FIRST DRIVE: New W177 Mercedes-Benz A-Class

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has just launched the all new W177 A-Class, packed with a whole host of new technologies and features. There’s plenty to unpack, so we’ve driven the car in Croatia to give you a good first look at the way it all works and how it drives.

Underneath the CLS-inspired styling, the A-Class comes with the new Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) infotainment system, with a 10.25-inch touchscreen and a Linguatronic voice control system that lets you control various functions using the activation phrase “Hey Mercedes.”

Engines include a 163 hp/250 Nm 1.33 litre turbo four-cylinder in the A 200 – codeveloped with Renault – and a 224 hp/350 Nm 2.0 litre Mercedes unit in the A 250, both paired to a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission. Prices are RM227,888 for the A 200 Progressive Line and RM263,888 for the A 250 AMG Line, on-the-road with the sales and services tax (SST) and without insurance.

But enough writing – watch the video review above to find out if the new A-Class is a proper step up over the old model. As usual, let us know your thoughts in the comments section after the jump.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz A 200 Progressive Line

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz A 250 AMG Line

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 19, 2018 at 11:47 am

but our a-class is a 260k tin kosong lol….

• Ah beng Level 2 on Oct 19, 2018 at 1:33 pm

Speaking on behalf of all rich ah bengs, we cannot accept the ridiculous prices..this is suppose to be base model below the CClass

• Sawff Qafi on Oct 19, 2018 at 2:13 pm

I love sedan.. A250 L

• stastasta on Oct 23, 2018 at 1:05 pm

220k gets you a 1.3 liter renault engine, single zone air con with no rear vents, torsion beam.

• I just can’t help notice the resemblance of the new A Class’ tail-lights to that of the 2013 KIA Cerato… lol