Driven Web Series 2018: best family SUVs in Malaysia – new Honda CR-V vs Mazda CX-5 vs Peugeot 3008

Welcome to a new episode of Driven Web Series, powered by Petronas Dynamic Diesel Euro 5 with Pro-Drive. For many of you looking to buy your first practical family SUV, this is the episode you’ve all been waiting for. Here, we pit the ravishing Peugeot 3008 against the popular Mazda CX-5 to see if they have what it takes to give segment leader, the Honda CR-V, a run for its money.

As far as proper family SUVs go, it’s hard to dispute the CR-V’s ‘Man Maximum, Machine Minimum’ proposition. It’s spacious and practical in all the right ways, and for the first time ever, it comes with a 1.5 litre turbocharged engine that’s more powerful and efficient at the same time. Of course, we had to pick the range-topping 1.5TC Premium 2WD with Honda Sensing, because safety mustn’t be compromised. With a price tag of RM158k (without GST), it is the costliest model in this line-up.

The Mazda CX-5 is largely viewed as the young man’s alternative to the CR-V. Not only is it a sleek looker, it drives like a hatchback and, with this 2.2 litre turbodiesel engine, packs the biggest punch here. Being an oil burner, it’s also the most fuel efficient SUV on paper, and this 2WD model retails for RM156k. So, just how big of a fight can this second-generation model put up against the venerable CR-V?

Last but not least, the Peugeot 3008. Yes, we could’ve gone with the Volkswagen Tiguan, but if you’re in the market for a left-field option, the French offering is definitely the most standout candidate. With a peppy 1.6 litre THP engine and a six-speed automatic, it’s certainly no slouch. At RM147k, it’s the most affordable car of the lot, but is it all style and no substance? More importantly, does it have what it takes to be the best?

Everything you ever need to know about these three SUVs will be answered in this video. Don’t forget, with GST now being zero-rated and Raya just around the corner, there’s perhaps no better time to buy that new car. Speaking of timing, how did we do with this episode? ;)

As usual folks, sit back, relax and enjoy this video. Also, don’t forget to leave your thoughts and opinions in the comments section below. Happy weekend!

GALLERY: Honda CR-V 1.5 TC Premium 2WD
GALLERY: Mazda CX-5 2.2D GLS 2WD
GALLERY: Peugeot 3008 1.6 THP Allure

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• I’m sure it’s Boyue if it’s here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 26
    • fugley on Jun 07, 2018 at 8:44 am

CX5 – crampy
      CRV – uglee
      3008 and tiguan – tow truck best fried

No 7 seats = fail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 29
      • Panjang on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:02 am

Correct. Topup abit for the new XC40.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Perodua No Value Brand on Jun 07, 2018 at 3:25 pm

Most perodua models — tow truck best friend .

Not seen yet any 3008 and tiguan seen tow by tow truck .

Seen more CX5 and CRV being towed by Two trucks and on the contrary ,

CX5 and CRV —-shall remained the Tow Trucks best friend in years to come.

Get an MPV if you need 7 or more seats .

SUV is more for active urban lifestyle !!! 5 seaters is fine . 7 seats average Japanese and Korean SUVs are just too bulky and clumsy in term of look, comfort and handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 29
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 17, 2018 at 8:06 pm

Too bad the RAV4 ASA44 is not in Malaysia. It would have been easily No.1.

RAV4 is the best selling SUV in North America for 2017 and has been the best seller in Australia for many years

• No worries. These r only best currently. Theres alwiz something better coming soon. PT writers alredi veli impressed with Boyue and its chockfull features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • Fujiwara on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:12 am

Yes true. Kudos to Geely Chinese.

• Even as a conti lover, the Boyue stands outs amongst its peers. It has everything you want in a car, except for privacy windows like in my S-class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • kampuspekan on Jun 07, 2018 at 2:39 pm

7:19 …wow, Matthew has a Birkin handbag. Very nice haha.

• digidigi on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:15 am

Crv is class leader?! I saw more cx5 than CR-V

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 16
    • Ahmad on Jun 07, 2018 at 8:47 am

I second your statement

• Steve on Jun 07, 2018 at 2:50 pm

OMG not diesel Mazda CX5 please

Should all be comparing with Petrol engines.

