Mazda CX-5 now comes with powered tailgate in M’sia; CX-9 gains 360-degree camera, Apple CarPlay support

Bermaz Motor has given the Mazda CX-5 and CX-9 an upgraded equipment list as part of a minor update for both models. This comes with the announcement of its new price list for Mazda models with the sales and services tax (SST), which was implemented on September 1.

Starting with the locally-assembled (CKD) CX-5, a powered tailgate is now standard for the following variants: 2.0G 2WD GLS, 2.5G 2WD GLS, 2.2D 2WD GLS and 2.2D AWD GLS. The only variant that misses out on the feature is the base 2.0G 2WD GL.

In terms of pricing, the base variant starts from RM132,389.59 on-the-road without insurance, followed by the 2.0G 2WD GLS (from RM148,214.45), 2.5G 2WD GLS (from RM160,004), 2.2D 2WD GLS (from RM164,693.85) and 2.2D AWD GLS (from RM174,479.90).

Those who want a metallic paint finish will have to pay an additional RM377.36 on top of the aforementioned prices – premium metallic colours (Soul Red Crystal, Machine Grey, Snowflake Pearl White Pearl Mica) are a RM3,000 option.

As for the CX-9, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto are now officially supported by the MZD Connect infotainment system via a USB cable, and is standard on both the 2WD and 4WD variants of the three-row SUV.

Also introduced are a 360-degree camera that utilises four separate cameras to aid during parking and reversing, and the front seats now come with a cooling function in addition to the existing heated mode.

The CX-9 remains a fully-imported (CBU) model, and is priced at RM288,610.40 for the 2WD variant, while the 4WD variant goes for RM305,610.40. All new Mazda vehicles comes with a five-year/100,000 km warranty and three-year/60,000 km free maintenance (except the BT-50).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• aiman on Oct 05, 2018 at 7:22 pm

148k Mazda CX5? Save 50K & buy Proton X70 w Voice command …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 9
    • Kelvin on Oct 06, 2018 at 6:25 am

Please reduce price by 50% otherwise it is an expensive buy.

• halloha560-john SDN BHD on Oct 05, 2018 at 7:37 pm

RIP Honda CRV. Honda Malaysia can close shop

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 15
  • William Chua on Oct 05, 2018 at 8:30 pm

There is a typo on the base model is GL .

• Nice S on Oct 05, 2018 at 8:35 pm

The only variant that misses out on the feature is the base 2.0G 2WD GLS

Maybe the 2.0G 2WD GL that misses out. Just maybe.

• Gerard Lye (Member) on Oct 06, 2018 at 12:59 am

Yes, sorry about that. It’s been amended. Thank you for the spot.

• Old horse on Oct 05, 2018 at 8:41 pm

2.0GLS with or without ?

• Why introduce a model then update it later on b4 a facelift? This just shortchanges current owners and makes them wary to hold their future purchases until these changes had been done.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 07, 2018 at 1:44 pm

i think memory seats more important than powered tailgate

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 07, 2018 at 1:48 pm

Pity the owners who got it first. When it was launched I was already commenting on the lack of powerboot in this price segment. Oh well…better late than never

• CX-9 buyer on Oct 11, 2018 at 6:52 pm

I have booked my CX-9 from Bermaz Glenmarie back in June 2018 but only last week (Oct) I was told that the car finally reached the Malaysian port. But even worse I was asked to pay extra RM7k for these 3 additional features that I never wanted nor agreed when I first made the booking back in June. Until now, they are not releasing my car yet as still in discussion with their management. What’s happening Bermaz?!! Anybody else caught in this situation?

• CX5 Buyer on Oct 13, 2018 at 7:48 pm

Yes, i have the same problem as well. Booked in end of Jul,yesterday call me and tell me to top up the money with this additional feature that i don’t want

• Cx 5 wannabe owner on Dec 25, 2018 at 7:20 pm

Hi there, can you tell us how much you topped up? How does your s.a. Justify it?

• Will cx5 receive the update on Apple car play?

• harith on Nov 29, 2018 at 12:59 pm

every mazda car can upgrade apple carplay,but not free.. owner must pay Rm1,400 for this,

• Other country like Taiwan the 2019’s CX-5 updates include Apple carplay or Android Auto, 360 view, powered tailgate, full advance safety even in 2.0 GLS model onward (and the ACC start from 0 – 145km/h range) and HUD. Highest spec model only sold at ~RM154k.
    In Malaysia CX-5 only updated powered tailgate, but highest spec model priced at RM175k.
    Just curious why is it so?

• NoBuyIfLameSpec on Feb 14, 2019 at 2:45 pm

Because the general Malaysians would still pay at RM175k for lame specs.