Kia Stinger launched in Malaysia – 251 hp 2.0 GT Line and 365 hp 3.3 V6 GT, CBU, RWD, RM240k to RM310k

We’ve been waiting with bated breath for the Kia Stinger to arrive in Malaysia, and that day has finally arrived with its official launch today. The high-performance fastback sedan is a big deal for the South Korean carmaker, as it’s poised to do battle in the ultra-competitive premium segment with the likes of the BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe and Audi A5 Sportback.

That aspiration comes with aggressive pricing. Fully imported and available in two variants, the Stinger retails at RM239,888 for the base 2.0 GT Line, while the full-fat GT is just over the RM300,000 mark at RM309,888, making it over RM75,000 cheaper than its main rival, the Mercedes-AMG C 43. All prices are on-the-road without insurance or GST, inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

The Stinger has been geared towards enthusiasts, and the engine lineup backs that up. The base mill is a 2.0 litre Theta II turbocharged and direct-injected petrol four-cylinder, making 251 hp at 6,200 rpm and 353 Nm of torque from 1,400 to 3,500 rpm. It’s paired to an eight-speed automatic transmission and, yes, drive is sent to the rear wheels. Zero to 100 km/h is dispatched in six seconds flat.

More power comes in the shape of the GT, which is powered by a 3.3 litre Lambda II twin-turbo V6 that delivers a stonking 365 hp at 6,000 rpm and 510 Nm of torque between 1,300 and 4,500 rpm. It cuts more than a second off the zero-to-100 km/h time, blitzing past the benchmark in just 4.9 seconds.

Developed at the Nürburgring, the chassis features MacPherson strut front suspension with large diameter dampers, high-strength wheel bearings and an aluminium strut brace, while the reinforced five-link rear suspension is mounted to a stiffened rear subframe for improved durability.

Both models come equipped with Electronically Controlled Suspension (ECS) adaptive dampers – linked to the car’s five drive modes – as well as a limited-slip differential, launch control and brake-activated Dynamic Torque Vectoring Control system as part of Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC). On top of that, the GT receives Brembo disc brakes with four-piston front and two-piston rear callipers.

Previewed by the GT concept from 2011, the Stinger sports a dynamic exterior design, with the long front end dominated by the signature “tiger nose” grille and sweptback full-LED adaptive headlights. The sweeping roofline features the Optima‘s complex C-pillar and rear windscreen intersection, while the LED tail lights feature slim extensions that wrap around the sides.

Both the GT Line and GT get larger front air intakes, a more aggressive rear diffuser design and chrome trim on the grille, front intakes, bonnet vents and door mirror caps. The front fender vents, which are also trimmed in chrome, improve aerodynamics by reducing turbulence over the car’s flanks.

As for wheels, the GT Line gets 18-inch multi-spoke alloy wheels, while the GT rolls on staggered 19-inch Y-spoke items – both are wrapped in Continental SportContact 5 tyres. Four exterior paint options are offered on both models, including HiChroma Red, Deep Chroma Blue, Panthera Metal and Aurora Black.

Inside, there’s a simple, driver-oriented dashboard with Audi-style triple round centre air vents, a freestanding centre display up top and a tall transmission tunnel. A flat-bottomed leather-wrapped steering wheel sits ahead of large analogue gauges, between which sits a seven-inch colour multi-info display.

On the GT, this screen can also show a G-force meter, a lap timer and auxiliary gauges displaying the oil temperature, torque and turbo boost pressure. The more powerful model also gains red Nappa leather upholstery, whereas the GT Line makes do with black natural leather. Other features unique to the GT are a GT-badged steering wheel and GT logos on the headrests.

Standard equipment includes keyless entry, push-button start, auto lights and wipers, a head-up display, cruise control, dual-zone auto climate control, rear air-con vents, an auto-dimming rear view mirror, a panoramic sliding sunroof, a power tailgate and 12-way power-adjustable front seats with heating, ventilation and driver’s side memory. The GT adds 16-way power adjustment for the driver’s seat and heated rear seats.

