2019 Mazda 3 – new SkyActiv-Vehicle Architecture; supercharged 2.0 litre SkyActiv-X, 190 hp/230 Nm?

The third-generation Mazda 3 has been in service for over five years, having debuted in 2013 and subtly refreshed in July 2016. The Hiroshima-based carmaker is currently developing its successor, and according to Autoexpress, the fourth-generation Mazda 3 will appear as early as November this year, at the Los Angeles Motor Show.

Huge changes are expected, because the 3 will be the first production model to be based on Mazda’s new SkyActive-Vehicle Architecture. The all-new platform offers improved refinement and provide a low, sporty seating position. The best part is, it forms the base for the company’s upcoming SkyActiv-X technology.

It’s no secret that Mazda is an avid proponent of the internal combustion engine. The SkyActiv-X sounds revolutionary – it’s a new petrol engine featuring Spark Controlled Compression Ignition (SPCCI), which means the engine can operate in two different combustion states.

Firstly, the engine is still traditionally a gasoline engine, but it’s also capable of compression ignition, a technology commonly found in diesel engines. Spark plugs will be used as a controlling factor to ignite the compressed fuel and air mixture, and the resulting flame kernel raises the pressure within the combustion chamber, burning the rest of the mixture that is leaner.

With this, Mazda says the SkyActiv-X engine will deliver petrol-like effervescence with the benefits of diesel fuel economy, because the engine can run on a leaner air-fuel mixture. Apparently, when the supercharged engine goes into production next year, Mazda is looking at an output of 190 hp and 230 Nm of torque!

According to the publication, two more engines will be offered alongside the new 3 – a cheaper, entry-level SkyActiv-G petrol and a SkyActiv-D diesel option. Unlike other automakers, Mazda has yet to announce its future directions with diesel technology, but for now, its range of oil burners get to live another day.

Earlier in March, Chinese publication PCAuto released pictures of the new 3’s fully-digital instrument cluster. It’s configurable and features two display modes for drivers to choose. Besides that, nothing about the new model is known yet. However, Mazda did say there will be a big improvement in quality, and it has its sights set on more premium rivals like the Audi A3 and W177 Mercedes-Benz A-Class.

GALLERY: Mazda Kai Concept

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Tokyo Boy on Jun 07, 2018 at 4:56 pm

The return of Mazdaspeed 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • topkek on Jun 08, 2018 at 5:17 am

When jepunis got low torque junk engine, it’s ok, tuned to good FC. When P1 got “low” torque oh it’s not ok, not good pulak

Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
      • Daily driver on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:28 am

If you read actual P1 FC figures you will see they are not very good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • 12yrsold john on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:12 am

topkek, Tokyo Boy ada sebut pasal P1 ke? Dia hanya sebut Mazdaspeed 3 saja ma.

• topkek on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:23 am

I just said in general, not for Tokyo Boy. Campro Turbo / CFE FC is not that bad, worst case is like 1.8l N/A engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • camtakpro on Jun 08, 2018 at 12:32 pm

CFE can have FC like 370Z.

• Then my Mivi FC is like Chiron lor

• Lolproton on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:02 pm

Why proton would even bother to pay u guys??? Better use the fund to pay supplier and prevent line stop… 3mgu x jalan… Nk dkt raya ttbe ot… Gile…

• lol P1 basher on Jun 10, 2018 at 5:08 am

Why you are so worry? Your jepunis makes dun get any better nowadays with qcgate takatagate axlegate and the list goes on

• applegreen on Jun 07, 2018 at 5:52 pm

I waited so long for this car, in the end i booked v40 t5 rm170k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • U made the right choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • Tajuddin Ohwai on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:59 pm

Any choice is a good choice so long as you don’t buy a Boyue or a China car…oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • rally_fan (Member) on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:51 am

what car did you wait for? this article doesnt talk about anything that you can buy today.. its talking about future engines from mazda, and the “2019” mazda 3..

• applegreen on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:01 pm

I waited for 2019 mazda3 but its kinda too long to wait. And then i saw volvo t5 at reasonable price so i grab the opportunity to own a 245hp car

• the driver on Jun 07, 2018 at 5:52 pm

The best hatchback design seen in years IMHO. Yes please.

