Budget 2019: Monthly RON 95 petrol subsidy from Q2 2019; 40L for kapchai, 100L for cars 1.5L and below

Budget 2019: Monthly RON 95 petrol subsidy from Q2 2019; 40L for <em>kapchai</em>, 100L for cars 1.5L and below

Targeted fuel subsidies will be introduced sometime in the second quarter of 2019, which will cost the government RM2 billion annually, announced at the tabling of Budget 2019. This scheme will offer a subsidy of 30 sen per litre up to 100 litres a month, for cars with an engine capacity of 1,500 cc and below.

For motorcycles, those with an engine displacing 125 cc of capacity or less will be allocated the subsidy at the same rate of 30 sen per litre, for up 40 litres a month. The capacity limit for cars eligible for the RON 95 petrol subsidy has since been raised from the initial 1,300 cc mark in the earlier Pakatan Harapan manifesto, while the 125 cc capacity limit for motorcycles remains unchanged.

As many as four million car owners and 2.6 million motorcycle owners will benefit from this targeted subsidy, the ministry of finance said. This targeted subsidy structure, however, will not apply to owners with multiple vehicles.

The mechanism for the distribution of this fuel subsidy has not been elaborated on, but expect it to be fleshed out closer to the programme’s start. What was mentioned was that RON 95 is expected to be floated – it was mentioned that non-subsidised vehicles will be required to pay the full price determined at the pump, set on a weekly basis based on the Automatic Pricing Mechanism (APM).

The price of RON 95 has remained fixed at RM2.20 per litre since the end of May this year. The higher RON 97 grade of petrol continues to be set according to market prices. Interestingly, there was no mention of diesel pricing.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Angry Malaysia Driver on Nov 02, 2018 at 7:31 pm

Just remove the car taxes and we can handle the petrol price on our own.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 6
    • Sustagen on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:27 pm

We must protek Proton & vendors at all cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
      • hondaman on Nov 03, 2018 at 7:20 am

Most proton cars won’t qualify for this subsidy cz their engines are 1.6

• GrahamC on Nov 03, 2018 at 9:14 am

Surely not necessary now?

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 03, 2018 at 9:31 am

I don’t know why everybody is upset with this budget. What do you expect?

We allowed 60 years of massive stealing and corruption to take place. Each person stole up to billions each. In total, we lost about trillions in corruption alone.

And we allowed all this to take place. It is our fault. If trillions were not stolen through corruption and stealing, today, we can have toll free roads, cheap cars and even heavily subsidised petrol for life.

So why blame LGE and PH? Blame ourselves. Blame you and me. We allowed the country to be raped so much that until now, the country also got no money to give Budget goodies to you and me.

Don’t point the finger and blame people. Look at the mirror and blame ourselves. We allowed 60 years of corruption and stealing to take place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 26
        • Please don’t tell me that u still believe in those bullshits. How old are you, 12 years old? It’s only an excused created to protect themselves when they know they cannot fulfil all their promises. They are politicians, that what they are good at.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
      • plotekplotek on Nov 03, 2018 at 10:22 am

You mean like those korea china usa etc plotek its national cars?

• Yogurt on Nov 03, 2018 at 10:55 am

if protek proton shouldn’t subsidy be 1.6 and below not 1.5?

• B. unggul on Nov 03, 2018 at 12:58 pm

Must plotek P2 fist mah. P1 already went private.

• Sohai on Nov 03, 2018 at 4:41 pm

Ohwai… SOHAI rakyat rugi besar… Excise Duty 75%, CKD Tax 10%, SST 10%, TOTAL 95%. Fuel Subsidy rm30/m @ rm360/yr.
        Buy civic 120k, tax 50k, tax50000/360=138years. When u buy a civic, PH in return subsidy payback for 138 yrs of 50k. That for only 1 car, if bought 3 cars, make sure you live until 500yrs to get payback from subsidy.

• Ohwai … Ini betul betul zalim rakyat punya kerajaan, ini generasi bili kereta, itu tax sampai 7-generasi cucu-cici anda…

• This contribute 7B taxes to governent each year

• KF Chow on Nov 03, 2018 at 5:37 am

Better still, RON 95 petrol subsidy be given to old and new Proton and Perodua cars Only. Benefit our low income ppl & local carmaker.

