Motorist fined RM5,000 for obstructing police outriders and hindering the progress of a VVIP motorcade

A motorist learnt the hard way that refusing to give way to a VIP convoy with a police escort is very much a punishable offence, Bernama reports. Earlier this week, an insurance agent was fined RM5,000, in default five months’ jail, by the magistrate’s court in Tapah, Perak, for obstructing a VVIP’s (very very important person) motorcade and its police escort.

The insurance agent was charged with obstructing the police outriders in discharging their public function, committing the offence by slowing down his vehicle on several occasions and disrupting the smooth flow of the convoy at KM 351 of the North-South Expressway (south-bound) on October 25. He pleaded guilty and paid the fine.

The law has been stated clearly in the past. In 2015, it was reported that road users who defy police instructions – particularly in refusing to give way to VIP convoys when asked – can be penalised under three laws. Such behaviour can be considered as obstructing a civil servant from carrying out his duties and is an offence under the police act, road traffic act and the penal code.

The subject had been brought up following an incident back then in which a motorist stated on social media that he had refused to give way to a VVIP convoy, stating that the move was simply a case of fighting for his rights.

The police stated that VIPs are escorted mainly for safety reasons, and as such unhindered mobility to ensure that is not compromised is necessary. What do you think of the matter? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Shaun on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:59 am

I think we need to redefine who is a VVIP to not include every lame duck with a “title”. Motorcade escorts should solely be reserved for the Prime Minister, Royalty and Emergency Services.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 0
    • Rightwinger on Nov 02, 2018 at 5:37 pm

its reported it was the permaisuri perak’s konvoi that was obstructed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 03, 2018 at 11:54 am

Still cannot beat one previous Minister who goes in an Alphard and he has his own outriders (not polis) ie his own thugs on bikes escorting him

My dad is 88 yrs old and he is slow in his reactions. The thugs kicked my fathers car until got dent.

My dad lodged a report with the polis….polis then said, “What can we do? He is a Minister”

Until today, got so many abuses of riders.

Classic is every morning the banduan all got outriders going through the Federal highway from Shah Alam to KL.

My question is this, why can’t the banduan and the polis get up early and follow traffic like all of us?

Why the banduan also got special escort just to go to mahkahah? It causes a lot of jams.

• borneo darul seram on Nov 02, 2018 at 7:07 pm

Good to have palace big families.

• What so BIG ah? on Nov 03, 2018 at 11:39 am

Why fine if they are selected by Rakyat to be minister? Wht only they got important task and not normal Rakyat? No sign of economy improvement anyway? Why want to bring all useless junk regulation from previous Government to new Government.

• Slacker on Nov 02, 2018 at 11:05 pm

I am also VVIP because the tax I pay is used to pay the cost of the convoy. So please stop this VVIP thing which can even cause traffic jam on a busy road. My time is just as important as the person whose salary is paid from our tax.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 9
      • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 03, 2018 at 11:55 am

According to law and constitution only the Agong and PM can have outriders.

All other outriders are illegal and against the law.

These are the bad habits brought about with 60 years of arrogance and aksi and high nose of politicians

• Yess!!!WE are paying taxes like hell and do they???!!!!!!NKVE jammed and WE HAVE to make way for vvip in jam!!!!no logic at all…yes,OUR time is important too…!!

• Ahmad Razlah on Nov 03, 2018 at 9:50 am

The definition of VIP and VVIP is already stated in the law la

• Pdrm should be more friendly on Nov 02, 2018 at 12:02 pm

Outriders are getting very brazen … They are even touching cars as they past bye …and clearing two lanes in highways … Is that necessary or overkill

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • Dollar Trump on Nov 02, 2018 at 7:10 pm

Sue them under damages on private properties and endangering public life. Use dashcam as evidence and don’t forget to viral.

• Ahmad Razlah on Nov 03, 2018 at 9:52 am

Its their job. They will do however they feel right in conducting their legal duties

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Nov 02, 2018 at 12:09 pm

Problems with these VIP convoys is that outriders tend to manage and redirect traffic badly that it sometimes causes accidents. And when that happens, they usually get off scot-free leaving the unfortunate motorists to deal with their own insurance claims.

Perhaps YB Anthony Bloke can deal with this…? Can the authorities fine these VIPs RM 5,000 for causing nuisance to public safety…?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 5
  • albag on Nov 02, 2018 at 12:20 pm

it’s quite controversial and arguable when you put “own rights” & “law” together

• Queen's Chamberlain on Nov 02, 2018 at 7:13 pm

Malaysian still far behind none utilising class action lawsuit compares to developed nations.

