C257 Mercedes-AMG CLS 53 4Matic+ debuts in Malaysia – mild hybrid, Edition 1, from RM806k

If you like how the third-generation Mercedes-Benz CLS looks, but think it’s a little sedate performance-wise in its CLS 450 variant form, then the Mercedes-AMG CLS 53 sounds like just the thing. The hot version of the C257, which made its debut earlier this year in Detroit, has been introduced in Malaysia alongside its civilian sibling, and arrives here also in Edition 1 guise.

The 53 is powered by the same M256 3.0 litre turbo inline-six engine as seen on the CLS 450, but output has been bumped to 435 hp and 520 Nm in this case. The mill features a 48-volt on-board electrical system and an EQ Boost integrated starter generator, fitted between the engine and transmission. This provides the engine with 21 hp and 250 Nm of assist for short periods.

Paired with an uprated nine-speed AMG Speedshift TCT 9G automatic and with 4Matic+ all-wheel drive in tow, the CLS 53 does the 0-100 km/h sprint in 4.5 seconds, with top speed electronically limited to 250 km/h.

The CLS 53 gets an AMG Ride Control air suspension, which features continuously adjustable damping ADS+ (Adaptive Damping System). Also on, special steering knuckles and load-bearing joints as well as higher spring rates, to reduce body roll and improve cornering stability.

Styling-wise, the AMG variant of the CLS gets a twin-blade radiator grille in silver chrome – previously unique to the full-on AMGs only – as opposed to the diamond radiator grille with individual pins, and the central radiator now features a black lattice pattern.

There’s also a new front apron in A-wing design, two horizontal fins in the outer air intakes, AMG-specific side sill panels, a rear spoiler, a rear apron with a new diffuser insert and rounded quad exhaust tips.

The local-specification CLS 53 comes with an AMG Line exterior and Night package as well as an AMG exterior carbon package, which replaces the standard fit spoiler and exterior mirror caps with carbon-fibre AMG units. It rides on 20-inch five-twin spoke AMG light alloy wheels.

Inside, there’s an AMG Line interior, an AMG sport steering wheel dressed in Nappa leather and a Copper Art interior, part of the Edition 1 pack. Here, the seats are finished in black pearl Nappa leather, with diamond design print on the centre sections and copper-coloured topstitching. Also on, AMG carbon-fibre centre console and trim elements.

Like the CLS 450, there are also AMG illuminated door sill panels, an electric sliding glass sunroof, an Air Balance package and premium 64-colour ambient lighting. It also features a COMAND Online navigation system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support, a Burmester surround sound system and wireless charging.

The Mercedes-AMG CLS 53 Edition 1 is priced at RM806,638, on-the-road without insurance and zero-rated GST. Opting for the designo paint brings the price to RM811,355.

Check out the complete specifications of the Mercedes-AMG CLS 53 4Matic+ at CarBase.my.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 24, 2018 at 2:18 pm

The global pricing for this car is US75k to US80K. That is RM320k maximum.

Come here become RM806k. Amazing, from RM320k can lompat to RM320k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 38
    • rightwinger on Aug 24, 2018 at 8:06 pm

go ask old geezer PM why he did it and why he no want to stop it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
      • The filthy rich pipu buy super yacht yo’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
        • SK, Lim on Aug 25, 2018 at 10:41 am

Yes. Called “Puteri Alyanna”.

• Lets See on Aug 25, 2018 at 7:04 pm

This is a car site. It is not a super yacht site. You want to talk about super yacht go to that site.

Here we talk about cars (& motors).

• Lokman Saad on Aug 25, 2018 at 2:27 pm

too much of corruption the past 63 years have made car prices so high in Malaysia

• obviously on Aug 24, 2018 at 9:41 pm

Obviously you are not their target market, why so worry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
    • Im still waiting for ur RM60k Camry. Where ur showroom ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
    • Sense on Aug 27, 2018 at 12:07 am

This “mild hybrid system” is similar to old Hondas’ IMA right? “EQ Boost integrated starter generator, fitted between the engine and transmission”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Honda IMA means no aircon when stuck in traffic jams. I dun think Mesidis system is as useless.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Aug 24, 2018 at 2:45 pm

Malaysia has truly the most expensive car prices in the world!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 22
    • Rightwinger on Aug 24, 2018 at 7:40 pm

And thanks to PH gomen, price set to go higher and for longer period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
    • Vader on Aug 24, 2018 at 9:02 pm

And concurrently, Thailand would have the highest prices in the Solar System, but pales to Sinkie which has the highest price in the Universe. I see what you did there…

• S63 AMG in Thailand RM780k more expensive than Malaysia.

• stastasta on Aug 28, 2018 at 11:50 am

brand new s63 cost 1.5 million ringgit in malaysia. double the price of thai ?

• Thailand price is RM780k more than malaysia… Not RM780k.. Inprove your english please.

• Lokman Saad on Aug 25, 2018 at 2:28 pm

Too much of corruption in the past has increased car prices by 700% from 1985 to 2018 in Malaysia

The same cars in Japan have only gone up 50% from 1985 to 2018.

Corruption has weakened our ringgit too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 25, 2018 at 7:07 pm

No problem coz you said Camry will be sold at Rm60,000 now with new government. I’m still waiting for you to share your showroom location. AFAIK, Camry prices is set to increase with SST, so where is your Rm60,000 Camry?

• Johnny on Aug 24, 2018 at 3:21 pm

One concern is… is COMAND up gradable to MBUX in the future?

• Kia stinger top speed limiter up to 270km/h. It’s time for germeny cars distributors offering 300km/h driver package.

• at that price, a porshce is the better choice

• car is probably really worth usd20k, put on the badge and theres the difference. Mercedes today are full of low crappy components which probably give you max 4 years of trouble free motoring if you are lucky. After that everything will break and they will charge you a bomb for parts made by cheapest material possible..hence will be worth only rm20k in couple of years..rest of your money goes up in smoke..why anyone would put themselves into it i have no freaking idea..imaginary status maybe lol

• John 2018 on Aug 27, 2018 at 8:54 pm

Dear All, come back to this car outlook discussion, for me, the new headlamp design language for this Merc CLS 53 (and also new A-Class) looks rather….weird. Will draw conclusion upon seeing it flash.