RM1.50 petrol not in PH manifesto – targeted fuel subsidy for kapcai, cars below 1.3L next year

RM1.50 petrol not in PH manifesto – targeted fuel subsidy for <em>kapcai</em>, cars below 1.3L next year

RM1.50 per litre of petrol? No chance, unless the global price of crude oil drops to that level, as the government has no plans to reduce the price of petrol, which has been fixed at RM2.20 per litre of RON 95. This was what deputy finance minister Datuk Amiruddin Hamzah told the Dewan Negara today, reported by Bernama.

The government is not reneging on a promise because there was no such plan in the Pakatan Harapan’s manifesto for the 14th General Election, he said in response to a question from senator Datuk Ng Chiang Chin, who also wanted to know the amount spent on fuel subsidy.

Amiruddin said the the government used RM1.667 billion to subsidise RON 95 petrol for the period between May and June this year, maintaining pump prices at RM2.20 per litre when it should be higher.

We shouldn’t get too used to this blanket subsidy though, as the government is now working on a detailed mechanism for the implementation of a targeted petroleum subsidy system. Amiruddin said that in the new system, fuel subsidy will be given to motorcycles below 125cc, and cars with engines below 1,300cc. The mechanism will be announced next year.

In June, it was revealed that RON 95 petrol would be priced at RM2.53 per litre without subsidy, and diesel RM2.51 per litre, based on global crude prices then. The government has said that pump prices will be maintained for the rest of 2018.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Sep 12, 2018 at 5:16 pm

Instead of under a specific engine capacity why not set it to be under a set CO2 emission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 9
    • Golfer on Sep 12, 2018 at 5:22 pm

Concur. VW car got best CO2 emissions .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
      • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 12, 2018 at 7:20 pm

I cannot stop laughing. For 4 months all the sad people here were peddling fake news.

Well, not sad people lah, to be more precise, one person with multiple dupes.

Now the truth is out….lolz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 25
        • SST up Car prices up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
          • John Sudah Kantoi on Sep 12, 2018 at 8:20 pm

With SST about 9 brnds have already announced car prices have gone down

I think high time fake news and fake dupes promoter here better accept the truth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
          • EDITOR on Sep 13, 2018 at 10:37 am

http://paultan.org/2018/09/04/bmw-motorrad-malaysia-prices-up-after-sst-kicks-in/

• John Bin Kantoi on Sep 13, 2018 at 11:45 am

Shameful when we have to spread rumours and lies just to prove a point

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Sep 12, 2018 at 7:26 pm

This is the best news today. Shows that many frustrated liars in our comments section. They rather lie than admit their shame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 23
        • New Malaysia menu on Sep 12, 2018 at 8:03 pm

Yay! My Peugeot 2008 will get petrol subsidies while your Myvi 1.5, Honda Cities & Toyota Vios don’t. The rich are smart enough to get it while the poor needs to work harder for us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • Chavez on Sep 13, 2018 at 9:27 am

My Peugeot 2008 gets fuel subsidies while Myvi 1.5 owners doesn’t. Who says only the poor gets fuel subsidies? Ha ha ha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • Chavez New Malaysia menu on Sep 13, 2018 at 10:27 am

Ha ha ha!

• Chavez on Sep 13, 2018 at 11:04 am

What’s so funny, dude? I just so happens to own a 2008 like the commenter above. You know who will have the last laugh? Certainly not Myvi 1.5 owners! Ha ha ha! The poor gets screwed!

• Vincent Ang on Sep 13, 2018 at 12:29 pm

Kind of stupid to buy an expensive car to get fuel subsidies.

• Chia w k on Sep 12, 2018 at 8:07 pm

VW cheated on the CO2 discharge level! Untrustworthy!

• Red Jacket on Sep 12, 2018 at 6:05 pm

Cannot la. Because petrol subsidy meant for poor ppl only. But I agree if our roadtax system is changed based to co2 emission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
      • Aston Cygnet 1.3L gudfor fuel subsidy.