• All New Mazda3 flagship killer is coming to the world!

• Is it ok 230Nm from 2.0 turbo

• KemalPez on Jun 07, 2018 at 7:19 pm

They say the turbocharger fitted is to provide a very lean mixture, heard its gonna be 45:1 ratio, not mainly for performance.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 07, 2018 at 7:31 pm

There are a lot of other makes with higher tunes like BMW’s B48 engine with 255hp and 400nM but like Kemal said, Mazda is aiming for FC since it does not support EV currently so it has to make do with its internal combustion tech to at least be on par with hybrids and EVs.

• halloha560 on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:31 am

Many Audi & Mercedes Owners change to BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
        • halloha560 on Jun 08, 2018 at 1:37 pm

Nowadays, Mercedes exterior design looks like very old grandfather design. Not only that, Mercedes only have 4 years unlimited warranty compared to almost all car manufacturer company have 5 years unlimited warranty.

• rally_fan (Member) on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:53 am

its supercharged, not turbo’ed. and their goal is not about power, but they at least provide decent power but are aiming for fuel economy from a petrol engine that can rival a diesel.

• bezza Driver on Jun 10, 2018 at 5:12 am

But bolehland pipu dun want to pay higher road tax price for that 2000cc. Why not make it 1500cc?

• stastasta on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:21 pm

can buy 100k vehicle , but cant afford to pay RM380 per year for 2.0 road tax ? hello, your monthly loan installment is already few times higher than your annual road tax.

• yeast lump on Jun 07, 2018 at 7:50 pm

Mazda designers love Alfa Romeo Brera too much?

• Giziclown on Jun 07, 2018 at 7:55 pm

I hope the production version is going to come with smooth door handles, something like on Teslas, it would enhance single vision appearance.

• zamer on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:41 am

230Nm is something 3-4 years ago story.
    270Nm should be

• Mazda aim for low fuel consumption and environmental friendly. That’s why it increases compression ratio to diesel like. With very high compression, engine horsepower and torque need to be control and limited.

• It uses a roots blower to lean out the fuel-gas ratio from 14.7:1 to 45:1. It isn’t to add power, but to improve fuel efficiency. Even turbo setup still uses the same stoichiometric ratio, just that more air means more fuel, more fuel means more power, and more power means less mileage.

The 230 Nm torque from a 2.0L engine in this Skyactiv-X is more as a Normally Aspirated engine that runs like a compression-ignition engine. Mazda publication said it sips fuel even lower than their current 1.5L engine.

• rally_fan (Member) on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:55 am

since when did engine torque/power relate to the year a car is built? maybe you should read the article.. their goal is to have a petrol engined car, with that amount of power, but with the fuel economy of a diesel. no batteries, no plugging in …etc. that would be amazing if they can pull it off.

• Mason on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:39 am

I wait so long for this and due to 0% gst now, most likely i will visit honda showroom for civic this weekend.

• For a supercharged engine with such low torque? It’s a shame as a normal aspirated engine would have delivered that.
    It should be around 300nm which would have made a difference.

• Anonymous on Jun 08, 2018 at 3:01 pm

At the same time, a normally-aspirated engine producing the same power and torque would consume more fuel. And, a naturally aspirated engine that would match the fuel consumption of a Skyactiv-X would be much less powerful.

Do you see what Mazda is getting at here?

• axia looks like felali on Jun 10, 2018 at 5:15 am

I only see fuel guzzler engine with low power. Axia better FC

• Mikey on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:25 am

One of the best looking HB here. The best part is Mazda is using Mercedes A-class & Audi A3 as the benchmark to improve it’s quality. Cheers… to Mazda

• Later we will read news, Mazda is not going to benchmark with xx makes. It makes me laugh out loud.

• Powershot on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:40 am

Bye bye rear legroom & cabin space. Bye bye rear boot space

• Ben Yap on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:41 am

Mazda going for turbocharged after learning from Honda. Told ya, Honda is the trendsetter.

