Touch ‘n Go releases more details of RFID toll system

Touch ‘n Go held a media briefing today explaining the finer points of its radio-frequency identification (RFID) toll payment system, which is currently in the public pilot phase. The company added a few details to those that were initially released and gave a few hints about the future of the programme as a whole.

The pilot kicked off on September 3 ahead of a full-scale launch in January 2019, after a month-long registration process. Touch ‘n Go said that over 100,000 people signed up for the programme, although only 10,000 were actually approved. However, the company intends to rope all 100,000 into the programme by the end of the year.

As a recap, the system uses a sticker affixed to the car, either to the windscreen or one of the headlights. Users who pass through an RFID toll lane will have the toll charge deducted from their Touch ‘n Go eWallet, a digital payment system that you can top up through a smartphone app (iOS here, Android here) – and no, it’s not connected to your bank account, so don’t worry about it wantonly swiping money from you.

Each sticker is tied to a particular vehicle, which means that if you want to use the system on multiple cars, for example, each one will need its own RFID sticker. It’s also tamperproof and removing it from the surface it’s affixed to will render it inoperable, so thieves can’t just steal the sticker to use on their own vehicles. The sticker is claimed to have a five-year average lifespan and is designed to withstand various weather conditions, although users are discouraged from using chemicals to wash their cars.

Say goodbye to reversing at tolls

Touch ‘n Go CEO Syahrunizam Samsudin said during the event that the company sees the system as a service instead of a device, and that the move towards digital payments is a way for it to recognise individual customers rather than a bunch of cards.

This ability to track users brings a few benefits, not least the fact that in the near future, you will no longer be stopped at tolls when you have insufficient balance, as the company will simply dock money from the eWallet once it is reloaded – no more forcing others to reverse for you. However, you will then have to reload immediately, as entering another toll without paying up first will cause you to be blacklisted from the service. The exact mechanics are still being finalised, however.

Subscription fees instead of a one-time product purchase?

Many will doubtlessly wonder how much it will cost to buy into the RFID system once it gets up and running. For now, pilot users won’t have to pay anything for the privilege of sailing through toll booths (except the toll charge, obviously), but the company has yet to reveal pricing of the final offering.

However, the repositioning of the system as a service rather than a product means that it could be offered on a subscription basis with an annual fee, rather than a one-and-done purchase as was the case with SmartTAG devices. Such a plan, should it be implemented, would enable customers to easily upgrade to the latest RFID devices at a minimal cost as they become available – the company is working on improvements to the system.

The windscreen (top) and headlight (bottom) stickers

Active versus passive

Touch ‘n Go is aware of issues with RFID stickers on tinted windows, which necessitated the option of a headlight sticker. Syahrunizam said that problems with reading RFID signals only occur through metallised window film (the stickers work fine with regular tints), and that the company is considering metal RFID tags to get around this issue.

A lot of people have also questioned the company’s decision to go for a passive RFID system instead of an active system that utilises a powered transponder to boost the signal – the latter is used in Singapore’s Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) system and would not only eliminate the tag reading issues through metal but would also allow for higher operating speeds.

Essentially, the decision centred around cost, with Syahrunizam putting active RFID systems at around five times the cost of passive systems. The convenience of not having to use batteries or an external power source was also one of the reasons given for choosing a passive system.

More fitment options incoming

Currently, customers can only have the stickers fitted at five designated centres around the Klang Valley, including the Customer Experience Centre in Bangsar South, the New Pantai Expressway (NPE) Pantai Dalam toll, the Awan Besar R&R on the KESAS Expressway, the Besraya Highway Loke Yew toll and the Maju Expressway (MEX) Salak Selatan toll.

More locations will be introduced soon, and these will be expanded to include petrol stations, likely with the help of mobile fitting stations. Touch ‘n Go also plans to engage carmakers and dealerships to have the stickers fitted as standard on new cars, and it is looking at the possibility of offering a “premium” home fitment service as well as self-service solutions in the future.

SmartTAG to remain in service

Many have expressed concern over whether SmartTAG – sales of which were discontinued last month – would be replaced by RFID. This would leave plenty of motorists with inoperable devices, including the built-in readers on the latest Perodua Myvi. Syahrunizam said that it wouldn’t be the case, saying that the RFID system will instead be used to phase out the Touch ‘n Go cards first.

