Kia Ceed GT – hot hatch debuts with 204 PS, 265 Nm

This is the new Kia Ceed GT, a high-performance variant of the Ceed hatchback that was first revealed in February this year. Set to go on sale in Europe from Q1 2019, the Ceed GT will also make its public debut at the upcoming Paris Motor Show.

The hot hatch is powered by a 1.6 litre T-GDi petrol engine that makes 204 PS at 6,000 rpm and 265 Nm of torque from 1,500-4,500 rpm. You get to choose whether to row through your own gears with a six-speed manual or let a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic do it for you.

In other performance aspects, the Ceed GT retains the same fully-independent suspension hardware as the regular Ceed, but with six months of fine-tuning to make it even more dynamic. Revisions include a 5 mm lower ride height (135 mm), stiffer springs, 17% faster steering input and softer anti-roll bars.

That’s not all, as the electronic stability control has been recalibrated to allow more sideways action that normal. Supporting systems include Kia’s Vehicle Stability Management (VSM) system, torque vectoring by braking and larger brakes – 320 mm front discs that are thicker by 3 mm from standard at 28 mm. Oh, there’s also a set of Michelin Pilot Spot 4 tyres wrapped around 18-inch alloy wheels.

A Drive Mode Select system is available with the dual-clutch route, allowing drivers to change the character of the powertrain – Normal and Sport modes. To make sure you hear that 1.6 litre turbo engine well, new exhaust flaps are fitted here and unfortunately, an electronic sound generator as well.

To make sure regular folk don’t confuse the Ceed GT for a regular one, there’s a big ‘GT’ badge on the front grille that has been imbued with red accents. Also, the bumper is a little more aggressive in appearance, with larger inlets and gloss black trim along the base. The brand’s familiar “ice cube” daytime running lights continue to be integrated into the main headlamp unit.

Elsewhere, the side sills are more pronounced and finished in gloss black and red, there’s glossy chrome window surrounds, plus the wheel centre caps and brake calipers are in red. As for the rear, you’ll get a unique GT bumper with a subtle diffuser, larger vents and space for the dual exhaust tips.

Revisions in the cabin are relatively minor, with a black roofliner, D-shaped steering wheel, aluminium pedals, seats trimmed in black leather and suede with red stitching, and plenty of ‘GT’ badging. Available touchscreen infotainment systems include seven- and eight-inch displays, and you still get the practicality of 395 litres of boot space with 60:40 split-folding rear seats.

Six airbags come as standard here, along with other safety technologies like High Beam Assist, Driver Attention Warning, Lane Keeping Assist with Forward Collision-Avoidance Assist. Available systems are Lane Following Assist, Smart Cruise Control with Stop & Go, Blind Spot Collision Warning, Rear Cross-Traffic Collision Warning, Smart Parking Assist, and pedestrian recognition for the Forward Collision-Avoidance Assist system.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• ryanlee on Sep 14, 2018 at 2:07 pm

korean car also infected with dashboard design recycling syndrom. no matter how new things are added there bound to be similarity to the previous gen’s. look at how gorgeous the display is. jusg isnt match with roundish objects surrounding it

• this korean car cant smoke suprima s still

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • why high horsepower still lose on Sep 18, 2018 at 11:38 am

I’m kinda sad as on rolling race on NKVE, my Elantra 1.6T lost to a Jetta. The older VW keep dragging away from me 140-200 km/h before I give up. I don’t understand where the heck my 204 horses went!!

Can anyone answer me?

• stastasta on Sep 19, 2018 at 10:17 am

modified jetta can achieve 200 bhp.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 14, 2018 at 4:00 pm

Koreans are so clever. Just from a 1.6 engine, they can get so much of power. This is because they do a lot of R & D in office. They never lepak and relax expecting bantuan and bailouts.

Malaysian car companies need to learn how to work hard like the Koreans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
      • YB Albert on Sep 14, 2018 at 8:58 pm

R u talking about protong?
        BANTUAN, BAILOUT AND BULLSHIT…the culture there since day 1.
        Protong service centres …3Bs

• Avenger on Sep 15, 2018 at 10:46 am

I believe he was talking about rebadge king Perodua. Useless, unsafe brand.

• Chavez on Sep 16, 2018 at 5:32 pm

Even Durex has better safety record than Perodua.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 18, 2018 at 8:14 am

This is a car site. Got nothing to do with Durex. This shows, this is all you think about.

• panjang on Sep 18, 2018 at 8:40 am

Maybe if u dig deeper u will know that downsize turborcharge engine is not the way fwd…On global level, Anyone can squeeze gazillions hp from a small engine but it wont be able to comply with emission regulation. Reliability is a question too as the power figure increases by year.

• Pyraxle on Sep 14, 2018 at 3:47 pm

Looks like a much better looking Myvi. And more powerful too!

• Ben Yap on Sep 14, 2018 at 4:40 pm

Slower than Honda civic type R…. yawnn….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
    • halloha560-john SDN BHD on Sep 14, 2018 at 6:37 pm

(Like) Kia Ceed GT
      (Dislike) Outdated and Ugly Honda Civic Type R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
    • Civic Si – 205hp, 260Nm torque
      Kia Ceed GT – 204hp, 265Nm torque

But if you have 0 clue about cars like Ben yap then go ahead and compare a 300hp car to a 200hp one.

• Irfan Abdul Aziz on Sep 14, 2018 at 5:40 pm

What a Suprima S facelift could have been.. well, a guy could dream, right

• Bernard on Sep 14, 2018 at 6:19 pm

With our ridiculous low speed limit, why should anyone buy anything more than a Myvi.

Even that sissy car is considered a Ferrari on our roads!

• ahmadjohnson97 on Sep 15, 2018 at 2:19 pm

Nice! I just hope kia Malaysia will bring this car here later in the future.

• Mr Hakim on Sep 18, 2018 at 9:01 am

GDi sucks, after a year use intake valve gonna clogged, better MFi.