An eight-inch infotainment touchscreen comes as standard with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatibility, a 15-speaker, 720-watt Harman Kardon sound system, Qi wireless smartphone charging and front and rear power outlets. A 360-degree camera is also fitted, along with front and rear parking sensors.

Safety-wise, all models get seven airbags, ABS, stability control, hill start assist, blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert, a tyre pressure monitoring system and ISOFIX rear child seat anchors. Unfortunately, autonomous emergency braking is nowhere to be found here, even on the GT.

Browse full specifications and equipment of the new Kia Stinger on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Kia Stinger 2.0 GT Line

GALLERY: Kia Stinger GT

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• garfed on Jul 10, 2018 at 8:20 pm

that interior though lol~~~hi merc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
    • loaded on Jul 10, 2018 at 8:56 pm

yup that interior. kinda reminded of my VW Passat CC R-Line 3.6L fastback saloon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • John May 9 Nangis on Jul 10, 2018 at 9:35 pm

It is very sad that Korean cars want to price themselves to BMW and Mercedes levels.

If a Casio watch is sold for RM40k, would you buy it or would you buy the RM40k Rolex?

A Casio is a Casio. No matter what diamonds you put on it, it will never be on par with a Rolex

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 150
        • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jul 11, 2018 at 12:14 am

You’d be shocked at the price of a Grand Seiko, then.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 175 Thumb down 5
          • Wkaka on Jul 11, 2018 at 12:31 am

Most people only know the usual brands unfortunately. Grand Seiko watches feature movements that are so good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
          • Lolz! Gud one Jonathan bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 39
          • Rajoo Selvam on Jul 11, 2018 at 8:11 am

2016 BMW 730Li now BMW Malaysia selling (Director use) for RM340k. Comes with 5 years warranty

How Kia want to lawan BMW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
          • Gomez on Jul 11, 2018 at 8:31 am

Rolex and Casio not good analogy.

Ask people whether they want Proton or Mercedes

• pekasam on Jul 11, 2018 at 9:38 am

Casio ≠ Seiko. P1 ≠ P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • vedder on Jul 11, 2018 at 9:59 am

Grand Seiko is a different beast

• yahoo on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:10 am

But some like the above poster always like to bash the Jepunis. They don’t know that the Jepunis are good, only think their local are on par with foreign stuff.

• Not to turn this into a watch forum, Grand Seiko’s detailing/quality is i dare say better than the top 3 Swiss Trinity brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Author sampan 250kmph on Jul 11, 2018 at 11:01 am

My Casio GSHOCK MRG-G1000RT-1A worth RM24K.

• The only watch I have personally seen that can rival a Grand Seiko in terms of finishing and quality is A.Lange Sohne. Photos are unable to capture the details/fineness of Grand Seiko and A.Lange Sohne.

• Joker on Jul 11, 2018 at 11:48 am

Grand Seiko shock sendiri only. Low quality product trying to pass off as something luxurious. There will always be suckers who wants to be different and non main stream. These people always convince themselves an inferior product is the greatest. Just to be different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 37
          • John May 9 Nangis on Jul 11, 2018 at 5:22 pm

Kia and Proton had very similar sales in 1985.

But in 2018, Kia/Hyundai is selling 8 million cars globally

And Proton in 2018, selling only 50,000 cars locally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • Still wanna justify after failing in ur fake history kah? Kia was alredi a 38 year old brand while P1 was only 2 years old when u comparing their sales. When u compare the age gap of cuz its natural that Kia will outsell P1, but Kia long ago alredi sold to Hyundai. So shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Grand Seiko on Jul 12, 2018 at 9:20 am

Like this, P2 launch much latter but still sell more than P1. So more shame.

• yawnz on Jul 12, 2018 at 7:16 pm

Yawn. P2 sells more because its cheap not because its good.

• Joker.

