Malaysia aspires to build another national car – Tun M

Prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad says that Malaysia has aspirations to start a new national car project. Speaking at the 24th International Conference on The Future of Asia, or Nikkei Conference, in Japan earlier this morning, he said that the aim is to undertake this project in partnership with countries across the region.

He was asked about Geely’s investment in Proton, and explained that since the automaker had gone the Chinese route, it was no longer a national car.

“The national car must be owned by Malaysians. At the very beginning we had a very small investment from Japan, from Mitsubishi Motor Corporation and Mitsubishi Corporation, and eventually we were able to manage on our own, but now the company (Proton) has been sold to a Chinese company, (and) it is no longer a national car,” he said.

“Our ambition is to start another national car, perhaps with some help from our partners in SEA like Thailand, and also Japan, Korea and China, because obviously there is the capacity to produce good quality cars which are saleable across the world market, and we want to access the world market,” he added.

He said that Malaysia has the ability to undertake such projects. “We may have to depend on foreign technology and partners at the beginning, but eventually we hope to be able to do everything by ourselves. In the automotive field after we started work with Mitsubishi, today Malaysians have the capacity to do almost 100% of the development of a motor vehicle. That is the benefit we have obtained by having foreign partners,” he stated.

Mahathir has previously voiced his objection towards the sale of a stake in Proton to Geely, but said last month following Pakatan Harapan’s victory in the general election that the new federal government had no plans to buy back the national carmaker.

Now, does Malaysia really need a new national carmaker, or Proton 2.0? Read our take here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Dang mate! Screw this national car dung plan. Vehicle import tax 0%. That is what Malaysian wants.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 255 Thumb down 10
    • MeToo on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:28 am

Oh no please no!

I cannot afford another 200% various car tax just to support the new “national car”….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 182 Thumb down 3
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:05 am

Local managed Perodua is our true national car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 11
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:50 pm

Forgot to add; “true national car ASSEMBLER”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:15 pm

Forgot to add; “true national car EXPORTER”
            to Indonesia, Singapore, Fiji, Nepal, Mauritius and Sri Lanka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • Rajoo Selvam on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:32 pm

Proton’s biggest problem of failure was all its vendors and suppliers were cronies of UMNO

They overcharged Proton by 10X and gave Proton super low quality parts.

This is why Proton got a bad name. Actually Proton is a good car. Just that these greedy vendors and suppliers busuk Proton’s name kaw kaw

Once you get rid of all the UMNO kronies who make up all the vendors and suppliers, then you will see Proton shine like a bright star!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 18
          • Hussein on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:13 pm

Tun, first we must clear the 1 trillion debt left to us by the previous corrupted Government.

Then, clean up all the Ministries and Government officers who gave family members fake 3rd party contracts amounting to BILLIONS each

Then, you will see, Malaysia will have so much of cash.

We will be so cash rich, we might even be richer than Singapore.

Then only, you may decide to set up another car company.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 11
          • Same L00 on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:48 pm

Enough lar. This is 2018, not 1982, still make car for what? You can’t fight China or India car manufacturers. Even the Proton salesman little Johnny is picking up Chinese now. Better make phone, make drone, make whatever is new and profitable in 2018!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
          • Abdul Khatib on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:57 pm

Sell all the Birkin handbags…each costing RM200k to RM1.6 million. Got 284 handbags.

All the money, can settle all of Proton’s loans. Make Proton healthy again.

Win Win.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 12
      • Rajoo Selvam on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:05 pm

Better to reduce car prices. That is more important.
        Malaysia has the most expensive car prices in the world.

In the late 80s, precisely in 1990, one could buy a brand new Toyota Corolla for RM20k. now, the same Toyota Corolla in Malaysia (called Altis) cost RM139k. A whopping 700% price increase.

But in Japan, the same Toyota Corolla from 1989 to 2018 has only gone up 50% in price

Again to re-emphasise, in Malaysia, the above car from 1990 to 2018 has gone up from RM20k to RM139k (700%)

So you figure out. In Japan, the car has gone up 50% in 28 years but in Malaysia, the same car has gone up 700%

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 13
        • Marini on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:52 pm

Proton vendors and supplier are cronies of umno or cronies of Tun?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
          • rightwinger on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:16 pm

corectomundo. the original kleptocrat, the architect and the real dictator.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • Abdul Khatib on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:07 pm

Better not set up a new car company. Cause we need all the money we can save.

We need all the money to settle the mess and debt left to us by the previous highly filthy corrupted regime.

• tok wat on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:20 pm

Wow 1990 New Toyota Corolla at RM20k, then why people still buy Proton Saga that selling at RM30k?

• Rajoo Selvam on Jun 12, 2018 at 9:36 am

another fake news. I bought my Saga for RM17k.

• Brian May on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:40 pm

malaysians r rich. just look at how enthusiastically they donated to tabong harapan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Not only the rich can donate. Even poor ones like me also donated to the country.

• VW Group Fan on Jun 11, 2018 at 6:34 pm

That’s what the japanese did to support honda, toyota and other japanese car firms

• Teams on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:13 pm

Even if it still will be done by TM, better work with suzuki and rebadge all their cars, compact small car, suv n mpv. Make sure affordable too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • NicoD on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:19 pm

P1 + P2 = P3.

• Rajoo Selvam on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:20 pm

Just change the attitude of the workers in Proton. They are the same workers in GLCs and in Putrajaya.

they are lazy to the core and they refuse to work hard. Once you change these workers, you will see Proton will sales and profits will jump 10 fold

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 14
          • Yang mahal on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:16 pm

Change the workers to Bangladesh or Nepal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
          • juliana on Jun 12, 2018 at 10:00 am

and some of those ‘lazy’ engineers are now in oversea contributing to foreign countries. i suggest the mighty you who know how to walk the talk to join proton and contribute.