He added that if the government does go with a Multi-Lane Free Flow (MLFF) system in the future, it will likely utilise both SmartTAG and RFID systems. The company has previously stated that SmartTAG will continue to be used for the foreseeable future, until further notice.

Prospective and current customers can learn more about the RFID programme through the official Touch ‘n Go website and the TNG Careline. The company has also set up a dedicated microsite for participants, as well as a closed Facebook group where it will share updates regarding the programme.

We’ve installed the RFID sticker on one of our cars, and you can read a detailed report on the experience here. Alternatively, you can watch the video below.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Avenger on Sep 14, 2018 at 8:12 pm

“The company has previously stated that SmartTAG will continue to be used for the foreseeable future, until further notice.”
    Or until the current reader is deemed ‘outdated’. Lmao!

• Yeast slum on Sep 15, 2018 at 6:38 pm

My atok at kg pendang only know use cash.

• No point on Sep 15, 2018 at 9:37 pm

Soon we will see headlamp been break off just to steal the sticker instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • Lolwhut? on Sep 15, 2018 at 11:40 pm

“It’s also tamperproof and removing it from the surface it’s affixed to will render it inoperable, so thieves can’t just steal the sticker to use on their own vehicles.”

• WYY174 on Sep 16, 2018 at 6:04 pm

Japan most practical & zero cost to us.
            their ETC capable vehicle number plate recognition & detain criminal cars.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 18, 2018 at 7:49 am

This plan is domed for failure becaus ethe previous corrupted Government just award the contract to RM2 company with no experience in this matter. Then buta buta earn a few billion ringgit clean profit whilst rakyat suffer with difficulties.

• Othman Saad on Sep 18, 2018 at 8:23 am

All over the world now they got system to detect number plates and even curb crime. Even better

But Malaysia using outdated system because kroni company does not have latest technology. This what happens when previous Government corruptness trickles down to now

• Cendol on Sep 18, 2018 at 4:54 pm

previous Government 60yr not educateds

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 18, 2018 at 9:20 pm

In Msia nothing is tamper proof. There are glue removers that can detach the RFID without damaging it. The result of the chemical on your headlights is not the concern of the thief.

• Sohai on Sep 16, 2018 at 2:33 am

Stupid decision system from monopoly TnG, Singapore use “practical” RFID, car speed at 110km/h constantly no needed to slowdown for RFID detection, this serve the main purpose of —>the road without toll block, RFID install at overhead gantry, all lanes fully utilised allowed cars at full speed no causing congestion or bottleneck. To conclusion: malaysia RFID is just SMART TAG without battery, its still required toll block the road lanrs to be fully utilize and need your car to slow down for detection. STUPID, SPEND MONEY FOR NOTHING TO IMPROVE TRAFFIC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
          • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 18, 2018 at 7:51 am

This is why Singapore is far ahead of Malaysia. There is far less corruption and they use their brains to do improvement for the country.

• Kronist son of Kronos on Sep 18, 2018 at 10:45 am

Singapore ERP RFID Gantry to control city traffic and reduce congestion.
            Malaysia TnG RFID/SmartTag/TnG Toll booth boom gate creates traffic congestion…

• Sohai on Sep 16, 2018 at 2:37 am

The purpose of RFID is –> to demolish all toll gates to allow car at full speed 110km/hr detected RFID where installed at overhead gantry. RFID IS TO SERVE THE PURPOSE OF BOTTLENECK THAT CAUSE BY THE TOLL GATE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 18, 2018 at 7:53 am

This company, when they discuss things and brainstorm during meetings, nothing really is brainstormed because most of the time they are eating karipap, minum teh and makan kuih lapis during the meeting. Then nothing comes out of it and then bersurai. Repeat again next week

• Sohai on Sep 16, 2018 at 2:41 am

No need to japan, just go Singapore to see how their RFID system, all road lanes free from toll gates, RFID mounted overhead gantry and another inside your car, pay the toll rate at speed at 110km full speed without causing road bottleneck congestion due to toll gate.

• Rightwinger on Sep 17, 2018 at 1:37 pm

Where got 110kmh speed limit in Singapore?

