Borgward BX5 SUV launching in Malaysia on Sept 30

It looks like the Borgward BX5 will make its official launch debut in Malaysia on September 30, based on a countdown timer found on Borgward Malaysia’s official website.

We first go up close with the BX5 in late April this year as part of an official preview, where a left-hand drive example of the five-seat SUV was on display. The SUV featured a 1.8 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine making 190 PS and 280 Nm, sent to all four wheels via a six-speed automatic transmission and all-wheel drive system. A smaller 1.4 litre turbo option (150 PS and 250 Nm) is offered in China.

In terms of size, the BX5 measures 4,490 mm long, 1,877 mm wide and 1,675 mm tall, with a 2,685 mm-long wheelbase. At the car show, the larger BX7 was also present, and could be the next model to be introduced by Borgward Malaysia.

Local specifications were yet to be confirmed at the time, and more information will likely only come around when the car is launched. However, we were told that the BX5 will be tentatively priced under the RM100k mark and that it will be a locally-assembled (CKD) model.

Earlier in May, Go Bremen Motors signed a deal with Borgward to handle the manufacturing and distribution of Borgward models in Malaysia as well as selected countries in the ASEAN region.

Borgward, which was formed in 1919 before going bankrupt in 1961, was resurrected in 2015 – the brand is owned by Chinese automaker Beiqi Foton Motor, a subsidiary of BAIC Group. The BX7, which made its debut at the Frankfurt Motor Show in 2015, marked the brand’s return on to the scene.

GALLERY: Borgward BX5 (LHD) in Malaysia

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Fattah on Aug 15, 2018 at 1:36 pm

RM100k Maserati levante …. amat teruja.

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 16, 2018 at 8:52 am

Wow, what a nice car. See how far China has come to coming out with quality cars? This is because they work hard and focused in their work.

Something Malaysians need to learn. Especially Proton. Work hard and you too can achieve International standards. Don’t rely too much on bantuan.

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 16, 2018 at 8:55 am

Work hard like China and we too can produce Levante quality cars.

• Certainly with not workers like you who spends his time coming here to talk nonsense instead of working. I pity your employers unless they pay you to come here talk nonsense.

• YAB Alberto on Aug 17, 2018 at 7:49 am

This guy is playing reverse psychology and thinks others are stupid

• alldisc on Aug 15, 2018 at 1:41 pm

P1 SUV oct launching.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 15, 2018 at 2:01 pm

The pricing below 100k makes it a serious contender to the HRV.

• Hogwarts on Aug 15, 2018 at 2:11 pm

Welcome to the Borgwards school of witchcraft and wizardry. Btw it sounds like “backwards” too.

• Kepoci on Aug 15, 2018 at 2:20 pm

CKD already? Great! More Malaysian jobs. To be honest this car doesn’t attract my interest but I won’t disregard it just yet. Will look into it on its release and give it chance, looks promising!

• Mikey on Aug 15, 2018 at 2:20 pm

Being a Chinese own German brand/name, its still a Chinese manufactured SUV essentially. The pricing around RM100k for the BX5 as mention by Hafriz is definitely on the wrong side as it will go head to head with the HRV.

Most M’sian will take the HRV but I think Borgward M’sia will price it from RM70k if it want to make M’sian interested in its products just like how Haval price its SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 15, 2018 at 8:30 pm

Why u think they cannot price even lower? U should know RM1 to RM99k is oso under RM100k.

• Mikey on Aug 16, 2018 at 9:32 am

If they can price the BX5 lower than RM70k, it will steal sales from HRV.

• DonkeyKong on Aug 15, 2018 at 2:24 pm

Good SUV for under RM100k. But with Mahathir’s self-pleasuring car project being developed, I doubt that the price will remain below RM100k for long, unless his children buy up a stake in Go Bremen..

• Donno on Aug 15, 2018 at 10:16 pm

A little bird told me that Dr M recently test drove this SUV in Langkawi.

• Looks veli similar to Wuling thou…

• Bernard on Aug 15, 2018 at 3:12 pm

Borgward? hahahahahahahahah LMAO!

• thykrupp on Aug 15, 2018 at 3:43 pm

This era is China era and will continue be so for century to come.

