VIDEO: G02 BMW X4 reviewed in South Carolina, US

The G02-generation BMW X4 follows in the footsteps of its F26 predecessor in offering a more compact SAC (sports activity coupe) model to sit alongside the more conventionally styled BMW X3.

This adopts the new BMW family face which features the new, larger dual kidney grille, flanked by trapezoidal headlights. Along the sides, the G02 X4 wears the tell-tale ‘hockey stick’ of current BMWs such as the G11/12 7 Series and the G30 5 Series, a motif here implied on the X4 by a quarter panel and mid-door crease line.

Powertrain options we sampled included the 3.0 litre inline-six turbodiesel in the xDrive M40d and the 2.0 litre inline-four turbo petrol in xDrive 30i guise – it is the latter which we are most likely to receive in Malaysia, and so it is the one we are focusing on here. Slight shame that the former is far less likely to make it here though, as it is quite an impressive diesel.

Outputs of 252 hp and 350 Nm of torque from the now-commonplace 2.0 litre petrol engine are channeled to all fours via an eight-speed automatic gearbox, housed in a bodyshell that has grown in most exterior dimensions relative to its F26 predecessor.

How does it all translate for technological underpinnings of the X3, dressed in a sleeker roofline? Watch the video above to find out, and read our written drive impressions here.

GALLERY: G02 BMW X4 driven in South Carolina, US

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Noorul on Jul 05, 2018 at 12:23 pm

Mick is so hawt & cute. Homaigad❤❤❤

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • Ravind on Jul 05, 2018 at 2:06 pm

Ummm… Mercedes rear anyone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Mikey on Jul 05, 2018 at 2:51 pm

The truth is I’m a bit jealous bcoz Mick Chan get to travel to good old South Carolina US to sample a left hand drive BMW X4 & most of his expenses are paid for while I have to fork out from my own pocket.
    Dammit, it’s good to be a PT journalist. Am sure john is dying to land a job like this. Hehehe, cheers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • I travel at my companys expense, err so?

• Mikey on Jul 06, 2018 at 8:26 am

But you’re not a PT journalist hence U have miss the point.

• Ur point has no meaning. I dun need to join PT to travel cuz my current company is quite capable to do that.

• rainbowguy on Jul 05, 2018 at 3:22 pm

omg who is this Mick ?!! such a hot daddy :p~~~~ *drool*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • BowArrow(Mr.SFA) on Jul 05, 2018 at 6:59 pm

That headlights such a sore eyes….