This comparison seems very ODD and redundant .( VALUELESS)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • kobealex on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:10 pm

Second that, how could the CRV come in first when all i heard from the review was how unrefined, boring, not powerful, not as stylish and not fuel efficient compared to all.

Dont understand the verdict at all…

• willy on Jun 08, 2018 at 12:20 pm

paid review by Honda to paultan team
      so obvious

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 08, 2018 at 12:23 pm

Excuse me? We exposed every single one of the CR-V’s shortcomings in this video.

Overall though, the CR-V’s ease of drive, smooth transmission, comfortable ride and good stability, excellent practicality and additional features (powered tailgate, full-size spare tyre, Adaptive Cruise Control) ALL count for a lot for what is primarily a family-oriented SUV. And we did say if you really don’t mind having less space, the CX-5 is a good option. For the average familyman, however, the Honda still gets our top pick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 12
        • definitely bias comment.

• AbahZaeem on Jun 30, 2018 at 11:39 pm

Friz,
          Can share which area (kampung) you all “jalan-jalan”?.. (except Avani, Bagan Lalang, Sepang)..
          Very good scenery lah..

Cheers..

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 17, 2018 at 8:09 pm

CRV is really small by comparison. Have sat it one and must say that even the front passenger seat is not that comfy on top of the short legroom (unless i want the poor fella sitting at the back to suffer

• Expensive painting on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:33 am

You guys really SHOULD have put the VW Tiguan into that mix….!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
  • 1. I watched the entire video and I insist you should have compared with the VW Tiguan which would have had a chance at 2nd place over the ridiculous french car which nobody would actually want to buy.

2. I like the drone shots, especially used for the GTA 5 inspired transitions between presenters.

3. I still don’t understand why I see more of the new Mazda on the road compared to the Honda despite the former being less practical with lesser features and arguably much uglier. The previous gen CX5 was much better looking.

4. I would love to see a review of the Toyota Fortuner vs it’s immediate rivals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 64
    • The Fortuner is trash, just like the HiLux on which it’s based. The CX-5 drives better than the CR-V and it actually moves as well. I can’t speak for Malaysian specs because I don’t live here, but where I live, the CX-5 outsells the CR-V by a big margin. Styling is a completely personal thing – you don’t like it but obviously people do, which puts you in the minority. A ridiculous French car? You’ve obviously not sat in a new 3008, which offers the best quality in that segment (not sure what it’s called in Malaysia but it’s medium SUVs here) and the cabin design is far more stylish than the CR-V and Tiguan. The Tiguan is a good car (sorry that’s it’s 1.4 turbo petrol only in Malay) let down by its oddly un-Volkswagen interior (cheap feeling). It’s definitely a more practical car than any of this trio though! Huge bootspace.

Good to see you guys making a point about safety – something that a lot of manufacturers seem to forget about in such countries. Here in Australia, autonomous emergency braking is a necessary feature to earn a five-star safety rating – if you can bags an imported Australian-spec car in Malaysia, do it. That poor car though….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
      • Ahmad on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:27 am

Hey there mate. Since you mention you are from Australia, please do share your test drive experience once CX-8 is coming to your continent in July. Have a great day mate.

• Mr proper on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:56 am

Disagree. A car is not only about driving good. It is the whole package and traditions etc. In Malaysia crv ticks all the boxes. Peugeot has poor reputation in Malaysia because reliability issues. That’s all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • Autobahn on Jun 07, 2018 at 4:21 pm

How about tucson 1.6 turbo petrol 190hp 265nm or the sportage 2.0 turbo diesel 185hp 400nm? These two suv have good nvh and with the diesel option not only lesser roadrax than the 2.2 diesel mazda but produces more power too

• kobealex on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:13 pm

In this case, the CRV only ticks the practicality box. its noisy, its not fuel efficient, and the cabin is just not as good compared to the other two.

So bugss me how the CRV is highly rated here over the CX-5 (a top 3 nominee for car of the year) and 3008 (Europen car of the year)?

• Sushi Sucks on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:46 pm

Toyota cars always ride like a SAMPAN ..

Furthermore , the killer TAKATA AIR BAGS bring double worries when purchasing a new japanese new car.

Peugeot 3008 is way safer and more comfortable always

• Wait for part 2 with Boyue & P2 suv arrives later this year.