• Legendswift on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:15 pm

Rebadge swift sport wud be great. 1.4 turbo engine.

• partsvendor on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:26 pm

TQ tun for this visionary idea! nothing impossible for this bolehland. I don’t understand why people want AP and tax to go away. Even if our car prices are double compared to the rest of the world, people can still afford it. Look at the vehicle sales! After all, this is all for the good of the nation.

Up next, new Perwaja!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 22
      • Tommy Wonder on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:38 pm

brilliant idea laaaa!
        you hit the nail right on the head!

• All u pipu r nuts. If Bapak has had enuff and retired, u pipu wudnt be here to crow about New MY. So cukur sikit and sapot Bapak fully. Sapot Bapak, sapot Harpan, sapot P1 2.0! Make MY national car program great again! Anyone disagrees, ur just a BN sapoter!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 22
    • Putron on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:18 pm

His vision is for this country to become an engineering hub from design to model to manufacturing thousands of parts. A big multiplication impact on industry. Hyundai Kia once almost bankrupt in the 90’s but look at where they are now…they are the biggest exporters in the world. They sold more cars than the japanese brand and their plant in ulsan is the biggest in the world. That is all within a short period of time. If no cronies and no political interferance msian car would have be able to be on the same level as other established brand. Let give it another shot with our New Malaysia spirit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • Panjang on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:40 pm

Look at Holden, Ford & Mitsubishi in Australia..High income nation with similar population size….Gone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Brian May on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:37 pm

i’m sure there won’t be any croyism under the rule of the new Tun M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • YB Albert on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:18 pm

Tun,thank u for saving the country,we echo Robert Kuok’s statement.Now,I think LGE n Tun will be busy doing fire fighting, damage control.Ajibkor’s legacy….will take an enormous amt of time to clear the mess.We would love to see 42 yrs jail term on whoever is the main culprit.Tun, kindly concentrate on being our captain Malaysia n prosecute the financial thugs….leave the auto industry alone.Our auto market is too small for another manufacturer.Thank you,Tun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:25 pm

import tax already 0% for many car import

• Brian May on Jun 11, 2018 at 7:20 pm

kenot one, we need to protest our national car company. i suggest the gomen doubles the import duties.

• shashidaren on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:10 pm

please help create a petition so that we can avoid making mistake to create another national car that will eat up further countries resources .
      1- Foreign investor /government have to absorb a lot of losses to setup again
      2- Crony companies will be setup as intermediate to suppliers to easily make profit and don’t emphasize on product quality .
      3- The local will have to buy local car at a higher price in order to subsidize price for export quality to manage loses in revenue .
      4- Its too big an industry to formulate proper check and balances at every level.

5- The cronies are used to easy money and their appetitte for profit is much higher now, making room for a lot of corruption to take place .

5-Companies that are unable to pay supplier in time will cause ,suppliers to produce lower quality products to manage the loses incurred

6- Crony datuks will have some function at home forcing suppliers to fork out expenses for the function and eventually suppliers will include this
      cost into the invoicee.

We just have to admit we failed in developing the industry . We can look at other initiatives to boost countries economy.A lot of bigger countries dont want to spend time on R&D for their national car as its not really worth the prolonged investiment. Infact manufacturers are selling to china because they cant sustain . Why are we being a fool to start one now ,when we are drowning in debts ? We will never be able to create cars at cheaper cost , because he labour cost have grown without the acquired expertise.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:17 am

Oh no…not again…prices of cars with go up again just to protect this NEW national car…enough is enough

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 2
  • Digidigi on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:21 am

OMG pls don’t, this hole can be be another 1mdb.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
  • Proton owner on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:22 am

Please not another national car… Useless…thing rattle here n there. Iafm broken and the servis center said its an a proton what you expect? They proton factory no comited to improve. So ppl would no buy proton.In the end the people were asking tongkat every time from gov for more money to bail out them..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
  • We have already a company much like to that discription, a competitive car with foreign engineering investment. Its called Perodua, and last time i checked we’re livid with our Malaysian Proton. Please no more, a Malaysian car company must be privatized and have zero governmeny interest nor intervention from the get go, thats a Malaysian car, not a Malaysian government car like Proton was.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
  • Tak TUN Tuangg on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:29 am

A Big NO!! Sorry Tun, although we Malaysian supports you in every other way but not this one, AGAIN!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 7
    • Sapot means sapot everything, no half half sapot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 26
      • Gomorrah on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:21 pm

That’s why you lot can justify the wrongdoing of the previous government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Yang kunyit on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:29 pm

Deswaii pipu sapot 1mdb all the way. Ooowai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
        • Hussein on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:58 pm

yes john, you sapot 1MDB so much until country got RM1 trillion debt!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
          • “The official Federal Government debt is RM686.8bil (50.8% of GDP).” – LGE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
          • Abdul Khatib on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:41 pm

Hutang negara melampau ni, kerajaan korup dulu sampai sekarang ada skandal.

• Brian May on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:34 pm

itu la sebab tun m nak bikin kereta nasional utk selesaikan hutang tau? lembap..

• Tommy Wonder on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:42 pm

betol! apa dia olang mao?! if sapot, sapot habis habis mah! sapot semua tun m mia projek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
      • Mustapha Kamal on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:36 pm

Ignore this john troll. As usual, he is trying to cause trouble here. Already kalah teruk teruk still he wants to come here and buat kacau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
        • Sapot Bapak or ur BN troll

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
          • Abdul Khatib on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:43 pm

Semua boleh sapot tapi jangan sapot Birkin handbag ye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:40 pm

Yes. We sapot 22 years of bleeding up to RM 500Billion in sapoting Tun’s misadventure with national cars, national cronies, national projects, and national everything else except boosting national reserves and income.

• Concerned Consumer on Jun 12, 2018 at 2:58 pm

Woi kuli batak BN! Stop misuse and destroying Paul Tan with your poisonous comments.