Your name reflects your personality perfectly.

Grand Seiko low quality? It is obvious that you have not handled a Grand Seiko or any high/super high end watches.

• Rolex on Aug 13, 2018 at 9:15 pm

That’s why it doesn’t sell

• I’d rather have a 40k casio with james bond style gadgets than a rolex which drifts every few milliseconds a day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
          • Abu Kassim on Jul 11, 2018 at 8:12 am

Casio got no RV. Rolex, value go higher.

• Azahari on Jul 11, 2018 at 8:27 am

Why very sad John May? It is a good product. What category German’s car we will get with that price? An entry level C clas? Lol!!

Yes…I don’t mind a thousands RM Casio too.

• Buy this car not for the brand, is for power.
          0-100kmh 4.69 sec

• azkri on Oct 22, 2018 at 8:18 pm

I’d buy a RM50K Grand Seiko anytime!

• Vincent on Feb 11, 2019 at 11:30 am

Does you meant BMW could price themself however KIA should not do so?what make your mind think so?how u think if BMW car come out from KIA,however stinger made by BMW?according to your acknowledge,now stinger able to price high while the origin product made by BMW now made by KIA awfully must price lower than stinger?

• Hi. You have the Passat CC R-Line 3.6? How is the car? I never saw one on the road before.

• For that price on Jul 10, 2018 at 11:30 pm

You get a tacked on after market infotainment system probably with zero integration to the instrument cluster. Hyundai, Nissan, Toyota, Kia (everyone else except Honda and Mazda) Malaysia need to get with the times.

We do not want an iPhone with a different local made SW with an Apple logo on it. We want the real deal. For the price, bring in the original infotainment system, not the cheap aftermarket knockoff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
      • The infotainment system is original. Even the one in the picanto is original. As usual, bashing without trying or reading up

• Thank you.Kia saleman on Jul 11, 2018 at 1:50 pm

For clarifying. You have impeccable comprehension if you can imply “infotainment comes as standard” as original.

• vedder on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:00 am

On a fully imported Stinger?

• Kalimaca on Jul 12, 2018 at 3:55 am

300k for this kids car? Volvo S60 for me please.

• Kia UVO infortaiment system currently not support in the bolehland. Don’t blame the NazaKia, blame the Kia cooperation.

• Samsung on Jul 11, 2018 at 6:44 pm

Wow this stinger really a head turner…more than 1000 comments.

• Not many Malaysians are ready to drop close to 300k for a Kia. But for those who do, they’ll be rewarded with the most unique ride on our road I must say, the rarity will be like exotic level

on a side note, I’ll get this rather than the Civic Type R if I have 300k+ to spend

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 13
    • Me too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Rajoo Selvam on Jul 10, 2018 at 8:51 pm

Why should Malaysians buy a Kia Stinger when I can buy a 2015 Mercedes S400L Hybrid with just 20,000 KM clocked on it, excellent condition, still under warranty for RM310k?

I get the best car in the world for the same price of a Kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 98
      • wait till the Merc breaks down and you know why

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 11
        • autodriver (Member) on Jul 11, 2018 at 8:22 am

True, some people thought easy to own a branded car in second hand with cheaper price but never know the price of spare parts and maintenance. A used A4 2013 cost about RM80k but 1 side headlamps cost RM3k, it is 1 side not 1 pair.

For Kia no matter how expensive the part is it will still much cheaper than continental car and nowadays Kia spare parts can found in many spare part shops unlike 10 years ago is freaking hard to get parts.

• Agree and couldnt have said it better myself. When i see comments like this, “xxxk better buy recond, used cheaper”, i kind of know these ppl have never owned the brand that they are talking about, probably driving a uber reliable Vios or Myvi.

