Proton to launch a new product every year after 2018’s SUV, with the latest tech (PHEV) – CEO Li Chunrong

During the launch of the Proton’s first upgraded 4S dealer outlet in Shah Alam, company CEO Li Chunrong revealed that a new product will be launched every year following the introduction of the brand’s first SUV later this year.

Li didn’t provide any specific details about what exactly these upcoming models will be, but stated that all new products would be assembled at Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant.

When asked if these new products will be developed by Proton or be adapted from existing Geely models, Li said, “you know, China is a left hand drive (market); over here it’s right hand drive. It’s not only about putting the (steering) wheel from the left to the right, they will change a lot. This is why for the first new SUV, we spent 18 months (developing it), it’s very complicated.”

He went on to say that for the Proton SUV, engineers from both camps worked closely to jointly develop the model. “We needed more than 1,000 Proton engineers working with Geely engineers together. Every month, more than 100 engineers worked in Hangzhou, so this (SUV) is jointly developed.”

Li was also asked if the latest Geely plug-in hybrid (PHEV) models will make their way to Malaysia, to which he replied, “we will bring in the latest cars from China, we want the latest technologies and not the ageing cars (sold) in China. We will get it about the same time they do. Even for some newly launched PHEV (in China), the Chinese haven’t even gotten the car yet.”

Recently, the Geely Bo Rui GE was introduced in China where it is available with a mild hybrid or PHEV powertrain that was co-developed with Volvo. Other Geely models on the way include a B-segment SUV as well as a new MPV. Do you think any of these models will make their way to Malaysia?

GALLERY: Geely Bo Rui GE

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Tahniah P1! Expecting P2 salesman to come here bash in 3..2..1..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 29
    • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Jun 08, 2018 at 5:37 pm

thank China and china ceo. Time to replace all the GLCs with China CEOs and also Putrajaya with Mainland people. Sure cekap after that….oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 59
      • rightwinger on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:27 pm

same mentality that brought down Melaka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 32
        • Asyraf on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:59 pm

CEO Li Chunrong is very well liked among all Proton staff for his work efficiency & respectfulness towards local people norms. Only matched by our own FM, “Kita tunggu azan habis dulu”. Cekap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • John Kalah Teruk on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:13 am

Proton has improved by leaps and bounds with a foreign CEO.

With local CEOs, Proton did not improve at all the past 15 years. Gaji buta

• Wayne on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:34 am

Different case. Melaka was brought down by corrupt officials and weak leaders. I do agree however that let Malaysians rule Malaysia. New Malaysia must be even stronger together! Bersatu kita teguh bercerai kita roboh

• Abdul Khatib on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:42 am

We already kick out the old super korup Government. Now you will see Proton improve

• Topkek on Jun 09, 2018 at 7:15 pm

P1 bashers start flame war in every article noone complains, when somebody supports P1 , bashers complain pulak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • Mohd Shahab on Jun 10, 2018 at 12:25 pm

Diam lah john, pls go away. Dah kalah habis habis, masih lagi nak buat hal dalam grp ni

• So in New MY “democracy” only ur kind get to say anything while others must diam? Even to the general pipu, thats not called democracy, but AUTOCRACY. Ah, but we did elect a diktator back in…

• yawnz on Jun 10, 2018 at 9:26 am

best comment ever. The truth hurts.

• yawnz on Jun 10, 2018 at 12:01 pm

Stop hijacking my name.

• Tell him off, bro yawnz! He got no ballz to use his real name.

• Mohd Shahab on Jun 10, 2018 at 12:18 pm

So sad we need China to wake us up from our deep sleep.

20 years of local CEOs also could not revive Proton.

Bravo China! Bravo!

• Einstein on Jun 10, 2018 at 3:49 pm

20 years under a certain founder. That’s why it was foolish to trust that person again. Repeating the same mistake but expecting different outcome.

• Toyota sales man felt extremely anxiety

• Come Oct, they will shiet in their pants

• Mohd Shahab on Jun 10, 2018 at 12:27 pm

We don’t need your fake news john, prices have to go up because we have to pay up your pencuri boss mess of 1 trillion

• again, spreading fake news. Same like when new government came in, you said all non national car prices will go up 300%. But we saw it went down pulak

• Damon Lee on Jun 11, 2018 at 6:11 pm

Aik. Why this writing seems like 90% copied from another commenter Micheal Kwong? Ahh, now I get why others says there’s a troll that goes by many names but still spouting the same copy paste message…

• John Kalah Teruk on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:18 am

There were never P2 salesman badmouthing P1. Past 3 years, it was only john who came here and badmouth Myvi.

