2018 Mazda 6 facelift officially introduced in Malaysia – three petrol, one diesel, priced from RM156k-RM197k

Bermaz Auto has released the official prices for the facelifted Mazda 6 range that was previewed in Penang last week. The refresh brings about minor cosmetic changes to the exterior, led by an updated front end that borrows cues from the CX-5.

New bits include a grille surround that now flows beneath the headlamps rather than above them as well as reprofiled bumper, complete with the slim “whiskers” styling cues seen on the CX-5. The light graphics have also been redesigned with new LED daytime running lights, and a new 19-inch wheel design – shod with 225/45 profile rubbers – also makes its way on.

The model range available in Malaysia consists of four fully-imported (CBU) variants, starting with a 2.0L litre SkyActiv sedan, which is priced at RM156,190 (on-the-road, without insurance and zero-rated GST). As the moniker suggests, the baseline unit is powered by a 2.0 litre mill offering 162 hp and 213 Nm and sits on 17-inch wheels and 225/55 series tyres.

Standard equipment includes self-leveling, automatic LED headlamps with LED daytime running lights and LED tail lights, G-Vectoring Control and a leather steering wheel. The revised interior features a new horizontally-stretched dashboard, redesigned front seats and a new, higher contrast eight-inch full colour touchscreen and voice command support for the MZD Connect infotainment system.

This is followed by another two petrol variants, the 2.5L SkyActiv sedan and touring, which are priced at RM189,698 and RM193,472 respectively, again on-the-road without insurance and zero-rated GST. As you’d expect, kit gets bumped up on the 192 hp and 258 Nm 2.5 litre petrol-equipped offerings.

Where the 2.0 litre comes with a 4.6-inch TFT LCD screen in the instrument cluster, six-speaker audio system and a reverse camera, the 2.5 litre variants add on a LCD colour screen, heads-up display, paddel shifters, a 11-speaker Bose audio setup and a 360-degree view monitor setup. Also on, a speed-sensing auto door lock and walk-away lock function.

The final variant is a 2.2 litre SkyActiv diesel sedan, which goes for RM197,401 (again, OTR without insurance and zero-rated GST). It, like the 2.5 litre petrol versions, comes with adaptive LED headlights, blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert, lane keep assist, lane departure warning, driver attention alert and Smart City Brake Support.

Elsewhere, the entire Mazda 6 range features six airbags and ISOFIX child seat anchor points, ABS, stability control, EBD and brake assist, traction control, emergency stop signal, hill launch assist and auto hold. They also come with a five-year/100,000 km warranty as well as a three-year/60,000 km free maintenance package.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kaizer on Aug 14, 2018 at 5:15 pm

Shame they don’t bring in the 2.5L turbo variant…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Same money. Volvo S60 T6 306ps better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Yahya Awal on Aug 15, 2018 at 6:19 am

These high car prices are trickling down from the previous corrupted BN era. We should reduce car prices since we are not corrupted now and there is no need for excess dedak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • Budget deficit is increasing UNDER PH, GDP growth has been slashed from 6% to 5%. The PH ministers do not have brains, they will only increase taxes to support their socialism.
          No one is going to reduce car prices for you in Malaysia.

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 14, 2018 at 5:17 pm

These are crazy prices. Already Mazda 6 was like a failure before with their old cheaper pricing, now with this higher pricing, the car is doomed for zero sales.

No idea how a car costing USD$22k in the US can come here and become RM197k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
    • stastasta on Aug 16, 2018 at 2:09 pm

passat highline and optima gt cost around 170k. both cars are much faster than this slowpoke mazda.

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 14, 2018 at 5:19 pm

Now without GST, Nissan Teana is like RM110k and Honda Accord is like RM125k.

Why should anyone spend RM197k for a car that is more or less similiar to the Teana and Accord?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
    • I think teana & accord are better cars than mazda 6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 27
    • Because it’s a way nicer car than those shitboxes. Accord is very old and the Teana is a horrid car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 19
      • If you have family and regularly carry more than 1 passengers, you will realise Accord and Teana are still better than the 6 in terms of cabin space and refinement at much more acceptable prices. Seems like the 6 will remain exclusive because not many people will buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • RyanGehan on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:46 pm

pls use yr brain a bit. Both teana and accord are CKD while the mazda6 is a CBU. And teana has been outdated long ago. Thus obviously it’s cheaper. The accord also soon to be outdated already. Plus their specs are not as good and quality is incomparable to the mazda6. That’s why they’re cheaper. U can’t just compare side to side like that. And if u haven’t known already, mazda is considered a premium brand. (though not luxury brand)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
  • Linggam on Aug 14, 2018 at 5:24 pm

That is one of the most powerful NA 2.0 engine, both HP and torque figures. Not much difference though with 2.0 from 20 years ago. Alfa romeo 2.0 engines in 155 and GTV capable of producing 150bhp from the twin spark 16v, the e54 perdana v6 similar figures from 1999.

• Tokyo boy on Aug 14, 2018 at 5:40 pm

Mazda6 amazing best buy!
    SST come, RV up yo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr (Member) on Aug 14, 2018 at 5:40 pm

Not bad price for the base spec CBU but with the SST coming soon one will think twice of getting a base spec that will cost close to 170k. Get one now to avoid the tax they said!

