G20 BMW 3 Series officially revealed – up to 55 kg lighter with new engines, suspension, technologies

A new BMW 3 Series is a big deal, and after 43 years and six generations, it’s now time for the seventh-generation G20 to make its highly-awaited debut. Long a benchmark for the compact executive segment, the new model aims to take back the crown with a whole host of technological and mechanical updates.

First things first, the new model is much larger than its F30 predecessor, measuring 76 mm longer (at 4,709 mm) and 16 mm wider (1,827 mm); its 2,851 mm wheelbase is also 41 mm longer. It is, however, only one millimetre taller than the old car, at 1,442 mm. The track widths are also wider by 43 mm at the front and 21 mm at the rear, which BMW says improves poise and agility.

The exterior is dominated by the massive double kidney grille, now joined in the middle. It is connected to the headlights, which have a notched shape similar to recent Peugeot models and feature LED technology as standard; enhanced headlights with U-shaped daytime running lights are available as an option. Also available are adaptive LED units with Laserlight technology and three-dimensional hexagonal DRLs.

On standard, Sport Line and Luxury Line models, the fog lights and Air Curtain inlets are inserted in the corners of the front bumper in a T shape that is inspired by NACA ducts; this is repeated with the reflectors at the rear. The long bonnet and wheelbase, short overhangs and sweeping roofline give the car a typical sporty look, while the trademark C-pillar Hofmeister kink receives a beveled edge on the top corner.

Along the sides, there’s an upswept contour line that draws the eyes towards the prominent character line over the rear wheel arches; BMW’s Air Breather vents, which usually sit aft of the front wheels, are notably absent here. The LED tail lights feature a three-dimensional L-shaped design and tinted lenses.

The interior features styling cues taken from other new BMW models such as the G15 8 Series, G05 X5 and G29 Z4, with a clear horizontal design, electroplated silver trim around the air vents and controls and a tall centre console. The latter gets a new control panel incorporating the starter button, a redesigned gearlever, the iDrive controller and a new electronic parking brake that replaces the old manual handbrake.

As standard, the new 3 Series comes with a 8.8-inch centre display and a black panel instrument cluster with a 5.7-inch colour display. The optional Live Cockpit Professional throws in a 10.25-inch centre screen and a full 12.3-inch instrument display with a reverse-direction rev counter. The upgraded system also incorporates the new BMW Operating System 7.0, featuring a revised user interface with larger panels.

The system can be controlled through the centre touchscreen, the iDrive rotary controller and the optional Gesture Control feature. Certain markets will also get the Intelligent Personal Assistant, a more advanced voice control system that can learn the user’s routines and habits, similar to the Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) system. A 16-speaker, 464-watt Harman Kardon sound system is optional.

Elsewhere in the cabin, the seats have been redesigned for improved long-distance comfort, and buyers can also specify sports seats, a heating function, powered adjustment with memory and Vernasca leather upholstery. Munich claims that cabin refinement – an area in which the previous F30 has always fallen short – has been improved with tweaks to the body to reduce wind noise, structural foam in the A-pillars and the use of acoustic glass for the windscreen as standard (side windows optional).

Increased interior space has also been claimed, including gains in front shoulder room, rear legroom and all-around headroom. Rear entry and egress has also been improved with an increaser door aperture height, and while boot space remains the same at 480 litres, a new partitioning system has freed up an additional 36 litres of storage space. Improved outward visibility and a larger glass sunroof has also been touted.

At launch, the new 3 Series will be offered with a range of new four-cylinder petrol and diesel engines and a six-cylinder diesel. As before, the 320i and 330i utilise a 2.0 litre turbocharged mill, now with higher-pressure direct injection system, a lighter crankshaft, reduced internal friction, optimised heat management and a new digital engine management system, plus a particulate filter to meet Euro 6d-TEMP emissions standards.

As a result, the 320i makes 184 hp from 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 300 Nm of torque (up 10 Nm) between 1,350 and 4,000 rpm, goes from zero to 100 km/h in 7.2 seconds and delivers a fuel consumption figure of between 5.7 to 6.0 litres per 100 km. Meanwhile, the 330i produces 258 hp (up 6 hp) and 400 Nm of torque (up 50 Nm) from 1,550 to 4,400 rpm, does the century sprint in 5.8 seconds and returns 5.8 to 6.1 litres per 100 km.

On the oil-burning side, the 150 hp/320 Nm 318d and 190 hp/400 Nm 320d also use a 2.0 litre unit, outfitted with twin turbos to improve high-end performance and fuel economy. The 330d gets a 3.0 litre turbo straight-six that produces 265 hp and 580 Nm. All diesel models get a particulate filter, an oxidation catalyst and a nitrous oxide storage catalyst, along with selective catalytic reduction (SCR) with AdBlue injection.