• Yahya Awal on Sep 18, 2018 at 9:07 am

Singapore is 100 steps ahead of us. This is why the SGD is 3X the RInggit despite Singapore having ZERO resources

• Freddy on Sep 15, 2018 at 9:59 pm

No worries. Atok at kg pendang rides thru for free

• Sohai on Sep 16, 2018 at 2:49 am

RFID serve the purpose of remove road bottleneck toll gate installed in the middle of the road, RFID mounted overhead gantry and another inside car with connected car electric, toll charged at 110km at Singapore did it decades ago, but 2018 malaysia PH allowed this stupid gate toll RFID at low speed to be implement. this malaysia RFID is just a SMART TAG with no need battery, bodoh betul TnG management monopoly Stupid solution.

• M.Majid on Sep 16, 2018 at 6:28 pm

here’s wishing Touch ‘n Go to also Rise Ini Kalilah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • PH said No Toll on Sep 16, 2018 at 10:56 pm

can u drive more than 90km/j in Sing? Whats the need for RFID since all tolls will be abolished soon?

• Fuxck on Sep 16, 2018 at 11:19 pm

RFID is before Ph bro, don’t be stupid , rfid is allowed by BN ,previous government , your stupidity and sh*t info, just showing that our malaysian people mentality is still low and cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • With out super hot sun, even paint can be faded. This tag will fade in a few months.

Dumb company. Pls get experts fro China or Singapore to teach Malaysia how to do things

• Bernard on Sep 14, 2018 at 8:43 pm

Way to go. The public should support
    this.

Comparing with Sg is not fair as that is a developed country whilst we are far from it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
  • Aniki on Sep 14, 2018 at 9:17 pm

After using for few times i have found some issue below:
    1. Don’t try to speed through, you will “miss” and reverse as well.
    2. Try to keep right so that the RFID install on the left head lamp can be detected by the sensor in the middle.
    3. I hate those TnG combined with RFID, need to wait like others… TnG please remind those toll to remove TnG from sharing with RFID, else this has no privilege for RFID users.
    4. Beware of those TnG combined with RFID lane, don’t tail those TnG users, else before they scan their card, you have open the barrier for them and you got stuck inside and call for help as RFID won’t scan twice and there might be a time limit to reset.
    5. That day i passed a RFID toll and watch the mirror behind got one van ready to pass through and got stuck. I think in his mind was like: “Fxxx, i thought this is smart tag! how come that fella in front can pass through???” LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Anonymous on Sep 14, 2018 at 9:24 pm

Crap. We should not be subject to all these constraints. That’s the problem with monopoly. Enough with this NEW GOVERNMENT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 42
    • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 15, 2018 at 9:26 am

This system was implemented by the previous Government. This what happens when you award contracts to RM2 companies that are owned by your sister and brother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
    • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Sep 15, 2018 at 11:40 am

Company run by abang2 must learn how to do things before wasting our time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Kroni oh Kroni on Sep 15, 2018 at 3:47 pm

When 1 company has monopoly this what happens. Like AES for 44 cameras, Government had to pay RM550 million. That is like RM13 per camera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Fordist on Sep 15, 2018 at 7:33 pm

Rm13 per AES camera is really, really cheap for its capability!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Rightwinger on Sep 17, 2018 at 1:51 pm

That’s completely disingenuous.
        no doubt somewhat inflated, but what makes you think, as if you know for a fact, RM550 million is just for the cameras? did they just install the cameras only, or did it come with cost of cable laying or wireless relays? Did it come with network integration and support systems? Are maintenance costs included?

its like the ERP in S’pore. the contract for installing gantries, the first 32, was SGD 197mil, plus 39mil for mainteneance over 5 years. one way to spin this is to claim S’pore gomen paid 236mil for 32 gantries= 7.4mil/gantry…

• Lalala on Sep 16, 2018 at 11:14 pm

Nothing to blame with new goverment you damn stupid shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • bieight on Sep 14, 2018 at 9:48 pm

Singapore erp still deduct money at 180km/h, I try before

• Veyron Owner on Sep 15, 2018 at 11:42 pm

Saman is not equals to ERP, even if both functions to take money from you.

• Ollie on Sep 14, 2018 at 10:09 pm

I’m more concerned about touch and go monopoly position. Increase use of visa paywave and MasterCard and stop enriching this company. I’m 99.99% sure this RFID solution will be super expensive due to a fat margin for TnG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Agree, with evolving Android’s & iOS’s, toll payment options should be broaden.

• hondaman on Sep 14, 2018 at 10:13 pm

Been using it for the past one week, working great , just that it kept interfering with my condo’s parking access RFID signal which is using the active system.

