PT TALKS: Proton X70 SUV design, quality, safety, AI-based connected head unit – what do we think of it all?

We’re merely weeks away from the official launch of the Proton X70, which is scheduled to arrive next month in CBU form. In the mean time, the automaker’s first ever SUV is being paraded across the country as part of a private viewing campaign, but not everyone is as fortunate to see it in the metal just yet.

Well, that’s why we’ve put together this video, discussing at length about the car’s design, overall build quality and technology, as well as its safety, performance and connectivity aspects. It’s shaping up to be a truly impressive vehicle, and segment-wise it goes head-to-head against the current leader Honda CR-V.

To recap, there will be four variants on offer, each sharing the same 1.8 litre TGDi four-cylinder petrol engine that makes 181 hp and 285 Nm, which is enough for a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 10.5 seconds (2WD model). A six-speed automatic with manual shift mode is standard.

Watch the video above to find out everything we know about the Proton X70 thus far. Also, don’t forget to share with us your thoughts on the SUV, and feel free to drop a fair estimate of the SUV’s price range. Comment, below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Ninja on Oct 11, 2018 at 11:29 pm

Just launch the bloody thing lah….the sandiwara is out of this world!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 21
    • Proton tipu tax on Oct 11, 2018 at 11:35 pm

Miti don’t approve their tax …because not national car anymore… Geely is doomed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
      • pokmang on Oct 11, 2018 at 11:38 pm

Proton 51% milik Drb nasional weii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
        • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:09 am

Although DRB own 51%, they have totally no more control over Proton. Geely has complete control and all kowtow to Li Chunrong and all the China staff that he brings down

So, please don’t think Proton is Malaysian. It is fully a China company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 14
          • Vincent Ang on Oct 12, 2018 at 10:28 am

Well done Proton !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • Encik Pening on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:09 pm

So if like that … Jaguar Land Rover been bought by TATA Motor. So Jaguar Land Rover ..India brand laa.. ape laa mentality macam ni..
            Just like MV Agusta .. Proton take over after that Harley Davidson take over .. so nak cakap brand mane?? Air batu campur ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
          • CHINA invading on Oct 12, 2018 at 3:40 pm

Then UMWToyota also national car. More than 50% owned by Malaysians. In fact Toyota cars in malaysia has more local contents than this Protonx70. To be a national car it must be built from ground up… design etc. Not sticking a badge on existings foreign models. Miti must be very careful not to cheat Malaysian of taxes

• YAB Alberto on Oct 12, 2018 at 6:36 pm

If Proton has the brain to run the company, Geely wouldn be here in the first place. Would rather buy a Geely rebadge anytime over lousy Proton anytime

• Lawson on Oct 13, 2018 at 5:11 am

Johnny please be objective here!. The most important question now is whether the X70 will met the expectations of buyers laying down RM85k to RM115 to buy any of the 4 variants. If they feels that they getting much more out of X70 (in size, quality, handling, low maintenance & spare parts cost, good SC etc etc) vs the same amount of cash laid down other cars it will be a success. For about 6 to 7 years my family buys or upgrade only to Samsung handphones but not doing from this year!. Why!. We are moving towards China made handphone as it now tops Samsung in terms of “bangs for the bucks”. Just like Samsung had beaten Sony in electronic years ago. The only constant is the world in change.

• Anonymous on Oct 15, 2018 at 4:40 am

UMW Toyota is not a car brand. They are pretty much just assemblers of Toyota cars. Their engineering and design input is very minimal, if there is even any at all.
            Proton have their own badge, their own design and engineering team, and have also made original designs.

We all should just let go of that “national pride” thing with Proton. It’s a business not a sports team. If it was treated properly like a business since the beginning, it wouldn’t be in this mess. Before their attempt at a turnaround back in the Preve days, all I have seen are just desperate attempts at showing off what they don’t actually have. Their cars are just advertisements for Malaysia. They did nothing with the criticisms they’ve received, all they care about it showing the badge and tell the world, “here we are, our country exists, and we have an industry”. When they finally got their head straight and actually want to make something good, it was already too late. They’ve lost too much of their revenue to invest in R&D. Something like the Preve would have been competitive in 2002, not 2012.

Geely is here to take some of the financial tension away, and help Proton get back on track with a new car without the exorbitant cost. Just let them do what they do, as a car business.