• Halim on Nov 03, 2018 at 11:05 am

Kerajaan lama sudah songlap duit banyak banyak sampai kerajaan sekarang sudah boros.

Macam mana nak bagi subsidi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • Berkin Bag Lelong on Nov 03, 2018 at 11:36 am

Kerajaan tak ada duit sekarang kerana beli banyak beg Birkin. Ada 300 beg Birgin. Satu beg sahaja berharga Rm300k hingga RM1.7 mil. 300 beg? Sampai beratus million

Jual semua beg Birkin, boleh dapat duit untuk bagi toll rendah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • To sohai commentor on Nov 03, 2018 at 11:05 am

Dont be SOHAI LA IF U REMOVE CAR TAX DEN ALL THE EXISTING CAR PRICE WILL DROP BADLY. IF YOU JUST BOUGHT A BRAND NEW CAR. TOMORROW TAX REMOVED. YOUR PRICE DROP LIKE SHIT. HOW U FEEL LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Veyron Owner on Nov 02, 2018 at 7:44 pm

[This targeted subsidy structure, however, does not apply to owners with multiple vehicles.]

No worries. Rich people like me will have ways to register multiple cars under our parents, spouse, mistress, children (legitimate or otherwise), and even our maids & butlers names. Thankyou PH for being generous to us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 9
    • Rayc216 on Nov 03, 2018 at 12:51 am

emmm… my advice is don’t fuel your veyron with ron95…

• [For cars with 1,500 cc and below.]

Gudluck Veyron Ron95 petrol

• Halim on Nov 03, 2018 at 11:10 am

i prefer a prudent Government than a Government that lies about 1MDB and its debts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Nizam on Nov 03, 2018 at 11:27 am

MRT 2 cost reduced from RM39.3 billion to RM30.5 billion, representing a savings of 22.4%, or RM8.8 billion.
      LRT 3 cost reduced from RM31.6 billion to RM16.6 billion, representing a savings of of 47%, or RM15 billion.

Oh wow, LGE saved us so much of money. I am sure all the RM23 billiom would have gone into pocket pocket.

And people complain about bad budget. Just here alone can see how we were cheated for 60 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • lut you on Nov 04, 2018 at 10:10 am

I haven’t any vehicle, want “rent” my name?

• Sohai on Nov 02, 2018 at 7:57 pm

Rm0.30x100liter= rm30/month max can claim. Benefit company not rakyat, 1 people own company can claim many company cars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Cars that qualify:
      Merc C200
      Merc A200
      BMW i8
      BMW 318i
      BMW 118i MSport
      Mini Cooper SE Countryman All4
      Mini Cooper Clubman
      Audi Q3 TFSI
      Audi A4 TFSI
      VW Golf TSI
      VW Tiguan
      VW Beetle 1.2 TSI
      Honda CRV
      Ford Focus Sedan
      Renault Clio GT

Congrats on those who chosen these rides!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 5
      • bongok on Nov 03, 2018 at 3:46 am

Rich pipu car ron97. Not subsidized RON95 ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Lolwhut? on Nov 04, 2018 at 7:03 pm

Only bongkoks think rich people don’t use RON95. I’ve seen plenty of luxury cars pumping RON95.

• Mario and Bros on Nov 03, 2018 at 8:01 am

Bro, even Proton Saga 1.3L, Proton Persona 1.3L, Proton Iriz 1.3L, Volkswagen Vento 1.2 Turbo, Toyota Vios 1.5L, Toyota Sienta 1.5L, Toyota Rush 1.5L, Toyota Avanza 1.3L and 1.5L, Honda City 1.5L including Honda City 1.5al Hybrid, Honda Jazz 1.5L including Honda Jazz 1.5L Hybrid, Perodua Myvi 1.3L and 1.5L, Perodua Alza 1.5L, Perodua Axia 1.0L and Perodua Bezza 1.0L and 1.3L can also use for Subsides Ron 95 which is also under 1500cc too.