• John May 9 Nangis on Jul 11, 2018 at 5:25 pm

Mercedes S400h buy today 2nd hand RM300k
            3 years later can sell for RM200k

Kia Stinger buy today RM300k, next year sell for RM150k also lucky to get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
      • Afeeq on Jul 10, 2018 at 9:26 pm

Best car in the world? You’re talking about an S-Class…with a V6! LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
      • Where’s the listing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
        • Bernard on Jul 11, 2018 at 8:33 am

Even now can get RM290k lah for S 400, Used car dealer already desperate. No sales.

• Autobahn on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:05 am

Rajoo selvam, there are many choices out there. Not only s400 used, but also porsche cayenne,maserati,bmw etc. In used car market big cc luxury cars depreciate alot due to complexity of the tech it carries which correlates to high maintenance and running cost. Which is why these cars depreciate in price. With stinger btw not in the same category with the s class though, you can still have the level of performance of that 440i or the a5 without having to pay the premium price tag and it is brand new. You will drive away with 0km on the adometer and knowing the splash guard and all the undertray still fresh without a single mud or dirt stuck on it. The carpet the seats and the switch gears never been smudge by sweat of other people. That is the joy of driving a brand new car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
        • musangKing-originalz on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:55 am

ya same goes to brand new wife….never smudged by sweat of other people…the joy of riding a brand new wife is more than a Stinger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • autodriver (Member) on Jul 12, 2018 at 8:07 am

S400k hyrid launching price is RM590k, almost 50% depreciation over “3 years” only. Btw I bet you never pay attention to hyrid battery, the warranty is 6 years/100k km. Replacement cost anytime not less than RM80k, you can check out with Mercedes showroom to confirm the price.

Buying a used premium car doesn’t seem hard but the maintenance may make you store your car for a while before you have money or available part to fix it.

• Korean Fan on Sep 03, 2018 at 3:02 am

Why? Because not everyone wants the crazy rich asian type of girl. With S400, you get Ah So. With Stinger, you get Ah Lian.

• Tarakucha on Jul 10, 2018 at 9:16 pm

same dilemma & bought AMGA45. no regrets.

• Stinger sedap bawak like other conti cars. Unlike type r, bawak over 200km/h bergoyang-goyang kereta tu mcm nak terpelanting.

• Therealmaserati on Jul 10, 2018 at 8:30 pm

That interior is a joke. Try to copy Mustang but failed badly. Joke of a car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 86
    • rosdi on Jul 10, 2018 at 9:40 pm

Incoming 12month old Stinger 120K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
      • Mr Meme on Jul 11, 2018 at 11:21 am

Those who can afford a 300k car would most probably look past minor things like RV. The more your car cost, the further the depreciation cost. That is a fact. What they opt for while paying such price is definitely for the rarity of the car on the road, which draws attention of many and stands out amongst other cars. You don’t say the rich purchases a lambo to enjoy the 700hp, because they will most likely be driving on a congested road.

• yawnz on Jul 11, 2018 at 12:27 pm

That comment is really yesterday
          Some said even Audi owner get into MRT lor

• Talks about interior. But forgets the appaling glossy plastic filled C-Class’s interior.

• Lalaland on Jul 10, 2018 at 8:41 pm

The 2.0L in real world test 0-100 is 7.9sec which is far off the official claim of 6 secs…

If were to get 2.0L, better off with Kia Optima GT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • Autobahn on Jul 10, 2018 at 9:26 pm

8 speed with launch control vs 6 speed rear wheel drive vs front wheel drive…

• Yes official claim of 6 secs is untrue.

Performance drive @ youtube tested 0-100kmh in 7.89sec even slower than the Civic turbo-7.54Sec. May be due to 1.7tons weight..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bmaz1w1_-Bg
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IzV_zGVGrFw

• sting er on Jul 11, 2018 at 12:31 pm

When drive full load this stinger kicks civic ass plus, and the handling is much better too

• Ollie on Jul 11, 2018 at 5:18 pm

Car and Driver tested it at 6.1 secs – where are you getting your news? Other tests on Motor1 and other sites range from 5.8 to 6.1, so im not sure which Google you’re using. The GT V6 is doing 4.6 – 4.8 secs, beating the manufacturer estimates. Still massacres a Civic R, which is a car specially made for little boys.

