Michelin Primacy 4 launched, claimed to provide safety even when worn – 15- to 18-inch, fr RM444 per piece

Michelin recently held a regional launch of its Primacy 4 in Pattaya, marking the official start of availability of the touring tyre in South East Asia, including Malaysia. The French tyre company claims that its new product, which replaces the Primacy 3 ST, provides lasting performance and safety both when new and when worn.

Primacy 4 gets EverGrip technology, which consists of two features. The first is a new sculpture that increases water evacuation space by 50%, improving wet grip as the tyre wears down with usage. There’s also a new-generation compound which bonds rubber and silica more strongly and evenly together, providing uniform energy dissipation upon contact with the road. This also improves wet grip, even when worn.

The company commissioned TÜV Rheinland Thailand to conduct a wet braking test from 80 km/h to zero on new and worn tyres, comparing them with new and worn tyres from other premium brands. The results showed that the Primacy 4 braked up to 2.5 metres shorter when new and up to 5.1 metres shorter when worn, and that the worn tyres braked up to 1.8 metres shorter than even new tyres from some other brands.

Also featuring on the new tyre is the second generation of Michelin’s Silent Rib technology, utilising interlocking bands to minimise the deformation of tread blocks when the tyre is rolling. This reduces the air pumping noise for a more silent ride and provides better shock absorption for a more comfortable ride.

The Michelin Primacy 4 is available in 14 sizes ranging from 16 to 18 inches in diameter, which Michelin says fits popular vehicles such as the Toyota Camry, Honda Accord, the BMW 3 and 5 Series and the Mercedes-Benz C- and E-Class. The range will be expanded throughout the year to 64 sizes, covering 15-inch sizes as well. It is sold at Tyreplus and Michelin authorised dealers across Malaysia, priced from RM444 per piece.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mikey on Jul 10, 2018 at 3:13 pm

The article said 15 to 18 inch from RM444 per piece. That’s pretty expensive for a common 195/55/15 tyre don’t you think so ?!
    I can get a Continental MCC 6 195/55/15 for RM180 per piece including balancing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jul 10, 2018 at 4:07 pm

That price is for 205/55R16, which is the cheapest size currently available. The range will eventually be expanded by the end of year to include 15 inches as well.

• Ahmad on Jul 10, 2018 at 4:40 pm

MCC6 is a lot different compares to Primary/Pilot Sport. From what i heard from L**T***r staff and C**********, a lot of people looking for CC5 against because much more silent than CC6. Noticed CC6 tread captures more debris and pebbles.

If you like better handling/comfort, suggest to get PS3. Average can get around RM260 but must buy all 4 together. Slightly invest more but much more worth it.

• Karuppan on Jul 11, 2018 at 12:19 am

just changed all 4 tyres, 195/55/15 ps3, rm900 inclusive new valve and alignment balancing. Even gt a laptop bag for free.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 10, 2018 at 4:41 pm

That’s the estimated retail pricing so actual price will be cheaper. For an example the PS4 price shown in their website is 900+ for 18″ but I got it for 580 which is a big difference in pricing. Best to check with your local tyre shop for actual price.

• Author auto reply on Jul 11, 2018 at 11:24 am

Check the tire wall for production date. Usually dealers will dumped their old stock new tires on huge discounts to customer.

• Raffiq on Jul 15, 2018 at 4:37 pm

Old stock or new stock got no difference. As long as the tyre still haven’t used (on the road) before, then, they all good as new even though already aged on the shelf

• Hayenadeblue on Aug 15, 2018 at 7:05 am

I cannot believe I’m reading this. You MUST get the newest stock as possible. Aiseymennn.

• In Michelin Malaysia website, it’s mentioned that smallest size is 16 inches…
    https://www.michelin.com.my/MY/en/tires/products/primacy-4.html

That price is for 205/55R16, which is the cheapest size currently available. The range will eventually be expanded by the end of year to include 15 inches as well.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jul 10, 2018 at 3:41 pm

Deng…!!! Article mentioned 15″, I was so happy got my size… Mana tau Jon Lee potong stim…!

That price is for 205/55R16, which is the cheapest size currently available. The range will eventually be expanded by the end of the year to include 15 inches as well.

• Is this available in run flat tires? what abt the pricing.. anyone can share the price range from 16″to 18″

• Another john on Jul 10, 2018 at 4:26 pm

Me dont think of the need to buy such expensive tires……..I dont drive fast, in wet or dry. I Mesia, max speed is 110km/hr. Home-office (to and fro) can hardy speed up to 80km/hr, with lots of jam..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
    • TyresMostImportant on Jul 10, 2018 at 4:52 pm

Even at 80km/h, using good tyres will stop a few meters shorter compared to capalang tyres when u jam brake to a complete stop. These few meters can mean severe accident to just breathe in and continue to drive away like nothing happened. Your money, your call anyway to choose what kind of tyres u want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • Dun matter whether its a kancil or a Mesidis, the only thing connecting u to the road is those 4 tyres. Cheap or exp is a matter of whether u think can brake in time or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • kyrel15 on Jul 10, 2018 at 4:55 pm

was quoted rm 351 per peace 205/55/16 this morning at one of tyre shop in ampang

• Barbarians on Jul 10, 2018 at 5:46 pm

Hey Jonathan, is 225/45/17 available?

• stastasta on Jul 11, 2018 at 2:29 pm

kinda weird that 225/45/17 is not available. but ps4 is available in that size.

• Kularajah Karthigeyan on Jul 11, 2018 at 8:31 am

Is 255/45/18 available?

• Primacy 3ST is my favourite tyre so far compared against NCT, CC, Ventus (2nd choice) .. Hope the 4 will be as good or better

• Danial on Jul 12, 2018 at 6:03 pm

Comparing this to the Pilot Sport 3, which one is better if i prioritise silence + grip?

• Petrol Head on Aug 28, 2018 at 3:03 pm

The PS3 is a Ultra High Performance (UHP) tyre and will prioritise grip over noise.

The Primacy 4 is more a Comfort Performance tyre with relaxed, lower noise cruising capability its priority. It seems that Michelin has added another feature that its characteristics will not degrade so much as the tyre wears out.

I just got some 205/55 R16s for RM 380 – so do take advantage of the zero GST price that is available now. Prices will go up when SST is imposed on the importers.