• Proton oh Proton on Aug 15, 2018 at 3:44 pm

More China car maker entering Malaysia… Haval, Borgward, Geely…

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 16, 2018 at 8:54 am

Proton will soon be classic collector car because Geely will soon be son in Malaysia under their own name.

• LOK CHYI YEU on Aug 15, 2018 at 4:10 pm

Is just like Braun Büffel, German brand but owned by Bonia which is a Malaysia company.
    This one above is German brand owned by China.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 15, 2018 at 4:14 pm

Price sounds about right as it will go head to head with the Haval H2 and if I’m not mistaken this is a C segment vehicle so it’s supposed to go head on with the likes of the CRV and CX5.

• If selling at 93k at proton boyue at 85k, proton will kolos shop

• Chandra on Aug 15, 2018 at 7:39 pm

Does this have voice activated controls? No?

• rally_fan (Member) on Aug 16, 2018 at 9:13 am

the biggest difference is.. it is a 100% new brand. local presence is still unknown.. how many service centres? etc. spare parts? thats a big challenge for them.

like it or not, thats the reason why geely bought into proton rather than come in on their own. they leverage on proton’s network and brand recognition and also plan to use Malaysia as a platform to penetrate other nearby markets in the region.

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 15, 2018 at 5:13 pm

If Borgward BX5 & Haval H2 can sell just below RM100K, it would mean the Proton Boyue (CKD) be the same, if not slightly cheaper.

More expensive, consumers will buy the H2 or BX5, simple as that. No point trying to convince Boyue got this or got that, Malaysian consumers go by pricing, first & foremost. That’s the harsh truth.

• Guan yin ma on Aug 15, 2018 at 5:40 pm

I 2 got things to respect here.
    1st, I respect the dealer to bring this unknown machine into malaysia,knowing they only can sell less than 500 units year year, and close soon after few years.

2nd, I respect those buyer that got the balls to buy this car, knowing the dealer will close shop anytime few years later due to bad sales. Not to mentioned, at least 70% depreciation after 3 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Nasir on Aug 15, 2018 at 7:48 pm

Which company is bring in this model,the car look superb,great n amazing

• Jascha on Aug 15, 2018 at 9:33 pm

I do hope that Go Bremen will provide the options as previewed earlier which includes three different interior colors and my favorite is the red body color with the ivory interior. If priced under 100k for the top spec, sure will buy one.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 16, 2018 at 12:04 am

Good. Let both SUV launch then can compare between Boyue & BX5.

• Gracke on Aug 16, 2018 at 12:46 am

It looks like Porsche Macan style pattern!!!!! and is 190hp, definitely worth to buy and the price is very attractive too.

• The Borg will invade Malaysia. “You will be assimilated”.

• Jerman Futbal on Aug 16, 2018 at 10:44 am

Extracted from Wikipedia:
    “The former Borgward car manufacturing company, was based in Bremen, Germany. Borgward’s Isabella was one of the most popular German premium models in the 1950s. The group ceased operations in 1961.

The brand was revived in the 21st century, with the Stuttgart-based Borgward Group AG designing and marketing cars manufactured in China. ”

So can you get the 2 key points?
    1. Premium German Car (in the old days)
    2. Designed in Stuttgart and made in China (same like Iphone “Designed in California and made in China)

Then, it’s not really a pure Chinese car kan? No1 ever called iphone a Chinese made phone kan!

Inside looks a bit like BMW. A winner has been spotted, if sold at RM 90K

• Nolongergerman on Aug 16, 2018 at 11:07 am

I suggest you watch Hafriz’s video above. Calling it a German car would be a real stretch.

• stastasta on Aug 16, 2018 at 3:30 pm

doubt it is designed in stuttgart.

• Pay somebody living in Stuttgart to sketch the car out. Ta dah! Designed in Jermany!

• Ong Boon Chaw on Aug 16, 2018 at 12:52 pm

Germany technology good

• the outlook of suv aesthetic.

• Hi, it is already mid of October, when the Borgward will be launch in Malaysia? I’m eager to hit the showroom that look at the car myself.
    Is there are any tentative date for the launching?