• But still no support for auto reload. I’m one of the pilot users. Until they support auto reload, I will not be getting the rfid…

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 14, 2018 at 10:31 pm

What’s the point…? The gantry and the barrier is still too close to safely speed thru 50kph. The most I did was 30kph…?

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 15, 2018 at 9:29 am

This system is a joke and will fail. You need Singapore of China to run the show for this system.

You can’t expect much from a RM2 company that has no experience and all they do is expect bantuan the whoe day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Sep 15, 2018 at 11:42 am

My car nearly accident cause everybody moving too slowly. Just like the implementers…perlahan perlahan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Polar Bear on Sep 14, 2018 at 11:19 pm

Over the past week, the RFID toll gates on GCE were slow to open on 2 occasions. I had to stop the car for about 5 seconds before the toll gates actually lifted. TNG must address this issue.

• Lousy system. Pls do more homework before proper implementation. Its not a new tech. Other countries hv better systems for years. Even Uniqlo hv better RFID tags than u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • VAPER on Sep 15, 2018 at 12:00 am

We deserve a better technology than some sticker on the headlight. Until they find a better solution, better not to install the sticker.

• Idle mind dangerous to pocket on Sep 15, 2018 at 12:22 am

If it’s not broken, don’t fix it

• No Smart tag , don't drive on Sep 15, 2018 at 12:36 am

Until todate JPJ can’t even pass a law making Smart Tag mandatory and permanently installed correctly in every vehicle. As usual still doing the popular thing not the correct thing … i.e Worried about those who cannot afford a smart tag ? Well if you cannot afford one ,then don’t drive..otherwise you are a bloody inconvenience to others when your car get stuck at the toll …and cars behind them need to VERY dangerously back up just for them . Most of the time those stuck are the ones who hide their smart tag and not permanently/ properly fixed. You can see them struggling looking all over lfor the smart tag. High time smart tag is fixed permanently on all new cars first, then older cars given one year grace period or road tax non renewable. Singapore is right in this again…FINE them or they will never learn and remain inconsiderate and typical Malaysian tidak apa attitude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • sampan 250kmph on Sep 15, 2018 at 11:34 am

Mandatory to RTD / JPJ starts implementing RFID motorcycle / motor-vehicle license plate with data link to Mycard / ROC.
      Itemised toll usage charges into monthly road tax billing similar to utility bill.
      Modernised road tax system on motorcycle / motor-vehicle total power output (kilowatt), gives discount for lower co2 emission.
      RFID license plate renewable / replaceable annually concurrently when renewing road tax.
      Authorised only POS branch and JPJ branch to machine stamping RFID license plate.
      Outlaw privatisation and crony monopolising.
      RFID license plate strictly remains as property of the goverment of Malaysia and must surrender back when required.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • What’s the point of the ‘premium’ in the premium home fitment service?

On a side note, it shows really how poorly TnG has done in terms of implementation and execution, not to mention the thought process and RnD.

• Alamak on Sep 15, 2018 at 12:58 am

Rfid is dirt cheap and it requires subscription? Look at ezpass in the US. Active device was sent to you for free and linked to your credit card. Here we need to put money in their pocket first, then pay to pay them. And ezpass was there 30 years ago!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • fireant on Sep 15, 2018 at 2:05 am

Really stupid system..very slow reaction..how to flow thru the toll booth..you will be lucky if you don’t hit the boom if you travel faster than 30km/h.. also so many stupid statement: “However, you will then have to reload immediately, as entering another toll without paying up first will cause you to be blacklisted from the service.” – How the heck you expect someone who is driving to immediately top, what if his journey needs him to go thru mutiple tolls before his destination? “Users are discouraged from using chemicals to wash their cars.” – Hahaha…don’t use chemicals to wash..better don’t wash lar. Also the RFID tag only have as 5 year life expectancy. So we need to re-apply at whose cost every 5 years..What if while driving it started peeling and is rendered inoperable, then can drive thru or not? This RFID system is creating more questions than answers. T&G is getting dumb and dumber.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • Add A Comment on Sep 18, 2018 at 7:40 am

Agree 90% of your points but the reload part. You can reload anytime through their eWallet app while you continue your journey. You may as your partner that sit next to you to help u reload or stop at a safe place to reload yourself. If you are saying no Data then itu lain pasal…sorry…

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Illya on Sep 15, 2018 at 3:22 am

When the headlight go hazy after a few years and you need to polish it,how then? It will be very difficult to polish around it.