• Mario and Bros on Nov 03, 2018 at 8:22 am

Some more, these are other list that is possibly qualify for subsides RON 95:

– Kia Rio 1.4L
        – Kia Piccanto 1.2L
        – Mazda 2 1.5L

I think that’s about it

• Veyron Owner on Nov 03, 2018 at 8:58 am

I’m targeting some of these cars to register under family (legitimate or otherwise).

• Walao! All these considered poorer than my Gen2 CPS. Well done on ur calculations PH Gov! R u this using same formula that inflated our debts from 700B to 1Trillion then quietly deflate back to 700B?

• Anonymous on Nov 03, 2018 at 12:29 pm

Newly launched RM230k Audi Q2 sport… 1.4l tfsi turbo eligible for fuel subsidy too…! Nice work there gomen…!!!

• The subsidy is only for B40.. depends on their monthly income and there’s more mechanisms on it’s way to it. No wonder after even they are using cars 1.5 cc but their income are more than B40 level.. still can’t get the subsidy..hahaha

• Chavez on Nov 04, 2018 at 9:08 pm

How do you define that? By declared income? With SST back, the business people has no need to declare their profits & income anymore. They can declare ZERO income, be categorised as B40 and yet able to pump subsidised RON95 into their kid’s C200 Avantgarde.

• What about B40 that using old 1.6 Gen2 iAFM, waja 1.6 and other old cars that above 1.6L?

• Sayingsaying on Nov 03, 2018 at 10:59 am

Should not applicable for company cars if possible. Only for individual. Cos company car is ur company pay for fuel, not from ur own pocket.

• ganesh on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:04 pm

How is Rm30 per month going to help me? My car loan already Rm55k for a MYVI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
  • practical car lover on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:09 pm

so…seems like the gov gonna float the fuel price after this. ok anyway back to this targeted subsidy,

how exactly are they going to implement this? what if i buy a sub rm1k kancil just so that i can qualify for this?

what i think is that they are gonna link it to your salary, maybe only applies to those earning rm4k and below like those listed in Br1m

• Just2cents on Nov 03, 2018 at 1:18 am

Bro it’s about rm 30 a month. Not many people would pay rm1000 to buy a car and park at space limited condos or even double storey terrace just to save that rm30/month. It takes 3.3 years just to cover the 1k Kancil not to mention the insurance and the waste of parking space. But 30/month is a good gift if I am earning only 1100 a month.

• Tan Paul on Nov 03, 2018 at 6:58 am

Its only 100 litres max. With 30 sen subsidy per litre u make a savings of rm30 per month.

• You still need to pay insurance and road tax for your RM1k Kancil.

• racal on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:12 pm

Waja, iriz and pesona are 1.6 litrers, why cannot get subsidy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Don’t forget 2003 Gen2 1.6 IAFM, Satria Neo 1.6, high performance wira 1.6 & 1.8, Preve & Suprima.

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:18 pm

I’m fine with float for RON95, if car prices can get reduced (less taxes). Petrol is limited resource. So it should be priced according to demand and supply. This will help drive up sales of efficient vehicles, electric cars, hybrids and PHEVs. As much as I love the sound of combustion engine, the future is electric, or hydrogen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Ahmadjr on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:24 pm

Baik kurangkan road tax n isurance untuk kapcai dan kereta 1.5 je. Lagi senang n jimat. Benda simple pun tak boleh fikir nobita ni. Geram je aku

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 10
    • bonodo on Nov 03, 2018 at 10:28 am

Nobita, banyak city cars are 1.6l la, benda simple pun tak boleh fikir.

• Semuabendanakditanggung on Nov 03, 2018 at 10:48 am

Insurance bukn under government, tu atas company. Berapa dia nk tetapkan premium, tu sume kerajaan mana boleh masuk campur. Roadtax utk 1.5, berapa puluh ringgit je. Makan kedai hipster, shell out boleh, xkan setahun sekali bayar roadtax tak boleh?