• by the time boyue came, those model already change their new model.. i just don’t understand why proton need to took so long just on the logo or maybe some miner change on the bumper only.. no wonder proton keep fall…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
        • “In any case, converting a left-hand drive car to a right-hand drive one isn’t as simple as moving the steering wheel and pedals to the correct side.” – PT

Read and u wun sound like a fool.
          https://paultan.org/2018/01/12/photo-of-proton-right-hand-drive-geely-boyue-is-fake/

• What?? on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:58 am

CX5 and CRV are only 1 year into the market by the time Proton SUV comes out in Q4, there will be no changes to them whatsoever. Not to mention we get the updated model with new features and not the pre facelift version previewed last year.

Since Boyue doesn’t have a RHD version ready, they need at least 2 months for a complete conversion. As well, suspension tuning is unique to our market which takes time to implement.

It’s not merely a badge swap and cosmetic redesign, it’s a slight re-engineering of the model as well.

• kyosho on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:59 am

Are you sure? previous CX5 look really outdated compare with current gen..2nd gen overall design look very modern

• Ahmad on Jun 07, 2018 at 2:03 am

The moment i heard mazda at second place, i close the video. But truth hurts, malaysian prefer practicality and value. Especially for growing family numbers. You can’t resist if you wive told you “mahal la bang”. If you don’t mine with THULE on top of your car, then you can get the best drivability from Mazda. That 420Nm is a killer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • Abu Garcia on Jun 07, 2018 at 8:04 am

The review doesn’t justify reality. After all journos are not like our average daily drivers. They’re too picky on the specs but the ride is what matters. I admit I’m a hardcore Honda fan but Mazda should have won. I’ve driven my friends CX-5 for a day they are just as good.

• Keep dreaming!

• kobealex on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:18 pm

this review is a clear example of… as long as you provide a big practical car, you can win “car of the year” in Malaysia. Ntg else really matters… and make sure you got a honda or toyota badge on it.

• firdy on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:30 am

Truly agree with you. As long as there are T and H badge, you will win anything in Malaysia. kah kah kah.

• 3008 is the best looking of the lot but reliability is a question especially with its thp engine.

• Adam Woon on Jun 07, 2018 at 7:59 am

Say what the reviews can, but in klang valley CX-5 is king. I’m a full time Grab driver and been seeing them EVERYWHERE especially that special cherry red color. I’ve seen more Mazda SUVs than CR-V ratio by 4:1. Heck yesterday alone I saw more than 7 new CX-5s with additional 2 unregistered driving along KESAS with trading plates. The old CR-V is also more on the road than the latest model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • CRV no 1 because it’s bigger and has more holes for your keys and handbags? Lol. I saw all review around the world even Europeans and Australian big size ppl still prefer CX5 over CRV. Come on guys CX5 was in top 3 World Car of the Year and CRV was not even nominated at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • Manual Swift Sporter on Jun 07, 2018 at 8:14 am

I’ve tested the CRV and found it had narrow seat bases for the rear. This would make it uncomfortable for long journeys due to inadequate thigh support. And the salesgirl said the seats cannot be adjusted.

• TheDean on Jun 07, 2018 at 8:25 am

The CX5 is a sure win for me (Honda is too flimsy and anime while the Peugeot will spend most of its time in the workshop), however its rear seats are, mind bogglingly, designed for TWO! What?!? For an exterior THAT big, it’s a design mismatch. Too bad really ‘coz its the only diesel here (win) and interior design & quality are much desired (win). So at the end, the Tiguan is the real winner here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Dear hafriz, for me i much prefer to have the cruise control button on the stalk as what u have in the 3008. Once u get used to it, i’m sure u are going to appreciate it. This is because i find it a bit difficult to operate the cruise control button on the steering wheel especially while u are turning the steering wheel. That just my 2 cents

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:12 am

I’ve had the same stalk in my 208 GTi for more than 3 years now. Never got used to it, still don’t like it ;)

• Ahmad on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:47 am

Reminds me a moment when i have nice conversation with SA of Peugeot Glenmarie. He went for training arranged by Company and discussing about why they design the car in such a way. Peugeot philosophy is to create driving environment where driver can keep focus on driving.

