Proton delivered 6,173 cars in June 2018 – 50% growth

Proton ended the month of June 2018 by delivering 6,173 cars to customers, which represented a 50% increase from May. The bump in sales also saw the company’s market share reached 9.6% of total industry volume (TIV) for the month compared to 9.5% previously.

According to Proton, the encouraging results were due to customers taking advantage of the current “tax holiday” and its recent Raya promotion. The Saga and Persona continue to be favoured by car buyers, with the entry-level sedan accounting for nearly 3,000 units sold.

“Proton had its best sales month for 2018 in June, proving that Malaysians continue to find the current range of Proton cars attractive thanks to the range of features that have been engineered into each model,” said Abdul Rashid Musa, CEO of Proton Edar.

“The attractive promotional offers we had, zero-rated GST price and an overall improvement in the quality of our cars helped to boost sales, which we are hopeful of carrying over for the remainder of 2018,” he added.

The national carmaker was the first company to support Tabung Harapan Malaysia, pledging to donate RM10 for every vehicle purchased from June 1 until the end of 2018. Following the first month of the initiative, a sum of RM61,730 has been collected.

“Proton is proud that we have managed to earmark over RM61,000 for Tabung Harapan Malaysia in just the first month of our contribution initiative. It is our intention to sell even more cars for the rest of the year so as to contribute as much as possible to the fund that will eventually benefit all Malaysians,” explained Rashid.

Aside from sales, Proton is continuing its efforts to improve the overall experience customers have with the brand ahead of the launch of brand’s first SUV. A prototype of the Geely Boyue-based model was recently driven by prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

“We are happy that the prime minister of Malaysia, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, approves of our efforts with Geely. This confirms that Proton are on the right track and now that pre-production of the SUV has commenced we will soon begin our media and customer previews to build momentum ahead of the actual launch,” said Rashid.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ruslan Bahari on Jul 06, 2018 at 5:20 pm

Its a good sign that despite the many choices that consumers have with the current zero GST deal, PROTON can sell more than 6000 units. Kudos!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Thank you Tun Mahathir on Jul 06, 2018 at 7:22 pm

“We are happy that the prime minister of Malaysia, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, approves of our efforts with Geely. This confirms that Proton are on the right track and now that pre-production of the SUV has commenced we will soon begin our media and customer previews to build momentum ahead of the actual launch,” said Rashid.

Terimakasih Tun. You are the best. We love Proton and we love Boyue!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • YB Albert on Jul 06, 2018 at 7:43 pm

Proton seemingly is going uphill due to the tax holidays…till merdeka.
        Well,we should not pour cold water.
        I wonder if Dr.Li Chun Rong can bring in their Volvorised engines to replaced the current ancient campro engines.
        The rakyat do not prefer the campro engines.They expect a newer engine.This way forward,perhaps proton can rise from the ashes.
        You cant depend on Boyue to jack up sales by 50 percent when the SST kicks in .
        Still long way to go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • Rajoo Selvam on Jul 06, 2018 at 9:34 pm

I pity the bashers who bash Tun. Now, we all love Tun and can see all the good he has done for the country and Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 23
        • Abdul Ghani on Jul 06, 2018 at 9:40 pm

Dr Li has turned around Proton in 6 months what local CEOs could not do in 20 years.

And local CEOs were paid 6 figure salary per month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
        • Tido oh Tido on Jul 07, 2018 at 11:08 am

Typical GLC mentality, first month good sales, brag about it and go and buy a big house and big car immediately despite past few years sales are bad.

• tokmoh. on Jul 08, 2018 at 8:04 am

Geely and Volvo have good relationship with Aisin, who had supplied the gearbox in Volvo Drive-E powertrains, and in Geely models.

Geely supplying latest powertrains had been on the card since the day Geely bought Proton. With the latest Euro 6 rated powertrains, they are modern and fuel efficient.

• meteoronic on Jul 09, 2018 at 1:07 pm

P1 should go for Aisin gb than Punch.

• Rashid Maamor on Jul 09, 2018 at 8:34 am

sick and tired of fake news from john in this site. Hope he berambus

• kingslayer on Jul 09, 2018 at 9:08 am

if Tun approved the track Proton on now, it seems previous Gov did a great job looking forward reviving Proton.

Long gone ‘Proton being sold to China mantra’. Good job Proton. Thank you Tun for open up to new economic ways.

• Kuinosan on Jul 06, 2018 at 5:25 pm

Celebrated new bright dawn in May, seemed like it was just yesterday. Damm astonishing performance, Proton change for good. Tahniah P1 kebanggaan MY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • John Duped on Jul 06, 2018 at 9:31 pm

Buy first, regret later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
    • Nasser on Jul 06, 2018 at 9:51 pm

May 9th has brought a lot of changes to the country and also to Proton. A new dawn for Malaysia and a new dawn for Proton

Keep up the good work Proton, we are all behind you and behind Tun.