• Adrian on Oct 12, 2018 at 10:08 am

Pity we lost our national car maker to China but at least we have a clever partner who will bring money for the company

I am happy at least Proton can make money from now on instead of every year asking RM1.5 bil bailouts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • rightwinger on Oct 12, 2018 at 11:14 am

I still prefer our Proton cars than this China car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
          • MeToo on Oct 12, 2018 at 11:49 am

Must get all your family & frenz to buy Proton cars. Only Proton cars.

• Amran on Oct 12, 2018 at 3:18 pm

You mean proton savvy & tiara ? Do you love it so much?

• Fake Rightwinger detected! So lame to hijek others name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Raja Celup on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:50 pm

Work hard or drive a Geely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
          • Stay alive or drive a P2Toyota.

• YAB Alberto on Oct 12, 2018 at 11:55 pm

Be smart and buy a Geely instead rip off Toyota, Honda

• Taknaktoyota on Oct 13, 2018 at 12:03 pm

This made my day! No toyota

• Be Smart on Oct 15, 2018 at 6:16 pm

Buy real China Geely instead of Nasi Lemak Proton junk.

• Wiratebo on Oct 11, 2018 at 11:36 pm

Standard 2WD – 79k
      Executive 2WD – 86k
      Executive AWD – 93k
      Premium 2WD – 99k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 10
      • Lol.... on Oct 12, 2018 at 6:56 am

Mati all SUV n MPV in the market with that price….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • Johnson Amigos on Oct 12, 2018 at 11:19 am

if only Proton make the X70 as 5+2 seater.

• Tun F on Oct 12, 2018 at 2:53 pm

In your dream.. Even with this price.. People will still buy crv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • YAB Alberto on Oct 12, 2018 at 6:37 pm

I for one will buy Proton X70, alrdy booked along with more than 5000 others

• usedcardealer on Oct 13, 2018 at 12:05 pm

Can get CRV engine onlY wit that price

• wahlaueh on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:27 am

As much as I wish this is the price, looking at the specs sheet, I would say it is kind of impossible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Razak on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:51 am

Geely was born in 1997. Proton was born in 1985. I honestly don’t know how Geely can make a car that is 1000X better than any Proton we have seen.

It is Proton that should be teaching Geely how to make a good car because we are older.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
      • sam123 on Oct 12, 2018 at 10:17 am

Standard 2WD – 79k
        Executive 2WD – 86k
        Executive AWD – 93k
        Premium 2WD – 99k

fake news ka?

• Same L0rr on Oct 12, 2018 at 1:30 pm

Suprima S 1.6 turbo RM80k.. how can SUV 1.8T RM79k?

• Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Oct 12, 2018 at 5:16 pm

Suprima S is a powerful car.. dont believe? Try test out with latest civic 1.5tc.. hoho

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 12, 2018 at 10:17 am

This car will be a big success. And I am sure after sales also will be 1st class like how Geely believes.

No more going to Proton workshops and hearing, “Biasala bang ini Proton, kalau beli murah inilah akibatnya”

I am glad all that will be the past. I hope Li Chunrong fill up all the SC with Geely staff to give us first class servis

• Wajatebo on Oct 12, 2018 at 10:44 am

firstly, add 20k to the base model

secondly, add 10k difference to each model

there you have a more sensible pricing

• Gud things comes to those who wait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 22
      • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:11 am

Lucky China saved Proton and finally Malaysia is getting a good car that is worthy of International safety standards

Thank you Geely and Thank you China

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 9
        • I repeat. Dun reply me with bollocks. Keep it to ur own bollocking dupe comments. Tenkiu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 39
          • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:39 am

I think you are still sleeping. Do get up and try to go to work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
          • Anana on Oct 12, 2018 at 3:53 pm

@John

But you ARE sleeping. Proton car sales are on a downtrend y-o-y. It would be a matter of time before it goes bankrupt and it will be us taxpayers that’s cleaning up the mess with our money.

• Raja Celup on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:48 pm

Tak malu kah rebadge kereta orang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • Perodua pun selalu rebadge, Proton buat sendiri u org tak beli. Skrg terpaksa ikut Perodua cara copy and paste. Paling malu adalah org yg selalu kritik

• Proton Junk Tak Malu Copy Paste on Oct 15, 2018 at 6:12 pm

U org selalu kritik P2 rebadge tapi sekarang ikut perbuatan org lain. Tak malu kah?

