pm

U all is at the frontier of our country image, ask any international friends about taxi services here, 10 out of 10 will laugh off just like they see 1mdb. What a disgrace!

• thomas on May 24, 2018 at 9:31 pm

Tuan/Puan taxi driver, improve service – yes you all can but simple question, are you willing to switch on your fare meter 24/7 n stop give expensive fixed price to customer ..

I will answer for you all .. CANNOT ooohhh.

P/S here in Sabah never use meter even though the machine are there.

Tom

• Coolguru on May 24, 2018 at 9:41 pm

Mohd Shahrir Abdul Aziz — “podah” you all had your chance for decades, read again DECADES.

Learn to survive or move aside…

• Jimmy on May 24, 2018 at 9:44 pm

When somebody is cheating, and you call him lou-chin, unreliable, cannot be trusted, you will be sued for defamation.

Proton should have sued most of our bashers here for fitnah.
    Now Proton is making improvements.

• The Transporter on May 24, 2018 at 9:44 pm

Taxi’s likes baby.. always crying for help..to comfort with under pokok or pondok..
    New government please let Grab as healthier competitors… Goodness to people as what PH want.

• Kamarulzaman Mahmud on May 24, 2018 at 10:02 pm

it is not fair to put the blame on grab and (uber) taking away the taxi drivers source of income. They are still around but their revenues are lesser than before. Why is that so and why does e-hailing is much popular and much needed by the public instead of taxi service. Why did e-hailing exist? Ask yourselves cos you have the correct answer.
    E-hailing operators are more polite and we’ll mannered people. Ask the e-hailing commuters which they would prefer.
    For an added info e-hailing drivers are also those who have retired or pensioner personnel who also made it as their source of living.
    The attitudes of the taxi drivers are very much different when compared.
    Please do not simply accuse of e-hailing operators are not operating without rules or regulations. They have their app.

• Not Toyota Fan on May 24, 2018 at 10:13 pm

Nothing kills a brilliant idea & business faster than to give it to corrupted cronies who are backwards, stubbornly old fashioned and stupid.

• Santo on May 24, 2018 at 10:17 pm

Remember the cab pricing before grab and uber? Most of them (not all) only want to work few hours and try to earn a Ministers income, at times they dont want to move if the distance is near. Especially if u are taking cab at night they switch off their meter and open a ridiculously high price, even when the fuel price was almost half of what it is now. What really made me sick was some of their meters is modified to increase rm3 to rm5 within seconds. Probably thats one reason they dont want to do grab coz its app based and they have to learn customer service.

• VIKNESWARAN RAMASAMY on May 24, 2018 at 10:49 pm

Apart from Grab there are also others who compete with Grab locally. Either join them or be build your won and be one of the competitor toward Grab.

• Agreed..
    But all grab driver’s have to follow all the regulations same like taxi,example:kad memandu,puspakom,stickers inside and outside of the car,medical test,psv,uniform.
    Then i call it as equal..

• Najib hasnan on May 24, 2018 at 11:59 pm

Dear most taxi peeps, you had been given chances before but the passengers like myself always feel “cheated” and “abused” everytime use taxi. So we change to uber and grab which gives better options overall. This is life. Competition is everywhere. The better ones survive.

• Jonathan Tan Yuet Han on May 25, 2018 at 12:22 am

MengeGrab la bang… Boleh Cari makan.

• Ultimate Warrior on May 25, 2018 at 12:55 am

Abolish all taxi association and absorb those young taxi driver to Grab !!!

• Promo on May 25, 2018 at 1:46 am

“If our quality of service was really horrendous, do something to correct us or help us improve.”

Ok, I teach you now for free if you are reading this.

1. Give promo and undercut Grab.

2. Don’t have money? Ask government to subsidise the promo.

3. F oil and GST subsidy for the rich and middle.

I will vote for BN and their manifesto if they promise to subsidise B40 group (BR1M receivers) promo codes for another 5 years until they complete the greater klang valley mrt and public transportation expansion.

They already accumulated 1 trillion in debt so a few more billion wont hurt.