But sales of Myvi has shut his mouth up. So malu now

• p2macai on Jun 11, 2018 at 9:50 pm

No la, pipu ady have bad experience owning a myvi deswai badmouthing one

• panjang on Jun 08, 2018 at 5:31 pm

I think the CEO should dress better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 44
    • vodka on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:05 pm

Laurence Noël from NAZA Peugeot the best dressed.

• Steve Jobs wore a black turtleneck & jeans with sneakers. Got a problem with that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
      • rightwinger on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:28 pm

…sometimes the clothes do not make the man…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • To a lesser man, its the clothes that made him.
          To a superior person, its the man that made the clothes.

Hmm, I think I got that from Kingsman or something.

• syok sendiri on Jun 09, 2018 at 2:23 pm

U are comparing the great Apple CEO with this?

• Yep. their fashion sense makes no sense for their job titles but that din stop them from achieving great success. Again, got a problem with that?

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:43 pm

Yep, looks like he bought a wrong sized suit off the rack, or borrowed someone’s.

• Ajai Kinrara on Jun 09, 2018 at 10:08 am

You fool… Marc Zuckerberg wears the same grey tshirt everyday

• Petoron Sagu on Jun 08, 2018 at 5:37 pm

Macam la Bill Gates tu pakai baju cantik. Kaya je…. Dress is second…. Most important proton car should be a beauty internally and externally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • Putra 4G63T on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:22 pm

Terbaek. Macam gitu lah tak payah fikir, tak payah pening. Beli aje…. Geely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • From the interview, i concluded that Proton will not have chance to design n produce their own car anymore. Instead will be a place to modify GL cars and be used as brand to sell GL cars here.. hope im wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Geely havent stretch their development muscle here yet. Sabar…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Kudos for taking the effort to make a proper right hand drive car (unlike those korean and european manufacturers). I hate it when they reversed the signal and wiper stick!

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:45 pm

Well, proton did one better already. Did the left hand drive stalk arrangement for local right hand drive cars.

Wonder what the logic was?

• Follow Mesidis & Beemer logic

• tokmoh. on Jun 09, 2018 at 8:05 am

All european cars also like that what. Whether here or UK, still LHD stalk arrangement in RHD market.

• johnissohai on Jun 08, 2018 at 5:44 pm

john is excited seeing this news..but when he tries to sell his old proton, no dealer wants to take his car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Hahaha! Currently all dealers r desperately trying to offload their used jepunis junks otherwise they will kena saman for the unsafe airbags. Now they treat 2nd hand P1s like gold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
      • Tajuddin Ohwai on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:24 pm

Again spreading fake news in PT again. Aiseh john, already lost badly, you still want to come here and cause trouble and spread rumours and fake news…..oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
        • “JPJ to send out two reminders for Takata airbag replacement, saman for failure to comply” – Loke

“Vehicles with potentially faulty Takata airbags cannot have their road tax renewed”

Why u blame Loki for fake news? Kecian dia. Oh wai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
        • YB Albert on Jun 08, 2018 at 7:34 pm

Tajuddin
          This Reverse Psychology doctoral graduate is one of those laid off by out dear PM lately,I suspect.
          He is currently un employable.No HR personnel will grant him an interview when they read his CV….Tokok John of paultan.
          Just ignore him. See ,as penganggur,he has plenty of spare time to write rubbish.
          As for yours sincerely,I only write my comments after a game of golf and meticulously parking my Rolls Royce in my garage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
          • Kesian that u so proud of being drebar of ur towkays Rolls Royce and driving him back after his game of golf, only then can balik rumah pakai kapcai.

Dun worry, if he linked to Bapak, he may gip u big bonus this year. Pray hard bro.

• john loser on Jun 09, 2018 at 2:30 pm

John post 24/7 here and is so sure that his party will win last time but in the end lost. What does that tell u?

• hahaha on Jun 09, 2018 at 7:17 pm

Show us the small scale car here, we want to laugh out loud for you

• Rightwinger on Jun 09, 2018 at 10:49 pm

Nothing stays up or down forever.

