Genesis, Kia and Hyundai top J.D Power quality study

Global market research firm J.D Power has released the results for its 2018 Initial Quality Study (IQS), a US-based survey which measures initial car quality by the number of problems experienced per 100 vehicles (PP100) during the first 90 days of ownership.

This year, the survey found that initial quality has improved generally, and the new industry average score is 93 PP100 – a four point improvement than in 2017 (97 PP100). Since it’s a study measuring number of problems per sample size, the lower the score, the higher the quality.

Interestingly, the Genesis brand ranked highest in overall initial quality with a score of 68. Kia comes in second with 72 and Hyundai in third with 74. This is the first time in US history that three Korean brands are at the top of the overall ranking, and it is the fourth consecutive year that Kia is the highest-ranking mass market brand.

Porsche and Ford took fourth and fifth with 79 and 81 respectively. Towards the bottom of the list are Mitsubishi (111), Subaru (115) and Volvo (122), whereas Jaguar and Land Rover come in last with a score of 148 and 160 respectively. Click on the scoring chart below to see the full list.

The study also found Mazda to be the most-improved brand, with owners reporting 25 PP100 fewer problems than in 2017. Other brands with strong improvements include Mitsubishi (20 PP100 improvement), Cadillac (15 PP100 improvement), Infiniti (15 PP100 improvement), Hyundai (14 PP100 improvement) and Lexus (14 PP100 improvement).

There’s also the plant quality awards category, in which scoring parameters are based solely on defects and malfunctions and exclude design-related problems. Toyota’s Yoshiwara plant in Japan, which produces the Lexus LX and Toyota Land Cruiser, received the platinum plant quality award for producing models with the fewest defects or malfunctions.

Toyota Cambridge North plant (produces the Toyota Corolla) and Georgetown 3 plant (produces the Lexus ES) in Canada each receive the gold plant quality award in a tie for the Americas region. Meanwhile, BMW Group’s Dingolfing 02 plant in Germany, which produces the BMW 6 Series and BMW 7 Series, received the gold award for the Europe/Africa region.

The J.D Power IQS study is based on responses from 75,712 purchasers and lessees of new 2018 model-year vehicles who were surveyed after 90 days of ownership. The study, which was conducted from February to May 2018, was based on a 233-question battery organised into eight vehicle categories. Now, do you find the results surprising? What do you think? Let us know, below!

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Kelvin on Jun 21, 2018 at 2:39 pm

I am laughing at this USA J D Power survey placing all the American junk nameplates such as ford , Chevrolet ,RAm, Lincoln ,Cadillac as above average less problems. WHAT A JOKE and biased findings .

Because Buick was ship from China after assembly .American place built got more problems

Frankly , J D power UK report is more accurate and not biased . They placed Buick to have less problems than Chevrolet , Ford , jeep

Two sets of J D Power findings.

I thing J D power USA 2018 report is biased and bull shitting all the way.

Please do not publish this sort of nonsense JD power USA articles in paultan.org anymore.

Just pure bull ahit from USA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
    • Daebak! Koreans have punch above its weight.
      Best time for NAZA to rebadge the all new Kia Carens to Naza Citra.

• VW Good Quality on Jun 22, 2018 at 9:22 am

Look at Audi and VW. They are far ahead of BMW and Merc. I’m very very impressed with the result.

• Ex-VGM staff on Jun 22, 2018 at 11:04 am

This study the first 90 days of ownership. Lets see from the 91 day onwards…Lulz.

• Are you sure? on Jun 21, 2018 at 10:01 pm

Eh, JD Power UK placed BMW at the bottom with almost 200PP100. Well below local brands like Vauxhall and Jaguar. Heck, even Land Rover fared slightly better than BMW. So, do you believe the fabled ‘Teutonic quality’ or will just say JD Power UK is bullshitting too?

• honda fan detected

• Mikey on Jun 21, 2018 at 3:01 pm

Seriously, can anyone take the first 90 days of ownership as the benchmark to do a quality study!!

That should be no defects in the first place bcos it has gone through rigorous R&D, testing & checking B4 delivering to it’s owner.

I think JD Power should do a study on vehicles that is 5 to 10 years old where it tells the true cost & quality of ownership. What say you guys?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Ollie on Jun 21, 2018 at 4:55 pm

I agree, however if defects show up within first 90 days its a clear indicator of shortfalls in QC and manufacturing process which should become worse in 900 days. Ask any Kia/Hyun car buyer in the last 8 years on long-term issues with their cars, and I can assure very few will tell you there are any problems. Since 2014, Hyundai 6-spd transmissions are service-free. The engines use timing-chain since ages ago and no issues too. Durability is equal or better than any Japanese brand, and with the extra specs at same or lower price, the value prop is much better.

• At the same time, most BMW owners will be amazed it’s ranked so high. For every 1 that says no problem, you know there are 5 that has sent their car to workshop for repairs even not long after buying. Any ex-BMW owners can attest?

• Nama pon initial quality study

• Proton clowns will as you not to believe this report because Volvo is at the bottom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Jepunis fans r in disbelip becoz Toyota lord is at bottom half the of the list. Later they claim JD dah kena deadak.

• yawnz on Jun 22, 2018 at 4:58 pm

In USA, pipu buy basher-claimed-22k-camry because it is cheap, not because it is good.

• LOL. Look at Honda. Jaguh Kampung Jepun here in Malaysia but in reality quality sux like hell. All blinded as usual by brand image. Foolish indeed.

• Dong gor on Jun 24, 2018 at 1:20 pm

Ttm continue to ride your kap Chai. When get ur first car only testify here.

• Im driving optima k5 more than 5years. Its really reliable and durable brand.

• redknapp on Jun 23, 2018 at 6:47 pm

i’m still driving my 2012 K5 with 209,000km milleage. No major problem so far

• Holofanboi on Jun 25, 2018 at 12:49 pm

Jeezus how much do you monsters drive anyway? My work entails visiting timberlands across Malaysia on a regular basis and my 2013 only managed 110k km!