• Fireant on Sep 16, 2018 at 9:24 am

Illya, that’s another problem…the headlamp must be glass.. Further complicating things as modern cars mostly have plastic headlamps except for a few exception.

• patheticmalaysians on Sep 15, 2018 at 6:44 am

Why Malaysians have to suffer high car prices, paying toll for few dacades, and pay for the defective smart-tag device and now this RFID??

Monthly subscriptions instead of one time fee? Well done PLUS! Blood sucking duck which lays golden eggs.

Firing all the toll operators and squeeze us to the last drop. Can our government do something??

Yes, Gov supports it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Nothing to do with PLUS la Bro. Its TouchNGo. Different owner

• Myviva on Sep 15, 2018 at 7:50 am

There’s a simpler way….it is called abolishing the toll…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Mike Khoh on Sep 15, 2018 at 8:29 am

Rfid system fail coz only certain cars with glass headlamp will be installed. Modern cars nowadays comes with plastic headlamps. Touch n go company should make a study first before jump into trouble. I guess they never learn

• mycarmylife on Sep 15, 2018 at 8:33 am

I hate anything that is monopolized by one company.

• Zakaria Abdul Majid on Sep 15, 2018 at 3:42 pm

Sounds like our AES cameras. 44 cameras cost RM550 million. So, 1 camera alone is RM13 million.

• thepolygon on Sep 15, 2018 at 8:52 am

“However, the repositioning of the system as a service means that it could be offered on a subscription basis with a monthly or yearly fee, rather than a one-and-done purchase as was the case with SmartTAG devices. ”
    – this alone might will kill off the system unless it’s like RM 30 per year.

• Matchy on Sep 15, 2018 at 11:13 am

The one-time installation only cost RM35 (not confirmed)… but I don’t think most Malaysian like the idea of subscription.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 15, 2018 at 9:15 am

This system got so many complaints. Infact see the comments section alone here and you can see countless of negative comments.

It is obvious this plan was not thought through and was given to a company that did not research into this matter. This what happens when you give contracts to RM2 companies that are incompetent and have no knowledge in this area.

Just because the RM2 company is a relative, kakak ipar, ibu mertua, cucu cicit, abang mertua etc of the former Minister, now, the rakyat suffer

What will happen is really simple. Few billion will be spent on this venture, then when it fails, rakyat will go back into another billion ringgit kroni new sytem.

This is why the New Government and Loke is banishing all these corrupt practices. Sad that these are the legacy of a previous corrupted administration that never thought about the rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 15, 2018 at 10:40 am

What the craplah! If they fulfill their janji to abolish toll, then no complain lah. What happen to the janji? Capati again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 15, 2018 at 1:52 pm

TnG and Rangkaian Segar has always been Tun M’s cash cow. Dulu kini dan selamanya. The Malaysia Baru government is happily enriching this new system and unsurprisingly never gonna abolish tolls because this will be their piggy bank for the next GE.

• Amran on Sep 15, 2018 at 10:39 pm

DK, 1st time to agree wif u PLUS. BN piggy bank Dulu kini dan selamanya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • UTurn M on Sep 16, 2018 at 5:20 pm

PLUS piggybank to BN then flow to rakyat. Now UTu-rn wants to sell it off to his cronies once more. Rakyat suffers under his hands again.

• Abu Hassan on Sep 15, 2018 at 9:18 am

Singapore implemented the perfect Gantry system 25 years ago. And Malaysia is still struggling with this issue.

This is why we need the Singapore company to come here and run the show. Show Malaysians how to implement a system perfectly.

We are wasting billions on a system that is likely to fail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 15, 2018 at 10:42 am

Singapore’s ERP unit cost SGD150 (Rm450). Stop whining if you’re just going to whine if they implement their system and you’re gonna pay Rm450 for the device.

• Why u need to convert sgd to myr….tgklah harga barang dr sudut mata wang negara itu…150 utk barang yg kualiti…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • JOACHIM on Sep 15, 2018 at 11:48 pm

Smart tag at RM130 oredi got people bising here and there, what more a lagi advanced (hence more expensive) system like SG ERP reader. And for that, I believe it will cost at least double of Smart tag. Que even more whining and complaining again, going back to square one. Malaysians might as well walk to their destinations, then got no more complain this and that.