• Ben Yap on Aug 14, 2018 at 5:59 pm

too expensive and better get a Honda accord with honda sensing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 31
    • Hate Mazda, cause its Mazda6 2.0L engine model never comes with a better safety features, yet still selling at 156k+. Seems like the cheaper Mazda3 2.0L has a more attractive safety features compare to the 156k+ Mazda6.
      So, I have to choose Mazda3 with decent safety features, but with small cabin like a B-segment? Or, should I pay a lot more, for a decent cabin size Mazda6, but compromise the safety of me and my family with the stone age safety features?
      Or is there any other choice?

• thefact on Aug 15, 2018 at 8:41 am

The Mazda 6 is a CBU :)

• Shouldn’t buy Honda on Aug 15, 2018 at 8:43 am

Dear Malaysian, there are reason why people shouldn’t buy Honda models in Malaysia. It is because Honda Malaysia is an association of manufacturers or suppliers with the purpose of maintaining prices at a high level and restricting competition. Moreover, Honda is very terrible as proven by JD Power Malaysia Customer Service Index (http://www.jdpower.com/business/press-releases/jd-power-2017-malaysia-customer-service-index-csi-study) – [take note that Proton and Perodua JD Power Malaysia Customer Service Index will improve in the next few years]. Furthermore, there are also having problem about faulty part for some Honda models. I am Civic owner, I just bought it last year. After one year, there is also having problem about my Civic. EPS (Electonic Power Steering) got problem. Also when I drive at the low speed, I heard that there is a crackling noise from Drive Shaft and also Relay on/off for more than 10 times in 1 second which gives problem. Therefore, as I went in to the Honda showroom, Honda people didn’t greet me. This shows that Honda Customer Care is very terrible as well. This is actually why Malaysian is cheated by Honda Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
        • Mason on Aug 16, 2018 at 4:18 pm

I am honda owner and i understand u. My experience tell me should try other model beside honda. Lol.

• Bought a 2017 Honda Accord 2.4. I fully agree with you especially the horrible quality.

• Mason on Aug 14, 2018 at 6:16 pm

Impressive facelift, especially the interior(top of it class). But why CBU only? Aren’t Mazda have a Assemble plant in Kulim. Hope Bermaz expedite their CKD model asap for a more acceptable price.

• Jack Maverick on Aug 14, 2018 at 6:17 pm

Dei.. where’s the 2.5 Turbo engine weh?

• Ahmad on Aug 14, 2018 at 8:27 pm

Bro Anthony, confirm no e-loop? That one saves battery. With i-stop activated especially in urban drive, the battery cant last long especially if no e-loop.

• Gaviny on Aug 14, 2018 at 8:31 pm

Diesel has upgraded power, 188 hp , 450NM, new VGT turbo. Bloody hell 450 for a sedan car.

• stastasta on Aug 16, 2018 at 2:13 pm

diesel 0-100 still more than 8 seconds. slowpoke compare to passat highline and optima gt. 450nm torque is useless without 4wd. you just gonna wheelspin and torque-steer all over the place.

• BrandonC on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:49 pm

Why are people still complaining about no 2.5 Turbo? The 2.2 diesel already is priced at 197K and people are complaining. And when Mazda bring in 2.5T and price it at 215K+ (estimated) you all will complain overpriced and not worth for this kind of car…. Seems like bring in also wrong, don’t bring in also wrong. Besides, most of the people complaining probably can’t even afford it.

• Pailtin Auto on Aug 14, 2018 at 11:59 pm

Mahal lah.Bagi lah kurang sikit harga tu.

• Diss-illusions on Aug 15, 2018 at 6:56 am

Are you guys sure that this is a ‘facelift’? As far as I understand, this is a NEW model for Mazda. The changes, albeit ‘minimal’ on the exterior, is fairly extensive in the interior which does not befit a facelift and then we also have the new line up and price jumps

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 16, 2018 at 6:38 pm

It rides on the same platform and uses the same body as before, so it’s still a facelift. A comprehensive one, sure, but still a facelift.

• Mikey on Aug 15, 2018 at 9:21 am

Looks like the Mazda6 is competing with the VW Passat in terms of pricing. Let the debate begin…

• stastasta on Aug 16, 2018 at 2:14 pm

the 2018 passat highline can be had for less than rm170k OTR.

• BLT_Club on Aug 15, 2018 at 10:24 am

200k for a Jepunis? Me so solly. Me no buy

• JDK10 on Aug 15, 2018 at 4:32 pm

What are you talking about? we now have kia-pop for not only 200k but 310k!

• JayEl on Aug 15, 2018 at 8:56 pm

This car is a real looker. And the interior feels premium. Frankly, the photos don’t do it justice, especially the interior. IMHO, RM156k is reasonable for a Japan built CBU 2.0, although I do wish they would either offer it at a lower price or put more goodies into it.

• johnny johnny yes papa on Sep 17, 2018 at 2:46 pm

156k for a premium car competing with mercedes and bmw, and how much again is your toyota camry hybrid?

• Own this car in Singapore, costs around 110k sgd over here. Honestly feel that it is value for money as it’s interior is comparable to that of continental Brand’s. Love the soul red crystal metallic which I feel stands out among other models in red.