Perodua Myvi production disrupted due to vendor supply – 3,000 won’t get to register before Sept 1

Production of Perodua’s Myvi has been temporarily halted due to a supply disruption at one of its vendors, which has resulted in some 3,000 customers not being able to register their new Myvi before the end of August.

“We wish to apologise most sincerely to our customers who have been waiting patiently for their new Myvi. We take full responsibility for this issue and are putting all the necessary measures in place to ensure that production resumes as soon as possible,” said Perodua Sales MD Datuk Dr Zahari Husin.

Zahari said that Perodua’s current priority is to deliver the Myvi to some 3,000 customers who were originally scheduled to receive their cars before September 1, adding that allocation for all Myvi orders before June 1 has just been completed.

There has been a surge in demand for cars since the GST rate was reduced to 0% effective June 1, with punters rushing to make a purchase before the reintroduction of the sales and services tax (SST) on September 1.

Even without the supply disruption, last minute Myvi buyers wouldn’t have stood much chance in beating the tax holiday deadline. “If you’re booking the Myvi today, the delivery will be in September, so there’s no tax holiday for Myvi,” Zahari told paultan.org on June 14, explaining that the order backlog would have to be cleared first.

“We fully understand and are deeply concerned with the frustration of the customers involved. As such, we are currently working on a suitable form of compensation for said customers and will get in touch with them very soon via our outlets,” the P2 sales chief added.

“We are working as hard as we can to remedy this supply disruption and resume Myvi production as soon as possible. That said, production of our other models are running normally and deliveries of our Axia, Bezza and Alza continue to be on track. We invite our valued customers to speak to our authorised sales advisors for more information on our models as well as the estimated delivery times of their Myvi,” Zahari said.

Launched in November 2017, the Myvi has been Perodua’s best selling model ever since, with 68,000 deliveries from 120,000 bookings collected so far. The Rawang-based market leader sold an estimated 140,000 cars between January and July 2018, representing a jump of nearly 19% year-on-year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 20, 2018 at 7:29 pm

What suitable form of compensation?

Just rebate the SST lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • TopsyBoxyTurvy on Aug 20, 2018 at 9:04 pm

Higher Myvi price, better the RV.

• GoGoGo on Aug 20, 2018 at 9:22 pm

I think p2 should absorb sst til end of year to make their sales target stay on the road. They try to achieve 200k sales this year, if they absorb sst till end of year, means 0% tax for all p2 cars, buyer will take good advantage on this period to buy p2 car, big chance they probably will hit their target.

• tokmoh. on Aug 21, 2018 at 9:55 am

The fact he did not commit to this puts question mark on the amount of compensation they will give.

Very likely less than the SST amount, or give useless items like free bodykit lel, so customers pay for their screw up.

• Ahmadjr on Aug 20, 2018 at 7:33 pm

Eleh padahal nak tunggu sst

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
    • SST is not going into perodua’s pocket. it is going to the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • SST senang elak dari bayar ke government. GST takleh.

• GST macai on Aug 24, 2018 at 10:44 pm

SST senang elak if you are ‘ikan bilis’ punya businessman. PERODUA is quite a big company at least in Malaysia. You think gov will ‘senang2’ let them not pay SST ka? 頭食い。

• YB Albert on Aug 20, 2018 at 7:41 pm

Mr.Z,Consumers do not buy this crap.
    Another day,you will say another vendor got fire at its yard.
    So,to be a gentleman,you should deliver the car after sept 1 but absorb the SST.
    Dont be too gung ho and boast and talk 3 talk 4 like before.
    Just pathetic perodua treats car lovers like animals.
    Compensate the car buyer for the inconvenience caused.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
    • Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Aug 20, 2018 at 10:35 pm

perodua treats car lovers like animals – They already done it what, all their brand new cars DOESN’T HAVE a water temperature gauge, worse they remove it for Myvi3 where Myvi1 and Myvi2 have it and give them a cheap crap useless idiot light. Plus, lots of useful features gone missing (for models other than new Myvi), but many useless features and equipments available (even new design rim, chrome and stupid bodykits also riuh sekampung).

• Jazz wannabe on Aug 21, 2018 at 6:10 pm

Honda removed it so long ago…back in 2001
        when they lauched Jazz

• leoRNado on Aug 21, 2018 at 9:38 pm

I just wanna say the same thing. All these people stay in the cave. Most of the international brand remove the temp gauge long time ago. Vios when introduce back in 2003 came with temp gauge with blue icon.

• Petoron Sagu on Aug 20, 2018 at 7:47 pm

Alasan….. Excuse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • kaizen on Aug 20, 2018 at 7:47 pm

Those affected 3,000 Myvi customers can opt for the Iriz ready stock otr before Sept1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
    • Wak Nat on Aug 20, 2018 at 10:40 pm

Compensate with discount wud be best option to match zero-rated gst price. It’s kinda social obligation on the part of producer n again as a gesture of recognition towards strong public support for perodua.