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Jul 07, 2018 at 11:36 pm

Furthermore with this tax holiday and raya promotion, now we can get a brand new 1.6 liter sedan from as low as RM39k which is real value for money (previous Saga 1.6 liter manual also cost that same, but with limited 400 units for public with only red as color choice, somemore with kosong b-line spec).

• To the basher: HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 53
    • Meanwhile Toyota got -68% waterfall sales. Jepunis overlord bila nak ubah?

• Lolproton on Jul 06, 2018 at 7:11 pm

Dont get ur hope high. They forecast their own production down to less than half on september

• Thank you Tun Mahathir on Jul 06, 2018 at 7:24 pm

john, you do know that ALL car manufacturers had super high sales for Raya and GST FREE period!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • One minus one is zero on Jul 06, 2018 at 9:03 pm

After Sept… below 3000 units … Zero sum game …esp more so for Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • After Sept is Oct when Boyue launches. A 2nd wind behind its sales. Just in time too. Hahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
          • Rashid on Jul 09, 2018 at 8:36 am

In October, Boyue will due well because Tun is now Captain of Proton ship

• Lokman Saad on Jul 07, 2018 at 11:00 am

John, bodoh tu tolong simpan sikit ye

• Daryl Goh on Jul 07, 2018 at 11:06 am

I hope PT ban fake john and his fake news here

• Taufik on Jul 07, 2018 at 3:03 pm

ignore John the troll, he is an attention seeker. Probably a school boy.

• LatukBandaraya on Jul 06, 2018 at 7:25 pm

Credits to CEO Dr.Li deserved a Datukship.

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 06, 2018 at 9:30 pm

john, were you laughing like this on May 9th? Because all of us were.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
      • They and everybody else. So whats the difference? It means Proton still has loyal customers despite not having any new models recently.

• 12yrsold john on Jul 09, 2018 at 10:48 am

It means there is always a market for cheaper car like Saga without the expensive additions like side-skirts & spoilers.

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Jul 06, 2018 at 7:28 pm

real bodoh always talking about non car topics. This is a car blog and not a play pen or a pig pen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Abdul Ghani on Jul 06, 2018 at 9:36 pm

I don’t know why john cannot give constructive criticisms on motoring matters. All the time attacking PH, Tun or commentators here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        • Damon Lee on Jul 06, 2018 at 11:13 pm

john gave constructive criticism but you noobs were too dumb to catch it and instead whacked his comments like a kid crying for mommy. Grow up you fools.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
      • Dr Strange on Jul 06, 2018 at 11:29 pm

Hmm, a strange case of a took calling others a fool. Indeed the subject condemns others of exactly what he is perpetrating. Strange indeed.

As if the subject’s reality have been altered to an extend that he can no longer tell what is fantasy and what is reality. The subject displays all related symptoms of Reality Disassociate Disorder (note to self: Really Dumb Dungu lol). This is the 2nd case this week to appear in my office, it’s strange and appears to be infectious.

The subject would require further head examinations and prognosis for his delirium.

• I read about you, and the utter irony that’s coming from you. Like seriously, this is a car blog so you can take your politics and shove it where the sun never shines.

• Proton kuda sangat lah…

• OMG, Perodua must be peeing in their pants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 06, 2018 at 6:42 pm

Thanks all patriotic undying Malaysian support & wisdom for change to a better Proton.

• Shukor Majid on Jul 06, 2018 at 7:10 pm

Proton is going to do well now and long live Boyue!!!

• No proton no basher on Jul 07, 2018 at 8:11 am

Perodua has been peeying since new Myvi come out

• What?? on Jul 06, 2018 at 6:12 pm

The first few Proton SUVs will be previewed by the media and displayed to the public later this month. Hopefully there will be reviews coming up by the end of July.

Best of luck for Proton in the coming months!! Wishing 7,000 or more sales from now onwards!

• Kudos to proton for increasing sales volume. Hope that a positve sign in future

• This is a positive sign that our country is moving in the right direction. Dun be like the past where corruption reigns and the rakyat suffer.

• tokmoh. on Jul 06, 2018 at 6:56 pm

Syukur, rakyat has made the right choice.

Proton, Geely > all

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 06, 2018 at 7:16 pm

Thank you Geely for making Proton and Malaysia a success

• We need to thank Tun for giving 0% GST. Proton needs to thank them too.

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 06, 2018 at 9:31 pm

Yes you are right. O% GST has already reduced 97% of all things, according to a survey.

Thank you Tun for helping Malaysians save money

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Jul 06, 2018 at 10:37 pm

@tokmoh. Since you currently driving an Iriz and also test drove new Myvi before, perhaps you can list down detail and convenience features and between both car models so that potential buyers (those under category looking for b-segment hatchback with rm50k budget) are able to make detailed comparison.

• tokmoh. on Jul 07, 2018 at 10:06 pm

I can only compare Iriz 1.6L Premium refined vs Myvi 1.5 Adv.