Next year, the lineup will be expanded with the introduction of the 330e plug-in hybrid, promising a total system output of 252 hp (or up to 292 hp with the new XtraBoost mode), a zero-to-100 km/h time of 6.0 seconds, fuel consumption of as low as 1.7 litres per 100 km and an all-electric range of 60 km. There will also be the 3 Series’ first M Performance variant, the M340i xDrive, which utilises a 3.0 litre turbo straight-six petrol that delivers 374 hp and 500 Nm, along with a zero to 100 km/h time of just 4.4 seconds.

Only the 318d and 320d will be available with a six-speed manual transmission, with all other models getting an eight-speed automatic as standard. The latter gets a wider gear spread, increased internal efficiency, reduced vibration and a new control unit for improved shifts. The company’s xDrive all-wheel drive system is optional on the 320d and standard on the M340i.

Under the skin, the new 3 Series benefits from an increased use of aluminium and high-strength steels, so it’s now up to 55 kg lighter than before. Aerodynamics have been improved with an almost completely sealed underbody, optimised wheel designs and the use of front Air Curtains and active shutters for the grille and front air intake, reducing the drag coefficient from 0.26 to 0.23.

The new chassis delivers a 25% increase in overall rigidity, and features aluminium suspension components to reduce unsprung weight. The double-joint MacPherson strut front and five-link rear suspension uses specially tuned kinematics to improve steering precision and handling, while at the rear, rigid control arms and subframes and the use of thrust arms for body mountings ensure precise wheel location.

For the first time, the standard chassis is equipped with lift-related dampers that provides additional hydraulic damping at the front and limits compression at the rear. With continuously variable damping rates and progressive stiffness according to spring travel, the new dampers provide a better compromise between comfort and sporty handling.

The M Sport suspension gains more rigid bearings, additional body struts, firmer springs and anti-roll bars, increased wheel camber and a 10 mm drop in ride height, delivering an increased differentiation over the standard setup. Adaptive dampers are now only available with the M Sport suspension.

Models fitted with M Sport and Adaptive M Sport suspension get variable ratio steering as standard, and an M Sport braking system with blue callipers is also available. As standard, the new 3 Series gets Performance Control brake-activated torque vectoring, while an electronic M Sport locking differential is offered as an option on the 330i and 330d for the first time, in conjunction with the M Sport suspension.

Safety-wise, the new 3 Series finally comes with Collision and Pedestrian Warning with City Braking (autonomous emergency braking) function as standard, together with Lane Departure Warning. On the options list is the Driving Assistant that adds Lane Change Warning with steering assistance, Rear Collision Prevention and Cross-Traffic Alert, along with Active Cruise Control with Stop and Go.

At the top of the list is the Driving Assistant Professional that offers semi-autonomous driving features such as steering and lane control assistant, Lane Keeping Assistant with active side collision protection, evasion aid (which now works to avoid pedestrians), priority warning and wrong-way warning and Cross-Traffic Alert.

Meanwhile, the Parking Assistant package provides steering, acceleration, braking and gearshift assistance to park the car, and features a Reversing Assistant that memorises your steering inputs of the last 50 metres to back out of a parking spot. Parking Assistant Plus offers a three-dimensional 360-degree camera, which can be accessed through your smartphone using the Remote 3D View feature.

New connectivity functions include the BMW Digital Key that enables a Samsung smartphone with NFC to be used as a key, an NFC BMW Key Card, Connected Navigation with Parking Space Assistant, On-Street Parking Information and ParkNow services and Remote Software Update that allows for over-the-air updates.

Learn more: ,

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Lokman on Oct 02, 2018 at 7:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 197
    • digidigi on Oct 03, 2018 at 7:55 am

No matter how many basher here, this coming 3er will outsell c class locally if priced accordingly, it have much better interior than c class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 9
      • Oil burner on Oct 03, 2018 at 9:17 am

What!
        Still producing oil burners in 2019?
        Jeez

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 03, 2018 at 9:33 am

I won’t buy BMW because BMW is Sime Darby. They have the same type of inefficient people running the company as those in Putrajaya.

I rather go for a Benz. People there work hard. SC also work hard. They don’t minum teh 8X a day.

People send Benz in, always within 3 hours can get the car back

People send BMW in, morning send, only 5pm can collect.