• Anonymous on Nov 03, 2018 at 12:34 pm

Sangat setuju… biar harga RON95 float mcm harga pasaran… kurangkan roadtax dan insurans… malah duti dan eksais juga patut turun utk kenderaan 1.5l kebawah serta kereta hibrid dan elektrik… utk menjadi ianya pilihan yg lebih baik utk rakyat.

• C200 1.5cc, a200 1.3cc, jetta golf 1.4cc, jazzhybrid 1.5cc

• Phaser on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:42 pm

So now Merc C200, 80% of the VW range, Honda Civic 1.5T and a bunch of other car owners whom this subsidy aren’t aimed at will get this subsidy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • Exactly, tons of expensive turbo cars out there wif cc1. 5 n below..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:31 pm

Use our brains.
      Vast-vast majority people who bought new luxury/premium vehicles don’t want your RON95.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 45
      • Author Mario and Bros on Nov 03, 2018 at 8:28 am

Jimmy, your fact is totally wrong. Vast-Vast majority people who bought new luxury/premium are most likely to use for RON95 as subsides.

• SK, Lim on Nov 03, 2018 at 9:14 am

I still see Beemers pumping RON95. What’s stopping them from doing it? U think u can shame them to stop it? Please do try, and share here.

• jay8393 on Nov 03, 2018 at 11:32 am

Use your brain. Most Malaysians are stingy bunch. Plus, these cars don’t actually even use 97 or higher. 95 is minimum they need.

• Zubeer on Nov 03, 2018 at 11:55 am

Yep. Myself own Iriz 1.3 but only fuel RON97.

• lut you on Nov 04, 2018 at 10:25 am

Lots of high income Singaporean love our petrol

• Jimmy: Who expert about cars will not fill the RON97 in the latest technology engines such as all BMW and Merc that even using turbocharged 2.0L engines. Even 310hp turbo 2.0L Civic Type R engine only required min RON95 to get max output.

Even old Proton Saga 1.5L in the fuel cap says it required RON97 or above.

• Wayne on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:53 pm

It is really outdated method to classify car by engine capacity, Mercedes A200, VW Golf, Civic & CRV 1.5t entitled for subsidy. But Persona, Iriz are not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • KickThemNxtGE on Nov 03, 2018 at 11:49 am

Just kick the PH out come next G.E.
        We are all Malaysians, either all enjoy the subsidy or all pay for the non subsidy.

• This move is to protect local made car with small cc only la. This is the problem with protecting policies/market, trapped with your own net.

• Probably can insert a clause only non turbo version of 1.5L. Pretty simple. That easily remove any of the luxury car from the list.

• Not Toyota Fan on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:46 pm

They will probably credit RM30 to the car’s road tax. Simple & efficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • 12yrsold on Nov 02, 2018 at 10:01 pm

RM30x12 = RM360 a year. Family better food now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • 4G63T DSM on Nov 02, 2018 at 10:05 pm

That’s the easiest path. As long as said owner only has one car registered to his name.

Once again, proton seems to be shafted again as thier major cars are 1.6L. only the saga and ertiga comes under that.

Seriously, I would say the original 1.3L limit makes more sense.

Curiously, the civic and CRV (and the upcoming accord) would come under subsidy also, as will the Mini and 318, and the newly facelifted Merc C200. Neighter of them which are considered budget cars.

• DonkeyKong on Nov 02, 2018 at 10:13 pm

Hahaha.. RM30 per month, that’s RM360 per year. Road tax for 1.5 liter cars is like what, RM70 per year? Clearly you haven’t thought this through…

• Not Toyota Fan on Nov 03, 2018 at 1:15 pm

Clearly you forgotten history.

https://paultan.org/2008/06/12/how-and-when-can-you-claim-your-rm625-cash-subsidy/

• 1.5L road tax is only RM90, RM30 x 12mths = RM360

• Anonymous on Nov 03, 2018 at 12:37 pm

Just reduce the roadtax of cars 1.5l n below… let RON95 price float with market with no subsidy. Much more simpler than registering at pump station n such… why the go around reflects Minisrters’ slow n backward thinking.