This is an automotive website and we came here to read news, express and engage in automotive discissions.. This is not a political forums. Trade your warez elsewhere.

Mr. Paul Tan.. It is wise if you better regulate the BN cybertroopers antics before they destroy your millions & reputations. Bleed the freak b4 they bleed you out PT.

• Brian May on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:36 pm

im all in with tun m this time.
      it’s time to make malaysia great again.
      we need to make money from selling national cars to pay off our national debts.

• lolol on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:30 am

Aiyo… no more national car project. Once bitten twice shy….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:30 am

Tun never learn from his mistakes is it? If Proton has to sold to a China, what makes him so sure that Malaysia can make it again with the second chance? On the first place, he should think on how to revive proton rather than starting on a new sheet.

If he really start another national car and a failure again, his party will definitely be voted out and will never make a return.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
    • kingslayer on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:17 pm

As Ku Li said, same person, different shirt only.

Let’s stop him there, enough is enough, I think the rakyat already succumb too much from his past ego on Proton and how crony linked company becoming too rich being Proton’s vendor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • coolie on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:19 pm

Well said. Let’s all buy Proton SUV in droves and prove Tun got it wrong! Win-win MY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Tommy Wonder on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:42 pm

sapot Tun M!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • PH is here to stay forever with Bapak help. Petty threats dun work anymore. Do u wanna see the inside of Hotel ISA?

• Abdul Khatib on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:44 pm

Hotel ISA ada jual Birkin handbag? Nak beli 284 Birkin handbag bang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Brian May on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:31 pm

how dare you question tun m’s ability?!

proton was a huge success!

• GH Ong on Jun 12, 2018 at 11:01 am

Tun M is only human, and he is looking at it at an emotional perspective and NOT objectively. What’s so great about the automotive industry anyway? Why would it be beneficial to the country when conventional cars are on the way out? It would be better to focus on industries where we have the competitive advantage.
        My view is that Tun M should stay away from pursuing two controversial issues, namely: (1) The ‘national’ car project, and (2) Expansion of Malaysia Airlines.

• lilytan on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:34 am

Yes. Inikalikalah PRU15.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • Lain kalilah.. saudara Anwar is back. hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • “Dua tahun itu (sebenarnya) bukan tempoh masa. Ia adalah satu cadangan sahaja. Tetapi kita (PH) tidak tetap.” – by Bapak PH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • QChan on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:34 am

MOTON – Could this be our next new national Car ??

M for Mahatir ! :))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • Aniki Tan on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:35 am

Please make the price same as motorcycle and ban motorcycle in city area, it’s very hard to change lane during traffic jam and they speed between car like the lane is belong to them…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • As a car driver and motorcyclist, i can assure u that u dont have to worry changing lane provided you give signal at least 10 seconds before you change lane.

Motorcyclist do aware of your signal and will avoid your car as long as you gave enough time to them. You dont have to worry about them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • hoyayyy on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:08 pm

however… mostly to them.. this is their road and im speeding go away situation.. i see a a lot of car drive already half way to change lane.. then came motorcycle from nowhere speeding and force the car to go back to the original line and guest what the motorcycle keep on pressing horn and shouting to the driver.. poor guy. what do you expect.. its trafic jam. he already give signal and already halfway there. do all car driver stupid enough to change lane without checking the side mirror before change lane ? of course not. but not all motorcycle like that but most of them.

• Yang mahal on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:28 pm

Ban motorcycle in Malaysia

• Malaysian on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:36 am

Sorry Tun….we don’t want another NATIONAL CAR… guess we need to start an online petition…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
  • rally_fan (Member) on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:38 am

many car brands around the world are no longer owned by people from their country of origin, eg. Nissan, but they are still seen as as japanese car. Proton is still a malaysian car, likewise Perodua despite part ownership from foreign partners. i think our automotive industry is just fine, with a lot more investment locally today from foreign brands, CKD, sales and service..etc. as well as local vendors who today supply to all car makers and not just the local makes. So please Tun, there are a lot more things in the country that need fixing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • kenot on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:39 am

Sorry Tun M. But this time I don’t agree with your plan. Proton had proved our capabilities in term of engineering, manufacturing and marketing.

It is not about local talent. It is about a huge capital investment for high technology automotive industry. Even Tesla still struggles to produce their car at maximum capacity. The giant car company also need to get a partnership for their survival.

Tun M should look what he can do for Proton-Geely alliance. He had a position to do that. Let say, technology transfer, Job recruitment and upgrading skill for a local worker and marketing proton car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
    • Tommy Wonder on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:23 pm

what tesla and elon musk can’t do, tun m can and will do! give him some time!

• No don’t do another national car ,if you want create your car brand pls use your money don’t use our tax

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • Ksatria on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:47 am

We love you Tun, but please, not another protong!

• abdullah on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:48 am

Use your own money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Jojmbul on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:48 am

This old man ego is sky high i tell you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Tommy Wonder on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:22 pm

How dare you utter the truth about our beloved Tun M?!

• Heresy, I tell u! Heresy! How dare u talk bad about Bapak! U must be foot soldier of the old regime!

• Visitor on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:49 am

Sorry Tun, the last thing we need is our revenues (be it from, SST, GST, or whatever taxes) being used for capital for another national car. And certainly, we don’t want another bailout.

We don’t need national cars that cause high tariffs on imported vehicles, we need efficient public transport!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Tun, this plan and project of your will cost more than ECRL & HSR. Malaysian will regret voting you if you go ahead with the project of yours.

You don’t need this project of national car to create jobs. Because of your plan once, we got Proton and repeated mistakes has caused a lot of Malaysian tax payers money.

Why can’t you let Malaysian used foreign cars at a reasonable price?

Don’t be so unfair to us Tun M.