• Ben Yap, I think you have to read what is Homogeneous Charge-Compression Ignition (HCCI) technology that eluded BMW, Merc, GM and many other larger companies from bringing to the mass market. However Mazda pulled it off.

Also, the basis for the HCCI technology is high compression ratio (among many other key features) on a Normally Aspirated Engine, not a turbo-charge engine (see my earlier explanation). The roots blower is to add more air to lean-out the fuel, not to provide more power.

Hope that helps.

• 12yrsold john on Jun 08, 2018 at 3:52 pm

I give U a like becos U are not arrogant when U make your point. Thanks for a well & concise explanation.

• Mazda is the trend setter. CX 9 was announced with 4 cylinder turbo on December 2015. VW Atlas, Subaru Atlas Followed.

• Mazda like to put in effort for their R&D, it based on technology and driving feel. Unlike H & T , their keep push their sales only, that’s why Mazda would not keep stock as H & T and their sales are slower than others.

If u worry about spacing, please support H & T. If u like the driving feel, choose Mazda and you do the right choice.

• the kai concept looks more alfa than alfa romeo , beautiful machine, unfortunately some elements will be watered down to comply with worldwide safety regulations

nonetheless, still very much looking forward to it

• Help Me Make A Decision on Jun 08, 2018 at 3:01 pm

Like:
    SkyActiv-G, multi-link, 0%GST + 0%SST

Dislike:
    SkyActiv-X, torsion beam, 10%SST

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Jun 08, 2018 at 4:33 pm

If Mazda improve their space and nvh just a little bit, that would be awesome. Cant wait to upgrade my 3.

• Basherlogic on Jun 10, 2018 at 5:22 am

As basher logic tells you dun upgrade unless if you buy a toyota

• 190hp 230Nm, that is about ford focus 1.5 ecoboost engine of 180hp 240Nm.

but i think bermaz if bring in will bring the Skyactiv-G version :(

• Anonymous on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:18 am

What will be the expected price range when of this car in bolehland then? 160 to 180k? To compete with A Class.

• Could you make a youtube video to talk about the maintenance of GDI engines? Im concerned about the carbon deposits at the intake valves. Does GDI need special valve maintenance?

• Burner on Jul 05, 2018 at 8:24 pm

I think this new Skyactiv-X Mazda 3 is both revolutionary and beautiful. Not only that, but the fact that they want to equal the premium look, feel and interior materials quality to the level A3 and A-Klass can offer, is simply a very welcome bonus. The minimal and elegant design in the actual Mazda 3 is very pleasant, I might say relaxing and also functional. I only hope the new model would improve this concept. Regarding the engine performances, I hear people complaining that 230Nm is “so old” or “not enough” from a 2.0 engine. Well, they should know this type of supercharging is not like the conventional turbo, as Mazda, in this case, is searching for a very well balanced engine with decent performance and enough power for this kind of automobile and this supercharging solution will provide a leaner, more efficient combustion – not made for the sake of raw power. The overall handling is superb, but if they will lower the seat and offer improved dynamics (a better chasis and refined suspensions), it will be just perfect. I own a 2.0 G Skyactiv Sedan and I am happy with it. Not once I had inclined towards the A3, or A-Klass, as I consider that they offer less, for a bigger price (if you care to have their logo on your car, that’s another story). But I think Mazda went well on their maturity path, searching for refinement and pleasure of driving. With this new model, many could easily forget about the equivalent models from Audi, Mercedes, VW, Skoda, or Toyota, maybe even Honda. We should see. I keep hearing that they will try to make is as close as the “Kai” concept, which is a great thing; more interior space, a bigger boot (you might easily forget about the space the Mazda 6 is offering today). I say this because I was (and still am) comparing Mazda 3 with Mazda 6, but only from a interior space / trunk point of view. I like Mazda 6, but I find its length to be too much for the crowded city I live in. In this case, Mazda 3 has an advantage and comparing interior dimensions, it seems like Mazda 3 offers more that Mazda 6, considering the exterior sizes. I am looking forward to seeing this new Skyactiv-X, as it seems the right car for my family needs, with top innovations and a killer look!