• Bad Budget on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:50 pm

Bad budget, before election saying that previous govern is burden rakyat, now it is worst, 100 litres a mth for multiple vehicles, <1500 cc. Rich ppl owned premium car with <1500cc? Average family owned 2 axia, one for self & one for child (due to more safety using car)?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 5
    • jinggo on Nov 02, 2018 at 10:23 pm

Janji ade bantuan dan subsidi dah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
      • Owh org kaya akan jadi lebih kaya. org miskin akan jadi lebih miskin. camtu eh?

• toobad on Nov 03, 2018 at 10:14 am

previous govt buat lubang for decades now new govt kene cover the lubang in few months ?

• lut you on Nov 05, 2018 at 10:39 am

Siapa korek lubang? 4th PM?

• Ghani on Nov 05, 2018 at 10:51 am

Previous govt buat lubang for you to ternak ikan and make a living but instead you ols want to spend money to tutup the hole and then complain about being poor. Bodohkan?

• New Malaysia menu on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:54 pm

Looking at the way RON97 have been arbitrarily on the rise and rise, that RM30 will be easily gobbled up by a rising float of RON95 prices. Each person will effectively be paying more for petrol. What then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Ahmad on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:56 pm

My gen2. I don’t blame you…….

• Ben Yap on Nov 02, 2018 at 9:02 pm

My civic 1.5 turbo can enjoy subsidy with the performance of a 2.4, smoking many cars that aren’t subsidized.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 11
    • Avenger on Nov 03, 2018 at 9:25 am

Low spec Civic 1.8 not qualified but high spec Civic 1.5T qualifies for subsidy. Obviously those who are rich goes for the lower specced variant based on Pakatan logic. And their logic is never wrong, right?

• Good idea…at least the subsidy is going to people who actually need it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 59
    • Tun F on Nov 02, 2018 at 9:52 pm

Are you kidding me? 1.5 civic n crv turbo? All new Mercedes benz C200 and A200 also 1.3 Dan 1.5. Also the all new Audi A4 (low spec) and A3 also with 1.4 engine. Are saying those peoples with this range of cars are the targeting people…. My foot

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 6
      • M.Hamzah on Nov 02, 2018 at 9:59 pm

Tiguan and incoming Q2 owners are officially deemed “poor” and will require subsidy.

• Bangchoi on Nov 02, 2018 at 10:15 pm

Yeahh righttt…. bagi kat kereta 900cc and below only…. moto pulak bg yg bawah 60cc (honda cup 50 saja bleh claim)… then u also butthurt say govt kedekut tahi hidung masin… buat apa pon tak kena… choii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
      • when losers speak on Nov 02, 2018 at 10:28 pm

Golf jetta 1.4 Tsi

• That’s why i said that this PH government is very stupid! Orang kaya 1.4 turbo – Bantu, Orang Miskin waja 1.6 menangis…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • sohai kia on Nov 02, 2018 at 10:44 pm

road tax already make they laugh now they laughing even more

• True

• Ben Yap on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:35 pm

u want the subsidy, get a civic turbo too. if u cannot afford one, don’t be a sour grape here.

• Mario and Bros on Nov 03, 2018 at 8:05 am

Can also get BMW 118i M Sport too. It cost less than RM 185k or can also get BMW 318i Luxury too also cost RM 202k

• Loloq on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:46 pm

No joke man!! Just bought the bulldozer for 300k with 1.2 engine. What a save man!

• lowspec on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:59 pm

No wunder we dun see p2 & p1 cars anymore.. Mercedes n Audi all over bolehland

• lut you on Nov 04, 2018 at 10:39 am

Those owner already pay high tax for car, PH give them a bit benefit, cannot?

• Anonymous on Nov 03, 2018 at 12:40 pm

So… those who can afford a RM230k Audi Q2 Sports… 1.4 TFSI turbo really needs the subsidy huh….?

• So… If I’m a loyal taxpayer, I don’t enjoy any benefit from my contribution while those who don’t pay tax gets more out of my contribution?

What’s the difference between this government and the previous government?

Macais both sides. Please don’t blindly defend.

• Jebon on Nov 02, 2018 at 10:30 pm

Sokong la lagi lepas ni haha

• turborider on Nov 02, 2018 at 10:31 pm

Cars below 1.5L or 1.5L and below?