• xdrive on Sep 12, 2018 at 6:50 pm

Does it mean all those hybrid cars get least road tax? Tesla … zero road tax…LOL

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 12, 2018 at 7:23 pm

All the fake news cybertroopers now don’t know where to hide their face today!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 35
          • Lolz! Trying way too hard to protek ur Masters. Everything is out on the internet. U cant hide it anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • Rajan on Sep 13, 2018 at 11:46 am

Many are upset that we have a clean Government now. No more dedak. DOn’t be sad bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • So people with BMW i8 can get the subsidy? Err… what is the objective of subsidy again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • hidzami on Sep 13, 2018 at 10:12 am

For roadtax, yes. But, for subsidy another mechanism has to be detailed out since the main purpose is to help those with lower income. Probably based on the car price? Since with the turbo technology, even imported vehicles use low displacement engine.

• Pretty soon all the video recordings of them giving out ceramahs promising such thing are going to crop up.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 18
  • azhar on Sep 12, 2018 at 5:24 pm

made the right decision bought Iriz 1.3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 12, 2018 at 5:24 pm

Bullcrap! This was brought up in every ceramahs and speeches leading up to GE14. The dep fin minister should stop lying and fact check with his comrades that gave those ceramahs.

What The Capati!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 11
    • Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Sep 12, 2018 at 5:35 pm

Someone I know once told me, the current crop of PH leaders are a bunch of bollocks!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 13
      • John Sudah Kantoi on Sep 12, 2018 at 8:22 pm

Enough of personal agenda. This is a car site.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
        • Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Sep 13, 2018 at 10:33 am

What personal agenda bro? I’m just relaying info of what I was told, bro. Enough of your personal agenda, bro. Can’t take the flak, bro? Get out of this forum, bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • Rajan on Sep 13, 2018 at 11:48 am

I think everybody knows about the fake news you spread john. Time to give up your antics

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • Just becoz ur dupe up there got John init, dun mean its me dude. Use a better dupe then.

• YB Albert on Sep 12, 2018 at 11:00 pm

So,there comes a day when a Myvi 1.3 owner goes to pump petrol,where 95 percent of attendants are foreigners.
        So the owner or driver has to show proof it is not a 1.5 Myvi.
        What happens if the driver of a higher cc car’make friends’ with the Bangla and get the discounted petrol price?
        You mean Banglas have to be the enforcer of the new price mechanism at the petrol pumps? 3 banglas to monitor 10 pumps ?
        Surely ,cant PH come out with better ideas?
        At the Thai border,people are getting away with subsidised diesel.

• 1st time agrees with u. At last, u see the light.

• YB Albert on Sep 13, 2018 at 4:05 pm

John,
            I saw the light when you were learning how to crawl like my cucuboy.

• U were lucky I managed to whack some sense into u. Congrats on ur enlightenment. And ur welcomed

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Sep 13, 2018 at 9:41 am

PH leaders have done well. Car prices going down. Petrol stabil. Broadband Internet 10X free upgrade.

I am happy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
        • Lets See on Sep 13, 2018 at 10:55 am

This is a car site. It is not a broadband internet site. You want to talk about broadband internet go to that site.

Here we talk about cars (& motors).

BTW, broadband internet for rural rakyat has been cancelled. The rural rakyat gets disadvantaged while the urban rich gets 10x broadband? WTF!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Yes. No in manifesto, but in ceramah b4 ge14 yes. Everyday says fuel rm1.50 if ph win ge14.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • “The government used RM1.667 billion to subsidise RON 95 petrol for the period between May and June this year, maintaining pump prices at RM2.20 per litre when it should be higher.”

Before and after the election, the ministers always use the same excuses. Why do we always got morons to be the ministers???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 5
    • H.Tareq on Sep 12, 2018 at 7:56 pm

Terbaek.
      https://paultan.org/2017/02/23/pemuda-bn-beri-petrol-percuma-untuk-motosikal-di-semua-wilayah-persekutuan-pada-setiap-awal-bulan/

• Enough of Fake News on Sep 13, 2018 at 9:43 am

I hope PT cleans this site of political news from people who are frustrated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • Pakulupapito on Sep 12, 2018 at 5:29 pm

Yeaahaaaa my 1.2 tsi Vento can get cheap fuel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • calcutta on Sep 12, 2018 at 5:34 pm

not another engine capacity crap policy again
    we had this junk policy in road tax already,now petrol?
    this kinda policy just further enable kapcai superboi and kancil saga turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • bUT STILL GIVING OUT apS WORTH 30 TO 40k EACH.