That’s why most their car such as old 3008 steering is clean. The best part is when I say to him if i want to turn on the cruising, i should release my hand from the steering. There is a pause and calm moment of silence while hearing somebody slurping hot teh tarik. At this moment in my opinion, keep hands on the steering is more important for safety reason, except need to change lane.

https://paultan.org/2014/04/17/peugeot-3008-facelift-launched-penang-rmxxxk/#comment-2360046

• ‘Driving environment’ and not ‘Living environment’ Now i geddit. Now wonder their RHD car glove boxes, handles & switches are utterly useless.

• Khalid on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:55 pm

I am never use to owning any japanese cars for that matter .

Japanese design is either you like it or hate it , was never in the middle.

japanese reliability( really ?? ) with killer
        TAKATA air bags ( very troublesome feeling)

Peugeot 3008 is better choice but unfortunately you guys follows the market and very biased in the reviews that favour the junkies Japs SUVs as nominated choice . Period ..

• what? on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:43 am

operate cruise control while turning? what are you even talking about?

means you turn on cruise when you turn? why would anyone do that? you turn on cruise when you are cruising. most people turn it on when their car is going straight. not turning.

• You must be the only nut on earth wanting to operate cruise control while turning the wheel.

• Agreed. once U get used with the cruise control.. U never need to look at it. i love the one in my 5008 MPV. but the reliabilty and not proven durability in hot climate is a serious concern for long term possession.

• tricycle on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:34 am

No adaptive cruise control for CX-5? I thought it is included in the top spec Diesel model.

Adaptive cruise control really a feature that can not be missed once you started using it.

Not only it can be used on Highways, but it can also be used during the traffic jam. Really convenient feature.

Problem with Honda sensing in Malaysia is, when it is raining heavily, all sensors stop working. Not sure whether it is worldwide problem or only in Malaysia.

• Wow, its just like a artist video clips..
    Keep it up guys..
    What happen to nissan xtrail?

• Ben Yap on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:48 am

Honda sure win in all segments… that’s why it is the market leader. added with good advocates like me, Honda will surely remain at the top for decades if not centuries to come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Hafriz, the 3008 rear seat 12V socket is functionally flexible to plug in ionizer, laptop car chargers and other higher power devices. User just need to plug in a small USB adapter to charge a phone.

• Wydle on Jun 08, 2018 at 12:07 am

Could agree with you .

Those reviewers were out of sight and out of mind ,’

Only knows USB ports ( for mobiles and tablets ) cos they do not smoke , do not use mini car vacuum cleaner , car ionizer , car torch/spot light and perhaps car mini plastic fridge container that needs the 12V socket very much indeed..

So what are they comparing and by saying 12V is out of placed ??

• suomynona on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:41 am

The more we all know~

• YK PHAN on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:11 am

Often we heard the quicker the car the higher the torque which is actually the case in the real world..like the torque of this car is much higher than that car..etc but how much torque we do really need? Though I’m no car expert, but torque directly relate/proportionate to engine output in CC will help to make more sense to the man on the street I believe. You see on the normal aspirated car say 1600cc, the torque quoted is no more than 160NM or Max 160NM. This gives an indication 160NM is equivalent to 1600cc. So for Mazda CX5 whose torque is 420NM, this literally means its engine output is 4200cc(!) which make sense. Hope this will help. Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • SpongeWai on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:27 am

I have a serious question for EDTCM, where is Nissan X-Trail facelift??!

Other country market have been selling in facelift version while here still selling pre-facelift??

C’mon man, be serious do more marketing sale & bring more model.

• Their xtrail team is hibernating. But basher says that means they doing gud job alredi. Sales must be outstanding, according to their logic.

• Woon Shianm Phang on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:46 am

Global review all position Cx5 highly. Only doubt is the CKD QC vs Jap. CVT w turbo….Best of luck Folks! Admit the problem locally, friends of mine are in dire straits now. Again, Audi crapped the cvt w turbo. Smart H becomimg 2nd time dumb n dumber. Previously w CVT Honda N.A problematic.. yet paired CVT w turbo. Meow shite

• The video is amazing! Good job guys.

3008 ftw. Best refinement, best quality and best looking. quite practical too!

Reliability? Aisin 6-speed and 1.6THP is by far the oldest tech here. I’m sure any manufacturer would have ironed out issues by now.

With that said, my own 2011/2012 Peugeot 3008 is working just fine till today. only gripe i have is the slow service centre. I have to wait 2 weeks just to schedule an appointment. and bloody months to get my cooling coil replaced. it doesn’t go to the workshop often like many might think, but once it does, it’s their service that sucks actually.