• Jebon on Nov 02, 2018 at 10:45 pm

Buy BMW i8. Got power and subsidy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Should follow Horsepower instead of cc..
    With the new 2019 subsidy plan, thank God mine is just 1.2 turbo…

• TreeHugger on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:01 pm

It’s a good intention to give subsidy only to those who deserve. However, it’s not a smart decision to base it on the outdated logic of engine capacity defines the owner is rich or poor.

I am very perplexed by this new government. One moment they talk high tech stuff like 3rd national car to be autonomous EV and yesterday they launched IR4.0 blueprint. But despite all that and sounds like they know latest tech, today they announced this stupid rule about petrol subsidy to be based on engine capacity.

Thanks to this, now rich people driving merc C200 will enjoy 100L subsidized petrol and poor people driving persona or iriz 1.6 will not get any petrol subsidy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
    • Veyron Owner on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:25 pm

Their message is clear. Rakyat should work harder and not stay on their Persona/Iriz and die-die get a C200 to qualify for subsidy.

• Sohai (not ori) on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:07 pm

One word: socai plan

• Dont know what this budget for on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:14 pm

I have a kelisa… but i have a family of 6. so i have to buy additional old van… now i dun get the subsidy… while those can afford new mpv with 1.5 engine get all the sweets… my area mrt 3 is cancelled anyway… M40 is a group being ignored…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • MoreThanOne on Nov 03, 2018 at 12:02 pm

If you have more than one car, you got to transfer the other car to your family members liao.
      Tiew…. I got 3 junked cars and got to go JPJ to transfer my other 2 cars to my family members soon.
      Thumb P.H down the next G.E.

• No country for those who grumble. Work harder and be a politician.

• Apatah! on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:23 pm

pakat beli kereta mampu milik cc bawah 1500 seperti list dibawah, jimat minyak 0.30/l untuk rakyat yg susah…

Bmw i8 (1.5)
    Mercerdes Benz Avantgarde (1.5)
    Volkswagen Golf (1.5)
    Mini Cooper Countrymen (1.5)
    Mini Cooper Clubman ( 1.5)
    Mazda MX-5 (1.5)
    BMW 318i (1.5)
    BMW 118i MSport (1.5)
    Honda CRV 2WD (1.5)
    Ford Focus sedan (1.5)
    Honda Civic 2018 Premium(1.5)
    Toyota Sienta (1.5)
    Toyota Rush (1.5)
    Audi A4 (1.4)
    Audi Q3 (1.4)
    Volkswagen Tiguan (1.4)
    Mazda RX-8 (1.3)
    Mercedes Benz A200 (1.3)
    Volkswagen Beetle (1.2)
    Renault Cleo (1.2)
    Renault Captur (1.2)
    Peugot Puretech (1.2)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • My mini now qualify….

• Ortsa_full on Nov 03, 2018 at 12:13 am

No worries, tokong is called tokong not without reason, u can never wrong him, tommorow he will just blame the press for manipulating his words, or jst find any random sheet to blame 1mdb and najib for all this mess.. the logic is, u spend 200k+ on a low spec audi a4.. low spec =b40, kesiannya, ini sasaran subsidi kita!! We care for the harapan of the rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
    • Bhutan is happiest, not venezuela..be like them

• We need more tokong around to save the country from more leakages. Just look at Li Chunrong also, managed to plug so many leakages in Proton.

I hope more tokongs run our country. We will be richer than Singapore soon

• John Bin Dedak on Nov 04, 2018 at 3:33 pm

Tokong sudah selamatkan duit dan negara. Abang abang songlap daripada negara sendiri

• Alcatrez on Nov 03, 2018 at 7:19 am

this looks like what happened in America back in 2009.

American government reduced certain taxes and the people went crazy happy. but post 2009, it showed that those reductions benefited the rich more.

i wonder what they were thinking when they released this budget.

• Sharon on Nov 03, 2018 at 7:35 am

Rich people also own 1.5L below car these days. 1.5L turbo!!
    How to differentiate normal aspired 1.5L engine with 1.5L turbo then?
    Some people own sports car at home, and at the same time own a 1.5L car as their daily use car to work. These people a rich, with this subsidy, they can also get it???