Dont forget all the ridiculous car duties colllected go where??!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • time to get a RX8, 1.3 lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Korean Fan on Sep 12, 2018 at 6:49 pm

So now you have admitted that much of the fund being diverted to fuel subsidy.

If RM1.667 billion being used in May and June alone, what about July, Aug where the price of fuel is much higher? Then you abolish GST for 3 months and lost easily 10 billions in income. Then you say our MOF has no money and previous government stole tax return money.

Why don’t you just admit that you have used up the money for your misadventure.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 11
  • Leafable on Sep 12, 2018 at 6:50 pm

This is why our government have RM1 trillion debt. Never ending subsidies for fuel. IF people really can’t afford to buy fuel then they should use public transport or ride sharing instead of keep WANTING to own a motorcycle or a car. Or upgrade their skill sets/education level to find a better job.

We as Malaysia will never going to be develop or going upward if we don’t stop subsidise this kind of expensive commodity or handout.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 22
  • paparadzi on Sep 12, 2018 at 7:14 pm

In the next GE, I will vote for any party that can dismantle the engine capacity-based automotive policy that has been plaguing the country since time immemorial.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • paparadzi on Sep 12, 2018 at 7:17 pm

Poor people buy cheaper cars, not smaller-cc cars. You can get older above 2000 cc cars for relatively cheap price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • SALang on Sep 12, 2018 at 7:23 pm

Why kapcai? How much the kapcai owner save? Let’s say full tank RM 5.00, use for a week. A month spend RM 20. Gov subsidised 10%, translate to RM 2 per month. Or even subsidise increase to 50%. Saving is only RM10 a month..

So what the point subsidises kapcai?

2ndly, for car with capacity 1.3cc and below. Those car already fuel efficient and I believe the petrol usage is very less. Those small cc car usually town use and seldom travel far.
    So again, how much saving???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 13, 2018 at 12:16 am

LOL it’s for government to save money, not to give savings to the rakyat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Silthice on Sep 13, 2018 at 2:38 am

Saving the subsidy of course. The government does not concern with the people at all. Don’t you realize that?

• Silthice on Sep 13, 2018 at 2:39 am

Concern about*

• BFS_2386 on Sep 13, 2018 at 11:18 am

No lah, kapchai EX5 3.5 liter full tank la, at RM2.2 it’s RM 7.7 per tank. I live in PJ, work KL around 1000 km per month, around RM 50 lor. Your RM 5 per tank is 10 year ago price

• BFS_2386 on Sep 13, 2018 at 11:22 am

Why subside kapchai? Because well maintained kapchai can do 40 to 50 km per liter… when not rempit ;-)

• THE MORON on Sep 12, 2018 at 7:32 pm

THE STUPID IDEA OF FUEL SUBSIDY BASED ON CAR CAPACITY KEEPS COMING BACK…………. SIGH!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • Afrojoe on Sep 12, 2018 at 7:37 pm

This is just ridiculous, a BMW i8 which owns by the rich people can get the subsidies, what a crap decision, why can’t they just target group of people by their income to give the subsidy, enable it thru MY card?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • yes agreed..mycard become like mesra card or bonuslink… by end of month the cumulative point can redeem to voucher which can spend on groceries and contribute back to local economy

• Sense on Sep 12, 2018 at 8:25 pm

BMW i8 is 1.5l, so disqualified. I think below 1.3L actually makes sense- Honda, Mercedes, BMW actually does not sell anything 1.3L or under. Axia & Bezzas owners will largely benefit from this subsidiary.

• i8 owners getting same subsidi as kapcai owners? The i8 owner is still rich while the kapcai owner no longer gets BR1M.

Lolz! The rich gets richer while the poor gets poorer in New MY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Sep 13, 2018 at 9:30 am

61 years follow this method you never complain. Why now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Haidi on Sep 12, 2018 at 7:58 pm

A very heartbreaking truth is, thousand times when PH was doing their campaigning, they promise to lower the fuel price, they promise to lower the fuel price, they promise to lower the fuel price, they promise to lower the fuel price…
    And now, a broken promise.