• If u have so much time to reply own dupe, why not make use of it to tell Loki what to do:
            “1.What action has been taken on existing same JPJ officers after the 6th Takata victim died?They just lepaking around,collect gaji?
            2.How much of enforcement fines collected from operations against commercial vehicles for overloading n speeding offenses? Everyday,the rakyat still see “camel loads” of sand,quarry materials on lorries.
            3.The uncultured conditions at JPJ offices,where officers are rude and poor airconditioning.
            4.Puspakom centres.like driving schools.”kaotim culture” still exist.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • READ: “fetch towkay to his golf game using Rolls Royce”

• yawnz on Jun 10, 2018 at 9:27 am

This is the same guy who told us
            1) Malaysia has cheapest car prices in the world
            2) Malaysia has cheapest petrol prices in the world
            3) Proton has paid up all their debts and financially healthy.

• yawnz on Jun 10, 2018 at 9:31 am

@john – last time BN in power you never complain about JPJ and Corruption. Now suddenly you complaining about JPJ, Enforcement and Puspakom.

60 years you never complain?

• yawnz on Jun 10, 2018 at 11:43 am

You stole my nick just to post slander against other commenters. You should be ashamed!

• Mohd Shahab on Jun 10, 2018 at 12:21 pm

now john got no bola. He kutuk all Gomen departments because it is run by PH.

Every new article now, he kutuk kerajaan departments. But he forgot, they were all run by his old boss for all this while.

• Kunta lagi no bolas wei. Dare to steal other pipu nicks, no dah kena sounded out. Tak tau malu kah?

• john, pls go back to your cave. Pls keep PT clean without negative comments and fake thumbsup.

• Before May 9th, john always say JPJ very good and honest.

And he said car prices in Malaysia very cheap

After May 9th, he say JPJ is corrupted.

Macam mana dalam 1 bulan boleh jadi corrupted?

• Change name again? Bola takde ke?

• Hussein on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:25 pm

ignore the troll john who has many dupes and trouble maker in PT

• Abdul Wahab Khalid on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:03 pm

OMG, this john fellow still spreading fake news. Hello friend, new era now. Please realise that we don’t want to hear your fake news on Japanese cars

• This is new era of fake news, and ur the purveyor of it. Whats new?
            So why u blame Loki for fake news or u saying PT article is news. Stop blaming others.

• Mohd Shahab on Jun 10, 2018 at 12:24 pm

Ignore this john troll. Let us progress by learning from each other constructive comments.

• M.Hamzah on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:23 pm

Dahlah mamat ni curi nama orang, lepas tu fitnah orang pulak. Takde adab mahupun ilmu.

• John Kalah Teruk on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:21 am

another false news. I hear Japanese sales are so good now.

Tak habis habis still spreading false news. Pls go home john

• This is a bold move by CEO Li Chunrong in the right direction.

Proton previously had immense trust deficit, which is very complicated and worrying. Nobody in DRB wanted to acknowledge they have a problem. Their mgmt were so detached from reality they swept aside all criticism and refused to accept them.

Their disastrous loss of market share was a collective responsibility among all in DRB Proton, and they must simply accept the fact that they were systematically rejected by the masses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Kent Chan on Jun 08, 2018 at 5:56 pm

I am hoping that there will be technology transfer instead of just adapt. Hopefully it’s like what the CEO said. A jointly develop effort rather than changing from left to right hand drive only.

• “It’s not only about putting the (steering) wheel from the left to the right, they will change a lot. This is why for the first new SUV, we spent 18 months (developing it), it’s very complicated.” – Dr Li

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
      • Abdul Wahab Khalid on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:09 pm

It takes more than 2 years for 12,000 workers to figure this out.

Time for the 12,000 workers to work hard. China is monitoring you

• “In any case, converting a left-hand drive car to a right-hand drive one isn’t as simple as moving the steering wheel and pedals to the correct side. Aside from a completely new dashboard, switchgear, power window buttons and even the front seats, there would also need to be changes to the mechanicals as well.” – PT

• John Kalah Teruk on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:24 am

Proton factory cannot work in June. So start back in July

• Edwin L on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:28 pm

So as all other car factories and related components factories. Whats your point?

• tokmoh. on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:17 pm

Yea, good job Dr Li and Proton! Keep working hard, and success will be yours! Once Proton’s counterattack begins, it cannot be stopped!

And thank you Geely for improving our workforce’s skill. It won’t be long, then more jobs will be created. Together, Geely and Proton will grow bigger and show the world the glorious might of our empire!

Proton, Geely > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
    • arowana on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:24 pm

With no DRB intervention, P1 konpem in good hands.

• John Kalah Teruk on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:26 am

clean Government now. DRB cannot get freebies from Proton. Time to return RM5 billion Proton Shah alam land back to Proton

• Abdul Wahab Khalid on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:13 pm

Pity we need China to help us with this. Local university grads……30 years already, cannot come out with a solution to save Proton

Time to work hard like the China grads

• Just shut up and take my money, give me the car before SST!