• Lalaland on Jul 13, 2018 at 6:24 pm

Firstly the Car and Driver tested the ‘AWD’ version and is 0-60mph which is to around 96km/h. Secondly the Motor1 just quoted the official sprint time figure which is not the real test.
        A simple youtube search can easily finds the real world test of the car and pls stop being ignorance.

• Sharemyride on Jul 10, 2018 at 8:44 pm

Aik, baru hari tu tease skrg dah launch. Cepat betul. Picanto tu pulak dah lama jgk tease tp x release pun lg. Ape citer? World cup dah nak habis dah woi.

• contender on Jul 10, 2018 at 9:03 pm

wow at that kind of stinging pricing…. wonder who’s gonna pay 300k for Kia GT Stinger. would be rare on our roads .. 180k more reasonable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 28
    • din_lul on Jul 10, 2018 at 9:23 pm

You are making this judgement based on brand alone. Step back and look at the entire package/performance it is offering. At this price point you’ll realize its quite the bargain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
    • Autobahn on Jul 10, 2018 at 9:28 pm

Like a unicorn on the road…dont need to buy ferrari …one thing for sure…people will move to the left when this thing approaching from behind on the highway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • seancorr (Member) on Jul 10, 2018 at 10:33 pm

Yep I will definitely turn my head to look at this more than a typical Ferrari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Typical Malaysian. Wants cheap but want good. Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • If you look at the brand alone, no one would have bought lancer evo, wrx and gtr. After all, they are inly mitsubishi, subaru and nissan..

• Yeast Lump on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:54 am

The japanese make models all has acclaim titles in world rally and super gt racing competitions. What has KIA achieved at global racing competition so far?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • autobahn on Jul 24, 2018 at 9:01 pm

KIA specifically the stinger altho never been tested in any rally (of course its a grand tourer). But the guy who engineered this machine was the head of BMW M division for 30 years. He was responsible to all modern day BMW M cars. And the stinger is developed extensively at the nurburgring. Many other superstar engineers such as the guy from AMG also contribute in building this car. so theres that.

• Jascha on Jul 10, 2018 at 9:18 pm

Hooray! Just as I wished. Naza did bring in the 3.3L GT RWD. Sure will buy one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • Ahmadjr on Jul 10, 2018 at 9:23 pm

Interior tu salesman pun segan nak bagi tengok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Bernard on Jul 10, 2018 at 9:47 pm

It’s a Kia. No one will buy. Ridiculous pricing as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 36
    • Kevin on Jul 10, 2018 at 11:45 pm

It may have a Korean badge but beneath the metal it’s far from korean. Get past the badge and compare with what German rivals are charging for equivalent specs and you may begin to view the Stinger as a bargain. The power to surprise is strong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • vedder on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:02 am

Too bad, though. It’s a KIA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • Autobahn on Jul 25, 2018 at 7:50 pm

Too bad for you if you plan to buy the 330i just because its a bmw…then you can only dream of how a 365hp 500nm car storms the road at 270kmh in perfect comfort

• dimitriy on Jul 10, 2018 at 9:48 pm

Volvo V40 T5 Drive-E is a better buy at RM180k than this Kia Stinger 2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
    • Other peoples dunwan electric or hybrid.
      They want real gasoline engine.

• stastasta on Jul 13, 2018 at 2:16 pm

v40 or a45 amg is a lot smaller size than stinger

• But c43 does the sprint to 100 and 200 faster

• Gerald on Jul 10, 2018 at 10:40 pm

You’d be surprised how much locked potential that the 3.3 has. People are already aiming for 500hp with bolt ones.

