New BMW i8 launched in Malaysia – RM1.31 million

BMW Malaysia has officially launched the new BMW i8 Coupe, several months after the updated petrol-electric hybrid sports car made its global debut in November 2017 alongside its roadster sibling.

The biggest changes involve the car’s powertrain, whereby the 355-volt battery now features an increased cell capacity (34 Ah from the previous 20 Ah) and higher gross energy capacity (11.6 kWh from 7.1 kWh). The result is more electric range, which is now rated at 55 km, or 50% more than its predecessor.

Improvements have also been made to the electric motor that drives the front wheels, which continues to be linked to a two-speed automatic gearbox. It now outputs 141 hp (105 kW), which is a 12 hp (9 kW) increase.

While the electrical aspects have been enhanced, the BMW TwinPower Turbo 1.5 litre three-cylinder engine remains unchanged, making 228 hp and 320 Nm of torque that goes to the rear wheels via a six-speed Steptronic transmission.

Working together, the overall system output is rated at 369 hp, which is enough to propel the i8 Coupe from a rest to 100 km/h in just 4.4 seconds, and limited top speed of 250 km/h (same as before). The fuel economy is a claimed 1.8 l/100 km and the car emits 42 g/km of CO2 – both figures are improvements from previously.

As this is still a plug-in hybrid model, you can charge the battery by connecting it to a domestic power socket (10 A, 230 V), with a full charge being reached in about 4.5 hours. Using a dedicated 3.7-kW i Wallbox (16 A, 230 V), it’ll take about three hours to achieve the same.

In terms of visual updates, the i8 now comes with an Air Shutter on the bonnet, which is an active aero feature that opens or closes depending on cooling versus aerodynamic needs.

The airflow at the front of the car has been tweaked to accommodate this, with the air being directed to the sides of the car near the wheel arches and into the underbody rather than exiting through the outlet in the bonnet when less cooling is needed.

Elsewhere, there’s also the addition of ‘Coupe’ badging on the C-pillar and the car rides on Jet Black 20-inch light-alloy wheels in a radial-spoke design (Style 516) like the i8 Roadster, with staggered tyre sizes (215/45 front and 245/40 rear). The available paint finishes include Jet Black, Crystal White with Frozen Grey highlights, or Donington Grey from the BMW Individual selection.

Beyond these changes, the exterior remains largely unchanged from before. We still get the attention-grabbing dihedral doors, Air Curtains in the front apron, a sealed underbody, countoured side skirts, “stream flow” lines on the flanks, and air ducts between the rear lights and roof frame.

Moving inside, the i8 Coupe comes with a ceramic surround for the gear lever and bezel for the iDrive controller. There’s also ‘Drycarbon’ interior trim, an anthracite headliner and ‘Spheric’ leather upholstery in either Gigia Amido or Accaro E-Copper. The dashboard layout remains pleasantly familiar, but gains a new, configurable colour heads-up display and the latest version of Navigation System Professional.

The latter works with the car’s iDrive operating system, Touch Controller on the centre console, an 8.8-inch freestanding display as well as a 600-watt Harman Kardon surround sound system. Other items on the kit list include LED headlamps with high-beam assist, Park Distance Control, powered seats, ambient lighting system and a dual-zone climate control system.

If you want the keys to one of BMW’s most recognisable models, the price of ownership is a cool RM1,310,800 on-the-road without insurance. Included in the sum is a five-year/unlimited mileage warranty with free scheduled service programme, a two-year tyre warranty programme, roadside assistance, BMW Service Online and BMW White Card membership (with access to the BMW Group Loyalty+ mobile app).

An alternative is the Balloon Financing Plan from BMW Credit, which allows you to own the new i8 Coupe with monthly instalment plans starting from RM15,088 (based on estimates of an 80% loan on a five-year tenure).

For more information and detailed specification of the new BMW i8, head on over to CarBase.my.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Bnpwr on Aug 14, 2018 at 8:39 pm

No hybrid tax breaks?

• Sonyman on Aug 15, 2018 at 8:36 am

Kena ckd only can sell at 400k

• Gear lever on Aug 17, 2018 at 5:49 pm

BMW gear lever is FANCY TO LOOK AT BUT the most crappiest and dangerous… those who own BMW with this design will know… BMW should go back to the standard ones.

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 14, 2018 at 8:45 pm

Such crazy pricing. RM1.3 million for this car. This car cost US$130k. But in Malaysia…..price jumps to RM1.3 million.