• WhatTheEff on May 25, 2018 at 10:14 am

Not sure if you’re trying to be sarcastic or just plain…

• Jimmy Hong on May 25, 2018 at 4:14 am

Using e-hailing service is more safer ,convienent n cheaper at almost half the cost.
    No hassling to get a e-hailing cab.
    We have the worst cab service in the world from what I know from the news.

• Petoron Sagu on May 25, 2018 at 5:37 am

If PH dare to change Grab back to taxi…..then i dare to change them back to BN

• After that, abolish Apple and give the right to make Iphones to them also. Why didn’t we think of that? These guys are brainiacs.

• Paksu on May 25, 2018 at 7:05 am

There is no wrong seeking a gov.my for that is the purpose of their existence. They paid taxes through permit beside same other perks to the gov.my better look from the customer view rather than belittled their grievances. These so call council of advisory have no clear purpose other than cleared the rice bowl only. Now these are rakyat misery that affected a transportation industry even tpm seeking these taximen in pursuing her present position before. For me my advice is terminate taxi permit to broaden market of e hailing cabby and impose additional tax to compensate a lost revenue from the permit. Above all disband these so call council of eminent persons and rest our final word in conventional institution.

• Kim Fong on May 25, 2018 at 7:09 am

I prefer taking grab then taxi. Taxi men mostly are conman. They will rectify the meter so that the fare is very high. Most of the taxi men are like ruffian. Not respectful to riders. They will be in group to conquer certain areas. If you want to abolish Grab then make sure you give discipline training to the drivers. Where do you have the fuund? Am sure the new government can’t sponsor your department. All of the taxi consortium are corrupted. They rented out the taxi very high then the driver had to cheat fare by rectify the meter. Clean your department all the corruption before you speak to the public. Do a public exercise to survey wit the rakyat whose used public transport. You as the head go out to survey with the rahyat, don’t just talk talk in public. Remember the new government will formed by the rakyat. So don’t pressure the PH government with the taxi association problems. As the head, of a department under the ex BN government so talk less and do more research before you requested publicly to abolish Grab.

• Mechanic on May 25, 2018 at 7:22 am

Abolishing ehailing and reverting to traditional taxi business model is a step backwards. Keep Grab for competition. All forms of public taxi service should adopt ehailing. This method is convenient for the public and transparent in accounting. No more cheating the customer.

• Grab customer on May 25, 2018 at 7:23 am

Did customers request to abolish grab? Put customer first, if you play with customer, you will pay the price dear taxis. Taxis already cheat many customers by putting own price especially at nights. After new competitor come in, now only want talk about willingness to do improvement? Sorry you are late

• Farah on May 25, 2018 at 7:31 am

“If our quality of service was really horrendous, do something to correct us or help us improve. ”

Want to improve also need help from government is it? How pathetic. They got 50 years to improve before grab/ uber arrives. Only now want to improve? Come on la.

• Voiddance on May 25, 2018 at 7:49 am

Kau nak suruh aku naik apa pergi kerja? Teksi bukan ada pun area rumah aku. Kalau nak jadi bodoh, jadi bodoh sendiri-sendiri. Jangan menyusahkan orang lain.

• Panglimo jobok on May 25, 2018 at 7:59 am

So they want to monopolise the service. Cermin diri dulu brother. Improve your service. The consumer are happy with e hailing service.

• Taxi experiences mostly bad. Better you create a same platform and make huge commission from it or advise your gang member just jump ship to grab la it’s a more easy than you take over the e hailing and potentially spoil it.

• Limit grab riders to foreigners and tourists who are more egalitarian than Malaysian riders. Malaysian riders still have feudal mentality. They tend to treat drivers as servants and for as low as RM5 can have a hedonistic trip by giving low rating to drivers hence jeopardizing their eligibility to drive for grab.

• Zarinah Shakri on May 25, 2018 at 10:08 am

Grab is very oppresive to driver ( car owner ) i.e. cannot cancel and need to accept every request although it may be unfavourable. Some may even been barred from driving

• Taxi have no better idea so keep bagging lor someone to help n so on

• Kam Hong Yeap on May 25, 2018 at 9:04 am

I got a much more brilliant idea. We shd ban taxi , too. Bring back the bullock cart. We love classic stuff and please bring back Stone Age !!

• Malaysia taxi is the FIRST & MAIN to down our country international image.Try to make a survey for whole Malaysian and i believe no one to support for abolish e-hailing service.