• Toyota no fan on Oct 13, 2018 at 12:08 pm

Toyota Tak malu rebadge mazda2 coz vios is junk

• Shikin on Oct 14, 2018 at 8:10 am

Kau ingat kereta Perodua x rebadge ke? Naza (Kia)? Kau nampak Proton je. Kenapa benci sangat Proton? Kalau tak nak beli kereta jenama Proton, tak payah lah nak perlekehkan. Awak tak malu ke?, orang Malaysia perangai macam ni.

• Ruslan Bahari on Oct 12, 2018 at 7:22 am

You need to understand marketing if you want to understand what you term as drama. Many ask why can’t they show prices, why not show the car to the general public when the pictures are out.
      Fact is, main competitors like the CRV, the CX5 and the Xtrail are watching. If the X70 prices are revealed now, they will immediately discount their prices in anticipation of the launch. What happens then is some of the Japanese model fans that has deferred purchase because of price will make the commitment. So PROTON is doing what other car marques would do anyway.
      Showing the full model can be done of course but the units that are available right now are limited, I’m guessing, since it will be CBUs. To let throngs of people see one car would be difficult to manage anyway. And it the final quarter so purchase decisions will be made in December for January registrations to not lose one year age in just one or two months. Its all normal in my view.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Boyue is volvo? on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:05 am

X70 of Boyue is same as XC70 of Volvo. One level higher than XC60? Same like Tiguan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Halim on Oct 12, 2018 at 10:17 am

Xc70 is actually a v70 wagon.different from boyue which is an suv

• YB Albert on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:16 am

The launch of x70 is made to resemble a Bolehland space rocket launch to Mars….with all the pomp while 80 percent of the current Proton range..tak laku until DRB got to give sst amount of rebates due to plunging sales in Sept.It is like going to a mamak shop where customers only buy roti chanai n teh tarik…the other products just rotting away…this is the National Car Tun produced n abandoned in search of Protiga.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 12, 2018 at 10:19 am

Proton cars are dead. We all know that. Wait till Geely brings in A seg and B segment cars.

Persona and Saga will be in the yard under the hot sun for years.

• YB Albert on Oct 12, 2018 at 1:31 pm

Actually DRB bodoh betut betut.JUst shut down manufacturing of campro Proton cars.Maintain a CKD factory to assemble geely cars.Be a assembler of geely right handed version cars.LIke Tan Chong and UMW.
          In other words ,be a regional distributor of Geely cars.Why continue manufacturing to feed 10,000 staff…50 percent deadwood?
          Now they r spending rm1.2 Billion to launch other geely models…money from taxringgit?
          Like Tun said Ajibkor stupid stupid in awarding lopsided contracts to tongsan.

• JANGAN tipu Malaysia on Oct 13, 2018 at 11:58 am

There is nothing to launch ..it an existing old model ..only ProtonGeely is trying to hookwind innocent Malaysian with this sandiwara

• Proton SuperBasher Johns on Oct 15, 2018 at 2:35 pm

This car is already dead before it’s even being launch

• Proton is not local on Oct 11, 2018 at 11:29 pm

Proton is no longer a national car. Are they entitled to lower import and excise duty still ? Many other brands who invested heavily in assembly plants in Malaysia will not be pleased if DRB and China hoodwink Miti on this. Geely CKD or not, brands like Honda has more local contents that this “Proton” model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
    • P1 is as national as P2 is. Why u no complain at them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:23 am

No one is talking about P2 here. Don’t bring non relevant things here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
        • It is relevant cuz both r national car brands. Unlike u bring P1 into irrelevant topics like Tesla and Renault articles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • Anana on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:58 am

@john

That’s because P2 so far never took any government bail out, and so far they have invested a lot more into transmission and engine factories which also translates to more jobs for Malaysians, and they are moving towards the direction of self sufficiency on car design and not relying so much on Daihatsu/Toyota design and their design is actually quite OK with decent build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
        • Engineer on Oct 12, 2018 at 11:49 am