• Faizal Yahaya on Sep 16, 2018 at 12:07 am

Agree with u on this! 150sgp should be rm150 here in Msia! And yeah, TnG should really ask for Spore’s help on this matter! They’ve managed to execute it very well so learn from the best, not learn how to make more money from rakyat while giving them crappy solutions! I understand if abolishing tolls need time but please make the payment system smooth and convinient for the rakyat’s benefit! YB @anthonyloke please look into this matter very carefully ya as this will be among your most important KPI… Thanks!

• Yap Chong Kiat on Sep 15, 2018 at 9:25 am

Until the RFID system is truly available to all, the smart tags should still be sold.
    Now, users have to source them elsewhere leading to black market type prices. All while only the pilot project is on and RFID is still not available to the masses.

• Stone on Sep 15, 2018 at 10:30 am

Using chemical to clean not encouraged? We are going to have a lot dirty white cars around. LOL

• Matchy on Sep 15, 2018 at 11:15 am

TBH, the current RFID seems no better than SmartTag? You still need to slow down, queue, not detected, manual reload, etc which is exactly same as smart tag (except for the batteries). They should implement something like the SG ERP.

• Avenger on Sep 15, 2018 at 11:49 am

A good initial rollout. I don’t see why people want to b*tch about it when they system is in use at certain highend condos & apartments. Some people have nothing better to do but complain on something they haven’t use.

All in all, I hope TnG will allow us pilot users to transfer to the metallic RFID for free when it eventually implemented.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 15, 2018 at 12:16 pm

Screw them la, just offer the active RFID systems to those who can afford. This poor quality sticker issue is a nuisance, heck it even has a bloody 5 years lifespan while our ancient touch n go cards have a 10 year lifespan!

• Ah Pong Chin on Sep 15, 2018 at 12:23 pm

Haven’t the company made enough? Another ploy to make consumers pay for installation. If sincere allow both systems to run parallel indefinitely.

• Just ridiculous to change the system, when TNG cards are accepted everywhere? I hope it will still continue with TNG!

• sardin basi on Sep 15, 2018 at 1:17 pm

Just wanted to say thank you to all the comments. They are facts. Unfortunately this thing will just be forced through our throats. No one in the higher up really listen to the actual need of our road users. The inconveniences that outweigh their so called ‘advancements’. They kept justifying their existence with all the fancy press junkets and what not. Lousy.

• Bernard on Sep 15, 2018 at 1:20 pm

Some cars have plastic light covers. Can fix ah?

Real Possibilities:
    1. Malaysian criminals are already working hard on how to steal and re-use them.

2. Forgers within and outside the country are already creating forgeries and will sell it in the black market

3. People who take rasuah are already discussing with criminals on how to make money

How to counter this?

• alfie on Sep 15, 2018 at 1:31 pm

This private company is always thinking HOW to get more MONEY from the PUBLIC!! 1) Their TnG card is sometimes faulty and it takes months ever years to get a refund if we are lucky. 2) Their RM100+ SMART TAG is VERY EXPENSIVE for a gadget that just beep and deduct credit. A RM50 Nokia phones has more FUNCTION than the SMART TAG. 3) To help them promote and popularised the usage of their TnG card, cardholders are SURCHARGED 10% extra for doing it!!!! Since Najis the Bugis warrior is no longer the PM ,why are we still letting his brother which owns Rangkaian Segar to RIP us OFF !!!Niamah!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • nur himar on Sep 15, 2018 at 2:26 pm

La, ingatkan Tol dah dimansuhkan… Kata nak mansuhkan Tol,ni nak introduce cara bayaq tol yg lain pulak ke… Kejadahnya….. Bertepuk la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • azraffi on Sep 15, 2018 at 3:08 pm

why everybody seems to be love to pay the toll…& invent new method how to take our money..& every one look very hepy & pround to have RFID.

• Haidi on Sep 15, 2018 at 3:34 pm

Need to pay ANNUAL FEE?! Wow!

• My car already fitted with RFID. Happened 2 times already the gantry not open despite driving below 30km/h so have to use TnG instead.But upon checking it deducted both e-wallet & TnG card. Already complained to Customer service, What a hassle!
    Not going to use this till it really problem-free.