We admire you and at the same time, we can’t forget the troubles which caused the Malaysian from your decision.

Please hear us out. Our opinion should be heard please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Robert Parameswaran S/O Kuppusamy on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:55 am

Aiyo, not another national car. Cukup la Tun.

• Hail Bapak! Saviour of MY! Saviour of national car program!
    https://paultan.org/2017/08/25/tun-m-wants-to-start-another-proton-if-pakatan-wins/

• Hussein on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:08 pm

Don’t forget also Bapak must settle the 1 trillion mess you and your boss left to us.

And once all the clean up clears Malaysia, only then we will be cash rich

• “The official Federal Government debt is RM686.8bil (50.8% of GDP).” – LGE

Now stop reminding me of my poor grasp with numbers!

• yeast lump on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:56 am

Meanwhile UMW is transforming perodua to be fully Malaysian own national automaker soon. Bid farewell to Toyota Daihatsu…

• pengguna proton kecewa on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:57 am

please no!!! oh god please no!!! we don’t want this syok sendiri project. burden to all and especially the buyer…but if rebatch proven japanese model I support (hehehe)

• Alamak on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:58 am

Sorry Tun. A big NO-NO. We have seen enough of proton and where they are heading to. How about start/build a “National House” instead for the needy rakyat especially in a rural areas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • “Our ambition is to start another national car, perhaps with some help from our partners in SEA like Thailand”
    Din we wanted to start an ASEAN car program with Indon? Oh wait, that was oso when Bapak was still Chairman Advisor….

• xoxox on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:00 am

Don’t waste Rakyat $$ la…..

• oh no please… this in my opinion, the Rakyat cannot agree to another Proton.. Perodua is also a national car, no?

Can we settle our own national debt/corruption/mentality first before venturing into another multi-billion project.

• Denfire on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:03 am

Hahaha.. 1MDB is BN political cemetery, so now Tun wanna create another for PH?? A big NONONO

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:05 am

this is the last thing we need dear PM

• Buy any German brand
    Buy French touch
    Buy Japanese made
    Buy buy buy…

Use our local talents to make them becoming our National cars again

Ps. Wait until we can get back our unaccountable overseas fund first

• Awang Rooney on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:10 am

better make biskut national, I will buy it for sure.

• sick&tired on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:12 am

for the love of god there are other more important things to worry about! Malaysia doesn’t have a large enough market to sustain another “national car maker”! And the people are fed up of paying high prices for cars! Haven’t we sacrificed enough!?

• tokmoh. on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:14 am

Dear Tun,

With all due respect, Proton is still a national car, by share ownership, and in operation too.

Geely, is not your typical Chinese car. They are the only big ones that is privately owned, by Chairman Li Shufu. He is a very visionary man, probably as visionary as you.

When they bought Volvo Cars in 2010, Volvo was at its lowest. Years of mismanagement under Ford ownership has made it weak and had a bleak future prospect. But Li Shufu believed in Volvo.

The Swedes were afraid at first. The CEO even had to ask Li Shufu to verbally promise he will protect their jobs in Sweden. Instead, Li Shufu hired a lot more engineers for Volvo in Sweden. Hakan Samuelsson, Volvo Cars CEO has on record said “It’s a very good match because there is respect from both sides. Li is a passionate owner, not that interested in quarterly figures, but the long term strategy in our cars.”

It wasn’t until 2014 they launched an all-new model, the XC90 mk2. Volvo has made record breaking sales and profit for 3 years in a row, coming into 4th this year. All while still maintaining a very Swedish identity, even proudly displaying their flag in their cars.

Just as it takes time for Volvo to transform, so do Proton. The night is darkest just before dawn. And I promise you Tun, Proton will see the dawn. It will ride out of this challenging time. Because Geely believes and invests in Proton. Because Geely sees a future for Proton like they saw in Volvo Cars, not just for a quarter at a time, but many years ahead into the future.

It may seem trivial, but maintaining Swedish identity is no small accident. If ever, it was the defining factor that warms up the Swedish people to work with Geely. This freedom given to them, is one of the key ingredients of Volvo Cars’ success today.

Proton too, will be able to maintain their Malaysian identity. Geely Design’s CEO, Peter Horbury has said that Proton will have it, and he will make sure of it. Playing to everyone’s own strengths is what makes Geely and Volvo successful. And I’m confident, Proton will be too.

FIGHT! FIGHT! AND FIGHT! Proton must and are fighting for its promised future. Fight on, for there is no victory without a fight, there can be miracle when you believe, and the impossible, will be possible! ALL HAIL PROTON! ALL HAIL GEELY!

Thank you, Tun.

Tokmoh
    11th June 2018

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
    • Operation Manager on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:00 pm

FIGHT! FIGHT! AND FIGHT!

Proton in reformation. Lawan tatap Lawan!

• Gomorrah on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:08 pm

Agreed Tokmoh. Volvo is flourishing. The way it is going forward does not satisfy my petrol head tendencies, however the sales statistics speak for themselves. Proton will benefit from whatever Geely can do for them. We do not need another national car project.

• Absolute Rider on Jun 11, 2018 at 6:33 pm

Agree with Tokmoh. I rather get Proton Geely than a NEW – PRO-TIGA! Perusahaan Otomobil National Ketiga

• Pocoyo on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:21 am

That why he dumped SPAD, MRT3, HSR, ECRL so no continuinity for sustainable public transport. He prefers selling more car and increase traffic jammed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • poknik on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:23 am

buat la kalo berani… kita kasi ubah lagi PRU15

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Kruzer on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:24 am

Proton is only 49% owned by Geely. It is still majority 51% Malaysian owned. It is good that Geely is sharing new models with Proton.
    If Geely can revive Volvo, I believe it can also revive Proton.
    We do not wish to have another Kementrian Pemasangan Kereta National. We cannot afford the 200% extra protectionist tax and high car prices

• The consensus on this thread is a definite NO.