• Based on cc? Gila la

People buy expensive car 1.0 liter 3pot turbo weh..

Just reduce income tax.. easier.. more income more tax..

• markgoh on Sep 12, 2018 at 8:45 pm

low tech concept…

• Mikhel Chandra on Sep 12, 2018 at 9:32 pm

No kapcai rides like they are poor. poor people dont behave like mad riding between cars, fast, and cutting car drivers (& traffic signals) mercilessly. Not attitude of the poor. just poor attitude.
    Sure the gov wanna fuel that ? pun intended.

• Heskey on Sep 12, 2018 at 9:59 pm

Kapcais dont need subsidy… they consume little fuel. How much can they benefit from the subsidy? Like RM10 per month? Might as well maintain the subsidy for all and give RM120 handouts per year for kapcais

• Amran on Sep 12, 2018 at 10:58 pm

Dulu minyak naik, dipersalahkan kerajaan. Skrg minyak dah turun. Kenapa tak puji kerajaan. Dulu tomato naik, skrg dah turun. Harga perodua honda turun. Proton naik. Ada yg dah turun.

• Anonymous on Sep 12, 2018 at 11:04 pm

Still doesn’t solve problem when rich man owns many smaller cc cars for his wife, son n daughter.

BTW, Myvi 2018 is 1329cc, Iriz 2018 is 1332cc

• Think Tank on Sep 12, 2018 at 11:34 pm

beside looking into this matter, i urge the gomen to also enforcing RON95 IS ONLY FOR MALAYSIAN CAR. No foreign car should fill up RON95. Also, nobody should fill up water bottle or tank using RON95. THIS MUST PUT AT STOP! Fine or retract back petrol station license to those who allow this to happen. Strict enforcement must be put in place.. i believe gomen can save billions…

• The G needs to reform the whole car tax system…. from duty, road tax & now subsidy based on engine capacity. So out-dated…1.5 myvi no subsidy, BMW i8 yes…. is the new Malaysia?

• Carlover on Sep 13, 2018 at 7:21 am

Car engine is becoming smaller, and yet this ph minister still wants to follow old method, by categorizing car with their cc. Most cars now, are turbos engines. Please do proper study first. Another one, the increase in oil price, meaning that government gets more revenue. Dont say other ways around, more subsidy etc. Dont be like bn government, spinning all the times. We vote u for something good, not for nothing. Petrol and essential items must be cheapest possible priced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • I wish the fuel subsidies, which mostly used by people who own expensive cars would go away and we can use that money to redistribute income like BR1M. But of course, BR1M tu rasuah

Instead of fuel subsidies, how about improving peoples connectivity, like better public transport, congestion pricing for cities, and better schools for people?

• honda malaysi on Sep 13, 2018 at 10:07 am

in fact if we can get 1.0T 3cylinder civic FC to get subsidy

• Matchy on Sep 13, 2018 at 11:30 am

Generally, most of the expensive cars are more efficient than those cheap one. (Due to technology used/R&D/etc) So whether to subsidy based on engine capacity/emission, the expensive cars will have upper hand.

• No Cancer No Freak Weather for future generations on Sep 13, 2018 at 10:24 pm

Subsidizing fuel for owners of 1.3L engine and below motor vehicles and underbone motorcycles may look holistic approach but bear in mind if those vehicles and motorcycles that enjoy this subsidies are dilipated poorly maintained or not fuel efficient and exhaust emits high co2 or sulphuric acid then its defeating the environment protection and mankind well being!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 13, 2018 at 11:08 pm

remove import duties

• What nonsense on Sep 14, 2018 at 12:55 am

I think they should give subsidy to our local car instead of cc.. increase of local car buyer

• Blue leong on Sep 14, 2018 at 7:51 am

RM1.667 billion in from May till June, why no use the fund to improve in public transport ?

• NewWorldOrder on Nov 24, 2022 at 6:25 pm

Just sell all our fuel & gas to EU. Then buy cheap Russian gas & oil for domestic use. The difference in fuel price can be used to continue subsidising petrol for every rakyat.

• Gordon on Nov 24, 2022 at 7:25 pm

Is ok to give them the coming 5 years to see what’s the improvement they can be for the country