• I think it is for “normal aspirated” engine only.

• Rabina on Nov 03, 2018 at 8:45 am

Bravo Pakatun Harapun**k

• Pakulupapito on Nov 03, 2018 at 9:39 am

Lol, still in zaman kuno. Roadtax rate still according to obselete engine size. And now subsidy also according to engine size. Still stucks in the 90’s…

• Amran on Nov 03, 2018 at 9:50 am

Just give subsidy to who owned Perodua & Proton. Problem solved!

• the money could be used to increase br1m instead…., now that is proper targeted subsidy

• Harbi on Nov 03, 2018 at 10:50 am

Cukurlah. Inilah pilihan kerajaan yg rakyat nak kan. Apa lagi, enjoy lah dgn pilihan anda. Jgn merungut.

• STUPID PH GOVERNMENT on Nov 03, 2018 at 11:40 am

This government really STUPID! Uselah the yearly income as the basis for the targeted subsidy, NOT BY THE CC! You can’t judge a person’s wealth by looking at the cc of the car, BUT BY THEIR EARNING! IDIOT!!

You STUDID GOVERNMENT has all the access to LHDN and get all the income qualification for the potential target group. Just set your maximum income threshold and your have all the lists of eligible recipient of the subsidy!

STUPID PH GOVERNMENT!!!!

• Retirees (whom have no more income) with more than 2 vehicles shall lose more hairs. No country for old men (and women). No subsuey for old folks.

• Sohai (not ori) on Nov 03, 2018 at 3:29 pm

So we paying them salary of Rm60k++ PER MONTH (MACC) to come up wit this socai plan??

• benzs on Nov 03, 2018 at 3:47 pm

Wow. Those 100k above car with lower CC can use cheap petrol. So unfair, G cannot recommend it that way. At least stated which car is being subsidies. Exmp : Proton Persona 1.6 (Est Price : 55k) vs Honda Civic 1.5 TCP (Est Price : 125k) Difference of RM70k and exp car enjoy lower price petrol while cheaper price car being slammed for petrol. G, pls reconsider. Opinion : Proton & Perodua all subsidies Petrol but car price of 80k and below only. All non Malaysia car, U enjoy 1.5CC and below petrol subsidy but your roadtax will be higher. Fair and square mah.

• Max291 on Nov 03, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Probably for implementation wise will use cards similar to indent card or fleet card which will require you to prepay (if prepaid) or pay later (if entitled for credit card). Certainly more people will start using pump pay terminal instead of wasting time going to cash counter every f’ing time, n creating congestion at pump station.

• x70 oh no on Nov 03, 2018 at 4:28 pm

oh no, x70 does not qualify… even less booking that translate to final sales?

• The subsidy is only for B40 income… Sorry..

• David on Nov 03, 2018 at 7:48 pm

The petrol subsidy for 1.5 cc and below should apply to all whom are qualified and not only to one car ownership.

Some may have two or three cars under the bread winner name but that does not means they are rich, some of the second and third cars are used cars which cost them less than RM25k which they bought under their name for their children use as their children still not qualified for loan yet.

• robert on Nov 04, 2018 at 10:01 am

Might feel like a reasonable compromise…. but likely costly and cumbersome to implement. A government should simplify matters to reduce costs and put less burden on the people. How about just abolishing road tax for cars below 1500 cc and motorcycles?

• Albiner on Nov 04, 2018 at 1:39 pm

Is there any other country in the world that enforces petrol payment by looking at wealth? – today’s news reveals a certain card for all motorists to use which may identify income. What next? Groceries and clothings, etc also dependent on wealth?

• taxer on Nov 04, 2018 at 6:18 pm

Why not , income tax also based on wealth ie wages. You dun want such tax go to moon

• Albiner on Nov 04, 2018 at 1:54 pm

Today’s news reports that buying petrol shall require consumers to produce fleet card which may identify income and number of vehicles owned. What next?
    Groceries, clothings, purchases etc based on income? No country in the world is practising this..