• Benny chong on May 25, 2018 at 9:18 am

Im a taxi driver before i have been driving taxi more than a decade (10years).Hi taxi drivers firstly pls abolished your greediness and behaviour to be more professional to the riders.Pls do not always wanted to take advantage to the riders.Is that the meter fare are not enough for you all taxi driver???Why still want to demand more or why the meter are so tricky????Do you understand what im saying???pls be more profezsional i wish to back as a TAXI DRIVER!!!

• Kirpal singh on May 25, 2018 at 9:20 am

Richard income tax returns u better fill in the document

• Now with SST back, its hidden income. Deswai he sapots the new Gov SST. Makes the rich even richer.

• Peter Yii on May 25, 2018 at 9:22 am

The taxi drivers have themselves to blame for their present predicament.They were like a group of robbers and thieves overcharging left and right. Let Grab continue. The taxi drivers can have set up another e-hailing company and compete.

• Zamri Bin Shamsudin on May 25, 2018 at 9:23 am

bila rezeki sempit bru terfikir nk improve..ptot awal2 lg ikhtiar bg servis bgos..ni x..jammed xnk bawak..xnk guna meter..nk double..

• taxiccb on May 25, 2018 at 9:23 am

hahaha… joke… after reached, fetched and reached destination ask for extra rm coz use different route, or not change no pay… if passenger demand more, start shouting and threatening to beat them up… taxi drivers… hell no…

• Thiban Naidu on May 25, 2018 at 9:29 am

Are u guys mad, u guys are abolishing the grab bcoz of they people dont want to use taxi. But why, u must take it as a competition and improve the taxi standard, control their fares as they are to high. All wan government to support the taxi drivers. As u know that taxi drivers uses ngv that is more cheaper than petrol, but still u guys are giving higher price.

• Wakanda on May 25, 2018 at 9:37 am

This old man is out of his mind.

• Zaidi on May 25, 2018 at 10:10 am

Klu rakyat boleh tolak bn dan beri pakatn utk memerintah kenapa pulak rakyat x boleh tolak teksi dn beri ehailing pulak. Kuasa adalah pd rakyat. Rasa ny tiap2 msia ada pengalaman pahit mrngunakn teksi. PH kena fikir 10x klu mahu abolish grab.

• Aznol on May 25, 2018 at 10:14 am

Bubar teksi company and Rakyat who Wish to apply permit please approved them. Failed to comply with the rules and regulations kasi tarik balik. Is how Grab and Uber banned their Driver’s.

New Malaysia is Run by law and not by crooks. Najib era is FINISH. New Transport Minister will have his final says. They still talks like they in Old Govt. Semua Najib bagi dulu semua sapu.. tayar, kad debit.. semua cakap Ok.

Please check back the survey 80% people already rejected Taxi services! Rakyat tang drive e-hailing kerja keras punya rakyat dan rajin. The build positive image of the country and proven.

• Nasi Lemak 2.1 on May 25, 2018 at 10:40 am

ABOLISH all Taxi’s in Malaysia. Problem permanently resolved!

• Competition should be at same level and same low must be impliment for both parties .for instance PSV,puspakom,mad pemandu..etc

• twit-bucks on May 25, 2018 at 11:38 am

Still leaving in a fairy land? Get real man!

• Silver on May 25, 2018 at 12:24 pm

First off ,abolish this taxi Company give licences To the actual Driver So they dont have To play daily rental To those Cronies. Sadly attitude of taxi Driver around pavillion area are still the sama refuse to use meter gang up refusing the except you if not to their terms complaining about being jam when it is not . Since spam is no more Jpj should hire someone to trap this drivers and issues summon to them everyday

• Mohammad Yusop YAHAYA on May 25, 2018 at 12:49 pm

There are more ehailng drivers than taxi drivers now where their welfare needs to be protected also. Some of them, like me had bought news cars, just to earn some money to support their family through driving ehailng. Car instalments need to be serviced. If you stop us from driving our car will be repossessed and source of income stopped.