• 240k for 2.0 is bang for the money……
    full specced car sumore….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • seancorr (Member) on Jul 10, 2018 at 10:32 pm

The top spec model rivals the 340i and C43 but can’t complete in the desirability department. I doubt KIA Malaysia will be bringing many of these into Malaysia but can foresee the price to drop significantly in 2 years in the recond sector.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • RM240k for a meer 251hp and 353Nm torque 2.0 stinger? up coming 2018 Honda Accord 2.0T come with 252hp and 370Nm torque. Pretty sure accord won’t cost that much and much faster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Are you sure on Jul 11, 2018 at 8:51 am

Pretty sure Honda Malaysia won’t bring in the Accord with 2.0T engine. BTW the 2.0T is replacing the 3.5 V6 and last time Accord 3.5 was selling for more than 200k.

• Puvanes on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:02 am

Thy delaying it.. We wont get 2.0 turbo charge Accord.. It will be 1.5 soft turbo instead. Sad…

• I just bought my AMG C43 2 weeks ago and to be honest I am impressed with the generous package offered by Kia Malaysia. I wish i could have the Nappa leather and aggressive look of the Stinger. If the stinger was introduced 3 weeks ago i would have a hard time choosing.

For the AMG C43, it has better ride (AWD), resale value and branding/badge for a RM50k premium.

• The exterior design has the shadow of Audi A7. Overall, feel that it is lacking of the premium touch for it to be priced at that range. The price tag is probably accounted by the car performance (not sure about the actual driving experience).

Kia should consider to introduce a new brand logo.

• I’d rather have a 40k casio with james bond style gadgets than a rolex which drifts every few milliseconds a day

• People bitching about the badge being a KIA, comments section is pure cancer smh

• zoom zoom on Jul 11, 2018 at 12:22 am

In Msia, ppl look at brand image/resale value/after sales service.. Kia at this price? trust me it wont sell. Ppl will go for MB/BMW/Audi even is smaller & slower.
    For example. Elantra turbo with 200+hp. Can see many comments Elantra can smoke civic turbo anytime, civic cvt sucks, civic ugly ketam rear etc .. but at the end.. you can hardly see Elantra turbo OTR but civic is everywhere. Civic:Elantra 50:1?? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Micky on Jul 11, 2018 at 3:05 pm

Because car price is Mys is premium. End of day not many people can really afford it.

• Gracke on Jul 11, 2018 at 12:40 am

The car and spec looks good actually…but it’s hard to make confirmation cause price of RM240k still have another list for choices!!! By the way, Stinger really look stunning!!!

• Bob Lee swagger on Jul 11, 2018 at 12:40 am

Can’t wait to test drive this beast, I’ll have mine in orange with black adv’s with blacked out tail lights, beware malaysia, a new highway stalker is in town hehehhehe…..

• LOK CHYI YEU on Jul 11, 2018 at 8:19 am

the 3.3 v6 one is gonna be the main…. for the lower spec one…. that one since performance also loose out so much, the optima gt gonna be a better car over it

• Saw it in Busan recently…rear lookalike Maserati…very sexy & sporty

• arowana on Jul 11, 2018 at 8:44 am

it’s rear wheel drives folks.. make sure u dont crash it especially during wet weathers

• arowana on Jul 11, 2018 at 8:51 am

the only KIA that worth a try

• Fortegees on Jul 11, 2018 at 4:40 pm

Do you just came out from a cave? KIA did amazing job since Forte until the new Grand Carnival. All of that is worthy car,value for our money

• Too shouty for my taste,no mans land

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 11, 2018 at 9:33 am

better than audi a5 sportback…which is *chuckles* fwd

• OMG!….309k for a kia!….and base model is 240k. Wtf….dont bring cars like this. How to sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 11, 2018 at 9:43 am

exterior…i rather have this than the premium brands…but the interior….which is the place one would see most often would send people back to BMW and Mercedes

• Hukaka on Jul 11, 2018 at 9:52 am

Can’t accept the super weird tail light design,please look carefully the piece of long plastic.