In overseas, US$130k cannot even buy a small tiny house. In Malaysia, RM1.3 million can buy a huge bungalow.

Truly, Malaysia has the highest car prices in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 13
    • U tak suka u keluar on Aug 14, 2018 at 10:06 pm

Migrate to US then, enjoy paying 10% up to 40% income tax and the freedom of gun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Jong Kong on Aug 14, 2018 at 10:08 pm

Byr shj loo

• eeeriz on Aug 15, 2018 at 10:57 am

Not true. Car prices in Singapore are a lot more expensive than Boleh Land. In fact Thailand also slightly more expensive than our country.

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 14, 2018 at 8:51 pm

Spend RM1.3 million on a EV that can only do 55KM?? Is this a joke?

Many EV cars now are doing over 100KM. Some even going few hundred KM and they cost much much more cheaper.

Is BMW Malaysia really serious? Charging RM1.3 million car that gives only 55KM?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 18
    • Eh… I will use Petrol when u exceed to 100km/h
      and this is a Plug In Hybrid not Electric
      You think this is Tesla Or What??

• This is plug in hybrid bro

• Said Sidek on Aug 15, 2018 at 8:17 am

Tesla and even Chevrolet now can do over 500KM. Real dumb to sell 1.3 million and only can do 55KM. Most Malaysians from Shah Alam to KL already done 55KM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • This is PHEV la hello… Not EV… It’s still a hybrid car.. aduh….

• Failure at reading as well.

• digidigi on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:35 pm

wah, last time 1.18, now 1.3…but 5 years unlimited warranty for a super car, good buy!

• Shafee on Aug 15, 2018 at 8:25 am

BMW Malaysia greedy. Last time Ringgit to dollar 4.5, now 4.1

So car price should be RM900k now RM1.3 mil. Easy way to make RM400k buta buta

• ToHellWithPlagiarism on Aug 14, 2018 at 10:03 pm

I wonder if it still has the fake exhaust sound mode like the previous gen .. *facepalm*

• Kuinosan on Aug 14, 2018 at 11:20 pm

Want to go full EV, go Tesla.

• #Oppo-Find-aSS. on Aug 15, 2018 at 7:38 am

Bang for bucks! I mean the apple i8

• eeeriz on Aug 15, 2018 at 8:40 am

I’ve been puzzling over the years now. BMW Malaysia, why no i3 in Malaysia? What’s wrong with that?

• Mikey on Aug 15, 2018 at 10:00 am

What!! RM1.3 million for a petrol-electric hybrid sports car that propel the i8 Coupe to 100 km/h in 4.4 sec & a limited top speed of 250 kmh.

That is Damn Bloody expensive for a hybrid car essentially. The only thing that is cheaper than a P1 Preve is the Road-tax. I wonder how many rich M’sian will buy one??

• 1.3 million car road tax only $90, very good

• Kia Stinger GT on Aug 15, 2018 at 11:24 am

Me opted for X6 M for that price..LOL

• Danny Ong on Aug 15, 2018 at 1:00 pm

Affordable prices, cheaper than Farrali, o.k on.

• Burn Motorist Wallet on Aug 15, 2018 at 1:39 pm

Choices of recond stock from quarter price onwards

• stastasta on Aug 16, 2018 at 2:54 pm

quarter price for recond ? you find me a recond i8 for 350k, i pay you 50k finders fee, deal ?

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 15, 2018 at 2:45 pm

That’s quite a lot of money for a sporty car that saves fuel. I’d rather get a Carrera S which costs about the same, but with better performance figures. No doubt it will cost you more at the pumps compared to the i8. But the Porsche is also better looking and more practical (rear seats anyone?).

• Ben Yap on Aug 15, 2018 at 2:54 pm

would you get a ferrari or an i8?

if i got the money petrol consumption is not a problem… so i prefer to go for brute power.

• stastasta on Aug 16, 2018 at 2:55 pm

brand new ferrari costs above 2 million , inclusive taxes.

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 15, 2018 at 7:01 pm

1.3 million ringgit for this sissy electric car??
    I am sure even with 500k, I can already buy much better performance (more hp, more grunt, better styling, better of many things) car this BMW….

• It surely is a special vehicle for what it is, but what offered on the used market 500k or so would be a more reasonable price that I would buy. At 1.2 million even Lexus LFA left unsold for many many years, how long they are going to hold this unit? You can buy the 2 latest facelift version of GTR with this hybrid that lacked everything it offered, you can even buy an ultra collectible niche like the Mercedes SLS.