Incorrect. During the 2008 crisis, Perodua had asked for loans from the Government as well.
          And their engine factory comes 15 years after Proton setup theirs to produce Campro, so they are just way behind in terms of innovation or investment.
          Body design is nothing to shout, just a reskining when the main engineering is done on the chassis platform, an LHD to RHD conversion one such major engineering feat that Perodua can only dream to emulate. Self-sufficiency? No such thing unless they continue using the same ancient drivetrain of the past.
          And about Perodua build quality, is assuredly worse than Proton but their owners are shameful to admit it thus swallowing these problems that exist on their Perodua cars unlike their Proton stories back in the Wira days. I would trust my life in a Proton, but not so in a Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
          • Engineer has put it well, so i dun need to rehash what he say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • Steve on Oct 13, 2018 at 12:58 pm

Engineer,
            When you mention campro, why didnt you tell 1/2 of campro engine heads are cast at the perodua engine factory? The new one in negeri sembilan is a dedicated factory to only build engines, does proton have something like that? What is so difficult to do LHD to RHD? Even NAZA can do that from scratch with Naza Sutera and Peugeot 408. Main engineering of chassis platform? Proton saga platfrom based on the savvy which is copied from the renault twingo, preve/exora from altis/wish. And we all know all the hard engineering works are done by LG Engineering in south korea. Build quality? I have owned all kinds of perodua and proton, to be honest i trust a perodua not to break down by the road rather than a proton.

• Perodua is lousy assembler , where got quality?

• Sukakereta on Oct 12, 2018 at 11:23 am

This will be a unique case (read: unfair) if Gov decides to give special excise duty for X70. What justifies low excise duty rate enjoyed by other local manufacturer/assemblers is due to high local components percentage.
        Dare to declare how many local components in X70?
        Logo only ke?

• https://paultan.org/2018/10/10/proton-vendors-to-collaborate-with-chinese-companies-for-x70-production-rm170-million-initial-investment/

• RAJA KAMARUL on Oct 12, 2018 at 7:14 am

All car makes apply for what is called tax holidays to enter the market. The Mondeo for example was priced at RM202k at the peak due to tax holidays.
      MITI looks at various things including ownership of the distribution company locally to offer these incentives. It’s also common to give better incentives if the localisation plan has been firmed up, which with the launch of their new plant two days ago means its very firm.

• Alibaba your grandpa? on Oct 12, 2018 at 8:28 am

What cock u? DRB own 50% of Plotong and Honda distribution right. How the hell they will unhappy? In fact most Honda parts are from tomyamland, where got local content?

• YAB Alberto on Oct 12, 2018 at 6:41 pm

The Thai honda plants must be making fake contents then…

• Ohh! Hafriz was so convinced he bought one himself. Thats all the testament we need. Its a demn gud car, nuff said.

BTW, Haf bro! I still waiting for ur build review on that Veyron lego. Hope to see it soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • Anana on Oct 12, 2018 at 10:06 am

@john

Really?
      I would take whatever they say with a pinch of salt because they are paid to write good reviews. Best reviewer would still be the person who you know actually bought the X70 and used it for a year or two.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Do u even watch the video above? Haf bro put his money where his mouth is and pre-ordered one. Haf bro is putting his rep on the line by saying so, and his father life at the capabilities of the car. Theres no better testament than to put oneself and ones loved ones to make a point.
        How about u?

• Anana on Oct 12, 2018 at 4:07 pm

@john

It is up to him to do what he wants with his time and money really. I’m just very skeptical of whatever is written by automotive bloggers since all their reviews are about the good stuff.

I’ll reserve my comments until I see him actually owning the car and actually liking it after 3 years. New cars are always the best cars in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • Yes its up to him, but do u think Haf bro is an easy man to please? He owns a W212 E250 and Im sure his buying power can afford something more expensive than X70. And yet he clearly mentioned that he has gotten one. Clearly you misjudged him, his professionalism and his preferences. I suggest you read thru his reviews and his videos to know more about him. Becoz clearly ur preconceived bias towards him does him no justice.

• Jepunis cars are junks deswai RV is no good nowadays

• proton junk here and there on Oct 15, 2018 at 6:20 pm

Does that make the Perdana junk as well becoz it is using Jepunis platform?

• One more thing. Has anyone got a look at the glove compartment? Was the RHD conversion done right and not having the fusebox eating up space, like on the Frenchies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • johnissohai on Oct 12, 2018 at 1:48 am

when buy brand new that time feels good…when wanna sell that time will beg for ppl to buy..

