W213 Mercedes-Benz E300 AMG Line CKD in Malaysia – RM388,888 estimated, better spec than CBU version

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has expanded the locally-assembled (CKD) W213 E-Class range with the launch of the E 300 AMG Line. In April last year, the company introduced CKD versions of the E 200 Avantgarde, E 250 Avantgarde and E 250 Exclusive, so this latest addition basically completes the E-Class CKD quartet. The E 300 CKD effectively replaces the E 350 e plug-in hybrid, though the C 350 e will remain for now.

Pricing-wise, the E 300 AMG Line CKD is priced at an estimated RM388,888, which is a lot less than the CBU version (RM458,888). However, keep in mind that the CBU’s price tag still included the goods and services tax (GST), and MBM’s zero-rated GST price list did not include the E 300 AMG Line. Nonetheless, if we perform a rough calculation and deduct 6% from the CBU’s price at the time (RM431,355), it is still a substantial amount of savings.

In terms of specifications, the CKD model is almost identical to the CBU with one glaring difference – there are 20-inch multi-spoke alloy wheels instead of 19-inch AMG five twin-spoke units. Beyond that, you’ll still get Multibeam LED headlamps, a panoramic roof, hands-free boot access, AMG Line package and Night Package, though heads-up display has been dropped.

Moving inside, there’s an Artico leather-covered dash, Nappa leather seat upholstery, wireless mobile phone charger, widescreen cockpit (two 12.3-inch screens), COMAND Online system, Touch Controls on the steering wheel, centre console controller and 13-speaker Burmester surround sound system with nine channels of amplification.

Other items on the kit list include Keyless-GO, a 360-degree camera, Dynamic Select with five modes (Comfort, Eco, Sport and Sport+ and Individual), Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support, three-zone automatic climate control and paddle shifters.

Under the bonnet remains the M 274 DE 20 AL 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine that churns out 241 hp (245 PS) and 370 Nm of torque. Paired with the engine is Mercedes’ 9G-Tronic nine-speed torque converter automatic transmission, with power being sent to the rear wheels – zero to 100 km/h in 6.3 seconds.

With the exception of the Mercedes-AMG E 63 S 4Matic+, the E-Class Sedan range is priced at under RM400k during the “tax holiday” that we are enjoying now. So, which E-Class is your preferred one?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• BOYRACER on Jul 06, 2018 at 11:59 am

Good luck with 20inch wheels here in my hometown.

• Nikolas on Jul 06, 2018 at 1:39 pm

Yupe. Volvo S90 T6 R-Design da more logikal pick. Swedish da wonderteam diss WC2018.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Muhd Satibi on Jul 06, 2018 at 12:01 pm

E300 CBU in Malaysia RM460k. Fresh graduate salary start RM2500.

E300 CBU in USA is US55k. Fresh graduate salary start at USD4500.

Before any clowns say Mercedes is not for fresh graduates, this is just a comparison of pay packet in each respective country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 30
    • Mud satibi on Jul 06, 2018 at 2:04 pm

Mercedes is not for fresh graduates

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • Yet Mesidis & BMW & Audi isnt top best seller in US despite u say even fresh grad shud able to buy it. Hmmm…… looks like just another clown making nonsensical comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • only rational MBM to copy 530i ckd sukses & local assy Mercy E300 in Pekan. Rich r alergik to hybrid.

• The dash composition appears to be out of sync. While I like the look of the previous gen, these new updates with the long screen is really not looking good

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Jul 06, 2018 at 12:11 pm

RM388k for this car?

I better buy BMW 530e, cheaper at RM324k. Plus 6% corporate discount, I get the BMW car for about RM300k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • Aaron on Jul 06, 2018 at 1:54 pm

This is the main reason BMW is always one-class lower than Mercedes.. lack of features and have to rely on huge discounts to sell..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • Johnny sins on Jul 07, 2018 at 4:06 pm

Lack of features ?? The e class is literally a tin losing. And the 530i at 388k is much better equipped with hud, blind spot and all those goodies. Merc is absolutely overpriced and underspecced. They just give the ‘look nice’ components so ppl will think ‘ wah this looks better, that’s how Mercedes Malaysia sells. Car to all those uncles that buy their e classes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Mesidis, Geely, P1, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • john DOe on Jul 06, 2018 at 12:20 pm

i don’t understand for 388K they can’t even add adaptive cruise control or even any sort of active safety features, blindspot and etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Mikey on Jul 06, 2018 at 12:24 pm

“If” I buy a E300 2012 now, it will cost me around RM140k to RM150k only. It has a bigger 3.00 liter engine but only 7-speed auto.
    The reason is simple bcoz this car will still serve me another 10 years easily as the car have many modern features that is not too outdated compared to this new E300.
    Those who can afford a new E300, please buy by all means as its the benchmark for a premium sedan anytime anywhere.

• 530i ckd or E300 ckd ? Which one would you guys prefer ?

• Did Mercedes say why they chose to discontinue the 350e hybrid? Slow sales?

• AMG Fansee on Jul 06, 2018 at 7:46 pm

Their quota for tax incentive is full Liao ! Can’t sell it cheap, that’s why discontinue!

• stastasta on Jul 10, 2018 at 10:06 am

mercedes limited quota for hybrid cars, yet they continue to install EQ power charging stations. the irony is i mostly see bmw or volvo cars using their charger.

• potential buyer on Jul 06, 2018 at 3:08 pm

Why interior is brown?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 06, 2018 at 3:17 pm

You can have a black interior if you wish.

• Johnny on Jul 06, 2018 at 7:00 pm

Hafriz, i noticed that the Demo unit doesnt have the hud button on the side. Does local spec come standard with it?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 06, 2018 at 7:31 pm

No, heads-up display has been removed.

• Mercedes overpriced Milo tin on Jul 07, 2018 at 4:09 pm

Next they’ll remove the seats and put plastic chairs with a Mercedes logo

• young n rich on Jul 06, 2018 at 5:40 pm

I am into triple tone interior, black, beige, brown

• Those 20 inchers looks abit like an overkill
    the 5 twin spoke items looks with thicker rubbers looks nicer….

otherwise an awesome car, interior is absolute magic

• Jayden on Jul 06, 2018 at 6:59 pm

Apart from offering PHEV, German trio esp MBM
    And BMW should also offer top end petrol engine. Rich ppl do not mind paying more for driving sensation. PHEV is good but for petrol head, the delayed starting is our nemesis.

Like 7 series, luckily i have gotten the 740Li. My fren complains about the 740Le of having small boot and weird driving style.

Combustion engine are here to stay, at least in Mlysia. MBM should offer 3 litre E class such as E400 rather than E43.

• stastasta on Jul 10, 2018 at 10:07 am

the e43 is available in malaysia at a price of 600k . do your homework before spouting nonsense. the question is whether or not you can afford to buy it.

• BowArrow(Mr.SFA) on Jul 06, 2018 at 7:01 pm

The Rear-aircond was single zone right??

• Jailani on Jul 27, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Buy a stingger over this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7