• Ollie on Nov 02, 2018 at 12:21 pm

Much, much worse than it looks. I will endeavour to ensure I ignore VIP motorcades and I hope other road users follow suit, as this can only be accomplished when everyone works together. There is no VIP in Malaysia that needs police outriders. Maybe the Agong, but I’ll reserve my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
  • Mann Bell on Nov 02, 2018 at 12:22 pm

they really need to differentiate police escort with other fake escorts. nowadays ‘VIP’ or some cheap datuk are using personal bodyguards for their escorts with those flashy police lights. come out with a guideline for the rakyat to tell which is the real escort

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 02, 2018 at 12:34 pm

I wonder whether a Proton CVT has ever broken down during a VVIP motorcade

• kzm (Member) on Nov 02, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Are there any proton cvt broke before?

• Seelan on Nov 03, 2018 at 10:05 pm

What does Proton CVT has got to do with this bro? Everything also want to bring Proton in. You mad aaah?!

• DonkeyKong on Nov 02, 2018 at 12:35 pm

That idiot should have been jailed. Imagine if someone obstructing a motorcade is a car/suicide bomber or a drive-by shooter? There’s a reason for police escort for VVIPs, and the need for the police outriders to clear a path ahead and identify any suspicious or uncooperative vehicles as potential threats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 28
    • police outriders are not enough to deter bandits or suicide bomber, they need to travel inside ballistic or IED proof armoured vehicle.

• Ollie on Nov 03, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Umno looney talk

• VAPER on Nov 02, 2018 at 12:35 pm

If obstructed on normal road, maybe you can give a reason.. But obstructing on a highway? Serves him right!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • casual rider on Nov 02, 2018 at 12:55 pm

this is a legal thing and they are doing their duites, unlike superbike marshall!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • It’s stated in other news portals that it was the queen of perak.

• what is so great about these “VIP” when it endangers the general public. I was once almost involved in an accident when convoy traffic police sudden cut into my way!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
  • It cannot be denied that many motorists may be put off with so many VIP convoys on our roads every day. Worse still in the poor manner motorists are ‘shooed’ like animals to make way for the convoys. Already the serious daily traffic jams in cities are so stressful to motorists. In my opinion, the police convoy should be restricted only for the PM, Agong, Sultans, YDP Negeris and also for security n emergency cases. We need more traffic cops to manage n enforce traffic instead of being used for unnecessary VIP convoys. We need to see more traffic cops on the roads whether it is to manage, patrol or enforce the rule of law which currently is a rarity.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 02, 2018 at 1:44 pm

So the fella chose to pay 5k instead of putting his indicator and moving left for the police to go through. It only takes 5 secs for the entire odeal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Rightwinger on Nov 02, 2018 at 4:36 pm

what to do, egotistical drivers like that one are abound by the looks of the comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • Ah beng Level 2 on Nov 02, 2018 at 1:50 pm

Last week at KESAS a police convoy (lead rider) appeared out of nowhere and braked suddenly in front, forcing me to brake heavily, luckily no car behind me…was in the middle lane and traffic moving smoothly so was there overzealous action??

• A normal malaysian on Nov 05, 2018 at 8:06 am

same… faced the sames situation.. the police making a u-turn non stop.. luckily didnt hit him, but it is really inconsiderate.. i suggest convoy also need to follow rule of road law!

• Government tells us not to speed. We dont speed.
    Government tells us to follow road rules. We follow.
    But when its time for the government to do it? Malaysia boleh!
    Things like this makes my blood boil. Why should priority be given to these people? If the VIPS are genuinely concerned for their safety they wouldn’t be using escorts during peak hours. Maybe leave sooner, it’s common sense right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
  • If is an emergency, then I will agree for the police convoys. But if is not, then they should be treated just like a normal taxpayer. Wanna reach to your dinner event/home faster, then try to improve the traffic flow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Rightwinger on Nov 02, 2018 at 4:33 pm

well myvdear, police outriders are not afforded to anybody willy nilly and if they are dispatched for a convoy its for official duties, be they meetings or formal dining. besides, this is no socialist state where everyone is a ‘worker’. see the lights, get out of the way or get slapped hard with the law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
      • Johnson on Nov 03, 2018 at 10:14 am

It’s very ironic that you espouse hate on socialist governments but yet you don’t know how they run and why they fail. This is exactly how they are run. A few oligarchs at the top tell the uneducated and fearful majority beneath them to follow what they say and that’s what they do. They make you believe everyone is equal but yet they pull all the strings. In a true democracy, people that use special convoys are ones that either require extra security or have urgent or important official meetings. Not some datuk’s cousin’s nephew who wants to beat the jam and attend some party in his Lamborghini. So next time you give way to these convoys and think you are such a law abiding citizen, just keep in mind who you are giving way to, instead being the socialist sheep that your are.