• Nares on Jun 08, 2018 at 7:23 pm

The boyue(whatever the name will be) will be only available in October (Cbu unit), where else Ckd unit will be available in June 2019.

• A bit too late… honda HRV facelift will take all the.sales

• John Kalah Teruk on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:22 am

Proton factory work slow slow bro. Even whole of June cannot work you know

• As bro Edwin above said, so as all the other automakers. So what?

• James on Jun 09, 2018 at 12:45 pm

Where did you read about these cbu & ckd? Fake news? Geely’s right hand drive will be produced by tanjung malim plant.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:56 pm

https://paultan.org/2018/06/08/proton-suv-to-be-launched-in-malaysia-by-october/

Paragraph 3.

• Dun worry. Even with SST, it will still be affordable.

• Thanks to the Chinese tong San people who are doing a huge charity to help and give the rubbish Proton company a new life. May the Tong San people bring lousy proton to the new level Msians can be proud of like the Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
    • lotusftw on Jun 09, 2018 at 7:22 pm

What ? Rubbish? Lousy? You don’t say that even international reviewers gave compliments at least at its superb handling

• “We are not like some other competitors, (in that) we will delete some features” lol a slap in Honda and Toyota’s face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Rahmanabutalip on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:22 pm

I watch tv3 news just now…ask myself how come the guy who standing there as the CEO and talk about our car..our product …our ideas at the beginning is OUTSIDER…….what is najib done all the while is only damaging malaysia…

• All the best. Look forward to better safety features .

• How will it solve proton problem? They launched 3 new models in 2016 alone and is ailing as ever.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 09, 2018 at 12:38 am

This is the first time China is going global into RHD vehicles. Suddenly, they realised how much work that needs to be done by adapting their existing models. This is because the cars were never build for dual LHD & RHD from the start. Simple things like the electronic & engine harness could have been designed longer & position in such way that it can be pluged at either side instead of requiring a complete mirror image development. Other things like driver angled center dash is a no go for global car as it would increase mirror image parts. Lucky for Boyue, the center console is facing straight so it can be used from either side.

• Aikon on Jun 11, 2018 at 9:24 am

Yup. It is not easy and even Peugeot still finds it difficult to reposition their fuse box from LHD to RHD resulting in a very small glovebox.

• stastasta on Jun 12, 2018 at 9:57 am

for peugeot, the bonnet open lever is at passenger door. and passenger side wiper is longer than driver side wiper.

• Ex iriz owner on Jun 09, 2018 at 1:47 pm

Proton Iriz maintainence is far expensive than Honda. A major service of Iriz could cost RM500-800. A Honda Accord major only cost less than RM1k for major service. Does Iriz = Honda? Or does Proton quality is better than Honda?

• Atz1999 on Jun 09, 2018 at 2:27 pm

Poton harga safe moni no need to buy volvo s40. More intilegen ,hai perfomen ,lazery ,disign futuristik .Suitabel for goverment bosses. Lai lai wild stock last.

• Ross Lee on Jun 10, 2018 at 12:12 pm

I wud not recommend any proton until the Chinese owner stop his racist stint and remove all his appointed “unqualified and inexperience” Directors (Head) of all departments send the back to china and restore the current local malaysian. PM, KDN, Human Resources Mins, Min of Ecomnomic Affair must inspect. Malaysian must know the way China operate their business in malaysia, i know n hv first hand experience. I will not stop until they restore the previous management minus their appointees n we malaysia shall hv dignity equal amongst all.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 10, 2018 at 6:11 pm

You don’t have DIGNITY when you have run a company into massive losses, lost previous local top sales, lost exports, & had to be rescued financially year after year by funds taken from tax payers.

The truth is Proton FAILED spectacularly after more than 30 years in existence. Any normal company would have gulung tikar long ago. Many factors contributed to where it is today. So don’t talk about pride nor dignity.

The new owner has every right to operate how they see fit. If you’re not happy, then the door is that way. There will be many other capable Malaysian who can replace you.

• Ruslee Bahari on Jun 10, 2018 at 10:36 pm

Ekceli we veli contented to jz keep our jobs & remain as Jaguh kampong.. work=migraine.

• How they gonna sell the Proton SUV as a national car if it is a CBU unit from China. That is not a national car at all. Plus CBU unit will get taxed like crazy .

• Why not? P2 sold their previous SUV as an exclusive CBU car but they din declared it as non-national, right? So why…