1. Iriz has better seats, full bench length for better thigh support, and Volvo-ish headrest makes it feels more comfy for head to rest on.

Myvi may be more spacious but bench not as full length makes it feel a liiittle less comfy vs Iriz.

2. My own is 1.3L pre-refined which is shit lel. I have never driven new refined Iriz 1.3 version, only 1.6 Premium. The powertrain is much better now, much more predictable with less throttle lag, zero jerk unlike pre-refined, more soundproofing, new 3 point mounting reduced vibration sometimes felt at idle in pre-refined version. I genuinely have zero complaint. I actually like it second best after Honda City/Jazz powertrain in this segment.

Myvi i only test drove 1.5 Adv. It feels very eco biased, a little laggy and lazy to rev, but I’m seeing good fc reported by owners in fb pages. It is still easy to predict and drive, and it’s very smooth despite being 4-speed.

3. Iriz has more cupholders around, even teh tarik hook near passenger side glove box is pretty handy. USB-port can be up to 3, and they seem to be in sturdier place in centre console. Boot a little small, but still can fit in medium luggage.

Myvi no cupholders in front centre console, kek. Many owners report broken USB-port at side of driver’s seat, so handle it with care. Boot bigger, but still not sedan size.

4. Iriz has stronger body, some part have Ultra High Strength Steel (UHSS) Hot Pressed Forming (HPF) with rigidity strength of about 1,500MPa. Iriz has speed sensor, so it can autolock once you move over 20-ish km/h or beyond a few hundred metres if below such speed. It used to have auto-up power window, implying it had anti-trap safety, but auto-up was removed in refined version, so not sure if anti-trap goes out with it.

Myvi uses more High Strength Steel (HSS), Perodua never quoted its strength, but if similar as Bezza, they quoted before a rigidity strength of 590MPa, nearly 1/3rd of Iriz’s HPF. Myvi scored better in NCAP, but some believe due to its lighter overall kerb weight. Iriz’s heavier weight (and stiffer rigidity) may narrow the momentum gap when in collision with bigger vehicle. There have been fatal accidents with new Myvi, the condition puts question mark on how rigid the body actually is. There were more bizzare accidents with Iriz yet the occupants were saved and can be credited to HPF protecting them effectively. Myvi lacks autolock due to missing speed sensor, though many sell plug-and-play module, I don’t recommend them for fear they may not auto unlock in an emergency. Myvi has auto-up for driver, so it should have anti-trap sensor.

Myvi has seat belt reminder for all, but i read the rear seats don’t use weight sensor to detect and buzz if passengers are unbuckled. 1.5 Adv has Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB), but it is very basic, works up to 30km/h and you’d need to be very close for it to intervene. Still, something than nothing.

5. Both have full service schedule displayed on their website. Last i checked, total cumulative service cost for first 5 years/100k km is very close between these 2 cars, about rm3k-ish.

Myvi has Eco-idle making it require special start-stop battery that is more expensive. Also it uses full LED headlamp which can cost rm1k each to replace if you carelessly or unluckily broke it. Its windscreen can cost over rm1k and need recalibration for AEB function when replaced.

Iriz can use cheaper normal battery, new original projector headlamp costs rm580 each on mudah (some selling used as low as rm165), and windscreen costs have gone down, about rm500ish last i heard some time last year.

Both use special socket for wiper, so replacement can be a bit pricier than old U hook socket, which some tepi jalan sell as cheap as rm10/piece.

6. Driving dynamics, Proton wins, no contest. Though most people hardly consider this when shopping in this segment, at least it kinda hints to me Proton cars are properly engineered vs cost cutting methods of Perodua and Japanese cars here. It may even be safer if it means you can execute collision avoidance more effectively.

Myvi’s lower fc is a good pull, helping it have higher RV, but it also means higher insurance premium.

Personally, if all else is equal, and assuming you do about 1 full tank of distance a week, the fuel saving to me is too negligible. I’d trade it for better safety, a bit of fun and comfier seats.

Also, Proton has app where you can pre-book service appointment. It’s a huge convenience actually i feel! Perodua usually very packed, and not immune to “biasalah kereta local” treatment by service centre.

• yawnz on Jul 09, 2018 at 5:39 pm

Good review in tonnes of other rubbish comments. Keep it up.

• Iriz is Rubbish ..my sister bought new by next week got power window problem and that OE silverstone tires..eeeww..like pelampung.

• Kamal on Jul 06, 2018 at 7:08 pm

Congratulations Proton.. Hope you sell plenty

• Sayonara

• Poovsnesvary on Jul 07, 2018 at 7:51 pm

I have yet to recieve ny car that was booked on 19/6/2918. local car but still no news.

• Poovsnesvary on Jul 07, 2018 at 7:55 pm

Why I have not received my Persona booked on 18/6/18.

• Amran on Jul 08, 2018 at 1:44 pm

Proton can be number 1 again with campro vvt engine & cvt punch. Campro no 1 engine in malaysia..