I join in thinking this is a very bad idea.

I wish I knew his thought process in thinking this is a good idea, particularly with the history of Proton.

• POTONG on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:41 am

Last time Proton.
    This time call it POTONG.
    Please POTONG the idea of having second national car.
    We have spent far tooooo much money on this project, subsidy here and there, siphon the money now and then , ended up we are paying more and more tax buying non-national cars.

• PetrolHead on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:43 am

Tun Dr Mahathir, Proton was one of your mistakes and led to the Thai automotive industry growing at explosive rates – you are already the father of the Thai automobile industry. Don’t be greedy lah! Just focus on solving our other problems, Perodua is now our national car manufacturer and they are doing very well, thank you!

• Kesian Proton. Once all the current staffs are pinched by Tun to new company, Proton will die naturally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • No problem, Bapak has vast experience in this. Just setup P1 Baru, then transfer all old staffs to this new kompeni, then dissolve old P1, then rename P1 Baru as P1. Tah dah!!

• Hussein on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:01 pm

sounds like 1MDB. With many companies tranfering assets to each other.

Then like this, better call your old boss. He is master in company formation and tranfer of assets.

• But u chose older boss for next 5 years, so too bad for u lor. Meanwhile our national car program 2.0 will flourish with ur taxpayer money. Tenkiu for donating to Tabung Kereta Nasional 2.0. Resit will be provided.

• Cheng Moo on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:50 pm

Haiya still on 1MDB maa… move on la… why everything has to be 1MDB? National car not 1MDB la… aiyooo.. lain topik lain kluar

• Tun, Please don’t, do focus on how to improve current market and make sure more reliable and safe car with best cost price which benefit the people will do.

• Cheapskate guy on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:48 am

As if the tax on import car is not high enough… There it go my Ferrari dream.. Pakatan no harapan.

• Petoron Sagu on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:48 am

Tun…. The 1 trillion debt will take long time to settle. Now u wanna add another shit for us…… Sama la macam abg jibon.

• Carlover on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:48 am

Please Tun, no more for government to undertake this kind of project. Let the private take and do the car thingy. Is enough about national car. Sorry Tun, i have to say no on this idea.

• Entahla beb on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:51 am

Yes! This is what Malaysian should sought to be!

• Sudah-lah on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:55 am

Enough is enough. No more wasting public money on another national car. Enough say here by us Rakyat.

• rchoo on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:56 am

Another National car? Oh no no, Haven’t we suffered enough by supporting a non competitive industry at the expense of tax payers? Government should have no part in business.

• Zainal Abidin on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:58 am

Lets use Rakyat power to convince Tun that this is a bad idea. Any volunteer

• I OBJECT TO THIS.

We need good public transportation. Its ok if we cannot do it now because of our financial situation. But we should not start on a new national car even after the finance improves.

• ss427 on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:01 pm

Come my bolehland friends, I clap for you. Now u see what you’ve got yourself into? still want to treat him as if a saint ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • He might not be a Saint but we have definitely removed a devil.

• kadajawi on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:24 pm

With all due respect, our very capable Minister of Economic will rise to occasion again.

• Tommy Wonder on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:49 pm

he is a saint, hehe.
      apa lagi lu mao, mmg ini macham mah, sapot st. madey.

• We just want CHEAPER CAR as spelled in your manifesto…
    Focus also on the middle income class, as we need some comfortable and safe mid size car/mpv due to number of family members to sit or daily commuting.
    Please
    Sedan- Camry/Accord/Teana/Sonata for under RM100K
    MPV-Innova/Serena/Biante/Wish/Stream for under RM100K

• spock1976 (Member) on Jun 11, 2018 at 7:11 pm

The new govt shd just focus on the existing manifesto. If this new national car plan is not in the manifesto, then why come up with it now.

• Jinggo on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:16 pm

he can do what ever he want.

• Nieko on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:19 pm

Well cant say that i am surprised …

Tun loves cars and liked everything about engineering while he was the chairman at proton but this news seems like he hates Proton now

• NotMyPM on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:26 pm

Why? You are against public transportation and yet willing to spend billions on your pet project.

• baldy on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:28 pm

nope…..say no more. we need cheap tax for import car. =D

• no more accordana and wiralution plz for using the money to buy old crap technology from the japanese , now proton geely is going on the right way ! join them , not fight with them . Najib did a good job only on this selling the proton to them !

• Jimmy on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:42 pm

Bad move.

What is the real purpose?

Could not do well even with a small Proton, what makes you think that this time will be different?

I know, it is either (i) totally tax-free for the first 10 years (2 generations of cars) with Sege-2 at RM18K, or (ii) imposing 500% tax on other cars, including Geely-Proton; with the management from Toyota.

Mr Lim, be careful, don’t be Badawi-2.
    Azmeen, don’t be the fire-stone.

• Bernard on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:44 pm

Oh no not again!!
    The rakyat must object to this.
    Why are we going down this route of pain and suffering to the rakyat?
    Tun please dont do this.

• wawasan2020 on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:46 pm

seriously Tun M.keep this idea for yourself until rest of your life.this will be the next factor for BN to take back their position if you make this happen.please reconsider Tun M.

• zamer on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:46 pm

‘Malaysia aspire’ is not accurate.
    Its Tun’s aspire to be exact.

We don’t need another car brand and we are not going to buy anyway unless price it 10k-20k.

Sometimes i dream to have Mini Cooper for 20k like what UK people enjoying and Volvo XC90 for 50k. Equivalent to 1 Honda City for both here in MY.

• Tommy Wonder on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:47 pm

I fully sapot the idea of starting another national car company. tun m is visionary and i’m sure he’s gonna make malaysia great again.

to make sure the new national company car thrives, the govt must impose higher import duties on foreign car brands. i suggest we start by doubling the current duties on the imported brands.