Because SC and Technician plus the mechanic must minum teh 8x

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 79
        • vinod on Oct 03, 2018 at 10:34 am

You obviously are misinformed and emotional..
          Sime Darby does not own BMW. They are ONE OF MANY authorized distributors & service partners. (hint, hint: Quill dan lain lain)

Your logic about ppl working hard is purely emotional. BMW wouldn’t have survived in Malaysia if all technicians went for as many teh tariks you claim they do. Having interned at BMW, i assure you a simple service does not take 8 hours. Please be mindful, it isnt your right to berate a brand or company based on anecdotal findings, especially when you post it up in a public space such as this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 10
          • Bruno on Oct 03, 2018 at 11:50 am

BMW G20 Msia price;
            318i 198K
            320i 228K
            330e 248K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
          • Autobahn on Oct 03, 2018 at 12:43 pm

Bigger isu lies in Sime Darby pre-reg BMW sales strategi. Not cool in premium

• Ben Yap on Oct 03, 2018 at 2:34 pm

There are more pre-reg Mercedes than BMW, what is the fuss. My friend just bought one pre-reg E200 at less than 300k. So not cool for premium?

• smartess on Oct 03, 2018 at 3:58 pm

smart people go for BMW free 5-year maintenance

• rightwinger on Oct 03, 2018 at 4:40 pm

that dude needs a 9mm to the head.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 03, 2018 at 6:41 pm

The truth hurts Vinod, otherwise BMW Forums in Malaysia won’t have so many complaints about low standards of service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
          • BMW taukeh on Oct 30, 2018 at 10:01 am

I send my bmwX at lunch time. Before lunch time, car get stolen

• Mesidis, Geely > all

• rally_fan (Member) on Oct 03, 2018 at 11:44 am

sime darby is just one dealer out of many that handle the bmw brand. Sime Darby is NOT Bmw as you claim. The Bmw brand is run by BMW Malaysia.

• Just buy recond BMW.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 03, 2018 at 1:28 pm

I got mine back around lunch time after sending it first thing in the morning. Send it after 11am and you will get it back late evening.

• Kesian basher penipu got sounded out by real BMW owners. Deswai i say dun tipu cerita here.

• IGP Mom on Oct 03, 2018 at 4:43 pm

You are right, Malaysia got the cheapest petrol in the world. We should not complain. We should all be grateful to old Government for keeping our petrol very cheap….oh wai!

I am proud to be Malaysian!

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 03, 2018 at 6:43 pm

ha ha ha ha, good one IGP Mom. That is the best comment I have ever heard….oh wai!!!!

• jgnhari2komplenje on Oct 03, 2018 at 6:15 pm

shut the fxxk up.stop complaining and starting work hard.not sure ur hard bashing is for what reason.stop creating any fake news bout bmw since you even don own one.maybe can’t afford?quite nice bout the brand new 3 series.looks simple and elegant. well done

• nobodysangel on Nov 30, 2018 at 9:50 pm

having owned a bmw for 4 years now, i would say your comment on the 8 hours to service is so true. i am always the first appointment in the morning at 8am at AB and have only received my car back at 5pm. every single time. dunno if its minum teh or makan kacang though

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 03, 2018 at 9:49 am

Why there are so many Peugeot-inspired design? The front bumper, the reversed-rpm dial (super confusing). I personally feel the cabin in C-class is a better place to live-with

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Oct 03, 2018 at 8:54 am

Looks good but I hope prices come down. Prices in Malaysia are still way too high compared to world prices for this car.

At Rm250k for a small car is too much.

I hope the current Government reduce car prices as the previous Government played us out by promising to reduce car prices by 30% but never honoured that promise, instead making it go higher the past 5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
      • If it CBU, it will be more expensive than CBU with GST car prices. And if it cheaper, don’t complain if no RV.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 03, 2018 at 1:30 pm

Prices will remain the same…unless the government does something but looks like they won’t if you read what Mahathir said. BMW has mentioned the prices will remain the same outside of Malaysia so the status quo remains.

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Oct 03, 2018 at 9:42 am

I hope no Proton fanboy will come here and say not to waste money to buy a BMW because buying Proton X70 is already good enough.

This is because Proton fanboys bilip that Proton now use 100% Mercedes Technology because Geely owns a tiny tiny tiny percentage of Mercedes AG Germany.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • Still prefer Beemer. Center gear shifter. Don’t like mesedis. Turn signal gear shifter remind me to oldMPV and heavy duty auto vehicles.