• Sohai (not ori) on Sep 15, 2018 at 8:13 pm

If not careful, this issue could be the downfall of Pakatan…using T&Go can posibbly shorten lifespan and damage power windows due to heavy usage…and pls throw away those T&Go Reload Machines at petrol stations, if hang or no line while reloading, the customer have to call whatsapp his her HP, bank savings acc number for the refund IN A FEW DAYS TIME…Smartag device design oso cannot fit some battery brands…pls dunt force all tis BS to the rakyat

• SK, Lim on Sep 15, 2018 at 11:51 pm

Based on what they doing now, they won’t last for next term.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • 2MDB next term

• Isobel Chin on Sep 18, 2018 at 11:24 am

Within 100 days already they sapu’ed by the billions. Given 5 years, they will sapu more to the trillions. PH is practically 100MDB.

• jinggo on Sep 18, 2018 at 12:16 pm

Fully agree! SK, Lim Isobel Chin

• EDITOR on Sep 18, 2018 at 2:24 pm

The Rakyat are just like Gentinggoers. Once in a while they need to lose money to feel good. If they lose until their pants gone, feels even better.

• Ah beng Level 2 on Sep 15, 2018 at 8:57 pm

First force motorist to use T&Go or Smattagged by Not accepting CASH…not again forcing the Rakyat to use Rfid by stopping Smattagged Reader and pobably phasing out TNGo first…not a vely smat move bro….bewRe the power of Inikali-lah, Pakatan, THIS COULD BE YUR DOWNFALL

• Bruce on Sep 15, 2018 at 11:24 pm

It looks ugly putting the sticker on the headlamp. Spoil the look of the car. I think placing the sticker on the external of the car, there are higher chances that someone with itch finger may just peel it or if we send our car for car wash and polish will it damage the sticker especially when the car wash uses the jet pump shooting directly at the sticker? Not a fan of the suggestion of an annual subscription fee. What if someone that do not use it Everyday and only uses the RFID occasionally? It should be a one off charge and that’s it.

• John Pret on Sep 15, 2018 at 11:33 pm

P2 > P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • DE SOPHEA on Sep 16, 2018 at 12:00 am

We need the internal RFID, because external one is not convenience

• Ben thw IT Guy on Sep 16, 2018 at 9:06 am

Why would you put the ticker outside where someone can peal it off? Irregardless of the intention. Common Malaysia. Its the basics of product development. Why not ask and address fundamental stuff rather than talk about cost in active versus passive. Take a longer term view.

• troublesome. not plug and play yet it could expose to long terms usage issue. It seems like system deisgn with the revenue in mind not contribution to better community services

• JBond on Sep 16, 2018 at 11:43 am

Cannot even use mykad for Touch n Go saying cannot read mykad. Error? Have to buy one for $18 at watson . When pakatan going to abolish tolls for Rakyat.?

• James Taylor on Sep 16, 2018 at 11:51 am

When pakatan going to abolish tolls for Rakyat? Cannot even use mykad for Touch nG bcos of kad error?

• JBond on Sep 16, 2018 at 12:02 pm

Cannot even use mykad for touch n g. When r they going to abolish tolls for Rakuat?

• Gti owner on Sep 16, 2018 at 12:28 pm

What still need to introduce such new toll system? I thought all toll will be ‘abolished’ in future?

• Albert8888 on Sep 16, 2018 at 3:13 pm

The UMNO BN conquering all these companies to suit their interest. The monopoly must be stopped at once.

• Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Sep 17, 2018 at 1:10 pm

All these companies now belongs to PH gomen. What nonsense are you talking about again?

• Kwtay on Sep 16, 2018 at 6:57 pm

Overall, looking at all the restrictions and limitations, the whole system appears to be immature and poorly conceptualized. Better stick with smart tag until you can come up with a better system. BTW, why don’t you just give users the options of choosing active rfid or passive rfid. The power is with the customers!

• second tier on Sep 17, 2018 at 12:06 am

Why we always second tier… Singapore introduced MRT, we introduce LRT and now only MRT cos LRT cannot support large vol traffic. Singapore using active RFID, we using passive (BTW, should smart tag classify as active since using battery?).

Look at this point… active RFID is expensive to implement but you save money by not extending the road to cater the road for toll booth and gate for RFID. The gantry in Singapore is on top of the road. They do not need to widen the road for the gate. They can go through without stopping or slowing down. This increase traffic flow. Why you guys choosing a second tier system ?