Seriously Peugeot, good car with bad SC is like having a sexy girlfriend but with bad attitude. Fix your damn service quality lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Orr Lean on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:52 pm

Have you guys driven a Diesel 9speed 1.6lit turbo AWD CRV? It will tell you a lot…if you have driven one. Alas, it is not available in My?

• BH Tan on Jun 07, 2018 at 1:02 pm

CRV is ugly, noisy and boring but comes in 1st place. If size matters then get a lorry . I would pick the CX5 anytime over CRV. The 3008 is a nice looking SUV but problem with French cars is reliability and lack of competence service for the cars. Toyota CH-R may be overpriced but is still a good option to be considered too.

• Which one got no bloody temp gauge?

• suomynona on Jun 07, 2018 at 1:54 pm

Only the CX-5 has no temp gauge

• Car guy on Jun 08, 2018 at 1:33 am

Wow which cx5 have you been in, that has no temp gauge? Lmaoooo

• suomynona on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:32 am

Have you found a CX-5 with a temp gauge?
          Correct me if I’m wrong.

Pics, or it didn’t happen.

• Alright, so the CR-V won. But that is mainly because of it’s practicality advantage over the other two. But how about if practicality isn’t everything? See, whatever C-Segment SUV on offer is more than practical enough. Yes, these are family cars, but how about a family who is not looking for merely practicality? In that sense, the CR-V lags way behind the other two. The subpar isolation, the laggy engine, the ugly design (subjective), the bad FC, etc. If that’s the case, then what is the best choice?

Also, what is the best compact premium SUV on the market? (not more than 250k)

• kobealex on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:22 pm

Exactly, whats this thing about the CR-V being the better SUV than the other 2 here?

Why is the review here being so biased towards the CR-V? its not even impressive at anything other than being practical.

• Jimmy on Jun 07, 2018 at 3:37 pm

Why mentioned only about resale value on Peugeot 3008 only when 3008 win both of the two Japs SUV hand down on comfort and inspire confidence in the drive ?

Nowadays , We all do know that

Mazda CX 5 – RV is also shitty and bad too
    Honda CRV – RV is shitty and bad even
    go check Mudah Malaysia .

All these three brands SUV RV are more or less the same … and their RVs are very shitty ..currently..

Please compare on best offers, specs, performance , maintenance , comfort and safety( most important) aspects .

RV is a yesterday stories whereby most cars does not have good RV at all. Period to RV and please wake up guys….this is 2018 not 2000.

At least 3008 is a safer and better choice without the problematic killing TAKATA air bags being installed in the CRV and CX5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • tokmoh. on Jun 09, 2018 at 7:33 am

You joking about cx-5 RV? The very
      cheapest on mudah now is rm70k, that’s damn good for a 6 year old car. At this price, i struggle to build a case for it, there’s cheaper better option elsewhere in used market.

A 2012 cr-v goes for about rm50k, much better proposition. Much more spacious, practical than stupidly cramped mazda, simpler powertrain too, should be easier to maintain vs skyactiv powertrain pricier but better fc, but not rm20k better fc to justify it over the honda.

Only thing is just check that the honda had its takata airbags replaced. Well, the govt will make sure you get it changed anyway, so no biggie.

• SIMON on Jun 07, 2018 at 4:02 pm

there is no best.

everything is relative to your NEEDS. not discount, not promotion etc etc.

understand what you need in a car first, then deicide which is more important when shopping.

this is why comparing this and that only best serves as a guide. not an order.

• Honda Fan on Jun 07, 2018 at 7:44 pm

Normally when going with the heart the Conti will win. But our cars are expensive, not many afford to change car frequently, so the cost of ownership and reliability become important criteria.
    – 3008: Very sexy and nice design, overall good refinement and drive well but known to be problematic.
    – Tiguan: Powerful, smooth drive with good NVH. Practicality is good. Main concern on reliability and after sales service.
    – CRV: More handsome design, huge interior, good features, good reliability and cost of ownership. However, seriously lacking refinement, bad NVH, luxury look but cheap feel.
    – CX5: Nice and sharp design, luxury & quality interior, best in class refinement & NVH, nice to drive yet with good comfort. Only lacking is interior space but not a major issue.
    So the SUV that provide a balance between the Jap reliability and the conti refinement & quality is the CX5, unless you can’t live without the space of the CRV, the CX5 is the way to go.