• citizenM on May 25, 2018 at 1:03 pm

OMG…Mohd Shahrir, 1st of all, who r u to ask the MOT to disband GRAB just like that. 2nd, malaysia’s economy and business practice free and open competition on a level platform, everyone gets equal opportunity, if you fail to innovate and adapt the changes, then u become irrelevant, so stop saying SPAD or MOT not taking care of you! WTF man, u think u still a 5 yo??!. Who knows there might b another new player in the future and they r allowed to operate with licence, GRAB would not b able to complain as well…

• Mohd Khairul Hassan on May 25, 2018 at 1:08 pm

The Uber, Grab has been proven benefiting the consumers unlike taxi which always problematic with tons of problem.

Why don’t these taxi fella’s drive Grab… oh no they can’t squeeze more money from consumers.

I drive for Grab.. easily can earn RM7000 per month.

• Reading the article…
    Wishing that theres no pic of that guy…
    Continue reading…
    Continue wishing…
    Reading…
    Wishing..
    Reading..
    Wish– BAM!
    *scroll down fast to type this comment*

• The taxi association can start it’s own e hailing service. There’s no need to eliminate the competition. It should be a level playing field. Eliminating competition is allowing one company to monopolize. Only fair competition will benefit consumers.

• Man Arie on May 25, 2018 at 1:57 pm

Kenapa bila cerita pasal perkhidmatan teksi dan grab pasti ada yg menyalahkan antara satu sama lain kenapa korang tak leh muafakat ye? Seperti mana korang muafakat menolak kera jaan Be End? Secara umum nya aku adalah seorang pemandu teksi dan aku juga ada kawan yg memandu utk grab.. Hakikatnya kat sini aku tengok masing-masing cuba nak kata diri sendiri tu betul sedangkan bagi aku sama aja korang antara grab driver atau pemandu teksi… Sama sama pemandu sama sama meletakkan nyawa kat stering dan kat sini aku nak bagitau juga pada yang komen kata kami tak join grab… Sori bro ramai pemandu teksi join grab tapi kami under grab taxi dan ternyata korang lbh glamer sbb kadar perjalanan korang lbh rendah berbanding meter teksi kami terutama meter eksekutif mcm teksi yg aku bawa sekarang. Salah siapa meter kami mahal? Org berkepentingan la!! Kenapa persatuan ni menyalak supaya grab diharamkan sebab mereka ini memiliki syarikat teksi kalau teksi tak laku sapa bungkus? Mereka ini la!! So jgn terlalu letak kesalahan kepada pemandu… Salahkan pihak atasan yang manipulasi dan mengaut keuntungan ternyata kita semua driver dan aku juga tidak punya masalah dengan grab driver apa yang aku mahukan hanya lah ke boleh upayaan mencari rezeki demi sesuap nasi nasi buat keluarga… Sama² cari rezeki tak salah kalau rezeki tu dikongsi kan bersama… Hapuskan je syarikat teksi ni bagi kami pemandu teksi ni permit sendiri… Selaraskan jenis teksi.. Biar hanya teksi sedan dan teksi mpv sahaja tak payah ada teksim la teksi eksekutif la smpaikan satu jenis innova ada 3 jenis meter…
    Apa yang pasti kami pemandu teksi bukan minta bantuan bukan minta suap tapi sekadar kemampuan utk mencari rezeki sahaja dan bukan semua pemandu teksi tu teruk perangainya ada yg susah payah mencari rezeki dengan cara yang jujur cuma keadaan sekarang tidak mengizinkan.
    #jgnkecamsgtla
    #korangpunmanusiajuga
    #bukahatibukamata
    #jgncakapikutsedapmulut

• Bro you got point…. Hope you can get somebody who can talk to the higher ups can put your message across. Yes, get rid of the top guys and give power to individuals.

• I am currently laughing at this statement:

“If our quality of service was really horrendous, do something to correct us or help us improve”

The fact is, they refused to improve themselves while they were monopolizing the market. Now that there is a competitor, they are claiming that e-hailers are monopolizing the market. Reality check!

I once needed to go from KLCC to Princecourt for an appointment which was normally RM 4-6 if metered. Got charged RM 14 for the trip. Thing is, if I refused other taxis still asked for the same thing. Some even asked RM 20 for it.