Now the final joke, you want to ask us to pay yearly subscription for this service ? Look at the amount of money you save from toll both operators and also prepaid money we put into your account in advance. Come on guys… changing the Government we have done that. I think it is time to change touch n go. You guys already monopolized for way too long. Change or we change you !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • wattop1278 on Sep 17, 2018 at 11:03 am

The RFID sticker should be placed on the windscreen rather than the headlights . The sticker will distrupt and affect the efficiency of the lighting headlights system. Any green lights given by our JPJ on this practice? Use common sense.

• Ah beng Level 2 on Sep 17, 2018 at 9:21 pm

NOBODY can FORCe me to install tis ugly SoB on the headlight and SPOiLeD the sporty look of my TRD Vios (2008), i will sue them

• Yusof on Sep 17, 2018 at 11:43 pm

If passive RFID might as well stay with touch n go. No difference no advantage. Remain thrid world. What we expect is the high speed toll collection like what is done in Singapore. Waste of time!!!!

• Encik Boss on Sep 18, 2018 at 8:51 am

We want RFID to cut que to eliminate jam

• Ben Yap on Sep 18, 2018 at 9:06 am

Subscription based RFID is a rip off by forcing people to pay on top of the additional charge. TnG must be stopped. If Loke wants to perform in his job as a transport minister, he should look into this.

• rally_fan (Member) on Sep 18, 2018 at 9:24 am

i love the toll system in new zealand. passed a toll bridge outside auckland.. once you’ve gone thru.. you have a month to pay up online, or at a kiosk at the rest stop.. just key in your car number plate.. and pay. they use number plate recognition cameras to capture your info.. but that would require a standard number plate thats “enforced”, unlike in Malaysia where anyone can have any number plate design they want.

• Henry on Sep 18, 2018 at 9:44 am

Stupid system. The sticker, being outside the cabin and stuck on the headlight, will be subject to damage, wear and tear from the the heat from the headlight, rain and sun.

• Jeffrey Chew on Sep 18, 2018 at 9:50 am

Crap, you should start the metallic RFID since day 1, not the plastic type

• Jeffrey Chew on Sep 18, 2018 at 9:51 am

I can foresee my Toyota SMARTTAG should serve me for another 5 years at least

• Levin on Sep 18, 2018 at 1:31 pm

Another proper way to do it is to integrate the RFID into the roadtax, which is also tamper proof sticker. Perhaps its time to redesign our local roadtax with built in RFID tag. Problem solved and don’t have to worry about folks from out of KL/Sel… believe it or not, there are still many road users outside of KL/Sel that don’t even have a TNG card let alone Smartag.
    So if they were to drive into highways especially towards KL/Sel, they need to go fit their RFID first then only can drive? Makes no sense, better integrate it into roadtax. TNG should work closely with JPJ or better still just abolish TNG and let JPJ handle everything.

• KLChoy on Sep 18, 2018 at 3:27 pm

What happen if I were to interchange and keep my old plate number on my new car? Cannot remove the sticker right? How?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 18, 2018 at 5:11 pm

want set up….but this stupid tng schedule full

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 23, 2018 at 6:34 pm

RFID got few problems, it stick on headlamp what if someone vandalism break it. Without notice driver drive till the RFID lane only found out it was broken and nothing they can do if without touch and go card as back up.

Another big problem especially for people who can claim toll fees from employer. Normally they will have separate TNG card, one personal and another one is for business use. RFID restrict users to use one single account for one car. Mean the car can’t have 2 RFID.

Since it is not portable, people have more cars will need to have separate RFIDs.

BTW the most factor restrict me to use RFID is, what the heck the sticker can only stick on headlamp and some more outside. Damn obvious and ugly, spoilt my handsome car image. At least they should hide inside the windscreen or what. This one I better use back my aged smart tag.

• Kingsley Robson on Sep 20, 2019 at 7:48 pm

You eagerly started a major drive to install RFID Stickers, collect upfront deposits without informing us the RFID is not in use on our main/major highways like North-South. Wouldn’t you start with most important creating most convenience, thats why thetes many tevetsing st toll lanes like me. What if you had no tng card like mine before it expired was already not usable and our balance in it? You obviously put your little brains to this set up with inexperience decisions. And been ripping many off. Ive installed on 3 of my cars and very dissppointed in your thoughtless organisation.