• TheDean on Nov 02, 2018 at 2:29 pm

One only has to look at America if one wants to learn more about rights. If the very vocal citizens of America see the escorting of VVIPs as an accepted necessity, then we should also accept it here. Only here, some might abuse such privilege. Like if we have a Malaysian Bill Gates, he shouldn’t be allowed a convoy unless the convoy is sent for him to meet Government officials or foreign dignitaries. In other words, anyone who is involved in activities of high national interests. But here, a nephew of a cousin to the second cousin of the uncle of a VVIP who’s on his way for lunch or golf pun nak escort. That’s wrong. Bill Gates on a day to day basis doesn’t travel with a police escort.

• VirusX on Nov 02, 2018 at 2:29 pm

Abused Right !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Rightwinger on Nov 02, 2018 at 5:11 pm

not a right, but a privilege, and one that is strictly afforded only for legitimate official reasons. see the light, get out of the way, or get slapped hard with the law.

• Joun Q on Nov 02, 2018 at 3:44 pm

I’m sorry but VVIP or not you follow the rules like everybody else. They are not some super citizen that is higher than a normal citizen who works their butt off and pays taxes that pay their salaries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • Kak Ros on Nov 04, 2018 at 12:50 am

The reality is not. tax payers actually cows only. need to pay to stay in a country. you dont really own the country. you are not tax collectors.

• Husni on Nov 02, 2018 at 4:00 pm

I agree with the courts decision if the PDRM is outrider escort. There are also abuses by certain quarter. I have seen a local council “municipality official” using their traffic wardens as escorts. In one case, a bank owner which has its own Polis Bantuan using “outrider” to escort his Rolls Royce coming out from a private hospital at Jalan Pantai by stopping the traffic. These should be stopped immediately for blatantly abuse of licensing rights and usage !

• Autobahnforever on Nov 02, 2018 at 4:09 pm

After being in Germany (with their speed limitless highways) for a while, it made me realise the reasons why Malaysia has so much traffic accidents and jams..

Arrogance and self-centeredness.

People here (in DE) respect the law, which ensures smooth flow of traffic. No “kiasu” mentality and childish behaviors on the road.

If you don’t like something, voice it out. Don’t endanger people’s lives by showing your disagreement on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • “If you don’t like something, voice it out.”
      This one most of MY pipu do, esp when they get into argument who is right and who is wrong after eksiden. Sometimes free-for-all show oso happens.

• Correct bro. Our budaya technology very low. Need to improve that in a hurry.

• Chancellor Angela Merkel on Nov 03, 2018 at 2:21 pm

how do you improves in a hurry on people feudalistic syndrome mindset?

• Anonymous on Nov 02, 2018 at 4:26 pm

We have to come to the point, to question and arguing about almost everything.

We won’t know the reasons behind such convoys. In fact, how can the police or any authorities to inform everyone the reasons behind it anyway? Can’t we just accept that that’s the law and rules?

People now tend to justify everything by quoting “rights”. Claiming everything theirs by quoting “taxes” or “taxpayers”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
    • Why not? In new MY, its the right of offenders to scold officers clamping their car until mayor is embarrassed and Uturn to enforce the law.

In New MY, “my rights” is more important than “everyones rights”.

• Rightwinger on Nov 02, 2018 at 5:04 pm

its because these people who keep harping being a ‘taxpayer’ as if it affords them god like abilities, are plain arrogant chauvinists, who think and wish this is a socialist state where everyone is’equal’, not knowing what kind of hell a socialist state is really like.

• Those shouting for equal rights but at the same time demand for more of their rights as taxpayers shud take a reality check that a true socialist state Gov will aggregates their treatment on those who have and have nots. These Gov will look at those flaunting their taxpayer money with disdain and treat them even worse than a lowly paid road sweeper. I hope to see their faces when this happens.

• DonkeyKong on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:39 pm

This is the New Malaysia, my friend. A Malaysia that is more selfish, lawless and “kurang ajar”. Kiasu people say that they have “equal rights” and that they “pay income tax”, so because of that they should not be subjected to the law. Yep, a New Malaysia alright. Certainly not the one that I used to know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • English Teacher on Nov 02, 2018 at 10:04 pm

Cowboy country by a cowboy Government. Here is where money means right. By their definition, the more taxes they pay the more rights they have.

• Kencang on Nov 03, 2018 at 12:07 am

Fully agreed DK. Past 60 year not like this.

• Lets See on Nov 02, 2018 at 4:57 pm

Meanwhile only fine 2k for blocking emergency vehicles https://paultan.org/2016/05/30/jpj-summons-91-drivers-over-emergency-lane-usage/

• Thevakumar on Nov 02, 2018 at 5:54 pm

The outriders should not other road drivers in danger. They shouldn’t ask the drivers to pull over at dangerous side

• Ahmadjr on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:27 pm

I bet that guy was driving myvi

• Anonymous on Nov 03, 2018 at 10:14 am

That guy actually was driving a Lexus!