• Common User on Oct 12, 2018 at 8:58 am

Nahh.. Perodua still like the old proton. Still using other part of the other brand like toyota and daihatsu. Why perodua can’t make their own engine? Scare if the engine will be like campro? that the malaysian people, always take from other to make their own. People always brag about “Woah, it’s toyota engine on perodua”. Then till when perodua want to use toyota engine pattern even toyota also seek the Geely company to make a hybrid and electic power car.
    When proton seek other company to get and learn to improve the production tech, people always condemn. But why not condemn perodua using other tech from toyota?
    The answer is malaysian people’s has a bad thought habit. That is they always feel great on the imported product then the product made by their country’s even their country start from zero by learning from other country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • Fully agree!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • ohman on Oct 12, 2018 at 10:26 am

Meanwhile Woah, it’s honda, mitsu, suzuki engine on proton. malaysian people always feel great on the imported product

• Spot on bro!

• Optimus on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:34 am

:Thumbs up:

• Stanley Gan on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:53 am

Myvi sales in 6 months is 80,000 units. Proton Iriz sales in 6 months is 2000 units.

80,000 vs 2000 – Malaysians have spoken.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • Ahmad on Oct 12, 2018 at 1:34 pm

Car buyers dont want campro engine anymore. Scary.. people want reliability car (engine & Transmission. Whatever inhouse or rebadge model. The mos important is reliable & practicality.

• Notakata on Oct 13, 2018 at 12:15 pm

No la buyes dowan jepunis cars, coz jepunis failed even to make airbags right, how to save lives?

• Standard 2WD – 98k
    Executive 2WD – 108k
    Executive AWD – 118k
    Premium 2WD – 128k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • newme on Oct 12, 2018 at 10:06 am

It’s a dilemma for Proton.

If they launch it cheap, they will suffer loss. It won’t sustain like how Ertiga owners having hard time getting their parts because Proton doesn’t keep them because of low volume.

If they sell it expensive, it goes without word that it won’t sell. No one would want to buy expensive China car.

• Old dog on Oct 12, 2018 at 10:08 am

How come after so long collaboration still CBU? Is proton really position to manufacture locally that benefits local expertise and work force?
    Don’t just become assemble plant, it then not much benefit local as much but a gimmick for the G company which benefit their overseas worker more than us

• CarJerk on Oct 12, 2018 at 11:17 am

Premium 2WD – MYR 118
    That’s the maximum price it can go, otherwise above that, it’s better to get the Mazda CX5. Cos’ when selling it, it will be hard hit as it’s a Chinese car…engine no good la…

• The last question in the video is basically asking proton insider to reveal…

• fadzili Rahman on Oct 12, 2018 at 11:37 am

i dont see what the hype is? this is a Chinese car and only grill is proton and is a rebadgered Geely which no one in Europe, USA or main Asian countries budur to it being low quality and made in China. who will buy this in Malaysia? poor people and after a few month when it started to fall apart they complain proton is bad. we saw what happened to HAVAL cars here. im sorry for what proton has become.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • I dunno why u think that way but atleast u go to see urself n compare to haval then make final comment.

• Biadap X70 on Oct 12, 2018 at 2:52 pm

Actually how many times need to review? Proton think media all very free? Just put your product and prices on your showroom let consumer to see at it own eye, X70 anything different from other car? Can fly, no need fuel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • The media is free to report it as they wish and you’re free not to come here and leave crap comment. Thank you.

• They just drag the launching and price for fear not selling well

• John Johnny Malay on Oct 12, 2018 at 5:21 pm

Potong X70 *thumbs down*

• Do not glorify chinese car lah.they are all garbage in the eyes of the motoring world.l

• How can China made price at parties with Honda, it wouldn’t sell, be realistic Proton

• Guest on Oct 13, 2018 at 1:46 pm

Lots of bookings and viewings but end of the day, I believe most of us agree, what’s the price? Once the price is out, then we’ll finally see how the car actually competes with others

• I really wish it’s 7 seater just.like alza.
    This would be a good buy indeed

• Albert Lee on Oct 14, 2018 at 12:35 am

This car ain’t new at all, what’s all the fuss for a rebadged Geely Boyue until can’t show the video.

• Mr Hakim on Oct 16, 2018 at 9:36 am

Cannot choose interior colour meh? I want all green one.