G20 BMW 3 Series teaser surfaces, shows huge grille

We’ve been waiting for the new G20 BMW 3 Series for some time, and after plenty of speculation, spyshots and juicy details, it seems we’re finally reaching the end of the tunnel, as a teaser image of the seventh-generation compact executive model has surfaced on French forum Worldscoop.

While the car seen here is draped in cloth, there are a couple of obvious design details that can clearly seen – the biggest of which (quite literally) being the massive double kidney grille. Unlike other recent BMW models, this grille is still connected to the headlights, but it’s now far larger and conjoined in the centre, in a similar form to what you’d find on the new 8 Series.

Speaking of the headlights, they feature three-dimensional LED daytime running lights that are almost L-shaped. While the shape of the lamps themselves can’t be seen, previous spyshots have revealed a notched design, and you can see this in a rendering prepared by Photoshop wizard Theophilus Chin.

These renderings show what the finished product could look like

The Cerium Grey grille surround hints that this is the M Performance version, the M340i, which will utilise a new version of the B58 3.0 litre turbocharged straight-six petrol engine. Although outputs have yet to be revealed, it should make between 340 hp and 360 hp, similar to other M Performance models like the X3 and X4 M40i, the M140i and M240i and the new Z4 M40i.

There will also be a new 2.0 litre four-pot mill first seen on the facelifted MINI Hatch, which BMW says is its most powerful four-cylinder engine ever – despite using around five percent less fuel than before. This is clearly seen with the 330i already tested by publications such as Autocar, which now makes 260 hp (up from 252 hp) and 400 Nm of torque (from 350 Nm).

Interior takes cues from recent models like the G05 X5 and G29 Z4

The entry-level 1.5 litre turbo three-pot should continue to be offered, as will the usual brace of diesel engines. As before, there’s a choice of a six-speed manual gearbox and a ZF eight-speed automatic, but this time models 330i and up will be offered exclusively with the automatic.

Under the skin, the next 3 Series will utilise a version of the modular CLAR architecture already used by the 5 and 7 Series, with a greater use of aluminium, magnesium and high-strength steel bringing total weight down by as much as 55 kg. It gets a new form of twin-rated passive dampers for improved comfort (adaptive dampers are optional) and a new optional M Sport differential.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Sparcov on Sep 19, 2018 at 8:08 pm

Irrelevant here, embarassing lineup 318 & 330e.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • 330e irrelevant? Dei stop talking bodoh la. Go enjoy your honda city and let the enthusiast drive their BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Digidigii on Sep 19, 2018 at 8:15 pm

This is defitenatly better than the current c class

• BMW Lorry on Sep 19, 2018 at 9:08 pm

Do something about the direct injection, its a petrol that sounds like a diesel. Shameful when friends ask is my car diesel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Mercedes Lorry on Sep 20, 2018 at 11:23 am

The worse sounds are the C200 and E200. They are unbearable!

• Teropong on Sep 20, 2018 at 2:56 pm

Why so ashamed of driving a diesel? Typical Asian “want face” complex.

• Alee bean Bar Bar on Sep 20, 2018 at 9:19 pm

Ashamed not because driving a diesel, ashamed because sound like lorry or metrobus

• OMG. shut up and take my money

• Some said testing here, teasing there, hiding everywhere…

• Current 3 series is very poor in the back seat. The 3rd adult in the middle cannot last any trip more than 15 minutes

• Ken Hong on Sep 20, 2018 at 11:28 am

If you want small car with good back seat leg room, go for Almera. 3 seriea is for young executive that never carry more than 4 persons in the car.

• Dun really dig the larger nostrils. Why not make it smaller and sleeker like i8?

• Chan yik hang on Sep 20, 2018 at 10:11 am

I8 nostrils got no purpose that’s why they can cover it

• zamer on Sep 20, 2018 at 6:46 am

If the rendering is true, i think this model will be successful like F30 here in MY.

320i or Hybrid will do the job.

• Ben Yap on Sep 20, 2018 at 9:34 am

grilles too big… look like an enlarged nostrils.

• Yunos on Sep 20, 2018 at 11:36 am

The big grilles function is to chase away the slow car that hogging the fast line.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 20, 2018 at 9:58 am

no more mechanical handbrake….sad

• hopefully the CKD version wont be too watered down n uses nasty hard plastics

• PROTON WAJA on Sep 20, 2018 at 1:58 pm

MY DREAM CAR

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 20, 2018 at 2:11 pm

I think Theophilus’ rendering might actually be better looking that the real thing. No way is BMW going to give it such a sexy roofline and rear windscreen profile. Cos that will be reserved for the 4 Series Gran Coupe. The 3 Series will be a bit taller and a bit more upright. Pretty much like how it looks now. But with bigger nostrils, side air vents behind the front fender, a more upright bonnet line, longer wheelbase and wider stance.