• Imelda on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:40 pm

I am worried about those japanese CRV and CX5 due to their installation with the problematic and killer TAKATA air bags whether new or old types.

Buying any Japanese cars always make me feel worried with the time bomb TAKATA AIR BAGS epitome .

RV is never important in my purchase but safety first is most important priority nowadays .

• Armed on Jun 07, 2018 at 8:09 pm

C’mon be more professional guys…don’t biase when making such reviews…
    Nothing compares when its comes with european technology…far beyond advance then the two…a copycat version of volvos’ n bimmers’…turbocharger were introduced years back then in europe…be more proffesional n be more artistic guys…r.i.p

• I am a peugeot 308 owner here. To be honest, my car never stay in workshop ad mentioned by “expert” here. I am wondering they own one befire or again dengar cakap saja. Within warranty, my car has no issue. After warranty, service outside with no parts waiting issue. But can not deny wear n tare is expensive. But do you think maintaining bmw n merz is cheap? For me, Peugeot is more reliable than VW!

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:19 pm

I personally own a Peugeot 208 GTi and a Fiat Bravo, plus I drive a Mercedes C300 atm. The company has a 508 too. Lets just say we didn’t just “dengar cakap saja.” Cheers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • How unreliable are the Peugeots? Like what problems did they have til’ date, the cost, etc? Because, resale value is not really an issue, but unreliability is. Thanks.

• tokmoh. on Jun 09, 2018 at 7:44 am

You’re a rare exception. There is no smoke with no fire. People complaint Peug lousy reliability is not fake news.

Dealership commitment also plays a huge role. Naza is typical talentless crony. They don’t have the commitment and passion for their brands. They only know how to sell because it’s a no brainer, but to take care of after sales requires passion and commitment into the business, it’s also far less profitable too.

Naza don’t have that in them. Mau hidup senang je amik AP, jual buat untung, habis cerita, enjoy kaya raya.

• Those car test journalists are like

Praise the LORD ( crv and cx5 ) but shunned the devil ( 3008).

What a biased and unprofessional review ..
    3008 is way better than CRV .

• Can you guys review the base models? I think with all the good things that comes with the high spec, it is hard to criticise. Plus, most reviews are talking about the high specs only.

• kobealex on Jun 08, 2018 at 7:35 am

I think Paultan has really lost a lot of credibility with such reviews.

Still cant understand how you guys could conclude with a winner that is not the nicest looking, underpowered, not efficient, worst quality, worst handling, worst noise insulation, but just by being slightly bigger in room and cargo space.

All was being said in the video of the CRV was “its better than the old CRV”. Seriously, how can you then conclude its the best among the 3?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:58 am

Looks is of course, subjective. As for being underpowered, the CR-V is actually rather fast for its size – feeling lethargic compared to the CX-5 doesn’t mean it’s slow, it’s just slower than than the outstanding CX-5 diesel. Plus the CVT is great, paired with the turbo engine.

It also has the best low-speed ride of the group here, and saying “worst in group” for a few other things isn’t the same as saying it’s bad. Yes, the refinement really is sub-par, but everything else is decent or good, just that against great competition, not class leading.

Overall though, the CR-V’s ease of drive, smooth transmission, comfortable ride and good stability, excellent practicality and additional features (powered tailgate, full-size spare tyre, Adaptive Cruise Control) ALL count for a lot for what is primarily a family-oriented SUV. And we did say if you really don’t mind having less space, the CX-5 is a good option. For the average familyman, however, the Honda still gets our top pick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Honda Fan on Jun 08, 2018 at 12:23 pm

The smooth transmission should be from the CVT, but many peoples don’t like CVT, how is CRV transmission compared to the CX5 normal 6 speed AT and the DSG from Tiguan? Comfortable ride is questionable, CRV has got one of the hardest seats, bad for long distance travel, soft suspension maybe. Additional features (powered tailgate, Adaptive Cruise Control) are only for the most expensive TCP model.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 08, 2018 at 12:32 pm

Additional features based on the three variants that we chose here, i.e. the top variants of their respective ranges in our view.

CVTs are getting a lot of flak, yes, which is not entirely unfair. The CVT in the CR-V however, is one of the better ones – natural/direct and quick respond. I personally rate it higher than the CX-5’s six-speeder (still a little lazy, would be called out if not for the turbodiesel’s low-end torque) and Tiguan’s DSG (still clunky at low speeds/traffic creep).