Likelihood for customers opting for other models (in the market) in the absence of dreamt models wud be just a mere mitos.

• johnissohai on Aug 21, 2018 at 12:02 am

rather walk than driving a proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Fikir2kanlah on Aug 21, 2018 at 12:48 am

Yeaeleh…dah lah untung byk, bagi sikit pun susah… mcm mazda cukup gentleman, bagi aja… Bukan u x ada untung nanti kereta still under warranty mesti hantar balik service juga, awk juga yg untung..Jgnlah sampai tahap mcm UMW, akhirnya awk juga yg rugi…
      if those 3+++ dare to wait or in no rush..
      Geely’s Bo Rui sedan are worth to wait and i believe you won’t regret. just compare on design, size, teknologi n price maybe slightly a big higher, but already win the cap Myvi only…
      As Geely Binrui is expected to be priced from CNY 90,800 (~RM 54,148) for the base manual variant, while the range-topping model is said to set buyers back for CNY 118,800 (~RM 70,843). Fikir-fikirkanlah….

• Petoron Sagu on Aug 20, 2018 at 9:56 pm

Bukan apa…. We don’t suspect anything bad. But in a sudden, Toyota, Honda, Nissan, P2…. All no stock, especially hot model…. Coincidence?

• BeemerFreak on Aug 20, 2018 at 10:01 pm

Compensation is the only way you can work for customers. Money speaks loudest, Period.

• In another words: “We just want to price up our cars! Ha ha ha ha!”

• Jeffrey on Aug 21, 2018 at 1:41 am

This is so unethical, shame on you Perodua!

• CashMoney on Aug 21, 2018 at 7:09 am

120,000 cars = More than $1 Billion USD in revenue. Good job.

• azrai on Aug 21, 2018 at 7:14 am

Just waiting for SST and sell at a bigger profit margin after doing some calculation.if not,august ramp up production,sept no more buying frenzy sure rugi lorr… august overtime,september more no pay leave for wirkers then.

• Carlover on Aug 21, 2018 at 7:49 am

Why u have to blame on vendor, publicly? Dont u have contingency plans? Very childish excuse to blame others. If u cant cope with orders, just stop taking order.

• Fariz on Aug 25, 2018 at 4:17 pm

Agreed. By right, the vendors shall also have contingency plan. It is mandatory for those vendors who certified for automotive standard (eg IATF/ ISO/TS). Else, Perodua did not monitor the vendors certification status? How come..

• Mikey on Aug 21, 2018 at 9:06 am

WHAT !!! The Myvi has delivered 68,000 from 120,000 bookings since its Launched in November 2017. This 120,000 units alone beats many car manufacturer(no names mention here) sales for the entire yr.

• pengayuhbasikal on Aug 21, 2018 at 9:42 am

when rushing to assemble cars…not good to customers…

• Ben Yap on Aug 21, 2018 at 9:42 am

cancel your order and top up a bit only to get Honda Jazz.

• MusTanG on Aug 21, 2018 at 9:42 am

sembang la perodua.

If you want to take responsibilities, absorb SST for the 3k orders lah.

• Nonsense…If he really do care on those 3000, sure can make it. just mahu x mahu aja….bagi offer sikit pun payah sgt ke? dah lah dah untung byk, mahu lebih dari tu..like mazda cukup genteman, tak payah ckp pun dia org sendiri offer kan..mcm ni la panggil business, go for long term run what… kereta kan under warranty, bila service n separate nanti awak juga yg dpt untung semua tu, tak kan u mahu ikut jejek UMW? tengok apa dah jadinya sekarang dah free sgt sampai nak ambil separate, parts/products.. Jadi fikir-fikirkanlah those 3,000 customers.

• LaLa Land on Aug 21, 2018 at 5:30 pm

Somehow I have the feeling the government is involved in this.

• Jazz wannabe on Aug 21, 2018 at 6:14 pm

Honda removed it so long ago…back in 2001
    when they lauched Jazz

• MamakCyberia on Aug 21, 2018 at 6:56 pm

Get a KIA perhaps. Kimchi is better now or go for a 2nd hand car. A vios dugong or a Kia Forte is better than nothing

• I haven’t get my Bezza which I ordered on 29th June 2018. According to my sales agent, it is normal as many people whom order mid June also haven’t gotten their car.

Can anyone answer me if I can exempted from SST..?

• IT IS TRUE though.. their vendor have crack mold and the supply have been cut off.. its like chain reaction.. other vendors are also in need of stopping the production line as the other parts are oversupplied while myvi line is being halt..