Honda CR-V for Europe – 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo, 7 seats

Honda has introduced the 2018 CR-V in Europe, just a few months after the SUV was previewed at the most recent Geneva Motor Show. Closer to home, the CR-V has already made its launch debut as of July last year, with four variants being offered.

In terms of specifications, the Euro-spec CR-V is powered by the brand’s 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo four-cylinder petrol engine. The mill serves up 173 PS and 220 Nm of torque when mated to a six-speed manual, or 193 PS and 243 Nm with a CVT. The latter comes with all-wheel drive as standard, but is an option for those who prefer to do the shifting themselves (front-wheel drive is the default driveline).

Performance-wise, the CR-V CVT AWD will max out at 200 km/h, with the 0-100 km/h time at 10 seconds. Going the manual route nets you a higher top speed of 210 km/h (FWD) and 208 km/h (AWD), along with a lower century sprint time of around 9.2-9.8 seconds.

Aside from the manual offering, customers in Europe will also be able to order the CR-V with seven seats – something that is also available in Thailand but not for us. This option for an additional row of seats is available only for petrol AWD models.

Higher-end variants will benefit from a comprehensive Honda Sensing suite of systems that include Collision Mitigation Braking System, Forward Collision Warning, Lane Departure Warning, Lane Keeping Assist System and Adaptive Cruise Control.

Later on, a hybrid powertrain based on Honda’s Intelligent Multi-Mode Drive (i-MMD) system will make its way to the Euro-spec CR-V. The setup, which is said to be similar to that on the Accord Hybrid, will employ a 2.0 litre i-VTEC Atkinson-cycle petrol engine as well as two electric motors.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Satthiya Seelan A/L Raman on Jul 18, 2018 at 10:41 am

Why is that we dont get the 7 seater version?

• Henry on Jul 18, 2018 at 10:51 am

Nice wheel design.

• Posta on Jul 18, 2018 at 10:54 am

0-100 so slow even when close to 200ps. All those Civic so perasan want to vroom with my Jetta. Then they kena smoke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 18, 2018 at 10:57 am

actually cannot brain this…manual less power but better acceleration…cvt 192 ps but 0-100 km/h time at 10 seconds…

• practical car lover on Jul 18, 2018 at 11:27 pm

i also cannot brain this…173hp manual vs 193hp CVT is 20hp different, but manual gets 0.8 sec faster acceleration. Wow.

The only thing that i think is possible is that the CVT gearbox sucks up more than 20+hp for it to be less powerful than the manual version.

Also Honda really missed the boat for not bringing the 7 seater version.

• Dave Chapman on Jul 19, 2018 at 10:59 am

cvt powertrain mass itself is heavier, plus additional 2 seater for those with pencil legs affects the overall power-to-weight ratio. what a joke.

• passion on Jul 18, 2018 at 12:21 pm

gear knob repaired? or need to use finger or pen?

• John May 9 Nangis on Jul 18, 2018 at 12:36 pm

Malaysians also want 7 seats, after all, the majority have 6 to 12 kids each.

So this car will be good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Horizon_Sailor on Jul 18, 2018 at 12:43 pm

it is a good option if Honda Malaysia could offer 7-Seater or 5+2 seater CRV for us since we already had HRV to support the 5-seater market.
    7-Seater BRV ?..nahhh…No, Thanks..too ugly…hehehe

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 18, 2018 at 1:12 pm

HM should offer the 7 seater variant for people who need it.

• Unfortunately, the two rear seats in the 7 seater CRV are very tight for room and are only suitable for very small children. This also eats in to the boot area, seriously minimising any required luggage space.

I’m guessing there would be better options in the market for a 7 seater than the CRV. As a 5 seater it is ideal, with lots of leg room for rear passengers and a heap of luggage space.

• Bernard on Jul 18, 2018 at 1:48 pm

In Europe, North America…..this is highly affordable and for the masses. They buy it cash mostly or very short term loans. After sales service is excellent.
    Here it is for the super rich or the average joe who take 9 year loans.

• Muhammad Uzaini on Jul 18, 2018 at 2:17 pm

Looking forward for this CRV 7 seater type to malaysian market. My interest in the design.

• Thailand and indon come with 7 seater and malaysia get 5 seaters.

What a stupid decision by the honda to adopt the 5 seater and complete head on with the Madza, kia, Tucsan, X-trail.

The 7 seaters always provide a better feature for consumer where most of the SUV in town come with 5 seaters configuration.

With the full 7 seates SUV, Honda can beat most of the competitor in the market and attract those MPV owner (Estima and Serena)to get one.

• Se Won on Jul 19, 2018 at 11:09 am

what drug r u taking? the new crv struggles to match other suvs in sales worldwide. ugly design, poor handling, the engine alone had hard time keeping up with 7 pax onboard. the current gen is a total failure.

• Mystvearn on Jul 18, 2018 at 7:55 pm

The Kia sorento is there for those who want 7 seats with proper 3rd row and comes with diesel and petrol engine.

• At last.. Someone with the most logical comment here. Agree with u bro

• mdnor on Jul 18, 2018 at 11:16 pm

For just slightly more, the average Msia household should get those proper 7 seaters
      XC90, Lexus RX 350L or atleast Mazda CX9

• Why don’t we deserve to get the 7 seater version? Do you think this is the best marketing strategy? In my opinion, buying 5 seater version of Honda CRV in the range of RM 140 000 to RM 158 000 is not worthy. It is better for me to buy other SUV or MPV which offer 7 seater version within that cost so that I can bring more people if I need so, or just turn it to be 5 seater version if I need more space for luggage etc. Don’t we think it is just a waste of money to spend alot buying 5 seater SUV whereas other brand offers more seats and space under RM 158 000?

• Maverick on Jul 20, 2018 at 10:39 am

A 7-seater CRV is not practical for the Malaysian market.
    The current RW CRV 5-seater is just nice. HM should keep it this way.

Furthermore, the last row for the extra 2 seats are too cramped and if you fold it up it takes up valuable storage space for cargo or luggage. It will only fit small children or adults with their legs amputated.

If you need a 7-seater, go buy an MPV, a CX-9 or an X-Trail, depending on your budget. Plenty of those in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10