• bieight on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:49 am

wait for Genesis g70 better lah

• BowArrow(Mr.SFA) on Jul 11, 2018 at 1:31 pm

Ya if they decide to bring Genesis would probably cost
      500K which base on the same thing…

• Shazz on Jul 11, 2018 at 11:18 am

Kia Malaysia should JV with Lexus Malaysia so that Stinger owner can service their Stinger at Lexus. If not, just like servicing Infinity at Tan Chong.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 11, 2018 at 11:22 am

A very very nice looking car outside at a relatively affordable price for its class. Interior is not the best, but still OK. Soft touch almost everywhere and alcantara headliner is sporty. Nappa leather too on the seats. What drops some points is the slow gearbox (compared to the 8 speed ZF) and the poor boot space. You’d think that being a hatchback, the luggage space would be cavernous. Sadly, its only 406 litres which pales in comparison to the 4 Series Gran Coupe which has 480 litres. Though the Stinger still does have a spare tyre underneath the boot floor.

• hazamiey on Jul 11, 2018 at 11:57 am

I driven RWD 370z for couple of times, and man even with that short wheelbase that thing slides when u push hard around corner. On bone dry road. It will be a joy if on track but a hair raising experience on normal road. Mind u it is just an NA with reasonable torque. This korean beast 3.3 GT is an FI RWD. Need more attention for those anyone behind the steering wheel. For more than 300HP i will be looking for 4wd monster to be safe. But still this is a beautiful machine n a brilliant car to own n drive one. Envy to those who can afford this.

• Mr Hakim on Jul 11, 2018 at 12:47 pm

Looks complex and got lots of things prone to fail.

• RM 200k++ to RM 300k ++ for a korean kia ??? I rather buy a BMW !!! We see got any ppl buy onot. Damn STUPID !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Wow, 240K for a base 2 litre engine from Korea, and .2 second faster than my present car.
    My common sense kicks in, I’d have to think 3 times to even consider it.

• Ben Yap on Jul 11, 2018 at 1:41 pm

1 year down the road, a used 2.0 stinger will be priced less that RM110K.

• toyotafan on Jul 11, 2018 at 1:50 pm

Paultan.org needs to learn that 365hp isn’t “STONKING”.

Anything that is below 500hp and cannot hit 205mph isn’t considered stonking.

Get rid of the usage of this word in addition to “TWIST”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 11, 2018 at 2:02 pm

In this context, I see nothing wrong with it.

• Mikey on Jul 11, 2018 at 2:52 pm

Nothing wrong does not mean its correct/right. Different people have different taste. Just too bad you cannot please everybody.

• Toyotafans why not u start ur own blog? Ur degree of stonking and others could be different…

• Phaser on Jul 11, 2018 at 2:54 pm

RM240k and RM310k for a brand new KIA. Let me repeat that. RM240-310K FOR A BRAND NEW KIA!

I know the brand image and product offering have improved by leaps and bounds but you’re playing in Golf GTI/Golf R, BMW 330e, Merc C350e, Honda Civic Type R territory here. The market is small as it’ll have to be a personal (not company) purchase. It’ll take an incredible leap of faith or a serious K-idol, Kimchi addiction to stump up that much money for a KIA. If you must, get one second hand after 2 years for half price or even less. You’ll still have a warranty and a sub RM150k price tag makes much more sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Ollie on Jul 11, 2018 at 5:24 pm

This car eats the RM320k Type R for a snack any time of the day, and the 2.0 GT undercuts that by 80k, and you get 365hp for the price of a type R. You get Schreyer design and Kia build quality for that price. If you think Honda/Toyota are making better cars in this day and age, you’re a frog under coconut shell.

• Holofanboi on Jul 11, 2018 at 3:10 pm

Hmm… didnt know the 2.0 is also launched. At 240k its surprisingly affordable. But I wonder about that 6sec 0-100… if its true I might actually seriously consider the GT-Line… @_@

The total ownership costs for the V6 GT is gonna be more than a 420i after 5 years, so I dont think im gonna even consider that one. :/

Man there is so many options these days lol.