• As usual, hopefully BMW Malaysia will not strip the advanced safety systems out when the car launches here. They need to set an example and become better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Bangle on Oct 03, 2018 at 12:34 am

The world’s best sports sedan is back!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Oct 03, 2018 at 9:09 am

BMW 330i in USA USD$34,000
      BMW 330i in Malaysia RM300k

Fresh Graduate Salary in USA starts at USD4500
      Fresh Graduate salary in Malaysia starts at RM2500

61 yrs of corruption has made our Ringgit weak and salary very low for global products

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 12
      • Move to US then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 56
        • US dun like fakes so they rejected him. Deswai hes here venting frustration with fake news. Lolz!

• Base spec BMW in USA they takes out a lot of feautures including advanced safety feautures, led headlights, give them a smaller rims, base spec head unit system and more. If you want that feautures, you need add as a optional with additional prices.

• Stupid on Dec 29, 2018 at 2:34 pm

Work hard stupid moron

• I wonder how BMW malaysia will price this car? At the moment 5 series PREREG 530i 290k-310k. 530E 270K-300k. And Mercedes E Class E200 PREREG 240k-270 depends on the year. Will be very interesting to know!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • heybadigol (Member) on Oct 02, 2018 at 8:09 pm

The car’s aerodynamics is pretty impressive. I remember cars from the early 90s had drag coefficient of 0.32 and that was amazing then. I like the new look. You can see that they made a lot of effort into making the car look different from the F30. Unlike the new G30 5 Series, which I still have problem differentiating from the old F10 (the only way to tell is by the the G30 having side air vents behind the front wheels) . But the headlamp notch is obviously a Peugeot rip off. Did they need to copy that?

Dash finally does not look dated, and looks like a combination of the X3 and X5. That anticlockwise rev counter might need getting use to, but it does give a lot of space in the between the rev and speedo.

Interior is pretty spacious. Thomas from Autogefuhl can sit behind himself. And with headroom to spare.

Now to wait for the test drive. If BMW can improve the ride and handling of the 5 Series, it should mean the same for the 3 Series. Then BMW might take back the compact sports sedan crown from the Giulia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • myvipower on Oct 03, 2018 at 8:16 am

Nothing interesting, been in BMW heard a lot of noise. Myvi much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 43
  • Very nice improvement…well done BMW !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Anybody want to take my C class? sell cheap cheap!

• Outisde already looks good. But i prefer current 5 & 7 series head unit design. I like LCD climate controls.

• Ah beng Level 2 on Oct 02, 2018 at 8:29 pm

Looks the same 80% and not to mention styling getting uglier and awkward…even ah beng will pass tis model and go for Lexus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 42
  • RIP BMW design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 18
    • sack the designer on Oct 03, 2018 at 8:17 am

Designs is too similar with F10 and F30
      Designers like lepak 8x minum teh 8x

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • seancorr (Member) on Oct 03, 2018 at 1:34 pm

Sure it looks crap in in the pics but have u seen the live photos from Paris? I too was skeptical about the design until I saw the photos taken at the motorshow. M sport looks the best followed by the Sport and coming in last is the odd looking M340i.

• Dont like the normal design, wait for M3 flagship model. Pay the money and shut up. Case solved.

• Gaviny on Oct 02, 2018 at 9:12 pm

Petrol particulate filter, need to use euro 4m ron97 only

• the white car with the T-shaped air intakes…hmm….bmw interpretation/copycat of volvo’s thor’s hammer ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Does look like a Peugeot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Congrats BMW for the new launch. For fresh 3 series owner, this car will be something. Overall it is a decent new revision.

• Nederina on Oct 02, 2018 at 10:00 pm

I own an E36 and have driven all the 3 series. E46 is the best and perfect 3-Series. Best looking and most elegant, sweet screaming 6 cylinder, best balance, best M3, best interior, and was a world apart from the competition.

The new 3 series is just an evolutionary of the last one. Like the iPhones, it seemed like they ran out of ideas while the competition are really moving forward. In terms of exterior or interior design. It doesn’t make my heart pound as what their E30, E36 and E46 or the E90 did at least.

My E36 may be 23 years old this year, but it was the real BMW, the ultimate machine. Screaming 6 cylinder engine, pure sex machine that put you into spell.

Sorry BMW, you need to go back to the drawing board. Even the new Toyota Supra is more BMW than your Z4 roadster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 17
    • Tokmok on Oct 02, 2018 at 10:24 pm

who care ? Stick to your toyota pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • myviva on Oct 03, 2018 at 8:19 am

Pipu dowan screaming engine but love silent one

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 03, 2018 at 1:32 pm

E46 may be the best handling 3er yet but this new G20 has a pretty awesome stock suspension setup….gets even better when u opt for the passive M sport sussy.