Now that I have a choice, I’d prefer to be metered than living in a lie. Taxi company should be given a real spanking

• B K Lau on May 25, 2018 at 2:18 pm

Still there Same BN mentality of entitlement, special protection, rights …

Have had enough if bad taxi experiences where driver:
    – demand high price not turning on meter,
    -taking extra passenger when I am being charged for the ride,
    – not going to places due to jam,
    – being taken on extra long route thinking I don’t know the way …
    IImprove cab? Sure, total restructure, and follow grab management. To be disciplined upon complaints. Start during bad drivers.

Cabbies in HK & Singapore have a different attitude. Was made fun of by a cabbie in HK when I asked how’s competition against Grab & Uber. He pointed out other cabs on the road have been his competition before Grab or Uber. So many take cabs in HK & Singapore, as they are good. I still do, as Grab isn’t always faster.

An issue for KL can is the lack of discipline. Bad eggs caused grief to the genuine cabbies.

• Abang on May 25, 2018 at 2:31 pm

I think we also need to look into both perspective. People didn’t earn enough income from their primary source jump into secondary income.

For full time grab / uber is miserable. There’s an exception for this but most other state beside lembah klang will probably have this. They cannot cope up with their daily cost of living, or perhaps youtube Uber do not live the American dream.

Thus by saying this, I do think the rate of taxi may actually the absolute minimum.

Majority driver told me Uber/Grab is only looking into rider part for being cheap but not their driver.

• gohbm on May 25, 2018 at 7:05 pm

shutdown and restart..
    reset everything..
    back to basic

• This is ridiculous lah.. they will not use meter and want government to support them wst stupid ststement .why must ask government adk rakyatlah.. undi will make the result try to make online undi and see they will go worst then bn in undi

• Fadzli Tan on May 25, 2018 at 9:19 pm

I drive a registered taxi. I am a grab teksi /just grab/ grab klia/ grab multi stops/grab back to back and normal pickups. I join my teksi 7 years ago. I have survived with them till now. MY earnings is OK. I am quite please. I would suggest that the government stop grab car(private cars) operating and encourage registered taxis to go with grab. The fix income fare maybe low but then when we think of the volume with income of RM180.00 to 250.00 after 10 hours or maybe less, I believe most taxi drivers will appreciate

• Jzeyet on May 26, 2018 at 12:39 am

You better think how to make people use you service rather than complaining e-hailing service. New goverment choosen by people, do people choose taxi too?

• hantukopek on May 28, 2018 at 9:13 am

New government also chosen by the Taxi drivers that was why they were called to give their views to that council. Accept the fate that e-hailing company will be no more. #HidupPemanduTeksi

• Nicholas on May 26, 2018 at 10:38 am

Customers prefer Grab. Even if you abolish it you cannot guarantee that they will choose taxis. Horse-carriages went out of business when cars were invented, people and technology moves forward, not backwards, if you cannot keep up with it, you are doomed to lose your job.

• “abolish grab…give us e-hailing ops”
    wow, this guy is on drugs?
    how many investment fund co invested in Grab…so easy abolish?
    hand over the e-hailing to this fella and the whole system crash ^^

• Apa lagi mau on May 26, 2018 at 11:50 am

Hapus teksi
    Hidup grab car
    Always welcome new changes. Teksi is a thing of the past and it happening around the world.

• Selfish vs stupit on May 26, 2018 at 12:02 pm

Teksi services has been here for very very long time. If teksi is so efficient why e hailing can come into picture. Please go back and think why people today want to take grabcar and not teksi. Your agenda is public first or teksi first. How to contribute to the public by you want your way. If you like to know what the public think about getting a teksi or grabcar, please go take a ride in both of them.

• Why not abolish buses and other services too? Just let taxis be the masters of transportation.

In this world, you compete based on the quality of your product and service. If you want to do better than Grab, then improve your services and people will then take more taxis. Simple as that.

• You do know the plan of Uber and grab is to abolish drivers anyway. So better change jobs now. Eventually grab drivers will be replaced.

• First of all president tolong pantau anak2 buah anda yg masih tidak menggunakan meter.yg ke2 pulak sebagai president anda yg patut memikirkan Cara yg terbaik utk mendapatkan balik penumpang teksi sebelum ni.kalau Servis bagus pasti kami cari anda.