I hate these kind of stereotypical comments. The type of cars, the wealth, money aren’t supposed to be some sort of things to measure someone’s attitude etc.

I’ve witnessed, and I’m still seeing and experiencing, the worst actually comes mostly from these “big cars” owners.

I respect more of those “small cars” drivers and bikers etc.

Again, never ever measure a human being from the car he/she is driving.

• Ben yap on Nov 02, 2018 at 9:28 pm

The insurance agent need to sell more insurance policies to cover the summons.

• No offence on Nov 02, 2018 at 10:00 pm

Rights are not applicable to those law breaker .we are a civilised country. Don t Iive like a barbarian

• Don’t like the law – change it. Not easy – but if you want it done, get started. Ini mau jadi samseng taik kucing kat jalan… memang tak kena tempat la…

• Greenroda on Nov 03, 2018 at 12:11 am

What about those illegal strobe light and siren? There was one time one stupid black hrv with normal all blue strobe and siren zapping through traffic. Upon given way, only to realize it is probably illegitimate as the hrv was unmarked and with normal plate. And the strobe light is only blue color. Nothing has changed, lorries with black smokes are still every where. There are no enforcement whatsoever.. very disappointed.

• endthornyloke on Nov 03, 2018 at 1:40 am

more heavily tinted & irregular format number plates vehicles on the road since PH took over..JPJ and their boss sleeping through the job

• endthornyloke on Nov 03, 2018 at 1:43 am

more heavily tinted & irregular format number plates vehicles on the road since PH took over..JPJ and their boss sleeping through the job

• Malaysia on Nov 03, 2018 at 2:26 am

Why the fuss OH EM GEE! Wake up Malaysians! The car is clearly stated obstructing the lane. Simple, if you see a car speeding on the right lane would you go to the right or ignorantly stay? Exactly. All go wild when they see ”VVIP” or ‘VIP’. Just because we are not those VIPs doesn’t mean we have to have a narrow mindset.

• MalaysiaBaharu on Nov 03, 2018 at 8:27 am

Its all about safety, especially our new gov minister, at this stage they trying to solve our country debts, some of it involve alot of cash, were nt talking about 1mil, 1 bil, its 1trillion..people can do what ever it take nt to be caught.. Probably malaysia crime is not that serious compare to others.. But there is billionaire crooks waiting to cover up the story.. So taking our official to some place in fast and safer is our pollice traffic job..

• Aniki Tan on Nov 03, 2018 at 10:56 am

i just know that if you are a VVIP, just take a chopper without “paying” cops to escort you down a busy traffic…

• Ken lim on Nov 03, 2018 at 12:21 pm

VVIP fine, but outriders be considerate of the road users. We’re already doing our best to let the convoy move, don’t cause unnecessary stress to the driving public who are equally eager to get to their destination.

• To me only ambulance, bomba or any other emergency vehicles should be given right of way.
    But for the vip or vvip, they should go through the traffic like all other tax payers do. After all, they are put in their positions by the voting public. Why should they be given special treatment when the public suffers? If they want smooth traffic flow, then they should solve the traffic problem since they are elected to solve rakyats problems.
    The argument that vvip need to be given right of way due to security is just a rubbish excuse.

I see even trucks carrying criminals to court also given police escort with blaring sirens every morning in PJ.

• If you still use the roads, actually you are not VVIP enough, perhaps trying to be one while giving trouble to the police outriders who has other tasks to be made such as controlling traffic junctions.

True VVIPs will use the chopper instead and just landing at the helipad to avoid traffic and the angry public.

• Kevin Leong on Nov 04, 2018 at 2:50 pm

I think these are stupid laws that should be abolished. If we don’t follow the instruction, then how? Shoot us? Next time I will run over the police, and there is nothing he can do.

• Jacky Yong on Nov 05, 2018 at 9:31 am

I also personally encountered these nasty bully policemen convoy. I was driving on the fast lane when they flashed me to give way. So reluctantly I went to the middle lane. The bugger swerved in front of my car and demanded me to go to the slow lane on the left instead! WTF??!! Hey it was heavy traffic, and there’s cars on my left already, how on earth am I supposed to move to the left? I already gave way to you, you still want me to go left some more? These f**kers only know how to make our lives miserable while they sit their golden ass on their marble palace all day smoking pots!

• Grass is greener elsewhere on Nov 11, 2018 at 7:58 am

In China and India, they don’t have this rule. Bye bye Malaysia