SST: Honda releases new prices, up to RM4.9k cheaper

Honda Malaysia has announced new prices of its models following the government’s reimplementation of the sales and service tax (SST) effective September 1. The new prices are inclusive of the 10% sales tax imposed on motor vehicles.

Like Perodua, the prices for Honda’s completely knocked-down (CKD) model range are all cheaper with SST than prices inclusive of the 6% goods and services tax (GST), which was zero-rated in June. The on-the-road prices of the Jazz, BR-V, City, Civic, CR-V and Accord are down by 0.5 to 3.1% with SST compared to that with GST.

The CR-V 1.5 TC 4WD features the biggest price adjustment, being RM4,868 cheaper with SST (RM156,732) compared to with GST (RM161,600), but it’s the Jazz 1.5 S that shows the largest percentage gain, 3.13% cheaper now than with GST in place.

SST: Honda releases new prices, up to RM4.9k cheaper

Two models, however, see a price increase, though they are both CBU imports – the Odyssey 2.4 EXV and Civic Type R are now RM4,096 and RM10,002 more compared to their GST inclusive prices.

Both the Jazz Hybrid and City Hybrid are not in the new price list, the reason being that their pricing has not been finalised, pending government approval. As for the HR-V, it’s not on the list because the facelift will be introduced shortly, and its price has not been revealed. Elsewhere, the company added that after-sales services will be subjected to a 6% service tax for labour charges.

So, with two companies having released prices with SST in place, the trend is pointing towards cars being cheaper as a result of moving away from GST, at least where local assembly is concerned, essentially baulking the forecast made by the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) that car prices would increase with the introduction of SST.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• SammyB on Sep 03, 2018 at 6:13 pm

When they implemented gst from sst price dropped, now back to sst lagi drop. Someone explain to me please. Because ckd parts now no sst last time got?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • ponogoro on Sep 03, 2018 at 6:23 pm

Imported CBU Odyssey & Civic TR go up

• Najibnomics on Sep 03, 2018 at 8:42 pm

Previously.

How car price goes down when GST is collecting at every levels? Was that “show-good” effect absorb by manufacturers?

If the answer is YES. Then why shocked to see 1-level SST can reduce the car price a little.

• should increase Car taxes than go down..

previously GST collection go to subsidize improved better public transportations

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
          • Oredi told you all. once sst implement, all car Price High Lah. Oh waitt !!

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 04, 2018 at 10:46 am

how come car prices have come down? John for 4 months been telling us car prices will go up.

Betul ke ini?

• Oh Wai! Car prices Gone Down, not UP!!! on Sep 04, 2018 at 11:00 am

This is very good news. Car prices have come down.

Malaysians are very happy now.

• Sangkancil on Sep 03, 2018 at 7:03 pm

U obviously didn’t read the article thoroughly, or maybe didn’t read at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • SammyB on Sep 03, 2018 at 8:25 pm

You obviously don’t understand my question, I’m asking how come it’s cheaper than previous sst(before 2015), not gst. No mention of previous sst in article. MAA so confident price going up

• Mikey on Sep 04, 2018 at 9:01 am

SammyB, I think your question is targeted at a certain john but he has since changed his name here now bcoz he don’t know where to hide his face when the price still drop with SST.
          He has many names & I’m suspecting Sangkancil is just one of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
          • zamer on Sep 04, 2018 at 9:22 am

True..he was peddling SST price increase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
        • Mr. Octopus on Sep 04, 2018 at 2:31 pm

The answer is simple…

Previous SST was 10% on total cost, now is 10% on certain components only for CKD (maybe less than 50% of total cost). The overall effect is the total price with SST now is lower than with SST then, and also lower than with GST previously.

The current SST structure for automotive will benefit all CKD cars with more local content.

• TheDean on Sep 03, 2018 at 8:58 pm

stronger RM translate to cheaper cars now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
        • hammer engineer on Sep 03, 2018 at 10:58 pm

Nope. MYR is weakening against USD. Note that the price drop involves only ckd models.. cbu prices hv in fact gone up.