• I had a touge run with an E36 3.0 the other day. what a machine.

• King is back on Oct 02, 2018 at 10:15 pm

Say bye bye to A4, C class and S90.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 24
    • sam tow truck on Oct 03, 2018 at 8:20 am

I know you mean when you are on my towing truck right wit your problematic new car

• Reloved BMW on Oct 02, 2018 at 10:19 pm

Never been really liking BMW design but the recent 5 & this new 3-series captures my heart. Good job,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • choha on Oct 02, 2018 at 11:01 pm

simply stunning

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 02, 2018 at 11:31 pm

don really like the rear…but the front is handsome…however….this or the s60?

• I actually prefer the look of the rear-end of this new 3-er when compared to the front. Whats up with that bumper crease and headlight notch lah?

• Sense on Oct 11, 2018 at 11:40 pm

S60 looks Awesome but sadly it’s not a rear wheel drive car…its either fwd or awd.

• johnissohai on Oct 03, 2018 at 1:29 am

if this exterior is implemented on a proton car…surely rakyat will complain like hell

• Embee on Oct 03, 2018 at 5:09 am

this new bmw cant hold a candle next to the upcoming volvo s60

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • While Merc design language starts from the S then down to the C, BMW do it the other way round… now we can expect what the next 5 & 7 will look like… And that stupid headlamp notch. Arrrggghhh…

• Sonyman on Oct 03, 2018 at 10:39 am

Nice. I like.

• Among all variants ive seen, i think the luxury model with the chrome bits looks the best ,

saw on youtube, in Mediterranean blue, with chrome window lining and fog lamps housing ,
    Looks good with 5 spoke wheels….

White one looks good in sport trim( with black bits), as u cant see the chrome well….
    but having owned a white car, id say its difficult to keep clean with our weather…

• very nice, best looking 3 series, sure will sell well.

• Still no nappa leather seats & ventilatted seats?? Why genesis g70 can have but they are same segment?? Even kia cerato in malaysia including ventilatted seats.

• Billion Dollar Shark on Oct 03, 2018 at 1:17 pm

Shut up and take my money!

• Aeroheads on Oct 03, 2018 at 4:16 pm

Buy a Volkswagen GTI Mk 7.5 and save the difference in price money to go for holiday. Over rated car. For the rich to show off. I am rich but I will not buy this car just to show off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
    • Add A Comment on Oct 08, 2018 at 8:01 am

I am not rich but I can still afford this car…how?

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Stienthusiast on Oct 13, 2018 at 11:23 am

Are you sure rich loaded people will use this new entry bmw to show-off?

• stastasta on Oct 03, 2018 at 5:22 pm

this is a very long car. almost same length with the e60 5 series from 10 years ago.

• Will Mac on Oct 03, 2018 at 10:37 pm

Wait for hybrid, no brainer.

• Rulered on Oct 03, 2018 at 11:33 pm

Dear BMW, I have no comments on looks or specs of your fleet of cars, I only request one thing from BMW, please change your irritating and blinding headlight across all your recent models. I think it’s inching into hazardous to other road users. Thank you.

• This design cues are so much better than the new Mercedes design. Well done

• Alex Leow on Oct 06, 2018 at 6:44 pm

Any idea when will it be launched in Malaysia? Wanna place my booking already.

• Icon8888 on Oct 06, 2018 at 6:47 pm

Why the head looks so ugly. Uh!!

• applegreen on Oct 09, 2018 at 10:26 am

I’m pretty sure this new bmw 3 kulim series will be at least rm238k price range. Over my budget already. Gonna wait for new mazda3 instead

• Henry on Oct 09, 2018 at 2:16 pm

I plan to make this car my next purchase.

• Davion on Oct 10, 2018 at 11:17 pm

As a current F30 owner I’m absolutely loving the new interior. The G20 interior feels modern and stylish compared to the rather bland looking F30 interior.

As for the exterior overall the car looks great. I’m liking the new M-Sport bumpers. The taillights however is a bit of a letdown compared to the F30. Looks a bit too simplified. I also find the twin grille to be a bit too big especially on a 3 series. The F30 grille seems to be about the right size. Also they keep moving away from the original angel eyes. Its becoming smaller and smaller. Don’t get me wrong, I like the new headlights but not digging the smaller led strips.

• Most haters here are those who can’t afford a BMW. Period.

• Amazing how many times BMW can reiterate on the same solid basic shape and design and still remain relevant to the competition. Probably one of the iconic designs in the automotive world.

• LEE HOCK KUAN on Dec 13, 2018 at 1:42 pm

BMW is the most reliable machine on this planet tqvm