Special number plates cost government nearly RM20 million in lost revenue for each series – Loke

The government’s decision to halt the practice of allowing non-governmental organisations to sell special number plates is to ensure that revenue goes into the right stream, according to transport minister Anthony Loke. He said that the losses incurred with the practice was difficult to ascertain.

“It is difficult for me to estimate the leakages. A successful NGO would only have to pay the government RM1 million to get the plate, but the resale value could be roughly RM20 million per plate, so that itself is a huge loss of revenue to the government,” he said in an interview with The Star.

Responding to transportation-related questions in the interview, Loke said that despite the cancellation of the MRT3 project, the government was still committed to public transport, and that there will be continued development on that front even if there was a new national car in the mix.

“The new national car project will be further communicated by the prime minister. As far as the ministry is concerned, we are still committed to public transport. I don’t see it as a zero-sum game, in that if there is a national car we will not invest in public transport,” he explained.

“Although the government has cancelled MRT3 for now, we still want to increase connectivity with the MRT1 and MRT2. We need to invest more on public transport, and the MRT must be integrated with the transit bus system for better service areas near the stations,” he added.

Loke said that the government hopes to address the lack of seamless public transport beyond the Klang Valley, stating that the more practical method of improving service in these areas will be by having more buses on the road. He added that he is planning a complete review of the country’s public transport system to find appropriate solutions.

As for the East Coast Rail Link (ECRL), he said that a decision should be made soon on whether the project would continue or be deferred. “The ECRL is still subject to review, with the economic affairs ministry looking into it. There is no final decision as yet, as they are still looking at factors like cost and other implications. As of now, we just have to wait for the review. I’m not sure how long it will take but a decision should be announced soon,” he explained.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Brylcreem on Jun 19, 2018 at 12:21 pm

Fuuyuhh… Easy money for those unregulated NGOs dan Yayasan. GTR, GG, SAM, K1M, T1M, A1M, US, SMS, NBOS, NAAM, VIP, G, GT, U, Y, X, PERFECT dan PATRIOT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Not Toyota Fan on Jun 19, 2018 at 3:17 pm

Songlap, jangan tak Songlap. Cronies laughing to the bank.

• According to previous PM, Donations to mah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • But in current gov, donations is considered haram wei, unless its to them. I better ask the beggar for resit, otherwise both us will see lokap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
        • Stop using other’s nick, you have brain to make one yourself

• Pls study n consider resume back possible for W series plate ending with an alphabet in KL. Last it stopped at WDxxxxF, and it replace with V. Tqvm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Money machine on Jun 19, 2018 at 1:01 pm

It’s just too long that’s why people don’t want to bid so less revenue generated. Then they came up with V and F. Don’t think he’ll revive it looking at his earlier statements.

• Conspicuously, special number plate series were introduced almost every week right before PRU14. Fund raising in full swing.

Terengganu RM130m development funds meant for the people were also depleted within 4 months by the past govt before the election.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Do u even know who they raised the fund for with these special plates? Hint: its definitely not for a gov desperado to make money.

Maybe shud elect Loki as FM instead. Everytime he talks, its about another money making scheme for his gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • ongtk on Jun 19, 2018 at 5:13 pm

I was informed they discontinued the WXXXA number plate because our traffic police often missed the end alphabet and many car owners were erroneously issued summonses.

• No duh! Becoz the proceeds went for donations to NGOs. Gov then wasnt desperado for money unlike urs. Tell us something we dun know, Loki.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 32
    • pls don say anything bad about pakatun gomen.. or else.. all pakatuns will come out and tibai u lor.. everything pakatun gomen do.. all sooo good.. so niceee… they fart oso smell like bubblegum lor.. :).. new national car project hahahahahahahha best idea in the world.. lick ass power la Loke.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
  • Sabri Tahir on Jun 19, 2018 at 12:43 pm

ha ha ha ha. Even here also got leakages….oh wai!

Old Government full of dedak wei

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • New Gov dedak even more, but they call it as Insentif now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 25
      • Amran on Jun 19, 2018 at 3:48 pm

Pray before you are prayed upon john. Memfitnah berdosa, lebih kejam dari membunuh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
        • S.Ibrahim on Jun 19, 2018 at 5:11 pm

Tapi hang tu menfitnah setiap hari takpe ke? Renung-renunglah di bulan Syawal.

• Ghani on Jun 19, 2018 at 5:27 pm

Spewing lies after lies, especially during Syawal is not the Malay way. Despite your name, I doubt that you’re Malay, more likely a nons PH paid trooper.

• karam singh on Jun 19, 2018 at 8:36 pm

john is malay,
            amran is not malay,
            i am red indian lol.

• Singh comes from India no? So probably bro Ghani was right that PH troll is just using a Malay name to tipu reader, yes?

• BN troll is just using a john name to tipu reader, yes?

• Pls reflect on ur actions lah. Alredi got told off by bro haha above for hijacking his nick.
          Tahniah, U alredi infemes memfitnah lor.

• “the more practical method of improving service in these areas will be by having more buses”
    And what is Lokis idea of ‘having more buses’ on the road? Buying more buses is simple no brain job, what about hiring and retaining drivers? Why nobody dare ask him that Q?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • R. Ooi on Jun 19, 2018 at 6:54 pm

Just take note…more buses on the road equals more pollution as buses use diesel….unless natural gas is used.
    Please give this some thought.

• Nasi Branie Man on Jun 19, 2018 at 6:59 pm

Malaysian are becoming materialistic….even plastic plates with numbers….

• Chancellor Ariane Raise on Jun 20, 2018 at 10:36 am

Issuance of “Vanity plate” is good to generate extra revenue for nation, but provided its regulated and standardised. Maybe MOT should emulate sop of common and personalised vehicle registration plates of Germany. All plates must have tempered proof seal and clearly readable by naked eyes as well as optical readers and traffic cameras.

• Eyesore on Jun 20, 2018 at 11:13 am

“we still want to increase connectivity with the MRT1 and MRT2”

Hello Loki, u want to increase connectivity with MRT1 & 2, U have to proceed with the MRT3. MRT3 is the core part of the system that will complete the loop of MRT system and making it more effective. U stopped MRT3 project and u want to increase connectivity using bus etc? with traffic jams etc, it is NOT effective at all! MRT system are suppose to assist in reducing the congestion around its coverage.

Duh!

• Please look into public transportation in East Malaysia too. The system may be insufficient in Peninsular Malaysia, it is practically non-existent in East Malaysia. Population in Kuching city may be lower, but the level of traffic jams due to car ownership is almost on par with most Peninsular cities

• MOT should ban the usage of “tayar celup” by truck and bus in Malaysia. Very very dangerous to other vehicles once it was raptured.