• SammyB on Sep 03, 2018 at 11:04 pm

RM was stronger than now when gst was implemented

• basherlogic on Sep 03, 2018 at 6:17 pm

Cheaper honda gerenti kena bash kaw kaw becuz lower RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
  • Gabriel on Sep 03, 2018 at 6:48 pm

Car 30% cheaper if pipu juz stick w old gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 54
  • Mario and Bros on Sep 03, 2018 at 6:59 pm

guys pls don’t buy Honda because there are huge problems about my Civic including other Honda models too. I just bought Civic for several months ago. After several months, I have been hearing noises from steering wheel, steering column, driver and passenger doors, underneath 7 inch central console, air con vents, room light, dashboard, rear seat, A pillar, and some areas which I couldn’t identify. Furthermore, EPS (Electonic Power Steering) got problem. Also when I drive at the low speed, I heard that there is a crackling noise from Drive Shaft and also Relay on/off for more than 10 times in 1 second which gives problem which Honda Assembly quality is very terrible and it is most likely same goes to other Honda models. So I went to Honda Service Center to service and fixed my Civic. But after servicing and fixed my Civic, still there is lots of problem, either Honda service people didn’t service and fixed my car properly or Honda service people didn’t bother to fixed my car or service my car. Lastly, if you buy Honda, it will be more dangerous and very risky for you and you will have to face lots of problems.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 42
    • Bernard on Sep 03, 2018 at 7:30 pm

Selling a car is the easy part. After sales service, usually the problem.

Sophisticated cars but unsophisticated workers handle it.

General problem .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • I would love to have a chat with your English Teacher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
    • all car got problem lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • A car owner on Sep 03, 2018 at 11:28 pm

Yes, but not so much.Something much be really wrong with their QA or design.

• syafiq on Sep 03, 2018 at 7:44 pm

you’ve probably got a lemon unit. I’m using a 2017 City V spec and had no rattling, creaking or thumping noises anywhere. The car has been reliable, had managed to put 90k km on it to date. I dont skimp on maintenance and follow through what Honda had outlined. Such a reliable car. Mum uses a 2013 CR-V 2.4L and has been splendid so far. No problems at all except for normal tyre/oil/brakes changes. You got really unlucky but you shouldn’t bark here and instead relay your qualms over to your nearest Honda service centre for warranty claims.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 36
      • stastasta on Sep 05, 2018 at 2:08 pm

how can you claim your 1 year old car to be reliable ? continue use it for another 5 years or 100k km, then only you will know .

• Dong gor on Sep 03, 2018 at 7:46 pm

Mario Brothers… You talked all d lor. Even proton doesn’t have that list of problems within the shirt time frame.. All problems showed up at once, u think knocking unlimited mushrooms from your Mario jump meh… Pui

• Mondo on Sep 03, 2018 at 10:42 pm

Buy elephant la… Sure no mechanical sound…. Only elephant sound…. Mangkuk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • hammer engineer on Sep 03, 2018 at 11:00 pm

Pretty sure u got a bad apple.. but many upvotes, wondering if honda drivers on paultan are having the same probs?

• stastasta on Sep 05, 2018 at 2:09 pm

that bugger keeps on pasting the identical complaints in every article related to honda. i am quite sure most of the upvotes are done by himself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
        • dugongx on Sep 06, 2018 at 1:15 am

Its obvious this is an idiotic toyota salesman troll pasting the same story over and over again. My wife’s 4 year old jazz has some minor problems but its been sorted by the service centre after a few complains.
          If your civic is so problematic you should sell it off.. It has very high RV and is easy to sell. Why still keeping it?
          Sell it to me for 80k. I’ll buy it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Civic Turbo on Sep 04, 2018 at 1:03 am

Yours must be a lemon unit la. My Civic turbo after 2 years ownership no rattling. Just very minor on super rough bad road. 99.9% on the road no rattling. ..no other issues as well. Just first batch aircond not cold. Claimed warranty and replaced a new one ..all done in one week. So far satisfied with the quality & fast parts replacement..