Hidop Tun!
    Hidop National Car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Hidup Uturn! Hidup P1 2.0! Make MY national car program great again!
      #SayaRinduZamanTunP1KetaBerlambak

• ECOmodepassion on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:53 pm

Please start a petition now!!! We don’t want another round of never ending tax payer’s bail out money to save this “national car” government’s company!!!

• Vic L on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:53 pm

With all due respect, Tun… if you must back somebody, back Perodua. THAT is the pride of our national car brand. But if you MUST spend, please invest in improving our public transportation system. This topic’s the least of our worries and wants leh dai lou.

• rally_fan (Member) on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:43 pm

sorry man.. i cant agree to this as well. perodua doesnt build its own cars.. they are a japanese proxy as far as i’m concerned, and they are doing extremely well and selling lots of affordable cars to malaysians and making tons of money.. they do not need any more help from the Govt. Besides that, they have also been enjoying the same low national car taxes that Proton as been enjoying all this time. Or rather, the japanese *cough have been enjoying it.. just my 2 cents.

• P2 is not national car make but just a national car assembler. P1 oso now follow this culture, deswai we must UBAH and make new P1 again. Time for P1 2.0!

• theDriver on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:55 pm

Nope, a big nope

• Malaysia Baru, pilihan ramai.

Projek kereta nasional : YA!
    Projek pengangkutan awam: TAK BOLEH!

• Malaysiakuhebatt on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:06 pm

Tun..if you use your own money then there will be no problem and should not use a single cent from our tax money. And we will support this. Become a malaysian elon musk..looking forward for your car brand tun m.

• sabahan on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:10 pm

oh no please… i am not proud of having another new malaysia brand car!

• I suggest Paultan start an online poll to allow Rakyat to vote for or against another National Car Project. Can you do that Paultan?

• Rakyat alredi voted for it in GE14. The results r clear as daylight.
      #Apalagimau?

• country needs money, tax will go up on cars..reformasii lol

• Geebs on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:27 pm

Stop using the word ‘malaysia’ or ‘malaysians’ in every of your ridiculous ideas. We still have nightmares from your billions of ringgit bailouts for proton. Don’t you dare to say we malaysians want this, you want to do this, not us. You want to benefit your cronies, not us. Malaysia does not need another rebadged car, built with subpar qualities and sold as a patriotic duty. Just stop it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • MY has voted for it, so they cant say NO now. Just like Brexit.

• Abdul Khatib on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:09 pm

just like how you could not say NO to corruption by the previous regime.

• Ghani on Jun 11, 2018 at 6:23 pm

Which previous regime? You mean the one you people voted back in?

• Faris Ikmal on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:29 pm

Billioaire Malaysia buat lah kilang kereta indipendent spt Kia,Hyundai. Lihat model2 terkini mereka juga terbaik.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:32 pm

Not economically viable. We have failed once, spectacularly some more.

The world has changed since the 80s. Today boutique car manufacturers struggle to survive, many have been bought over, absorbed into big corporations. Sharing resources to reduce costs, something a small manufacturer finds hard to match. Just look at Proton cost per unit vs any big corporations. Malaysia just isn’t big enough to give that break even quantity. Even when Proton was in it’s prime & was exporting all over, the cost was barely manageable but cost per unit still on the high side.

The protectionism policies to protect Proton made Thailand the Detroit of ASEAN. We failed spectacularly again. Today, we can only play the catch up game, not worth it IMHO. Better we look at other things to develop. This car project is soooooo 1980s.

• Yap Gris Som on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:38 pm

Keadilan (PKR), DAP & Amanah, please stop Mahathir NEW national car project – we can’t afford it.

• pls..just pls. Malaysians had enough of Proton’s nightmare and its coffer holes to fill. Pls, just stop it. Enough is enough.

• Mr. Octopus on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:40 pm

It would be better to focus on preparing the country for the future of EV. Most of the country is still under developed so it is easier to get it done from now on. Internal combustion engines will definitely be a thing of the past for local commutes.

• Simon Lee on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:43 pm

Tun, pls dont. we already have one the most high priced vehicles in the world. What we need is cheaper cars. Look at the loan periods, 9 years. Before they can finish paying off, the vehicle is already giving problems.

• Julian Lee on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:49 pm

SUPPORT!!!

• isengard12 on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:52 pm

Nooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!

Tun is always harping on national car. Please do not, for once dream of starting another one. Lest Dr M forget, Proton is still wholly owned by Malaysian, no? Geely only owns 49% of Proton?

Does this news still hold any water?
    https://paultan.org/2017/05/24/geely-to-acquire-49-9-percent-stake-in-proton-51-percent-in-lotus/

• Tun said P1 no longer Msian, so u must belip this. Any other thought is not allowed!

• Abdul Khatib on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:46 pm

We must buy Malaysian handbags also and not buy Birkin handbags. Rm200k each is way too expensive.

• What are you moaning about? We are discussing about national car, not handbags. Did you read the title or are you just doing your job?

• Hes doing his job… as paid PH cybertroll.

• why bising-bising. Our Tun has saved Malaysia from “Bankclubsee”. He is my hero. He is the man with vision, not like you all. I believe his plan to introduce new Malaysian car is good for the people of Malaysia. Since we already have the technology, know how and experience in setting up a car company, why not? Tun should have thought this matter seriously before he said like that. I believe in Tun’s idea and I fully support it. It will be good for Malaysia. Imagine if you can get a car with just RM25,000! isn’t that is what we want? So why oppose? Please lah Malaysian, please support Tun and continue to support him for what ever decisions made. May God Blesses Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • William on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:35 pm

Don’t support blindly.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:36 pm

You are probably old enough to remember the launch of first Saga in 1985. It was RM17,000 but, this was the price of Nissan Sunny 130Y before the import tax & excise duty was revised to protect Proton. After the new taxation, Nissan Sunny 130Y was RM 23,000. To get an idea of how big money was back then, a KFC snack plate was RM4. So without the protectionism taxes, Proton is no cheaper than other brands.