• Coming for brand-addict /brand-maniac commenter; was not dissapointed.

• Price maybe a critical factor in deciding whether a K-beast or any 250k Germs. Well, unless u have driven Germs and wanna switch to K-pop with Germs-DNA. It’s a tough call but still, Germs win 1-0.

• I heard all 200 units of the V6 GT in Malaysia already sold out before launch.

• If want fast… All new Honda type R is a better deal

• Devindran on Jul 12, 2018 at 12:03 am

So, it’s RWD and not AWD. Doesn’t matter. The car looks cool. I’m not a brand noob or RV addict. Just looking for a good ride which is pleasurable to drive.

• The more netizens comment about the badge/resale value/omg-310k-for-a-KIA the more popularity the kia gets. There is no doubt the Kia has gotten a lot of attention recently because of the Stinger and that’s usually how an unpopular brand transforms to a well known or even premium brand. To me, the Stinger is already a success. Even if Kia doesn’t sell many units, they still get a lot of free publicity after all.

For now, the Stinger might look good on paper but performance car enthusiasts in the 300k to 400k segment do not mind to spend a little more to get the AMG C43 (I am one of them). On the other hand, would you rather buy a 380k AMG and sell it at 250k 3 years later or buy a 310k Stinger and sell it at 160k 3 years later? The resale value should also be considered because that’s your net losses of owning a vehicle.

• autobahn on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:26 pm

the c43amg is basically a c400 rebadge. Many of overseas review seemed to think that way. its not worthy of the amg badge. Merc just replace the 400 with amg..voila sales increase. It has the awd and it doesnt really perform like any awd halo variants of the audi rs bmw m or the real 63 amg.

• Many people try to protect this car. I bet that 99% of these people will not buy this car if they have the budget for a car!

• Wow, 2.0’s spec met most items in my wish list, if they include AEB with the current price, then it will be spot on. Has been waiting for the 2.0 variant, to replace my 6 years old K5 that serves me so well.

• Johan on Jul 12, 2018 at 9:52 pm

Develop on nurgburgring..sure can handle malaysian road?

• korea > german on Jul 13, 2018 at 8:19 am

I’m pretty sure the 2.0 stinger will smoke majority of the 530i/528i, so does 3.3

• Jieping Loh on Jul 21, 2018 at 9:56 pm

240k-310k for a korean
    No. I will go for benz ,

• Jieping Loh on Jul 21, 2018 at 9:57 pm

240-310k for a korean , hahaha
    No, i wont buy and with the price i could a benz

• Tested this car in Australia here,It bet 0-100kmh mustang 5.0L V8,2015 WRX Sti,Civic type R for the 3.3V6 TT

• If you preferred brand go for BMW,Mercedes and your budget was 200k to 399k
    But if you preferred HIgh HP you better seeker for this car.
    365hp> Honda Type R>Mercedes >BMW

Depend what you need for your horse and what horse u want to ride

• ayoyo on Aug 08, 2018 at 11:32 am

A45 close one eye to overtake this STINGRAY

• Robert on Aug 26, 2018 at 1:14 pm

Civic Type R
    Civic FC wannabe Type R
    Can eat smoke!

• This car is 40k US dollar in USA….an average american with a salary of 5000 usd can buy this car with 8 months of his salary….and average malaysian with salary 5000rm would need 50 months to own it here…see the difference in how gifted to be an america and usd paid salary ?

• Vincent on Feb 11, 2019 at 11:48 am

Does you meant BMW could price themself however KIA should not do so?what make your mind think so?how u think if BMW car come out from KIA,however stinger made by BMW?according to your acknowledge,now stinger able to price high while the origin product made by BMW now made by KIA awfully must price lower than stinger?

• Badge is a badge on Apr 03, 2019 at 4:47 pm

Remove the badge, for 300k, compare spec for spec and performance for performance. And you will realise this car is good.