• hondaman on Sep 04, 2018 at 7:52 am

i hv a 5 year old CRV & 6 year old City… no major problem so car… only the musty smelling air cond although 5 X masuk SC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Commenter on Sep 04, 2018 at 9:18 am

Check cabin filter and ac blower, or just do those cabin ioniser thing in car cabin if both of those are verified clean

• 25 year old SM4, CB3. Carburetors, no less. With NGV kit. Still purrs like a kitten. Never fancied electronic thingamajiggery. Power window acts up a bit once in a while. Thieves tried to steal, but I guess they were flummoxed by the security system! You, sir have probably taken delivery of a lemon and stated by more than a few here. Challenge the seller. Was this from Honda or a dealer? Good luck. By the way, with so much technology around, why don’t you record/document some of these actual problems and confront them? Cheers.

• Manual Swift Sporter on Sep 04, 2018 at 10:43 am

Don’t buy first batch of Honda. My 1st batch GM6 Honda City problems include: croaking suspension within 3 months, transmission crackle at stop go acceleration, slight misfit of interior panels throughout, demister not working and bad orange peel on paint. My friend bought the same model second batch and had not a single problem.

Same with Honda Civic Turbo, many issues heard from first batch, no problem after second batch.

That said, to be fair I suspect main problem was Honda is constantly innovating and with every new idea they encounter new problems. You wanna have a fuss free purchase you go Toyota, kompom no problem cos same product sold 15 years. Also, I was blessed with good servicing from Honda.

• Julious on Sep 04, 2018 at 11:23 am

My whole family & few friends are driving HONDA for years, there is no complaints at all. It’s an awesome vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • ditto that. sold mine after 10 months….

• Ya-meh on Sep 04, 2018 at 3:20 pm

Toyota Salesman detected.
      I’ve been driving a Honda Accord facelift for 2 years and 0 problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • Shocked on Sep 04, 2018 at 5:57 pm

Thanks for the info. I’ll think twice or thrice nx time before buying Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • This is your first car?

• One would query if SST was ady set at 6 or 10 percent, what’s the reason why the price diff isn’t “Price without GST” + 6%? One would think that it’s Honda that’s partially absorbing the SST difference, and will silently increase prices later on.

Case in point, SST for City E is only Rm 2552 (3.2% SST???). How did they arrive at this figure? This isn’t transparent at all unlike GST.

• Mikey on Sep 04, 2018 at 9:04 am

As a consumer, we don’t give a ship if its GST or SST. All we want is a reduced price yes or not?!

• city2015 on Sep 04, 2018 at 9:11 am

sst only applied at lower tier i think. at material cost?

• Zhi Hong on Sep 04, 2018 at 9:58 am

SST is only charged at the first level of production, and subsequent value added is not subject to 10% SST, this explains why the final impact of the price is less.

As compared to GST, it is charged at the final price of the product. The higher the value added, the higher the impact.

• I’ll stick to CHR, no matter what they say, no matter how expensive it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 25
  • loll to those rushed like mad

• someones on Sep 04, 2018 at 9:38 am

i hope our current government can keep their election promise drop 30% of the excise duty.

• Ben Yap on Sep 04, 2018 at 9:53 am

With the lower price, Honda sales will boom even more and defeat P2 sales. just give Honda time to be the number 1 selling brand in Malaysia and worldwide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Ken Tut on Sep 04, 2018 at 10:06 am

Hello! Could anyone confirm whether the prices with GST are with or without Insurance? Thanks!

• How about RECOND car??

• pengguna proton kecewa on Sep 04, 2018 at 12:33 pm

direct import maa, of course it would be more expensive. ONly CKD or local car would benefit from SST

• Santhi Munisamy on Sep 04, 2018 at 11:12 am

Honda HRV new

• Aabbcc on Sep 04, 2018 at 3:06 pm

Ckd price go down maybe the sst is at 10% of factory price (before any duty included).

Cbu price go up maybe sst at 10% of selling price (with all duty included).

Just a matter where the sst is applied.
    Can change any time.
    Wait n see…

• some say honda price after SST was cheaper because they have reduce some of features and accessories. Is that true?

• when will HM release the city hybrid price? its been a month since SST is introduced