Seat comfort is subjective, obviously. Some may prefer harder cushion, others don’t. Again me I like the 3008’s seats the most (both front and rear), and I didn’t find the CR-V’s seats to be particularly uncomfortable either. And we did do a lot of long distance journeys (as drivers and passengers) while testing and shooting.

• tokmoh. on Jun 09, 2018 at 7:52 am

>”but many peoples don’t like CVT”
          > Honda pecah sales record, new models all have CVT

Kek. Step outside of your reality distortion bubble, and see that most people out there are car noob, they dunno what is CVT, direct injection, torque converter etc.

Even so, it’s easy to like Honda’s 1.5L N/A or turbo + CVT powertrain. For most of these car noob, a gentle tap to just 1.5k rpm is all you need to move around in urban condition. 110kph cruise at mere 2k rpm and a bit. Low rev = low noise = relaxed driving = low fc

• tokmoh. on Jun 09, 2018 at 8:01 am

Well done review. My take :

Cr-V : tak nak pening, tak payah fikir, beli je. Doesn’t matter whatever shortcomings, it already achieve this jangan persoal status, so no shortcomings ever matter.

CX-5 : better than CR-V in many ways except road tax cost and space. Doesn’t get jangan persoal status yet, close, but no cigar.

3008 : topkek naza after sales, turbocor, sensor rosak here, rosak there within 3 years. Wasted good car mired with after sales nightmare. Buyer beware. Funnily, Rafizi PKR just bought it.

• May I suggest PT to do moose test for tall vehicles and SUV in future ?

• Jayaganapathy on Jun 13, 2018 at 11:28 am

Both Honda CR-V & Peugeot 3008 are Petrol engine. Why compare Mazda CX-5 2WD Diesel, instead of Mazda CX-5 2.5 2WD Petrol? Should have include Volkswagen Tiguan WILD

• Jayaganapathy on Jun 13, 2018 at 1:49 pm

@5:10….4,596 mm – 4,550 mm = 46 mm. 4,596 mm – 4,447 mm = 149 mm. 50 mm = 5 cm. 150 mm = 15 cm.
      Size does matter?

• wahahaha on Jun 13, 2018 at 6:25 pm

Because of the price maaaa. Tolak GST.

CX5 – RM155939
      CRV – RM158225
      3008 -RM147090

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 17, 2018 at 11:33 pm

VW belongs to the sui kwan category

• Faisal Khan on Jun 15, 2018 at 12:02 pm

I try all three cars mentioned above. Lastly I bought 3008 bcoz the handling was superb.

• Reboot on Jun 19, 2018 at 4:45 pm

Totally agree with you, Bro

No Jap cars can beat the French when it comes to comfort and handling .

• Guys….pls look at the Nissan Xtrail..
    Don’t limit just that few brands ….omg

• PartsRoom on Jul 03, 2018 at 4:54 pm

That really looks cool. I would definitely want one.

• Think a few times before booking in any Mazda outlet. The terms and promotion promised when booking the car may not be the same as terms upon delivery. I a booked a Mazda CX-5 before 9 May 2018 and was offered a RM3500 rebate. However when the Zero GST was announced, Mazda pulled back the initial rebate and asked me to be happy with savings i am getting from the GST reduction. I think this is a very unethical business practice from Mazda. It is shameful that a good car is being sold by an unscrupulous sales team. I would give thumbs up to the Toyota and Honda sales team anytime when it comes to service.

• nashwinder on Jul 09, 2018 at 10:17 am

if geely boyue is here for sure it will be the winner.evrybody buy geely boyue it is the most safest car.

• intermilan on Jul 24, 2018 at 12:57 pm

what a deflating conclusion. This feels like a comparo of light commercial vehicle rather than mid-range c-segment SUV. That’s what i feel anyway.

Moving forward, may i suggest review such as this and others is done thru scoring?

Establish a scorecard with category and assigned fair weightage distribution. At least it will offers some definitive guide to us the viewer on your ways to the conclusion.

• fitstagrem on Sep 02, 2018 at 2:40 am

So anyone driving Tiguan? into my list including cx5 2.0.
    understood Tiguan having larger space, luxury looks while cx5 got that sporty lamp and nice cherry red color