Proton was one of TDM grand plan for industrialisation of Msia. It was suppose to spur other ancillary industries thus driving us towards an industrialised nation, Wawasan 2020. But soooooo many things went wrong along the way. End up the tax payers footed the bill year after year to keep Proton from gulung tikar. Our country just isn’t big enough to have a boutique car manufacturer which in today, isn’t economically viable. Enough is enough. Time to move on. Find another industry to bring us towards the new Wawasan 2025. Something more in line with the 21st century.

• SuperCell on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:13 pm

We need to be producer and the ability to produce something that recognised by the world, a total ownership of our national car not only create jobs and also opportunity for us to progress as better nation and contribute our GDV. Yes, a whole new national car, show that we have the ability to build and compete, not only that we also want to have stake in future car in the world, autonomous car or electric we do have expertise to contribute here. Let start R&D center.

• if he insist a new national car, then by all means hire me as the chief designer ;)

• Sori dude. Crony designer alredi booked that spot. Pls welcome mimos & TuneD

• Abdul Khatib on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:45 pm

In PH got no kroni. But maybe you cna recommend desginer who can make Birkin handbag. Nak beli 284 biji

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Yes i believe tun can make malaysia car better than
    a german car . i hope Tun can hapuskan MRT 1 & 2 .
    and force all people to buy P2 2.0
    HIDUP TUN

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:40 pm

“Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad says that Malaysia has aspirations to start a new national car project”, that does not mean that its a logical and idealistic to put a in place especially now when our Malaysia is in 1 Trillion debt. After you (Tun M have proved to all Malaysians as you told us all the night after swearing in as PM of Malaysia” Your proven track record of being PM and managing our previous financial crisis was done with you leading the way and if you succeed again now with our current 1 Trillion debt able to be cleared out completely”, then you can aspire all you want to start a new national car project or start a new national bike project, this is one for the history books, why not start a new national plane project, sell planes all around the world like Boeing or Airbus.
    All you aspirations can be brought forward and carried out and nobody will question your motifs. So if your in a hurry to get this new national car project of the ground asap, please clear our national debt of 1 Trillion as soon as possible to Zero debt. All Malaysians will welcome and not questions at all any aspirations you might come up down the road. Until such time, its okay to announce your aspirations Dear Tun M but do concentrate of the most critical items to be salvage and make Malaysia great again.
    Its understandable you may feel powerful again at your age and the whole world watching and sometimes it clouds one’s judgement but am sure you will hear the voices of Malaysian people and do the right as we put you there again and we can now easily remove you too but lets not go down that road, as you clearly mention its an aspiration, so I hope you as well know, not all aspirations come true and with the proven track record of PROTON, am sure you too can learn from that aspiration you had long time ago, that it was not the right one for Malaysia. Hear us Tun M, your a reasonable person at your current age and end of the day your legacy is already sealed in the history books, don’t turn it around with power and greed, Greed is good but too much corrupts the mind and its bound for failure.

• Cheung on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:57 pm

Sapot wei sapot2…. cepat2 mali2 sapot2

• henry on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:02 pm

The intention is good. Create job opportunity, increase competitiveness of our country in automotive industry and a local made product that Malaysians can be proud of. HOWEVER, Malaysia has a real bad record of doing this. Just recall how much Rakyat’s money has been wasted in Proton. This painful history has told us that it’s not easy to be successful in this and if we going to use the same way to venture in this, eventually these money will just go into drain. Please be more thoughtful in making this decision.

• Sparcov on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:03 pm

Think from the bright side.

Create car, will bring investor and technology transfer. Will create spin off effect by create more opportunity to make components and parts.

Good parts, can be exported out and support other OEM, also create business for the shipping and logistic company.

Based on the above, you will create more job for the local people and train the skill.

By preventing more good car maker sell their car here will prevent outfolow of currency.

This is a ultimate good move.

But, please give us an equivalent National Car that similar to what Japan national car standard.

• Having Proton, Perodua and other non-national car manufacturers invested in Malaysia is more than good enough. No need to spend rakyat’s money on another national car project which only enrich few cronies.

• Sparcov on Jun 12, 2018 at 8:25 am

Please do not think that without national car, the car price will drop. No such thing and we can continue dream on. this is the biggest tax revenue for the country.

It doesn’t really matter whether there is a national car or not. if the third national car can be as good as perodua or better, why not? I don’t see people criticized perodua.

Proton failure is not at its concept or idea. Proton failures is mis-managed and design something they think is correct without looking at the bigger market needs. When there is a big hole, it continue deepen.

i don’t really see anyone complain about Proton Saga or Wira in terms of reliability? but from year 2000 onwards, every single product being criticized.

• Who said the car price will drop even without national car> But then again, the price increase was solely due to higher tax impose during the national car introduction into the market earlier.
          You did not see anyone complaining about Saga and Wira before coz most of us did not have any internet connection and access to blogs at all back in the 90s.

• Musang on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:13 pm

Sudaaa..laaa tok det…buka laa pasaran negara..ambik cth thailand gan indo..takyah ada national car..dh jadi Detroit of asia…takyah guna alasan peluang pekerjaan dh..cukup..rakyat dh buka mata..cukup dh nk beban rakyat paksa rakyat pakai keta national dan bayar keta import 200% tax…

• Myocho Kan on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:18 pm

Tun’s aspiration is more than just building cars. If anyone sees beyond as what he sees, we know automotive technology is just a stepping stone to advancement. It’s call innovation and technological difussion. Without the 5 pillars of national industrialisation, a country cannot be reckoned with. In fact, many countries are moving into the 6th pillar of industrialisation, and Malaysia barely command two or three at the max!

• Brian May on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:25 pm

I am in full sapot on dis idea.
    we need a national car brand to make us all proud.
    it’s time to make malaysia great again!

• William on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:33 pm

OMG NOT AGAIN. I DON’T THINK THIS IS A GOOD IDEA.

• good visionary, unfortunately, i dont think Malaysia is ready for it, in terms of open market, policies, talents and resources.

Furthermore, we have got 2 national car companies, are we still able to absorb another 1?

unless you can justify, else please always remember the mistakes in the past.

• Yay lets build more national cars. No more public transport. Najib was soooo wrong and bad. Trains are bad. Cars yay. Tun M super yay! Everything he does is right!!

• Hakim on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:56 pm

I think he should go for the eco tech route for the new national project. It’s a good investment for the country. Something like Tesla

• It will be another unqualified disaster. Malaysians want cheaper cars that’s all. Sack everyone at P1 now. Do not create a new cash gobbling monster.

• Ha3. If dr M sees the comments in PT, he will back off. If he still put forward this idea once he comes back, somebody is still is going to throw shoes at him. He should have said this before may 9. Then easy for us to thumbs down. Ku Li said this dr never change.

• Usin Kangkong on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:10 pm

Better make a new transparent Malaysian company to better develop Malaysian’s alternative public transport system lhoe

• When Tun talks about developing a new national car while he is Japan, i suddenly have a theory of what could have been discussed between the two nations during this visit – Who knows maybe Malaysia to co-develop a new national car around the FUEL CELL platform?.

– Japanese government is pushing hard for the adoption of fuel cell technology domestically and internationally by giving out large financial incentives and royalty-free technology transfers. As mentioned by Tun in his previous speeches, he is seeking FDIs that will provide us a high-tech technology transfers that can boost our local technical know-how. Imagine Malaysia being the first nation in ASEANto have this? (something that bodes well with Tun who likes being the first/no.1)

-Fuel cells are powered by hydrogen-gas. Malaysia has large deposits of natural gas and vast network of natural gas refinery centres around Malaysia. This will in-turn make the scaling of the hydrogen gas infrastructure more competitive as compared to other ASEAN countries. Ultimately providing a boost to our local O&G industries.

• Who berak on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:25 pm

If Malaysia were to make another national car,I hope it would be a solar powered one with phev. It would be a shame not to make full use of our sunny weather

• Mat nawi on Jun 11, 2018 at 5:12 pm

Please don’t Tun. Enough for the first and last ‘Proton’ . Our nation already lost lot of money, please do not add more lost with another national car project. It will also make another car brand price hike due to protect the national car. Please forget it your idea, Tun.

• omg omg on Jun 11, 2018 at 5:31 pm

omg omg..not again. We don’t need another proton 2.0. car industry is low margin industry especially people car.

• Zabesh on Jun 11, 2018 at 6:11 pm

He’s just testing the water to see how big the opposing waves.

• The what if tak jadi? Uturn again? Oh, but thats to be expected from kerajaan Uturn.

• Sharon on Jun 11, 2018 at 6:41 pm

Better use the money for other developments, more money for Sarawak to develop and use the money to install AES in Kuching city as many reckless drivers around here.

Malaysian no need PRO-TIGA, as many Malaysian still working in Proton, and with Geely, Malaysian can learn faster and more the know how in automotive world.

• pakmattempey on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:43 pm

I sapot you, uTurn M.. the cronies are waiting to screw up Pro-Tiga again…

• moretax4me on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:55 pm

I think tun is showing his true intention now…by cancelling most public transport projects to force people to buy his proton 2.0… whilst increasing duty/taxes to protect proton 2.0.

In order to abolish tolls, the only way for gomen to increase income is by raising duty/taxes from non-national car sales. No tolls=high car prices will be the new policy I guess. Next logical move is by introducing more taxes i.e. based on carbon emission, import cars, city entry etc. as an excuse to force people to buy national cars which most people won’t do btw (because of brand loyalty).

For this scheme to work…proton 2.0 will be dirt cheap, low quality, non efficient, not safe so as to discourage most people from buying national cars. Thus making them happy to pay extra duty/taxes for imported cars.

• Same L0rr on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:52 pm

It not malaysia. It just you old man

• PH supporter on Jun 12, 2018 at 1:15 am

if want another national car, i do not support national car 2.0, unless its a solar car/ electric car or futuristic car only, if gasoline/petrol/diesel, forget about it

• AliBarBar on Jun 12, 2018 at 9:06 am

Wash, rinse, repeat..lol. Better scrap that idea la Boss. MRT pon blm habis lagi..

• malaysia does not have many expertise in the industry.
    malaysia does not have and own the technology to survive the industry alone.
    malaysia does not have a system that can build up the new car company.
    we need more than one company to build our national car maker. culture, education, mindset, infrastructure.. all these are yet to exist in malaysia.

• ..as a foreigner who lives here for past 15 years, i have grow to love this country very much..in my humble opinion, i think what is needed in Malaysia is, better transport system, lower taxes, health care, social security and education. This will greatly benefit Malaysia people, and this should be a point of interest. At this point, maybe lowering import tax is good idea if we talk about cars. Once things are stable with mentioned suggestions, national car may be a game to play. Now? I believe it is wrong path to take. Take care of yourself all of you. Luv ya.

• Dino Bravo on Jun 14, 2018 at 3:36 pm

No need new national car company:
    1) Already too many players
    2) Malaysian market is small
    3) Malaysia automotive engineers are already good
    4) There should not be preferential treatment
    5) Car price in Malaysia should be reduced. In the west, people only take few years loan, not 9 years.

• Government should not be involved in business. They should focus on improving the bussiness if government. Most of our problems have arisen because governments distort the market and start competing withe the private sector knowing that if they fail the rakyat will foot the bill